Commissioners for the Promotion of Uniformity of Legislation in the United States (ยงยง 30-196, 30-197)

The National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, also known as the Uniform Law Commission, is charged with the responsibility of working with all the states and certain U.S. possessions to adopt uniform laws, when uniformity is desirable and practicable, for presentation to the several state legislatures for enactment. The Conference began in 1892 primarily as a business-friendly and business-oriented promoter of laws that would facilitate various entities as they interacted within and conducted business between the several states. It was early recognized that a confusion or difference of laws between the states would present, in many instances, a deterrent to the free flow of goods, credit, and services and thereby restrain full economic and social development. The Uniform Commercial Code, which was developed in conjunction with the American Law Institute, is the most widely recognized uniform act.

The Conference membership includes practicing attorneys, judges, legislators, law school professors, and the principal officer from each state charged with the responsibility of drafting legislation. The Conference's organizational plan ensures its nonpartisan nature and objective approach to legislative drafting. Although all interested parties customarily are welcomed to participate in the drafting process, the voting member represents no special interest.

The Conference is funded through state dues allocated according to population and Virginia's portion is budgeted with general funds. The Virginia Commissioners are situated within the legislative branch and are staffed by the Division of Legislative Services. Virginia appointees receive no compensation or salary and contribute many hours of their personal time toward the success of the various acts developed by the Conference. Over 50 such uniform acts have been adopted in Virginia to date.

Visit for more information

Upcoming Meeting

  • Thursday, June 27, 2019, 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
    House Committee Room, Ground Floor, Pocahontas Building, Richmond, VA
    See Agenda

Virginia Delegation

  • H. Lane Kneedler, Chair
  • Mary P. Devine
  • Ellen F. Dyke
  • Thomas A. Edmonds
  • E.M. Miller, Jr.
  • Christopher R. Nolen
  • Carlyle C. Ring
  • Mark J. Vucci


  • Emma Buck