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Summary

A Guide To This Volume

This volume is a continuation of A Legislator's Guide to Taxation in Virginia. Volume I of
the series, on state taxes, was originally published by the Division of Legislative Services in 1990
and was most recently revised in 2001. This report, Volume II, examines the local taxes imposed
by Virginia's counties and cities and is intended to provide legislators with an easy reference guide
to local taxation. It supersedes the original version of Volume II published in 1991 and the revised
edition of 1995. The revenue information utilized throughout this volume is from 2005, the most
recent fiscal year for which complete information was available at the time of this update. It was
compiled by the Auditor of Public Accounts in his publication, Comparative Report of Local
Government, Revenues and Expenditures, Year Ending June 30, 2005. The local tax rate
information that is provided in this volume was compiled by the Weldon Cooper Center for Public
Service at the University of Virginia in their publication, Tax Rates 2005.

In the first two chapters of this volume, we discuss the relationship of tax revenue to total
locally generated revenue and summarize county and city taxing and borrowing authority. In each
of the following 12 chapters we examine a particular tax, or a closely related group of taxes, using
the following structure: (i) a brief history of the tax; (ii) a description of the current structure of the
tax and how it is administered; (iii) recent developments in the law; (iv) a discussion of the issues
that have been raised in the past and are likely to be raised in the future regarding the tax; and (v) a
brief summary. Individual variations necessarily exist from chapter to chapter, but all adhere
basically to the above outline. The final chapter discusses the administration and collection of local
taxes.
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Financing of Virginia's Counties and Cities

Virginia's counties and cities collected $22,321,526,033 of total revenue from all sources
in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005. This amounted to $2,950 per person.1 The sources of
this revenue were as follows:

Percentage Amount Source
33.3 $ 7,427,309,692 The Commonwealth
7.5 $ 1,683,658,253 The Federal Government
59.2 $13,210,558,088 Locally Generated

$22,321,526,033 Total Local Revenue From All Sources

SOURCE: Auditor of Public Accounts, 2005 Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and
Expenditures, year ended June 30, 2005.

Table 1 shows that the vast majority of locally generated revenue comes from taxes (84.5
percent). This Legislator’s Guide will focus on these sources of tax revenue, the largest of which
are the real property and tangible personal property taxes.

As Table 1 indicates, localities rely heavily on property taxes, which comprise in excess
of 60 percent of their total local-source revenue. For the fiscal year ended June 30, 2005, the real
property tax, the single greatest source of tax revenue, provided localities with 48.5 percent of
their total local-source revenue. Over the last decade, local reliance on the real property tax has
increased by more than six percentage points (from 42.1 percent to 48.5 percent) while local
reliance on the tangible personal property tax has decreased by approximately six percentage
points due, in part, to the Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998. As a result of this act, the
Commonwealth paid Virginia's counties, cities and towns $907.2 million in payments during
fiscal year 2004-05, which were credited to taxpayers for "car tax relief."

Many local taxes generate less than two percent each of total local revenue statewide;
however, some localities do not impose all of these taxes, such as the transient occupancy tax
and the tobacco tax. A number of local taxes generated less than one-half of one percent of local
source revenue statewide. These taxes were tobacco, bank stock, severance, admissions, and
merchants' capital.

The localities” heavy reliance on the real property tax has increased significantly over the
last decade. Table 2, which provides a comparison of locally generated revenue sources for the
fiscal years 1994-95 and 2004-05, shows that Virginia’s counties and cities have increased their
dependence on the real property tax. The table also shows that the reliance on almost all other

' Based on a U.S. Census Bureau estimated state population of 7,567,465 as of July 1, 2005.
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Table 1
Composition of Total Local-Source Revenue for Virginia's
Counties and Cities, Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2005

Type of Tax Revenue % of Total Cumulative %
Property Taxes:
Real Property $ 6,403,410,609 48.5% 48.5%
Tangible Personal Property $ 1,131,257,878 8.6% 57.1%
Public Service Corporations $ 261,892,514 2.0% 59.1%
Machinery & Tools $ 188,363,477 1.4% 60.5%
Total Property Taxes $ 7,984,924,478 60.5% 60.5%
Other Local Taxes:
Local Sales & Use $ 924,182,143 7.0% 67.5%
BPOL $ 538,523,475 41% 71.6%
Consumer Utility $ 514,807,160 3.9% 75.5%
Meals $ 292,377,388 2.2% 77.7%
Recordation and Wills $ 166,230,184 1.3% 79.0%
Motor Vehicle License $ 141522923 1.1% 80.1%
Transient Occupancy $ 132,218,763 1.0% 81.1%
Emergency Telephone Service $ 102,223,274 0.8% 81.9%
Franchise License $ 61,401,289 0.5% 82.4%
Tobacco $ 58,274,183 0.4% 82.8%
Bank Stock $ 41,446,984 0.3% 83.1%
Severance $ 32,764,600 0.2% 83.3%
Admissions $ 14,419,072 0.1% 83.4%
Merchants' Capital $ 11,086,497 0.1% 83.5%
Penalties and Interest $ 84,112,020 0.6% 84.1%
All Other Taxes $ 53,671,525 0.4% 84.5%
Total Other Local Taxes $ 3,169,261,480 24.0%
Total Tax Revenue $11,154,185,958 84.5% 84.5%
Charges for Services $ 1,267,920,623 9.5% 94.0%
Revenue from Use of Money

& Property $ 214,767,497 1.6% 95.6%
Permits, Privilege Fees,

& Regulatory Licenses $ 198,690,156 1.5% 97.1%
Fines & Forfeitures $ 88,361,852 0.7% 97.8%
Miscellaneous $ 286,632,002 2.2% 100.0%
Total Other Revenue $ 2,056,372,130 15.5%

Total Locally
Generated Revenue $13.210.558.088 100.0% 100.0%

SOURCE: Auditor of Public Accounts, Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures,
year ended June 30, 2005.

local taxes has declined; only the meals tax has increased, and this is due to the increasing
number of localities utilizing this option to generate needed local revenue.

Tax Burden

It is difficult to accurately and fairly compare local taxes and local tax burdens among the
50 states, due to the diversity in the level of responsibilities among the local governments.
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Table 2

Change in Composition of Total Local-Source Revenue,
Fiscal Years 2004-05 and 1994-95

Source 2004-05 % of Total 1994-95 % of Total % Increase
Real Property $6,403,410,609 48.5 $3,125,566,393 421 104.9
Tangible Personal
Property $1,131,257,878 8.6 $1,046,315,749 14.1 8.1
Public Service
Corporation Property $ 261,892,514 2.0 $ 204,633,478 2.8 28.0
Machinery & Tools $ 188,363,477 1.4 $ 140,241,810 1.9 34.3
Local Sales & Use $ 924,182,143 7.0 $ 550,627,441 7.4 67.8
BPOL $ 538,523,475 4.1 $ 315,773,694 4.2 70.5
Consumer Utility $ 514,807,160 3.9 $ 334,073,357 4.6 49.6
Meals $ 292,377,388 2.2 $ 146,416,978 2.0 99.7
All Other Local Taxes $ 899,371,314 6.8 $ 396,006,452 5.3 127.1
Total Tax Revenue $11,154,185,958 85.4 $6,269,655,352 84.3 77.9
Charges for Services $1,267,920,623 95 $ 692,929,827 9.3 83.0
Revenue from Use of

Money & Property $ 214,767,497 1.6 $ 189,960,364 2.6 13.1
Permits, Privilege Fees,

& Regulatory Licenses  $ 198,690,156 15 $ 93,017,809 13 113.6
Fines & Forfeitures $ 88,361,852 0.7 $ 45,592,813 0.6 93.8
Miscellaneous $ 288,632,002 2.2 $ 141,818,731 1.9 103.5
Total Other Revenue $2,056,372,130 15.5 $1,163,319,544 15.7 76.8
Total Locally
Generated Revenue $13,210,558,088 100.0 $7,432,974,896 100.0 77.7

SOURCE: Auditor of Public Accounts, Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, year
ended June 30, 2005, and year ended June 30, 1995.

However, to gain some perspective, Table 3 compares Virginia's state and local tax revenue with
that of the other states based on two different measures: (i) per capita, where total state and

local tax revenue is simply divided by the population of the state, and (ii) percentage of personal
income, where state and local tax revenue is divided by the state's total personal income. Many
people believe the latter measure more accurately reflects tax burden, since most taxes are
ultimately paid out of personal income.

On a per-capita basis, Virginians paid an average of $3,342 in state and local taxes for
2004, ranking Virginia 24th of the 50 states and the District of Columbia (see Table 3). In Table
4, a comparison of states in the region shows only the state of Maryland (ranked ninth) and the
District of Columbia (ranked first) with a higher amount of state and local taxes per capita.
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Table 3
State and Local Tax Collections Per Capita
and as a Percentage of Personal Income, 2004

Collections Per % of Personal
State Capita Rank Income Rank

Alabama $2,328 51 8.9 51
Alaska $3,610 15 111 20
Arizona $2,871 37 10.9 24
Arkansas $2,536 49 10.5 35
California $3,736 12 11.3 15
Colorado $3,169 26 9.3 47
Connecticut $4,921 3 11.6 11
Delaware $3,608 17 10.8 25
District of Columbia $7,154 1 14.9 1
Florida $3,094 28 10.5 36
Georgia $2,877 36 10.2 40
Hawaii $3,813 9 12.6 5
Idaho $2,728 43 11.0 21
Illinois $3,555 18 10.6 31
Indiana $2,999 30 10.4 37
lowa $3,054 29 10.7 27
Kansas $3,380 23 11.4 14
Kentucky $2,767 40 10.7 28
Louisiana $2,899 34 11.2 16
Maine $3,789 11 13.4 4
Maryland $4,016 7 10.8 26
Massachusetts $4,217 6 10.6 32
Michigan $3,313 25 10.5 34
Minnesota $3,811 10 11.2 17
Mississippi $2,844 50 10.6 33
Missouri $2,822 39 9.7 46
Montana $2,623 46 10.1 42
Nebraska $3,609 16 11.8 9
Nevada $3,417 22 11.1 19
New Hampshire $3,133 27 9.2 48
New Jersey $4,555 4 11.6 12
New Mexico $2,861 38 11.6 10
New York $5,260 2 14.7 2
North Carolina $2,929 32 10.7 29
North Dakota $2,989 31 10.4 38
Ohio $3,419 21 11.4 13
Oklahoma $2,677 44 10.1 41
Oregon $2,917 33 10.1 43
Pennsylvania $3,447 20 10.9 23
Rhode Island $3,891 8 12.0 8
South Carolina $2,662 45 10.4 39
South Dakota $2,615 47 9.1 49
Tennessee $2,536 48 9.0 50
Texas $2,881 35 9.9 45
Utah $2,735 42 11.0 22
Vermont $3,681 14 12.2 6
VIRGINIA $3,342 24 10.0 44
Washington $3,452 19 10.6 30
West Virginia $2,740 41 11.2 18
Wisconsin $3,714 13 12.2 7
Wyoming $4,437 5 13.9 3
u.s. $3,440 11.0

SOURCE: Government Finances: 2003-04, U.S. Bureau of the Census.
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If state and local tax revenue is measured by the level of personal income, however, state
and local tax revenue in Virginia equaled 10.0 percent of state personal income. Using this
measure, Virginia’s tax burden ranked 44th among the 50 states and the District of Columbia.
Of Virginia’s neighboring states, only Tennessee (ranked 50th) had a lighter tax burden.

Table 4

State and Local Tax Burden:
Virginia and Selected Southeastern States

State & Local State & Local
Tax Revenue Tax Revenue As a
Per Capita Rank % of Income Rank

District of Columbia $7,154 1 14.9 1
Georgia $2,877 36 10.2 40
Kentucky $2,767 40 10.7 28
Maryland $4,016 7 10.8 26
North Carolina $2,929 32 10.7 29
South Carolina $2,662 45 10.4 39
Tennessee $2,536 48 9.0 50
VIRGINIA $3,342 24 10.0 44
West Virginia $2,740 41 11.2 18
U.S. Average $3,440 11.0

Summary

Local tax revenue increased substantially during the past decade, as did the localities’
reliance on real property tax. Despite these increases, Virginia's taxpayers enjoy one of the
lightest state and local tax burdens in the country when measured as a percentage of personal
income.
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Background

Local fiscal disparities and differences in localities’ abilities to raise taxes to meet their
service responsibilities are an integral part of the Virginia governmental system. In fact, the
fiscal disparities have been an issue in Virginia since 1623,' when the counties first established a
judiciary system of county courthouses and justices of the peace. To pay for the operation of the
new local governments, each person was required to pay a tax of one bushel of corn. In 1634,
the localities were required to use locally generated revenue to defend themselves against the
Indians, so the tax was expanded to include a tax on the inspection of tobacco.’

However, some counties could not defend themselves as well as others against Indian
attacks, because relatively little corn or tobacco was grown within their locality. Given the low
tax base, the localities were forced either to increase corn and tobacco taxes or risk inadequate
defense for their citizens. Such measures created inequity in the treatment of taxpayers. Citizens
of some counties faced potential danger in the event of an attack because their tax bases were

' Sydenstricker, Edgar. A Brief History of Taxation in Virginia. Richmond: The Legislative Reference Bureau of
Virginia, 1915, pp. 3-11.
’Id.
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inadequate to cover expenses. Also, growers of corn and tobacco statewide were responsible for
supporting the entire local government system.

Such inequities were recognized in later years, when the tax base was expanded to
include real and personal property, imports, licenses, immigrants, and lawsuits.”  This
broadening of the tax base spread the tax burden over a larger group of people and made the
localities’ ability to raise revenue more equitable. Thus, ever since the inception of local
governments and their fiscal powers, Virginia has recognized and tried to address the disparity
among localities’ tax bases and their ability to generate necessary funds.

Cities and Counties

The advent of municipalities brought with it the potential for more disparity in the ability
to raise revenue. Pursuant to the Uniform Charter Powers Act, cities have the authority to
impose taxes without limitation, provided the taxing power is not prohibited from use by
localities. Counties, however, must obtain approval through special enabling legislation from the
General Assembly before they can impose many of the taxes imposed by cities. In most cases,
the authority is granted subject to limitations on the rate, with possible requirements for voter
approval prior to adoption.

The original distinction between taxing powers of cities and counties was justified at a
time when cities were urban areas and counties were rural, and the needs of the two types of
jurisdictions were clearly different. The differences in characteristics of cities and counties have
lessened with the passage of time, however, as some counties have become almost completely
urban. As a result of their changing character in recent years, many counties have expressed the
desire to have the same taxing authority as cities to enable counties to meet the changing
demands on their revenues.

Local Tax Increases

Differences in local fiscal capacities, although existing since the inception of government
in Virginia, became a significant issue in the late 1970s. California’s Proposition 13 in 1978,
which severely limited local governments’ ability to raise revenue via the property tax, caused a
national tax revolt that still persists today. Taxpayers have become more reluctant to support tax
increases of any kind at all levels of government, with more and more politicians signing a no-
new-tax pledge, while still spending more dollars. Today in Washington there is an effort to
reduce the federal deficit or shift the responsibility of providing more services to state or local
governments. The implication for state and local governments is clear. In order to meet the
needs of their citizens, localities must either (i) increase their local tax revenues, by increasing

‘1d.
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Table 1

Local Tax Revenue Relationships, Virginia Cities, 2005 Collections

Tax Revenue
Local Tax Total Local Total as % of Total
City Revenue Revenue Revenue Revenue
Alexandria $367,642,727 $404,243,809 $522,605,969 70.3
Bedford 6,092,155 8,391,850 14,667,054 41.5
Bristol 20,319,092 30,185,179 58,101,620 35.0
Buena Vista 5,640,964 8,334,962 19,351,849 29.1
Charlottesville 74,060,906 105,072,351 168,756,037 43.9
Chesapeake 340,633,322 375,748,984 684,473,557 49.8
Colonial Heights 31,463,708 37,049,431 58,182,947 541
Covington 10,010,965 11,961,083 21,311,952 47.0
Danville 42,385,356 54,324,736 132,164,039 32.1
Emporia 8,127,317 11,648,632 21,526,971 37.8
Fairfax 71,383,859 79,839,310 92,473,863 77.2
Falls Church 40,205,322 45,888,570 54,753,274 734
Franklin 9,881,961 15,912,352 32,562,645 30.3
Fredericksburg 52,103,136 61,013,453 86,319,394 60.4
Galax 8,129,633 11,673,411 23,171,357 35.1
Hampton 172,230,418 227,898,411 448,304,536 38.4
Harrisonburg 47,324,444 56,131,665 91,568,054 51.7
Hopewell 28,031,262 33,113,104 74,259,160 37.7
Lexington 5,822,673 9,532,633 15,783,014 36.9
Lynchburg 93,578,019 125,416,829 217,842,002 43.0
Manassas 70,232,661 80,454,003 125,230,162 56.1
Manassas Park 23,467,681 25,695,922 42,730,427 54.9
Martinsville 14,733,315 22,377,443 51,454,667 28.6
Newport News 235,635,861 308,016,681 606,092,926 38.9
Norfolk 347,050,860 419,148,252 790,353,305 43.9
Norton 5,186,374 6,761,969 14,424,706 36.0
Petersburg 36,048,103 42,778,185 109,111,220 33.0
Poquoson 15,216,818 17,916,851 34,038,623 44.7
Portsmouth 117,681,499 148,955,575 317,647,578 37.0
Radford 10,180,641 15,885,325 29,944,056 34.0
Richmond 361,172,698 442,233,917 775,940,523 46.5
Roanoke 146,166,669 175,598,713 348,199,336 42.0
Salem 42,018,973 50,910,641 78,410,757 53.6
Staunton 25,629,182 34,123,610 64,176,030 39.9
Suffolk 94,116,274 112,984,614 222,031,176 42.4
Virginia Beach 665,137,750 754,791,928 1,346,144,923 49.4
Waynesboro 24,665,394 30,487,099 56,373,199 43.8
Williamsburg 27,052,341 30,678,829 37,811,193 71.5
Winchester 47,779,560 53,191,469 84,060,128 56.8
B Totals: $3,744,239,893 $4,486,321,781 $7,972,354,229 47.0

SOURCE: 2005 Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, Auditor of Public
Accounts.
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Table 2

Local Tax Revenue Relationships, Virginia Counties, 2005 Collections

Local Tax Total Local Tax Revenue as %
County Revenue Revenue Total Revenue  ©f Total Revenue
Accomack $ 25,018,875 $ 33,236,925 $ 83,356,505 30.0
Albemarle 133,777,056 150,904,494 236,524,612 56.6
Alleghany 15,621,623 20,843,281 46,977,625 33.3
Amelia 6,539,148 10,952,119 25,245,104 25.9
Ambherst 21,350,307 27,617,392 62,819,902 34.0
Appomattox 8,194,725 10,159,845 27,942,642 29.3
Arlington 569,937,041 635,462,655 808,158,817 70.5
Augusta 51,418,628 63,055,207 141,032,809 36.5
Bath 9,929,950 11,166,643 15,845,102 62.7
Bedford 49,369,613 61,384,206 130,071,311 38.0
Bland 3,892,327 6,524,482 14,774,476 26.3
Botetourt 28,660,876 33,829,439 65,792,355 43.6
Brunswick 8,440,971 18,824,552 36,958,917 22.8
Buchanan 29,964,613 34,903,116 70,837,681 42.3
Buckingham 8,129,365 10,442,855 30,135,664 27.0
Campbell 33,061,705 41,753,491 105,492,506 31.3
Caroline 21,126,282 26,571,210 56,043,212 37.7
Carroll 17,642,641 25,632,583 59,046,347 29.9
Charles City 6,158,773 10,231,902 18,476,109 33.3
Charlotte 6,375,017 9,700,213 32,490,077 19.6
Chesterfield 369,356,363 427,249,678 772,081,810 47.8
Clarke 13,972,038 16,702,087 30,124,776 46.4
Craig 2,966,473 4,337,783 10,849,668 27.3
Culpeper 43,456,405 54,597,612 101,051,353 43.0
Cumberland 7,179,115 9,115,532 23,154,125 31.0
Dickenson 14,119,798 16,611,670 41,467,094 34.0
Dinwiddie 21,627,960 25,213,860 62,171,588 34.8
Essex 9,667,582 11,343,988 24,052,613 40.2
Fairfax 2,408,417,531 2,746,242,985 3,637,234,308 66.2
Fauquier 93,006,688 116,471,310 179,032,591 51.9
Floyd 9,196,684 11,500,298 28,187,444 32.6
Fluvanna 17,166,944 21,133,539 46,290,541 o |
Franklin 38,781,321 45,782,830 97,855,819 39.6
Frederick 77,391,868 97,134,047 174,622,837 443
Giles 11,081,772 14,047,578 34,008,320 32.6
Gloucester 35,627,423 41,692,630 84,077,030 42.4
Goochland 26,766,008 30,635,940 43,924,331 60.9
Grayson 7,656,306 12,402,780 32,195,560 23.8
Greene 13,796,694 19,789,221 41,396,910 33.3
Greensville 5,725,335 10,475,496 28,206,618 20.3
Halifax 21,351,463 27,839,043 87,277,996 24.5
Hanover 122,343,812 139,164,671 242,250,826 50.5
Henrico 410,178,806 464,495,425 788,359,941 52.0
Henry 33,338,703 40,069,716 105,030,061 31.7
Highland 2,551,569 3,141,582 6,572,732 38.8
Isle of Wight 34,938,841 42,090,034 80,406,162 43.5
James City 96,486,693 110,211,760 165,451,590 58.3
King & Queen 4,614,226 9,669,853 18,946,891 24.4
King George 18,289,902 28,552,052 51,217,139 35.7
King William 12,054,022 14,591,365 29,989,563 40.2
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Local Tax Total Local Tax Revenue as %
County Revenue Revenue Total Revenue ©f Total Revenue

Lancaster $11,885,989 $13,554,161 $23,505,014 50.6
Lee 8,963,051 11,225,134 52,663,932 17.0
Loudoun 609,565,652 695,744,341 899,837,331 67.7
Louisa 34,684,938 41,128,479 66,779,390 51.9
Lunenburg 5,236,477 8,465,711 24,570,002 213
Madison 11,194,349 14,045,393 27,663,659 40.5
Mathews 9,293,853 10,820,851 20,581,405 45.2
Mecklenburg 19,728,480 24,681,424 63,521,586 31.1
Middlesex 10,615,655 12,534,932 22,301,912 47.6
Montgomery 50,943,355 62,480,335 130,977,006 38.9
Nelson 15,610,990 18,848,055 35,387,100 44 1
New Kent 15,566,913 18,473,405 35,443,756 43.9
Northampton 13,226,068 16,353,849 37,194,487 35.6
Northumberland 12,219,007 15,248,159 26,179,945 46.7
Nottoway 6,195,503 9,686,375 31,460,150 19.7
Orange 27,274,149 33,770,531 64,579,537 42.2
Page 14,231,104 17,261,589 45,429,374 313
Patrick 8,996,584 12,586,610 34,390,876 26.2
Pittsylvania 29,527,014 35,405,756 115,037,187 25.7
Powhatan 24,054,011 28,425,317 54,734,026 43.9
Prince Edward 9,594,819 13,819,774 38,625,083 24.8
Prince George 24,280,924 28,995,356 76,257,172 31.8
Prince William 565,245,000 681,942,000 1,137,686,000 49.7
Pulaski 23,592,936 32,728,173 75,702,047 31.2
Rappahannock 8,722,174 10,247,399 17,434,297 50.0
*Richmond 5,504,436 8,275,771 17,585,075 31.8
Roanoke 109,272,831 123,285,723 220,748,824 49.5
Rockbridge 22,020,301 28,643,861 52,032,167 42.3
Rockingham 58,215,882 71,722,641 149,838,711 35.5
Russell 16,822,989 23,090,430 65,588,478 25.6
Scott 10,732,714 16,725,353 50,810,598 21.2
Shenandoah 30,597,632 37,234,290 78,834,538 38.8
*Smyth 14,138,084 22,733,102 61,252,257 23.1
Southampton 12,084,348 16,218,866 41,630,015 29.0
Spotsylvania 132,428,489 154,598,987 292,447,055 45.3
Stafford 145,330,982 178,098,752 330,710,472 43.9
Surry 15,236,048 16,548,733 23,829,521 63.9
Sussex 6,718,014 17,695,266 33,257,568 20.2
Tazewell 23,569,580 33,297,656 91,788,982 25.7
Warren 30,369,728 40,510,266 78,815,169 38.5
Washington 31,904,985 40,988,280 92,321,644 34.6
Wise 30,942,129 36,002,774 96,367,217 32.1
Wythe 18,626,108 28,165,016 62,928,118 29.6
York 81,040,112 95,121,105 180,184,984 45.0
B Totals: $7,409,946,065 $7,953,203,884 $13,165,271,199 56.3

SOURCE: 2005 Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, Auditor of Public
Accounts.
* Revenue data is for the FY ending June 30, 2004.
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tax rates, broadening their tax bases, or generating additional revenue through user charges or
some other means, or (ii) rely more heavily on more creative ways to finance spending, such as
debt, long-term leases, sale of existing assets, and privatization.

Local Tax and Revenue Data
Local Taxes

Tables 1 and 2 list local tax collections for fiscal year 2005 and describe the relationship
between local tax revenue, total local revenue, and total revenue. Of course, the vast majority of
total local revenue is tax revenue. Cities generate 83.5 percent of total local revenue through
taxes, and counties, 93.2 percent. Local fees, fines and interest income comprise the remaining
portion of locally generated revenue. Intergovernmental grants from both the state and federal
level are added to total local revenue to derive total revenue. Local tax revenue received as a
percentage of total revenue was 47.0 percent for cities and 56.3 percent for counties.

Locally generated revenues as a percentage of total revenue over the past two decades
have been moving in opposite directions for cities and counties. Tax revenues in cities as a
percentage of total revenue have been declining while they have been increasing in counties. In
2005, cities generated approximately $3.7 billion in tax revenue, or approximately 47.0 percent
of their total revenue. However, in 1995, 51.6 percent of cities' revenue was generated from tax
revenues, and in 1984 the percentage was 53.1. The opposite has occurred for Virginia's
counties. Tax revenue in counties as a percentage of total revenue increased from 50.9 percent in
1984 to 54.8 percent in 1995 and 56.3 percent in 2005.

As Table 1 indicates, local tax revenue as a percentage of total revenue for the cities
ranged from a low of 28.6 percent in Martinsville to a high of 77.2 percent in Fairfax City. In
fact, three of the top four cities were from the Northern Virginia area. The cities with the highest
and lowest percentages of tax revenue are as follows:

Highest Cities Lowest Cities

Fairfax 77.2% Martinsville 28.6%
Falls Church 73.4% Buena Vista 29.1%
Williamsburg 71.5% Franklin 30.3%
Alexandria 70.3% Danville 32.1%
Fredericksburg 60.4% Petersburg 33.0%

Local tax revenue as a percentage of total revenue for counties also varied greatly
throughout Virginia. Local taxes comprised 70.5 percent of Arlington County’s total revenue,
which is a larger percentage than in any other county. Lee, on the other land, generated just 17.0
percent of its total revenue through local taxes. The top three counties generating the largest
portions of their budgets through local taxes were from Northern Virginia. The other two highest
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were Surry and Bath Counties, where a large part of their property tax base consists of the
generation facilities at the nuclear power plants in those two counties.

Highest Counties Lowest Counties

Arlington 70.5% Lee 17.0%

Loudoun 67.7% Charlotte 19.6%

Fairfax 66.2% Nottoway 19.7%

Surry 63.9% Sussex 20.2%

Bath 62.7% Greensville 20.3%
State Aid

State aid to localities has remained a relatively stable portion of total local revenue
throughout the past two decades for counties, while it has steadily risen for cities. For fiscal year
2005, state aid comprised 35.0 percent of total revenue in cities and 32.3 percent in counties. For
cities this is an increase from 31.3 percent in 1995 and 30.2 percent in 1985. For counties the
percentage has been roughly unchanged over the past two decades. State aid as a percentage of
total revenue for counties in 2005 has increased from the 29.3 percent in 1995 but is little
changed from the 32.8 percent figure in 1985.

The information in Tables 1 and 2 demonstrates the vast differences in sources of revenue
for localities throughout the Commonwealth. State aid (which is included in the *“Total
Revenue” column) comprises a significantly larger portion of some localities’ budgets than of
others. Differences in tax bases, tax rates, demands for government services, and decreases in
federal aid account for the differences in reliance on intergovernmental revenue.

Decisions to allocate state funds to localities are based on financial need, ability to pay,
program effectiveness, local property values, and a host of other factors. Formulas for
distributing state funds have been criticized by many as being unfair. However, given the
diversity of Virginia localities, it is unlikely there will be a single solution that will remedy every
problem associated with funding formulas. Virtually any change that is made to the distribution
process would benefit some localities at the expense of others.

Issues

Increasing expenses in education, Medicaid, and transportation have outpaced other areas
of expenditures throughout the past decade and will continue to burden localities well into the
future.* The significant differences in ability to raise local revenue indicate that some localities
are in better financial positions than others to meet the challenges that lie ahead.

* Review of State Spending: December 2005 Update, Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission (House
Document No. 35, 2006)
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State and local governments are expected to face substantial fiscal stress in the coming
years caused by the increasing costs of needed services and the reductions in federal aid due to
corresponding efforts to reduce the federal deficit. It is unlikely that localities can rely solely on
increased state and federal aid to pull them through tough times. Thus, localities may seek
alternate sources of funding. Broadening the tax base would help some localities generate much-
needed local revenue, while at the same time allow them to avoid increasing the rate on one
particular tax. Increasing the rate on one tax may cause undesirable distortions in the tax system
and may place an excessive burden on one group of taxpayers. Others believe that increasing
amounts of state aid should be distributed to localities either by increasing the amount distributed
to localities under current funding formulas or by earmarking another source of revenue to
localities.

Many localities would benefit from increased taxing authority to allow them more
options with which to meet their demands for services. Many subcommittees in recent years
have studied funding options to help localities cope with fiscal stress. Such proposals have
included privatization of public facilities, regional cooperation on capital projects, and flexibility
in meeting state mandates, in addition to the request for more taxing authority. These proposals
will likely be addressed in the near future as localities search for answers to the question of how
to meet the needs of their communities.



Infroduction
History

Current Borrowing Authority
Constitution
Public Finance Act

Current Taxing Authority
Constitution
Virginia Code
Uniform Charter Powers Act

Issues
Summary

Infroduction

Local governments (counties, cities, and towns) are creations of the legislature. They are
formed and empowered by the General Assembly, subject to the requirements and constraints of
Virginia’s Constitution. The constitutional requirements and limitations placed on the General
Assembly in regard to local government debt and taxes shape the statutory law on these subjects.

History

The history of debt limitation for Virginia's local governments is explained in Howard’s
Commentaries on the Constitution of Virginia:
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Limits on local debt in Virginia first took the form of statute law; in 1875 a law
was enacted forbidding cities and towns to create indebtedness in excess of 17 percent of
the assessed value of real estate and 15 percent of personal property. In 1902 local debt
limitations became a part of Virginia's fundamental law. The proposal for what became
section 127 of the Constitution of 1902 was introduced and approved with little debate; it
limited a city or town to bonded indebtedness not exceeding 18 percent [now 10 percent]
of the assessed valuation of real estate in that municipality. Passage brought Virginia
into line with the majority of the other states.

County borrowing was not the subject of constitutional mandate until the Byrd
amendments of 1928. Before that time, counties often turned to the General Assembly to
approve bond issues. Such "general acts of special application" were traditionally passed
upon the mere request of the county’s delegate; thus the ability to find willing buyers
constituted the only practical restraint on county debt. To safeguard the credit and fiscal
integrity of the counties, section 115-a, requiring voter approval of most county
borrowing, was added to the Constitution in 1928. In response to the need for more
schools, in 1958 a paragraph was added to section 115-a explicitly permitting county
borrowing, without voter approval, from the state retirement fund to finance school
construction.

The use of a debt ceiling for municipal borrowing and a requirement of local
referendum for counties is unusual. Most states that impose such restrictions subject
counties and municipalities to the same kind of limitations. Indeed, often the localities
must face both a debt ceiling and a referendum requirement. Virginia's dichotomy may
turn on the historical periods when the respective limits were first adopted. In 1875 debt
ceiling devices were commonly used; a half century later, referendum had become a
more popular method of controlling debt."

Current Borrowing Authority
Constitution

The powers of local governments to borrow funds, or incur debt, are set out in Article
VII, Section 10, of the Constitution. The section does not grant any powers to local
governments; rather, it restricts the powers that the General Assembly may grant to local
governments to incur debt.

Section 10 is divided into two subsections: subsection (a) pertains to borrowing by cities
and towns and subsection (b) to borrowing by counties and regional governments.

Subsection (a) provides that no city or town shall have any debt that exceeds 10 percent
of the assessed value of taxable real estate in the city or town. However, in computing the 10
percent limitation, the following four kinds of debt are not counted:

' A.E. Dick Howard, Commentaries on the Constitution of Virginia, Vol. II (Charlottesville: University Press of
Virginia, 1974), pp. 862-863.
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1. Borrowing the current year’s anticipated revenues of the city or town, which debt
must be paid within one year.

2. Bonds backed by the full faith and credit of the city or town and approved by its
voters for a revenue-producing project; provided that within a period not to exceed
five years, if the project is not generating sufficient revenue to pay expenses and
retire the bonds at maturity, then the bonds are included in the 10 percent limitation.

3. Bonds of the city or town for a revenue-producing project where the principal and
interest are to be paid exclusively from project revenues or with contributions from
other governmental units.

4. Contract obligations calling for payments over more than one year to a publicly
owned regional project pursuant to an interstate compact or an exclusion authorized
by general law or special act for the project.

Subsection (b) provides that no county or districts thereof or regional government or
districts thereof shall incur any debt unless first approved by the voters. There is no limitation on
the amount of such debt.

Voter approval is not required for:

1. Numbers 1 and 3 above;
2. Refunding bonds; and

Bonds for capital school projects sold to the Literary Fund, the Virginia Retirement
System, or other state agencies designated by law.

The voters of any county may elect for the county to be treated as a city for purposes of
borrowing money. If such an election is made, the debts of any town or district in the county are
included in the 10 percent ceiling, unless the debts qualify for one of the four exclusions listed
above. As of January 1, 2007, voters in only four counties have so elected: Isle of Wight, Prince
George, Smyth, and Wythe.

Public Finance Act

The 1991 Session of the General Assembly passed an updated version of the Public
Finance Act. The update made few material changes; it primarily eliminated inconsistencies,
clarified wording, and reorganized provisions in a more logical format. The purpose of the act,
as was true of the old one, was to implement the constitutional article on local government debt
and to flesh out its provisions. As a result of the 1997 recodification of Title 15.1 of the Code of
Virginia, the Public Finance Act can now be found in Chapter 26 of Title 15.2 of the Code,
consisting of §§ 15.2-2600 through 15.2-2663.
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A significant provision is found in §§ 15.2-2601 (ii) and 15.2-2661 (last paragraph) of the
Code. The Virginia Supreme Court has held that local governments have the option of
borrowing either under the provisions of the Public Finance Act or under charter provisions.”
The charters of some municipal corporations contain limitations on debt that are more restrictive
than required by general law. These restrictions could be nullified by choosing to incur debt
under the provisions of the Public Finance Act rather than the charter. The General Assembly
believed this thwarted the will of the people and added a proviso in the two sections to the effect
that after July 1, 1992, charter provisions regarding referendums and debt limitations shall
prevail over general law.

Current Taxing Authority
Constitution

The authority of the General Assembly, and limitations on such authority concerning
taxation by local and regional governments, is set out in Article X of the Constitution. Because
the General Assembly inherently has the power to tax and to delegate such authority to local
governments, the principal purpose of the article is to restrict the taxing powers the General
Assembly may grant to local governments. The Constitution segregates certain sources of
taxation exclusively for taxation by the state and others for taxation by the localities.” Section 4
of Article X provides that real estate, coal and other mineral lands, and tangible personal
property, except rolling stock of public service corporations, are to be taxed by local
governments only.

Virginia Code

The taxing authority of local governments is essentially statutory and is set out primarily
in Subtitle III, Chapters 30 through 39, of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia. Major sources of
tax revenue include retail sales and use taxes; real and personal property taxes; retail
communications and video services sales and use taxes; other consumer utility taxes; motor
vehicle and trailer license taxes; business, professional, and occupational license taxes; transient
occupancy taxes; meals taxes; recordation taxes; taxes on wills and grants of administration;
bank franchise taxes; recreation taxes; and special and sanitary district taxes. In addition to these
sources of tax revenue, additional revenues are raised from non-tax sources such as charges for
services, license and permit fees, and fines and forfeitures assessed for violations of county
ordinances. The appendix to this chapter summarizes the taxing powers granted to the localities
and provides statutory references to the Code of Virginia.

2 1d., p. 860, footnote 1.
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Uniform Charter Powers Act

Another major statutory grant of taxing authority for local governments is the Uniform
Charter Powers Act (§ 15.2-1100 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. Among other
provisions, the Uniform Charter Powers Act includes a broad grant of taxing power that may be
undertaken by municipal corporations.

For instance, § 15.2-1104 of the Code of Virginia refers to the taxing powers granted
under the Uniform Charter Powers Act and states:

§ 15.2-1104. Taxes and assessments.—A municipal corporation may raise
annually by taxes and assessments on property, persons and other subjects of taxation,
which are not prohibited by law, such sums of money as in the judgment of the municipal
corporation are necessary to pay the debts, defray the expenses, accomplish the purposes
and perform the functions of the municipal corporation, in such manner as the municipal
corporation deems necessary or expedient. A municipal corporation may also establish
by ordinance a discount for the early payment of any such taxes or assessments.

Under this section, cities and towns are given general taxing authority. Such cities and
towns may impose taxes as a result of this provision or through explicit authority to impose a tax
granted in their charters, which may not be levied by counties. Cities and towns with such
general taxing power are specifically authorized to impose excise taxes on cigarettes, admissions,
transient room rentals, meals, and travel campgrounds.” The major difference resulting from this
general grant of taxing authority is that cities and towns may levy taxes in addition to those
imposed by counties and, unlike counties, they are not subject to the tax rate limitations or any
referendum requirements set out in the Code of Virginia.

Section 15.2-204 of the Code provides that cities and towns shall have all the powers set
forth in the Uniform Charter Powers Act regardless of whether such powers are set out or
incorporated in the city or town charter. Counties, on the other hand, can have Uniform Charter
Powers Act authority only if such powers are specifically conferred upon the county.

Issues

Cities and counties have very similar responsibilities to the state and to their citizens.
However, the Constitution requires different debt treatment for cities and counties, although
counties, upon a favorable referendum vote, may be treated like cities for the purposes of debt.
In addition, the General Assembly, for various reasons, has not equalized the taxing authority
between cities and counties in certain taxing areas (e.g., meals, cigarettes, lodging, and
admissions). These differences have been a cause of concern for many county representatives.

3 Virginia Constitution, Article X, Sections 1 through 4.
*Va. Code § 58.1-3840.
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To equalize the borrowing authority of cities and counties, an amendment to the
Constitution would be required. Such an amendment would take at least two years to take effect,
due to the procedures required for amending to the Constitution. Equalization of taxing authority
between cities and counties, however, can be achieved statutorily, and legislation to this end has
been introduced in the past but has not been passed by the General Assembly. Some legislators
believe counties should have the same taxing authority as cities only when counties have all of
the same service responsibilities as cities.

Summary

The borrowing and taxing authority of Virginia's counties, cities, and towns is defined
and limited by the Constitution, the Public Finance Act, the Uniform Charter Powers Act, and
other various statutory provisions set out in the Code of Virginia.

A key issue relating to the borrowing and taxing authority of Virginia's localities
continues to be the disparate treatment between counties and cities, especially in the area of local
taxation.
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Appendix

Taxing Powers Granted to Virginia Counties, Cities and Towns

Tax and
Authority

Local Governments
Empowered to Levy

County-Town
Relationship

Taxes on Property

Remarks

Real Property
(§ 58.1-3200)

Counties

Cities

Towns

Special Districts

Town tax is levied in addition to
county tax. Towns may conduct
own reassessment, but none
currently do so; all rely on county
assessment.

See Note 2 for discussion on special
district taxes.

Tangible Counties Town tax is levied in addition to See Note 3 for discussion on state
Personal Property Cities county tax. reimbursement of taxes levied.
(§8 58.1-3501; 58.1-  Towns
3523 et seq.)
Machinery and Tools  Counties Town tax is levied in addition to Rate may not be higher than that levied
(§ 58.1-3507) Cities county tax. on tangible personal property.
Towns
Merchants' Capital Counties Town tax is levied in addition to Rate may not exceed the rate in effect
(§8§ 58.1-3509; 58.1-  Cities county tax. on 1/1/78. May not be levied on any
3704) Towns class on which BPOL tax is levied.
Localities may exempt merchants'
capital from taxation.
Taxes on Individuals; Consumers
Sales and Use Counties Limited to 1% of the gross sales price
(§§ 58.1-605; Cities of an item. Towns with separate school
58.1-606) districts receive a proportion of the
county's total sales tax revenue, based
on school-age population. For all other
towns, one-half of the county's revenue
is divided among the county and towns,
based on school-age population.
Motor Vehicle Counties Imposition of tax by town Tax may not exceed motor vehicle
License Cities constitutes a credit for taxpayers license tax imposed by State.
(§ 46.2-752) Towns on the county tax. The taxpayer is
liable to the county for the
difference between the town tax
and the county tax.
Utility Consumers of ~ Counties If a town imposes the tax, the Rate not to exceed 20% and applicable
Water, Heat, Light, Cities county tax does not apply within only to first $15 of bill for residential
and Power Towns the town if it (i) operates its own customers. (Beginning in 2001, rate
(§ 58.1-3814) school system or (ii) provides on electricity or gas consumption to be
police or fire services and water or based on number of kilowatt hours or
sewer services. cubic feet consumed. The effective cap
of $3 per month would remain the
same, however).
Food and Beverage Counties If town levies tax, county tax Counties limited to maximum rate of
(§§ 58.1-3833; 58.1-  Cities applicable in town only if council 4% and may levy tax only after approval
3840, 58.1-3841, Towns agrees. in referendum, except for Arlington,

58.1-3842)

Frederick, Montgomery, Roanoke, and
Rockbridge Counties which may
impose tax if unanimously approved by
board of supervisors. Rappahannock
County may levy a combined food and
beverage and transient occupancy tax
at a maximum rate of 4% on bed and
breakfast establishments. No limit on
towns or cities and referendum not
required.
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Tax and Local Governments County-Town
Authority Empowered to Levy Relationship Remarks
Taxes on Individuals; Consumers, continued
Income Cities of Norfolk, Virginia Limited to maximum of 1%; must be

(§ 58.1-540 et seq.)

Cigarettes
(§ 58.1-3830 et seq.)

Transient
Occupancy

(8§ 58.1-3819 -
58.1-3826, 58.1-
3840)

Admissions
(8§ 58.1-3818; 58.1-
3840)

Recordation
(§ 58.1-3800)

Probate
(§ 58.1-3805)

Beach, Alexandria,
Fairfax, Falls Church,
Manassas, and
Manassas Park, and
Counties of Fairfax,
Arlington, Loudoun, and
Prince William

Arlington County and If town levies tax, county tax

Fairfax County applicable in town only if council
Cities agrees.

Towns

Counties If town levies tax, county tax
Cities applicable in town only if council
Towns agrees.

Fairfax, Arlington,
Brunswick, Culpeper,
Dinwiddie, James City,
Nelson, New Kent,
Prince George, and
Roanoke Counties; any
county in which there is
located a major league
baseball stadium;
Cities

Towns

County tax is in addition to any
town tax.

Counties
Cities
Counties
Cities

approved by referendum. Revenues
must be used for transportation facilities.
Tax can be levied for only 5 years from
the effective date of the tax.

Cities and towns may levy tax only if
they had authority to do so prior to
1/1/77. Arlington and Fairfax limited to
tax of $.05 per pack, or amount levied by
State law, whichever is greater.

Counties limited to maximum rate of 2%.
Arlington may levy tax up to 5%, under
certain conditions, may impose
additional 0.25% tax through 2009 to
promote tourism, and may levy
additional 2% for conference center.
Roanoke County's charter authorizes
levy of up to 5%. The following counties
may impose an additional 3% to
promote tourism: Albemarle, Augusta,
Bedford, Botetourt, Caroline, Carroll,
Craig, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Franklin,
Floyd, Gloucester, Halifax, James City,
King George, Loudoun, Mecklenburg,
Montgomery, Nelson, Page, Patrick,
Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince
William, Pulaski, Rockbridge,
Spotsylvania, Stafford, Tazewell, Wise,
Wythe, and York. Henrico, Chesterfield,
and Hanover may collect another 7% for
tourism promotion, convention center,
and performing arts center. Also
authorized to impose an additional levy
are: 2% in Fairfax County for tourism
promotion and visitors bureau; $2 in
James City and York Counties for
tourism promotion; and 2% in
Rockbridge County for Virginia Horse
Center. No limit on cities or towns.

Counties authorized to levy tax are
limited to maximum of 10% except
Roanoke, which has general charter
power. The tax in the county with the
baseball stadium may be levied on
admissions to the stadium only. The
10% tax may be supplemented by a 2%
surcharge if the stadium has more than
40,000 seats. Nelson County may levy
tax only for admissions to spectator
events.

Limited to one-third of State recordation
tax.

Limited to one-third of State recordation
tax.
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Tax and
Authority

Local Governments
Empowered to Levy

County-Town
Relationship

Remarks

Taxes on Businesses

Business, Professional
and Occupational
License [BPOL]

(§ 58.1-3700 et seq.)

Daily Rental Property
(§ 58.1-3510.1 et seq.)

Coal Severance
(§ 58.1-3712)

Gas Severance
(§8§ 58.1-3712 and
58.1-3713.4)

Coal and Gas Road
Improvement
(§ 58.1-3713)

Utility License
(§ 58.1-3731)

Counties
Cities
Towns

Counties
Cities
Towns

Counties
Cities
Counties
Cities

Counties
Cities

Counties
Cities
Towns

Counties cannot levy BPOL
taxes within a town that
also levies BPOL taxes,
unless the town agrees.

Town tax is levied in
addition to county tax.

20% of revenue in Wise
County required to be
distributed to towns and
city situated in county. Of
that portion, 25%
distributed according to
number of motor vehicles
and remainder divided
equally.

If a town levies tax, county
tax applicable in town only
if council agrees

Commonly called "gross receipts tax";
a permissive tax that may be levied on
almost any type of business or
occupation. State law places variety of
caps on rates that can be levied
against particular types of businesses.
Also, localities with populations over
50,000 may not levy tax against a
business with gross receipts less than
$100,000. For those localities with a
population of 25,000 to 50,000, the
threshold is $50,000. All localities may
impose a license fee in those
instances in which the tax is not levied.
The fee may range from $30 to $50,
depending on the size of the locality.
Any locality imposing a fee or tax must
adopt a uniform ordinance. No
category can be required to pay both
merchants' capital tax and BPOL tax to
the same jurisdiction.

Similar to sales tax; limited to 1% of
amount charged for rental property.

Limited to maximum of 1% of gross
receipts from sale of coal mined.

Limited to maximum of 2% of gross
receipts from sale of gas produced;
25% of revenues in counties and city in
Southwest Virginia paid to Virginia
Coalfield Economic Development
Fund.

Limited to maximum of 1% of gross
receipts of sale of coal or gas mined or
produced. Locality retains 75% of
revenue which goes into special road
improvement fund. However, locality
may elect to use 50% of the retained
amount to fund construction of new
water or sewer systems and lines.
Remaining 25% of revenue paid to
Virginia Coalfield Economic
Development Fund. Authority expires
in 2007.

Form of BPOL tax. Limited to
maximum of 0.5% of gross receipts of
company accruing from business in
locality. After December 31, 2000,
localities may not impose tax on
electric or gas companies, with the tax
to be replaced by a consumption tax
established by the State, collected by
the utility company, and distributed to
the locality.
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Tax and Local Governments County-Town Remarks
Authority Empowered to Levy Relationship

Taxes on Businesses; Continued

Alcohol License Counties If a town levies tax, county Localities authorized to collect license
(8§ 4.1-205; 4.1-233) Cities tax not applicable in town. taxes from persons engaged in
Towns manufacturing, selling, or bottling

alcoholic beverages and mixed
beverages. Maximum taxes set by

State law.

Bank Franchise Counties Counties may tax only Limited to maximum of 80% of the

(8§ 58.1-1208 - Cities those banks outside town State rate.

58.1-1211) Towns corporate limits.

Cable TV Franchise Counties Federal Regulations limit franchise fee,

(§ 15.2-2108.1:1) Cities in most circumstances, to 5% of gross

Towns revenue. (Local governments may

also levy BPOL excise tax on cable
systems.)

NOTES:

1. This table outlines taxing authority allowed local governments by statutory law. In addition to this authority, cities
and towns which have incorporated the Uniform Charter Powers Act (§§ 15.2-1100 et seq.) into their charters have a
general taxing authority (§ 15.2-1104). Consequently, some municipalities may levy taxes as a result of this
provision, or through explicit authority granted in their charters, which are not on this chart.

2. Counties, cities, and towns, acting through special districts, can levy property taxes for a variety of purposes. (§§
15.2-2400 - 15.2-2403). In addition, counties can create sanitary districts for a variety of services and fund them
through a tax on property in the districts. Counties can also levy property taxes, either countywide or in one or more
magisterial districts, to pay for contracted fire protection services (§ 27-3). The General Assembly has also
authorized the creation of special transportation districts within counties or between counties. Special property taxes
can be levied on business or commercial properties within those districts (§§ 15.2-4806 and 15.2-4607).

3. In 1998 the General Assembly passed legislation that eliminated over a five-year period a portion of the tangible
personal property tax on motor vehicles used for personal use. The Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998 as
originally enacted would have eliminated by 2002 the personal property tax on the first $20,000 of value of
passenger cars, pickup or panel trucks, and motorcycles that were not used in a business. The schedule for the
elimination of the tax was twelve and one-half percent of the tax on the first $20,000 by 1998; twenty-seven and one-
half percent by 1999; forty-seven and one-half percent by 2000; seventy percent by 2001; and one hundred percent
by 2002. However, the phased-in tax relief was made dependent upon certain negative economic conditions not
occurring. The Act also provided that the Commonwealth would reimburse local governments for the loss in
revenues associated with the tax relief.

The original Act and the scheduled tax relief have been modified several times. In 2004, the General
Assembly capped the Commonwealth's reimbursement payments to local governments at $950 million annually.
This amount was slightly greater than the $907 million incurred by the Commonwealth in fiscal year 2005 to
eliminate seventy percent of the tax on the first $20,000 of value. Under the legislation, beginning in 2006, each
county, city, and town will receive a fixed share of the $950 million. Each locality receiving a reimbursement
payment is required to develop specific criteria and to allocate its reimbursement payment among personal use
passenger vehicles, pickup or panel trucks, and motorcycles. Thus, in 2006, the percentage of tangible personal
property tax relief varied greatly from locality to locality, and these differences may become more exaggerated in
future years.

SOURCE: Commission on Local Government, "Taxing Powers Granted to Virginia Counties, Cities, and Towns,"
Staff Report, June 2006.
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The real property tax (including that on public service corporation property) is the largest
source of local government revenue and has comprised over 45 percent of all locally raised
revenues for at least the last three decades. The real property tax on a taxpayer's home often
stands out because of disparities in the value of the taxpayer’s real estate versus the taxpayer’s
income (from which the tax bill is paid) and the fact that the tax bill often requires a large lump
sum payment (as compared to the sales tax paid on a transaction-by-transaction basis or income
tax withheld from the taxpayer’s periodic salary payment). However, because of the limitations
on local governments’ taxing powers and the historical reliance on the real property tax, and
absent any significant structural changes in the relationship of the Commonwealth and its
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localities, there is no reason to believe that such reliance, or the public’s sentiments, will
markedly change.

History

A land tax was first imposed in 1645 as a result of opposition to the poll tax among the
poorer classes." However because its purpose was purely political and because it failed to raise
any substantial amount of revenue, the tax was repealed in 1648.2 The House of Burgesses, the
governing authority, populated by the landed class for the most part, sought to raise its revenue
through the poll tax or through export duties on tobacco.” The poll tax, throughout its early
history, was favored, among other reasons, because it was the only form of taxation that
experienced any significant success in collection.” In colonial times, there was little need for
revenue, particularly when the functions of colonial governments are compared to those now
performed by state government.

However, as the needs of government grew, the Commonwealth returned to the real
property tax and taxed two classes of real property. From the colonial period until the
Constitution of 1851, real property was taxed either as “land” or “town lots.” Land (farm land)
was taxed directly in relationship to value, while town lots (occupied or rented town property)
was taxed according to its rental value.® Throughout this time, and until 1926, real property was
taxed at the state level, while also being subject to tax by the localities.

The criticism directed at state taxation of real property during this early period of
Virginia history was that inequality of assessments resulted in unequal tax burdens, which
became disproportionately worse with the passage of time.” Tax “reform” at the state level, in
terms of constitutional changes, finally occurred in the 1920s. In 1926, effective the following
year, the General Assembly segregated real estate and tangible personal property for local
taxation only.® Thereafter, the electorate approved and ratified this tax segregation scheme as
amendments to the Constitution of 1902, Article XIII, §§ 168, 169, 171, and 172, on June 19,
1928.°  Although property is segregated for local taxation, Article X, Section 1 of the
Constitution of Virginia permits the General Assembly, through the power of classification, to

! Sydenstricker, Edgar. A Brief History of Taxation in Virginia. Richmond: The Legislative Reference Bureau of
Virginia, 1915, p. 7.

Id.

’Id.

Y1d, p. 11.

Id., p. 58.

5 Id.

" Id., pp. 62-63.

8 Chapter 576, 1926 Acts of Assembly.

o Holt, “Constitutional Revision in Virginia, 1902 and 1928: Some Lessons in Roadblocks to Institutional Reform,”
54 Va. L.Rev. 903 (1968).
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permit application of a different tax rate on different categories of property. Classification has
been used often in the area of personal property taxation but has not been applied to such a
degree in real property taxation.'®

The Constitution of Virginia provides (i) that all property shall be taxed, (ii) that all taxes
shall be levied and collected under general laws and shall be uniform upon the same class of
subjects within the territorial limits of the taxing jurisdiction, and (iii) that all assessments of
property be at their fair market value. These constitutional requirements are the standards
guiding the implementing statutes found in Title 58.1.

Background

The real property tax was intended as a tax on wealth and therefore applies whether or
not the wealth (real property) generates income. Taxing property implicitly assumes that the
property owner has sufficient income to pay the tax. If income is not available from other
sources, the property owner is faced with the decision of selling the property or borrowing
against it. However, with the impact of inflation on Virginia real estate prices over the last 20
years, the disparity between the fair market value of residential real estate and the ability to pay
has been magnified, particularly to the extent that the property owner has held on to his property,
and particularly in certain areas of Virginia. For persons on relatively fixed incomes, this
disparity often is heightened.

Tax Structure
Assessment-Valuation Process

The real property tax is assessed annually (referred to as “tax day”) against the fair
market value of all taxable real estate. The first day of January has traditionally been tax day in
Virginia, but the day has been modified by general statute and special laws in various localities.
Fair market value is determined by an appraisal process that may occur as frequently as annually
or as infrequently as once every six years. Cities are generally required to reassess at least every
two years, while smaller cities (less than 30,000 in population) may elect to reassess every four
years. Counties are required to reassess at least every four years, while counties with smaller
populations (50,000 or less) may elect to reassess every five or six years. To the extent that a
new appraisal of fair market value (also referred to as an “assessment’) has not been produced,
annual taxes on the real estate are to be computed by reference to the last appraisal or valuation
made. Adjustments to the last appraisal or valuation may be made when land is subdivided or
rezoned, when new buildings are substantially completed or fit for use and occupancy, or when
property is reduced in value through damage, destruction, or removal of timber.

0va. Code §§ 58.1-3503 and 58.1-3506.
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Fixtures, or improvements to real estate, are taxed as real estate. Mobile homes, although
under the law of fixtures may constitute real property, are classified as tangible personal
property, but must be taxed at the same rate applicable to real property. Mineral lands and
timber lands, although they are to be separately listed and assessed, are taxed as real estate.

Real property and tangible personal property owned by public service corporations are
taxed locally under the tax segregation provisions of the Constitution of Virginia. However, in
1928 (the same year the tax segregation provisions were ratified), the Virginia Constitution was
amended to provide that a “central State agency” (the State Corporation Commission) would
assess all such property in the Commonwealth.""  This provision ensures that public service
corporation property throughout the Commonwealth is uniformly valued and that unfavorable or
unequal tax treatment is not exported to the public service corporation’s ratepayers for the
benefit of a locality’s taxpayers.

The goal of the assessment process (appraisal or valuation) is determination of “fair
market value.” In theory, and by definition, “the fair market value of property ‘is the price which
it will bring when it is offered for sale by one who desires, but is not obliged, to sell it, and is
bought by one who is under no necessity of having it.”” However, as a practical matter,
particularly for those jurisdictions that make annual or biennial assessments, it is physically
impossible to appraise each and every piece of real estate in the jurisdiction.'” Therefore, the
Supreme Court of Virginia has specifically approved “[c]ertain tools of the appraisal-assessment
trade, such as ‘continuous maintenance’ and ‘hotspotting’ . . . to facilitate the process of
achieving uniformity.”"® “Hotspotting” is the selective reappraisal of tax parcels within those

areas of the jurisdiction at large where value changes seem to be disproportionate.

Appraisal-Valuation Methods

Professional appraisers use three basic approaches in determining fair market value. First
is the sales approach, which requires the comparison of sales prices of comparable or similar
properties. This method is considered quite accurate for those types of properties that sell
frequently, such as residential properties, although the issue of comparability often gives rise to
disagreement. Next is the income approach, which is used for income-producing (rental)
properties, especially those for which there are few comparable sales. “Economic rent” or fair
market rent is capitalized to determine value. Economic rent is not necessarily the actual rent or
rents being paid by the lessee for the subject property; here, too, market comparisons are
necessary to determine what rents are being paid for comparable buildings. The third approach

" Article X, § 2 Constitution of Virginia (1971).
' Perkins v. Albemarle County, 214 Va. 416, 418 (1973).
¥ Perkins v. Albemarle County, 214 Va. 416, 418 (1973).
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is depreciated reproduction cost, which requires computing the actual cost to replace or rebuild
the structure reduced by depreciation to reflect age and wear and tear on the structure.

The Supreme Court of Virginia has recognized “that assessment of property is not an
exact science” and that “[t]he value of land, buildings, and tangible personal property is
dependent upon many factors which cannot be prescribed by any general rule. . .The courts, in
trying to resolve this problem . . . have sought to enforce equality in the burden of taxation by
insisting upon uniformity in the mode of assessment and in the rate of taxation.”"*

The fair market value mandate of the Virginia Constitution is also reflected in §§ 58.1-
3201 and 58.1-3259 of the Code of Virginia. Section 58.1-3259 requires the comptroller to
withhold ABC profits from any county or city that fails to assess “at 100 percent fair market
13 upon notification from the Department of Taxation of such failure. Such withholding is
to continue until the Department notifies the comptroller that compliance has been achieved, at

value

which time the comptroller may release the withheld funds, less an eight percent annualized
penalty.

Who Performs Assessments

Under §§ 58.1-3251, 58.1-3252, 58.1-3270, and 58.1-3271, the appraisal may be
performed by the local commissioner of the revenue, a professional real estate assessor certified
by the Department of Taxation, or a board of assessors. Real estate assessors or boards of
assessors (consisting of three members) are appointed by the governing bodies of the localities.
Section 58.1-3276 requires that persons appointed to a board of assessors be citizens of the
taxing jurisdiction and, at the discretion of the local governing body, be required to attend and
participate in the Department of Taxation’s basic course of instruction. In addition, all personnel
employed by the board of assessors are required to possess prescribed qualifications for the
particular position held, including whatever combinations of education, training, and experience
are deemed necessary by the Department for each such position.

Appeal of Assessments

Taxpayers may apply to the commissioner of the revenue or other official who made the
contested assessment for corrections of erroneous assessments. In addition, any person
aggrieved by any real estate assessment may apply for relief to the board of assessors, or, if none,
to the board of equalization, or he may apply directly to the appropriate circuit court, if such
direct judicial appeal is not otherwise specifically prohibited.

" Southern Railway v. Commonwealth, 211 Va. 210, 214 (1970).

¥ Compliance is determined by reference to the Department of Taxation’s annual official assessment sales ratio
study, which compares assessments of properties in the localities with actual sales of the same properties.
Noncompliance is the failure of a locality to maintain a sales assessment ratio greater than 70%.
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Boards of equalization are generally appointed by the local circuit court and usually
consist of three or five members. Boards of equalization may sit for either a one-year term or, in
the case of “permanent” boards of equalization, staggered terms of one to three years. Members,
or prospective members, in order to be eligible for appointment in the first instance, must attend
and participate in the Department of Taxation’s basic course of instruction.

The board of equalization’s statutory duty is to equalize real estate assessments, make
corrections where land is determined to have been valued at other than fair market value, and
correct other errors in assessments such as the number of acres contained in a parcel of land.
The board may act whether a specific complaint is made or not and may increase as well as
decrease assessments. This duty requires the board to act of its own initiative if it should be
made aware that action is necessary to ensure equality of taxation.'® The board of equalization
has the power to inspect real estate and to summon information it may deem necessary to review
the assessments before it. Either the taxpayer or the taxing authority may apply to the board of
equalization for relief. In all cases brought before the board it is presumed that the assessment is
correct.

In the event the taxpayer does not resolve his dispute administratively, resort to the local
circuit court is permitted under § 58.1-3984 (unless otherwise provided by special law). The
burden is on the taxpayer to show that the property is valued at more than its fair market value,
that the assessment is not uniform in its application, or that the assessment is otherwise invalid.
“If the court is satisfied from the evidence that the assessment is erroneous and that the erroneous
assessment was not caused by” the taxpayer’s willful failure to provide information, the court
may order the assessment to be corrected and a refund if the tax has been paid."’

Exemptions and Other Special Taxpayer Treatment

Article X, Section 1 of the Constitution of Virginia (1971) provides that “[a]ll property,
except as hereinafter provided, shall be taxed.” The majority of property tax exemptions are
found in Article X, Section 6 of the Constitution of Virginia. The list of such exempt property
may be summarized as follows:

1. Property owned (directly or indirectly) by the Commonwealth or any of its political
subdivisions;

2. Property owned and exclusively occupied or used by churches or religious bodies for

religious worship or for the residences of their ministers;

Nonprofit cemeteries;

4. Property owned by nonprofit public libraries or nonprofit institutions of learning, as
long as such property is primarily used for literacy, scientific or educational
purposes, or purposes incidental thereto;

98]

16 Id
""Va. Code § 58.1-3987.
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5. Intangible personal property (or any class or classes thereof) as may be provided for
in general law;

6. Property used by its owner for religious, charitable, patriotic, historical, benevolent,
cultural, or public park and playground purposes, as may be provided by ordinance of
the applicable local governing body, subject to conditions as may be provided by the
General Assembly;

7. Land subject to a perpetual easement permitting inundation by water as provided by
general law;

8. As permitted by the General Assembly, at local option, property owned and occupied
as their sole dwelling by persons 65 years of age or older or permanently and totally
disabled, who are deemed by the General Assembly to be bearing an extraordinary
tax burden on such property in relation to their income and financial worth;

9. As provided by general law, or as general law may permit localities, to exempt or
partially exempt pollution control or solar energy equipment, facilities, or devices,
including real property;

10. As provided by general law, or as general law may permit localities, to exempt or
partially exempt household goods, personal effects, and tangible farm property and
products;

11. As permitted by the General Assembly, at local option, partial exemption of real
estate which has undergone substantial renovation, rehabilitation, or replacement;

12. As permitted by the General Assembly, at local option, to exempt or partially exempt
generating equipment installed for the purpose of converting from oil or natural gas
to coal or to wood or to any other alternate energy source for manufacturing; and

13. As provided by general law, at local option, to exempt or partially exempt any
business license or merchants' capital.

Some of the foregoing exemptions are considered self-executing (items 1, 2, 3, and 4);
that is, they do not require statutes to implement them. Nonetheless, the General Assembly has
enacted statutes providing for these exemptions, as well as the other exemptions.'® For most of
the exemptions, the General Assembly has the authority to define or condition (but not extend)
them by general law. Most of the exemptions and their corresponding statutes are relatively
straightforward. One exemption whose corresponding statute is more involved and has been
amended numerous times is item 8, concerning property owned and occupied as the sole
dwelling by persons 65 years of age or older or permanently and totally disabled, who are
deemed by the General Assembly to be bearing an extraordinary tax burden on such property in
relation to their income and financial worth.

Tax Relief for the Elderly and the Handicapped

Section 6 of Article X of the Constitution of Virginia, broken into its component parts,
permits tax relief for the elderly and handicapped provided that:
1. The General Assembly permits the relief by affirmatively enacting a general law.

2. Each local governing body is free to opt in or out of the tax relief.
3. Total or partial exemption, or tax deferral can be provided.

8 Va. Code Articles 2, 3, and 4 of Chapter 32 of Title 58.1; and Va. Code Chapter 36 of Title 58.1
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4. The real estate is both owned and occupied as the sole dwelling by the elderly (65
years or older) or handicapped, whose income and financial worth are such that the
General Assembly deems that they are "bearing an extraordinary tax burden."

The General Assembly has implemented Article X, § 6 (b) of the Constitution through
Article 2 of Chapter 32 of Title 58.1. By local option, the local governing body may adopt either
an exemption program or a deferral program or a combination of exemption and deferral. Such
real estate must be owned by, and be occupied, as the sole dwelling of a person at least 65 years
of age, or if provided in the ordinance, a person who is permanently and totally disabled. A
dwelling jointly owned by husband and wife can qualify for tax relief if either spouse meets the
age or disability standard.

In general, localities are permitted to choose one of three methods of determining income
limitations (localities may elect any cap that does not exceed the general income limitation): (i)
$50,000 of income from all sources per year; (ii) the income limits based upon family size for the
respective metropolitan statistical area, annually published by the Department of Housing and
Urban Development for qualifying for federal housing assistance; or (iii) the locality's median
adjusted gross income of its married residents. The combined net worth cap that localities are
permitted to use is $200,000, excluding the value of the dwelling and the land on which it is
situated (not to exceed 10 acres). Furnishings may also be excluded from the net worth
computation. The locality may elect to annually increase the net combined financial worth by
indexing it to inflation.

The following localities are permitted to use a higher income limit ($52,000) and a higher
net worth limit ($350,000): the Cities of Charlottesville, Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth,
Richmond, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach and the Counties of Chesterfield, Goochland, and
Henrico. The following localities are permitted to use an even higher income limit ($72,000)
and a higher net worth limit ($540,000) and exclude from net worth the value of more acres of
land on which the dwelling is situated (25 acres): the Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church,
Manassas, and Manassas Park and the Counties of Arlington, Clarke, Fairfax, Fauquier,
Loudoun, Prince William, and Stafford.

Land Use Taxation

Article X, Section 2 of the Constitution of Virginia provides that the “General Assembly
may define and classify real estate devoted to agricultural, horticultural, forest, or open space
uses” and authorize local jurisdictions to allow the deferral of or relief from portions of real
estate taxes that would otherwise apply in the absence of special tax treatment. The General
Assembly has exercised the power granted under this constitutional provision in Article 4 of
Chapter 32 of Title 58.1. The article is entitled “Special Assessments for Land Preservation” and
is popularly known as “land use taxation” or “use value taxation.”
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A comprehensive land use taxation statute was first adopted by the General Assembly in
1971, effective July 1, 1973. The stated purpose of the General Assembly was to preserve land
dedicated to farming, forestal, and open space uses by reducing or deferring the increased taxes
due to a potential “higher use,” by reducing the pressure the increasing taxes may play in the
landowner’s decision to sell or convert such property to a more intensive use. The concept is
based on the assumption that encroaching development and resulting higher property taxes may
compel some farm owners to sell their farms.

Land use taxation is a local option program, and the local jurisdiction may elect to
include any or all of the four classifications of property in its ordinance. The mechanics of the
land use taxation program include the adoption of a jurisdiction-wide ordinance that permits
appraisal or valuation of the real estate at its value for agricultural, horticultural, forestal, or open
space use and application of the jurisdiction-wide tax rate to the special use valuation. In other
words, the tax rate that is applied is the same as the general rate for real property, but the value to
which the rate is applied is the lower agricultural, horticultural, forestal, or open space use value,
instead of the ordinary fair market value which is the "highest and best use" value.

If the landowner changes the use of the land, liability for roll-back taxes attaches and is
computed by adding the amount of deferred tax for the five most recent completed tax years,
including simple interest at the rate applicable to delinquent taxes. In addition, taxes for the
current tax year are recalculated. The amount of deferred tax for each year is the difference
between the tax actually levied and paid and the tax that would have been paid if fair market
value assessments had been utilized.

Service Charge

Article X, § 6 (g) of the Constitution permits the General Assembly to authorize local
governments to impose service charges on otherwise tax exempt property. Chapter 34 (§ 58.1-
3400 et seq.) of Title 58.1 implements this constitutional language. Section 58.1-3400 authorizes
localities to impose charges upon all real estate that is exempt from taxation subject to the
following long list of exemptions:

1. Property owned directly or indirectly by the Commonwealth when the value of such
property constitutes less than 3 percent of the total value of real estate in a locality;
however, in no event may a service charge be placed on hospitals, educational
institutions (except for faculty and staff housing), or public highways.

2. Property of the Virginia Port Authority and faculty and staff housing of educational
institutions may be assessed service charges without regard to the 3 percent
restriction.

3. Nonprofit private or public cemeteries;

4. Certain libraries;

5. Property belonging to charitable or benevolent organizations and used by them
exclusively for lodge purposes or meeting rooms;

6. Certain property owned by Colonial Williamsburg, Incorporated;

7. Property owned by the Virginia Home;
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Property owned by the Waterford Foundation, Incorporated;

9. Property of Historic Fredericksburg, Incorporated, and the Clarke County Historical
Association;

10. Property of the Westmoreland Davis Foundation, Incorporated;

11. Property owned by the Women's Home, Incorporated, in Arlington County and used
for the rehabilitation of alcoholic women, as long as it is operated on a nonprofit
basis;

12. All property used for charitable purposes exempted from property taxation by the
General Assembly under the authority of Article X, § 6 (a)(6) of the Constitution of
Virginia prior to January 1, 2003, and all such property exempted by local ordinance
on or after January 1, 2003;'’ and

13. Certain property of churches.

In general, the service charge is based on the amount the locality expended in the
preceding year for providing services to the exempted property; the services to be considered
include only police and fire protection and refuse collection. Any such service charge is capped
at 20 percent of the real estate tax rate, or at 50 percent in the case of faculty and staff housing
for educational institutions (non-state-owned), or 100 percent of the real estate tax for property
of the Commonwealth.

Amount of Revenue and Rates

Tables 1 through 3 reflect the diversity and tax burden of local real property tax rates as
well as the magnitude of real estate tax collections for each Virginia city and county.

Summary

The real property tax is local governments’ lifeblood, providing, on average in 2005,
more than 48.5 percent of localities’ total revenues. It is a tax on wealth or wealth accumulation.
The combination of localities' extreme reliance upon the real estate tax, and the burden of such
tax on taxpayers, creates a tough issue that is constantly being debated in the General Assembly.

' Prior to January 1, 2003, only the General Assembly could exempt such property pursuant to Article X, § 6 (a)(6)
of the Constitution of Virginia. This Constitutional provision was amended effective January 1, 2003, to permit
only local governments to exempt such property.
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Table 1

Local Real Property Taxes and Public Service Corporations' Tax Collections,
Virginia Counties, 2005

Real Property

Public Service
Corporation

Real Property

Public Service
Corporation

County Tax Collection Collections County Tax Collection Collections
Accomack $ 11,988,590 $ 1,399,572 Kina Georae $ 9,318,497 $ 1,969,280
Albemarle 76,935,444 1,475,668 King William 7,092,598 265,179
Alleghany 4,907,460 566,246 Lancaster 8,138,827 168,136
Amelia 3,340,690 141,908 Lee 4,556,488 436,276
Amherst 8,722,488 485,684 Loudoun 422,518,209 10,092,622
Appomattox 4,443,801 298,462 Louisa 14,236,702 13,562,313
Arlington 355,952,313 5,578,210 Lunenbire 2,482,303 132,685
Augqusta 25,505,184 965,037 Madison 6,297,468 232,103
Bath 2,411,444 6,089,965 Mathews 5,905,365 131,683
Bedford 28,301,441 1,360,472 Mecklenburg 8,635,324 889,640
Bland 1,750,551 154,769 Middlesex 5,927,937 164,750
Botetourt 14,886,331 997,811 Montgomery 30,537,992 835,618
Brunswick 3,923,453 233,315 Nelson 10,040,725 536,556
Buchanan 7,443,371 532,179 New Kent 9,812,220 540,699
Buckingham 3,957,242 348,266 Northampton 7,552,335 312,323
Campbell 12,445,065 1,090,137 Northumberland 7,626,300 148,292
Caroline 10,716,576 1,024,630 Nottoway 2,888,902 262,708
Carroll 9,667,664 565,396 Orange 16,841,050 576,540
Charles City 3,851,214 109,697 Page 7,460,719 346,983
Charlotte 3,638,313 286,522 Patrick 4,594,059 258,772
Chesterfield 218,288,289 11,381,857 Pittsylvania 14,017,134 1,450,898
Clarke 8,765,201 242,380 Powhatan 15,767,251 599,265
Craig 1,853,053 78,725 Prince Edward 4,145,765 256,188
Culpeper 24,838,882 897,280 Prince George 13,765,574 663,531
Cinhaba 3,781,755 426,606 Prince William 376,259,000 14,227,000
Dickenson 4,697,894 343,486 Pulaski 11,005,269 769,468
Dinwiddie 11,275,874 730,340 Rappahannack 6,201,170 156,898
Essex 5,479,495 204,145 Richmond* 2,638,093 268,900
Fairfax 1,637,227,420 35,407,353 Roanoke 65,108,454 2,376,775
Fauquier 56,141,484 3,883,056 Rockbridge 10,873,814 596,149
- 5,424,372 226,104 Bool b 28,227,503 909,398
Eluvania 9,242,949 1,987,451 Ausacl 5,570,536 1,337,725
Eranklin 22,717,232 644,023 Scott 5,852,014 539,854
Frederick 32,925,998 1,019,023 Shenandoah 16,369,191 830,449
Giles 4,588,309 793,348 Smyth* 6,375,730 573,047
Gloucester 19,756,909 539,919 Southampton 5,964,708 624,381
Goochland 17,088,763 573,651 &polsyivania 74,641,927 1,898,661
Grayson 4,458,085 146,158 Stafford 91,465,836 2,025,835
Greene 8,229,855 306,841 Surry 3,655,474 10,192,257
Greensville 2,400,485 174,768 Sussex 2,875,628 377,983
Halifax 7,122,128 2,880,735 Tazewell 9,849,135 577,790
Hanover 69,977,646 3,770,707 Warren 17,638,411 439,818
Henrico 223,264,709 8,056,827 Washington 15,189,019 1,111,761
Henry 10,730,684 650,344 Westhioreland 6,695,971 206,543
Highland 1,923,885 94,247 Wise 8,285,766 562,979
Isle of Wight 17,213,714 1,313,413 Wythe 7,571,120 712,494
James City 56,157,350 1,339,496 York 43,602,641 2,964,773
King & Queen 2,657,019 108,130 B Total Counties: $4,545,094,228 $181,038,337

*Based on 2004 figures.
SOURCE: Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, Year Ended June 30, 2005, Auditor of

Public Accounts.
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Table 2
Local Real Property Taxes and Public Service Corporations Tax Collections,
Virginia Cities, 2005

Real Property

Public Services
Corporations

Real Property

Public Services
Corporations

City Tax Collection Collections City Tax Collection Collections
Alexandria $227,826,224 $ 7,241,824 Manassas $ 41,010,293 $ 873,934
Bedford $ 2,558,495 $ 89,709 Manassas Park $ 14,541,141 $ 296,585
Bristol $ 7,354,507 $ 164,296 Martinsville $ 5,453,976 $ 258,443
Buena Vista $ 2,462,871 $ 94,087 Newport News $114,344,221 $ 4,457,737
Charlottesville $ 35,902,208 $ 1,644,018 Norfolk $145,781,000 $ 8,329,811
Chesapeake $ 177,611,299 $ 11,152,461 Norton $ 1,005,915 $ 222,049
Colonial Heights  $ 13,622,518 $ 345,407 Petersburg $ 16,438,851 $ 1,303,984
Covington $ 1,627,801 $ 134,423 Poquoson $ 10,665,742 $ 105,318
Danville $ 14,939,504 $ 420,595 Portsmouth $ 55,120,314 $ 3,591,528
Emporia $ 2,546,960 $ 169,769 Radford $ 4,604,162 $ 158,490
Fairfax $ 36,257,486 $ 1,029,432 Richmond $180,637,143 $ 12,835,053
Falls Church $ 25,757,307 $ 330,580 Roanoke $ 60,089,549 $ 3,838,326
Franklin $ 3,674,928 $ 77,406 Salem $ 16,785,561 $ 396,462
Fredericksburg $ 17,909,882 $ 716,942 Staunton $ 11,826,329 $ 622,306
Galax $ 2,420,264 $ 101,169 Suffolk $ 54,317,177 $ 1,693,701
Hampton $ 87,496,207 $ 2,662,278 Virginia Beach $375,423,810 $ 6,023,217
Harrisonburg $ 12,159,177 $ 314,038 Waynesboro $ 8,618,791 $ 635,093
Hopewell $ 10,768,794 $ 4,337,756 Williamsburg $ 6,526,520 $ 316,177
Lexington $ 2,524,369 $ 104,200 Winchester $ 13,910,677 $ 333,891
Lynchburg $ 35,794,408 $ 2,441,682
= Total Cities $1,858,316,381 $80,854,177
B Virginia Total (Counties and Cities):  $6,403,410,609 $261,892,514

SOURCE: Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, Year Ended June 30, 2005, Auditor of

Public Accounts.
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Table 3
Local Real Property Tax Rates (per $100 value), Counties and Cities, 2005
County Rate County Rate City Rate
Accomack $0.57 King & Queen $0.58 Alexandria $0.915
Albemarle $0.74 King William $0.87 Bedford $0.83
Alleghany $0.67 Lancaster $0.41 Bristol $0.98
Amelia $0.52 Lee $0.65 Buena Vista $0.90
Ambherst $0.61 Loudoun $1.04 Charlottesville $1.00
Appomattox $0.72 Louisa $0.66 Chesapeake $1.21
Arlington $0.878 Lunenburg $0.42 Colonial Heights $1.20
Augusta $0.58 Madison $0.59 Covington $0.66
Bath $0.45 Mathews $0.51 Danville $0.77
Bedford $0.65 Mecklenburg $0.39 Emporia $0.83
Bland $0.69 Middlesex $0.48 Fairfax $0.87
Botetourt $0.70 Montgomery $0.67 Falls Church $1.03
Brunswick $0.60 Nelson $0.72 Franklin $0.95
Buchanan $0.49 New Kent $0.81 Fredericksburg $0.89
Buckingham $0.58 Northampton $0.70 Galax $0.70
Campbell $0.52 Northumberland $0.61 Hampton $1.20
Caroline $0.79 Nottoway $0.56 Harrisonburg $0.62
Carroll $0.59 Orange $0.84 Hopewell $1.20
Charles City $0.70 Page $0.67 Lexington $0.64
Charlotte $0.62 Patrick $0.50 Lynchburg $1.11
Chesterfield $1.07 Pittsylvania $0.57 Manassas $1.00
Clarke $0.81 Powhatan $0.94 Manassas Park $1.29
Craig $0.68 Prince Edward $0.50 Martinsville $0.94
Culpeper $0.74 Prince George $0.90 Newport News $1.24
Cumberland $0.76 Prince William $0.91 Norfolk $1.35
Dickenson $0.60 Pulaski $0.62 Norton $0.70
Dinwiddie $0.87 Rappahannock $0.80 Petersburg $1.38
Essex $0.68 Richmond $0.63 Poquoson $1.06
Fairfax $1.00 Roanoke $1.12 Portsmouth $1.45
Fauquier $0.99 Rockbridge $0.73 Radford $0.73
Floyd $0.52 Rockingham $0.71 Richmond $1.33
Fluvanna $0.50 Russell $0.60 Roanoke $1.21
Franklin $0.53 Scott $0.69 Salem $1.18
Frederick $0.525 Shenandoah $0.68 Staunton $0.96
Giles $0.59 Smyth $0.63 Suffolk $1.06
Gloucester $0.95 Southampton $0.74 Virginia Beach $1.0239
Goochland $0.59 Spotsylvania $0.89 Waynesboro $0.78
Grayson $0.55 Stafford $0.97 Williamsburg $0.54
Greene $0.84 Surry $0.77 Winchester $0.63
Greensville $0.59 Sussex $0.65
Halifax $0.41 Tazewell $0.60
Hanover $0.86 Warren $0.79
Henrico $0.92 Washington $0.57
Henry $0.54 Westmoreland $0.66
Highland $0.73 Wise $0.57
Isle of Wight $0.68 Wythe $0.54
James City $0.825 York $0.8175
King George $0.77

SOURCE: Local Tax Rates, Tax Year 2005, Virginia Department of Taxation.
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Infroduction

The Virginia tangible personal property tax has been administered at the local level since
1926, when the state government abandoned the tax as a source of state revenue. Since that time,
it has grown to become the second largest source of revenue for counties and cities, exceeded
only by the tax on real property.' For the fiscal year ended June 30, 2005, the tangible personal

' This ranking may change depending upon how much of the tangible personal property tax on passenger cars,
pickup or panel trucks, and motorcycles is reimbursed to local governments by the Commonwealth. Under the
Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998 (§ 58.1-3523 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the Commonwealth



40 e GUIDETO LOCAL TAXATION

property tax generated approximately $1.3 billion of revenue for counties and cities. Although
the tax on tangible personal property, including machinery and tools, comprised 10 percent of
fiscal year 2005 total revenue for cities and counties statewide, the portion of local revenue
derived from the tax varies greatly among Virginia's cities and counties.”

Each locality throughout Virginia imposes the tangible personal property tax within the
statutory framework prescribed by the Code of Virginia.” Also, several Constitutional provisions
were established to ensure equitable application of the tax: Article X, Section 1 provides in part
that all property shall be taxed, and Article X, Section 2 provides in part that all assessments of
real estate and tangible personal property shall be at their fair market value.

History

The Virginia tangible personal property tax dates back to 1654, when it was imposed as a
result of widespread opposition to the poll tax. The property tax was not enforced until the
outbreak of the French and Indian wars several years later, however, because the House of
Burgesses consisted mainly of plantation owners. The wars caused a substantial increase in the
need for revenue and forced the government to rely heavily upon personal property taxes to meet
the demands brought about by the conflicts. During this time cattle and sheep were the only
items subject to the personal property tax."

The limited scope of the property tax remained virtually unchanged until the Constitution
of 1789 added horses, mules, coaches, and stages to the list of taxable personal property. No
further extension of the property tax occurred until 1842, when the General Assembly imposed
the tax on several other articles. The property tax was extended a final time, when all personal
property became taxable under the Constitution of 1851.°

Administering the Tax
Classification

In 1926, real estate and tangible personal property were segregated for local taxation, and
intangible personal property for state taxation.” Personal property, as distinguished for tax

reimburses localities for providing tangible personal property tax relief on such vehicles used for nonbusiness
purposes. Thus, if local tax rates remain relatively constant, there is an inverse relationship between the revenues
generated from the tangible personal property tax on such vehicles and the amount of reimbursement provided by the
Commonwealth for tangible personal property tax relief.

? Virginia's towns also impose the tangible personal property tax. The contents of this chapter primarily cover the
tangible personal property tax imposed by counties and cities.

® Va. Code §§ 58.1-3500 through 3535.

* Sydenstricker, Edgar. A Brief History of Taxation in Virginia. Richmond: The Legislative Reference Bureau of
Virginia, 1915, pp. 7-12.

°Id, pp. 65-66.

% Chapter 576, 1926 Acts of Assembly. Intangible personal property segregated for state taxation currently includes
some items of property that are tangible in nature. See § 58.1-1100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia.
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purposes, is property that, by its location and character, shows that the owner intends it to be
movable. Also in 1926, counties, cities, and towns were authorized to make a separate
classification of machinery and tools used in any trade or business. This separate classification
of machinery and tools was made mandatory by the General Assembly in 1964.

Household goods and personal effects were classified separately in 1958 to allow local
governments to exempt them pursuant to Article X, Section 6 of the Constitution. Forty-five
other states exempt household goods and personal effects from property taxes. Table 1 lists the
major exemptions from tangible personal property taxes in other states.

Manufactured homes were classified separately in 1960. The tangible personal property
tax rate on manufactured homes subject to federal regulation must equal the locality's real estate
tax rate.

In 1976, the General Assembly granted local governing bodies the authority to exempt
farm machinery and livestock. As an alternative to exemption, in 1979 the General Assembly
authorized local governments to establish a lower tangible personal property tax rate for such

property.

In 1979 there existed eight separate classes of property for tax rate purposes. By January
1, 2007, there existed just under 40 separate classes of property for tax rate purposes. The
classification system of tangible personal property in the Code of Virginia gives local
governments the flexibility to exempt property from taxation in accordance with Article X,
Section 6 of the Constitution or to tax a class of property at a rate that is lower than the tax rate
that generally applies to tangible personal property or machinery and tools. In general, local
governments are not required to exempt a class of property that has been established by the
General Assembly or to impose a lower tax rate on the class of property, but are merely given the
option to do so.

Revenues

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, the tangible personal property tax, excluding the
machinery and tools tax, generated approximately $1.131 billion for cities and counties. This
represented 8.6 percent of total local-source revenue. Cities generated approximately $321
million, or about 28.4 percent of all tangible personal property tax revenue. Revenue collections
in the cities ranged from a high of $51.7 million in Virginia Beach to a low of $177,593 in
Norton. Counties generated $810 million, or 71.6 percent of the tangible personal property tax
revenue. Collections in counties ranged from a high of $245.9 million in Fairfax County to a low
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Table 1
Major Exemptions From Tangible Property Taxes, 2005

All Personal Registered Personal Effects,
All Personal Property Except Motor Business Apparel,
State Property Business Property Vehicles Inventories | Household ltems

Alabama u

Alaska (1)

Arizona u

Arkansas

California u

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware u

Florida

Georgia
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Hawaii u

Idaho
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lllinois u

Indiana
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Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana
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Maine

Maryland n

,-\
R

Massachusetts

Michigan u

Minnesota u

Mississippi
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Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire u

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York u

North Carolina

HEEEEEE NN NN N

North Dakota u

Ohio n

Oklahoma
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Oregon

Pennsylvania u

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota u
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Tennessee n

Texas u

Utah

Vermont

|~
—_
—

Virginia

]
—~

—

Washington

West Virginia

EEE-~ BN ENEEENEENENENNENEN

Wisconsin

Wyoming n

(1) Local option to exempt business inventories.

(2) In Ohio, inventory taxes are being phased out over a five-year period. Tax rates are 23% for 2005; 18.75% for 2006;
12.5% for 2007; 6.25% for 2008; and 0% for 2009 and after.

(8) An assessment ratio of up to 15% of fair cash value is used.

SOURCE: Compiled by the Virginia Division of Legislative Services from RIA Checkpoint.
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of $70,438 in Bath. Tables 2 and 3 list tangible personal property tax collections in cities and
counties.’

Tables 2 and 3 also list machinery and tools tax collections. Revenue generated for cities
and counties from this separate category of personal property was approximately $188 million in
fiscal year 2005, which represented 1.4 percent of total local-source revenue. Cities collected
$79 million from the machinery and tools tax, with Richmond collecting the most, at $14.6
million. Three cities (Falls Church, Lexington, and Poquoson) did not collect any machinery and
tools tax. Counties generated $110 million from the machinery and tools tax, ranging from a
high of $6.7 million in Rockingham to a low of $0 in Rappahannock and Surry Counties.

Proration

Currently, all localities are authorized to prorate the tangible personal property tax based
on the portion of the tax year in which the property has situs in that jurisdiction. In 1979, only
Alexandria prorated the personal property tax. By 1986, 12 localities were authorized to prorate,
and by 1991, 34 localities had been granted permission, through special enabling legislation, to
prorate the tangible personal property tax. In 1993, the General Assembly authorized all local
governments to provide by ordinance for the proration of personal property tax on motor
vehicles, trailers, and boats. Also in 1993, the City of Winchester was authorized to provide that
the payment of prorated personal property tax shall be due on the last day of the 12th month after
the property acquired situs in the city. As of January 1, 2007, 75 counties, cities, and towns had
in place some form of proration of the tangible personal property tax.®

Assessed Value and Tax Rates

As previously noted, localities are required to assess property at fair market value;
however, localities are authorized to value each class of tangible personal property according to a
different method. Commissioners of the revenue may have different methods of valuing property
among the separate classes, so long as each method used is uniform within each class.
Commissioners are required to value automobiles according to a recognized pricing guide.
However, if an automobile is not listed in the guide, it can be valued according to a percentage of
original cost.

Local governing bodies are authorized to establish tax rates for tangible personal
property. Consequently, tax rates vary significantly among Virginia's localities for automobiles

7 Reimbursement payments by the Commonwealth to local governments under the Personal Property Tax Relief Act
of 1998 (§ 58.1-3523 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) are not treated as locally generated revenue from the tangible
personal property tax. Such payments are accounted for as a distribution from the state government, the purpose of
which is to reimburse local governments for providing tangible personal property tax relief.

8 Knapp, John L., Ph.D., Shobe, William M., Ph.D., and Culp, Stephen C. Tax Rates 2005; Virginia's Cities,
Counties and Selected Towns, Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service, pp. 74-79.
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Table 2

Tangible Personal Property (TPP) and Machinery and Tools (M&T) Tax
Collections, Virginia Counties, 2005

TPP M&T TPP M&T
County Collections Collections County Collections Collections
Accomack $ 8,952,525 $ 632,483 King George $ 1,946,930 $ 75,459
Albemarle $ 14,482,441 $ 383,945 King William $ 1,280,281 $ 1,273,159
Alleghany $ 1,586,898 $ 5,900,612 Lancaster $ 1,529,846 $ 4,385
Amelia $ 1,124,666 $ 33,589 Lee $ 947,641 $ 486,664
Ambherst $ 3,535,349 $ 1,512,750 Loudoun $ 62,198,326 $ 1,155,636
Appomattox $ 1,020,352 $ 213,951 Louisa $ 2,502,589 $ 257,597
Arlington $ 42,339,954 $ 142,895 Lunenburg $ 1,348,787 $ 104,350
Augusta $ 5,058,288 $ 2,513,917 Madison $ 1,520,761 $ 62,044
Bath $ 70,438 $ 157 Mathews $ 1,389,996 $ 225320
Bedford $ 7,432,090 $ 1,991,465 Mecklenburg $ 4,393,877 $ 465,711
Bland $ 855,022 $ 141,890 Middlesex $ 2,241,918 $ 6,767
Botetourt $ 3,425,229 $ 2,619,637 Montgomery $ 5,816,928 $ 2,194,605
Brunswick $ 1,800,734 $ 357,207 Nelson $ 1,591,118 $ 9,631
Buchanan $ 1,716,936 $ 3,179,898 New Kent $ 2,129,052 $ 950
Buckingham $ 1,565,391 $ 142,442 Northampton $ 1,756,711 $ 109,729
Campbell $ 5,554,942 $ 4,561,477 Northumberland $ 2,050,435 $ 89,036
Caroline $ 3,147,939 $ 228,342 Nottoway $ 961,859 $ 181,268
Carroll $ 1,705,538 $ 1,344,017 Orange $ 2,829,599 $ 996,132
Charles City $ 826,559 $ 215,118 Page $ 2,655,138 $ 506,638
Charlotte $ 809,442 $ 254,854 Patrick $ 1,234,929 $ 526,407
Chesterfield $ 42,759,428 $ 4,399,948 Pittsylvania $ 4,342,009 $ 1,545.271
Clarke $ 2,218,949 $ 305,504 Powhatan $ 2,964,337 $ 234,392
Craig $ 425,062 $ 25423 Prince Edward $ 1,361,383 $ 134,659
Culpeper $ 5,613,337 $ 1,178,564 Prince George $ 3,839,232 $ 274,589
Cumberland $ 1,377,419 $ 77,604 Prince William $ 47,748,000 $ 335,000
Dickenson $ 840,657 $ 367,461 Pulaski $ 3,133,432 $ 2,596,939
Dinwiddie $ 3,564,088 $ 541,906 Rappahannock $ 788,531
Essex $ 1,322,171 $ 106,358 Richmond $ 906,499 $ 19,559
Fairfax $245,869,685  $ 3,707,965 Roanoke $ 12,396,198 $ 973,823
Fauquier $ 14,798,195 $ 556,920 Rockbridge $ 2,705,885 $ 190,481
Floyd $ 1,311,328 $ 170,413 Rockingham $ 7,124,536 $ 6,732,204
Fluvanna $ 2,440,650 $ 48,387 Russell $ 1,915,180 $ 1,657,074
Franklin $ 4,058,253 $ 276,012 Scott $ 781,499 $ 196,940
Frederick $ 13,753,455 $ 4,932,729 Shenandoah $ 4,413,348 $ 2,097,915
Giles $ 1,376,601 $ 2,177,082 Smyth $ 2,248,611 $ 979,145
Gloucester $ 4648489 $ 110,795 Southampton  $ 2,020,687 $ 529,263
Goochland $ 3654515 $ 246,596 Spotsylvania $ 16,239,371 $ 1,008,012
Grayson $ 1,077,013 $ 177,100 Stafford $ 15,880,287 $ 93,624
Greene $ 1,884,084 $ 31,824 Surry $ 603,555
Greensville $ 876,510 $ 786,590 Sussex $ 1,404,875 $ 853,765
Halifax $ 3,754,172 $ 1,347,643 Tazewell $ 3,842,333 $ 953,045
Hanover $ 17,292,787 $ 1,597,069 Warren $ 4,711,362 $ 454,195
Henrico $ 50,444,516 $ 4,402,000 Washington $ 8,295,938 $ 3,061,279
Henry $ 2,658,761 $ 5,087,989 Westmoreland $ 1,634,077 $ 140,662
Highland $ 191,549 $ 855 Wise $ 3,277,072 $ 2,754,717
Isle of Wight $ 5,076,789 $ 6,109,000 Wythe $ 2,374,855 $ 1,510,119
James City $ 10,771,626 $ 4,906,446 York $ 8,978,470 $ 1,395,057
King & Queen $ 834,954 $ 181,158
H Total Counties: $ 810,164,059 $109,717,204

SOURCE: Auditor of Public Accounts, Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures for Fiscal

Year 2005.
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Table 3

Tangible Personal Property (TPP) and Machinery and Tools (M&T) Tax
Collections, Virginia Cities, 2005

TPP M&T TPP M&T
City Collections Collections City Collections Collections
Alexandria $ 30,539,104 $ 683,990 Manassas Park $ 2,436,487 $ 20,548
Bedford $ 484,710 $ 392,530 Martinsville $ 1,293,090 $ 226,941
Bristol $ 1,262,679 $ 1,057,251 Newport News $ 21,852,629 $ 11,462,803
Buena Vista $ 1,005,092 $ 408,141 Norfolk $ 31,427,253 $ 8,375,117
Charlottesville $ 4,535,824 $ 168,365 Norton $ 177,593 $ 61,961
Chesapeake $34,932,953  $ 2,699,724 Petersburg $ 3073667 $ 2,315,341
Clifton Forge $ 1,979,722 $ 91,859 Poquoson $ 1,682,523 -
Colonial Heights $ 494,342 $ 4,149,002 Portsmouth $ 14,519,589 $ 2,396,405
Danville $ 3,961,337 $ 1,254,621 Radford $ 769,989 $ 650,097
Emporia $ 926,971 $ 165,502 Richmond $ 27,525,344 $ 14,618,256
Fairfax $ 4,398,889 $ 41,023 Roanoke $ 13,615,791 $ 2,741,692
Falls Church $ 2,483,363 --- Salem $ 5,817,377 $ 2,600,496
Franklin $ 993,445 $ 15,138 Staunton $ 1,600,828 $ 124,461
Fredericksburg $ 3,774,251 $ 102,961 Suffolk $ 8,348,414 $ 1,448,514
Galax $ 411,772 $ 862,162 VirginiaBeach $ 51,699,196 $ 814,921
Hampton $ 15,430,214 $ 1,730,915 Waynesboro $ 1,927,664 $ 2,758,137
Harrisonburg $ 3,673,128  $ 1,730,900 Williamsburg $ 391,616 $ 1,232,064
Hopewell $ 2,255,350 $ 3,047,620 Winchester $ 4,606,590 $ 1,441,376
Lexington $ 475,035 ---
Lynchburg $ 9,191,562 $ 3,145,600
Manassas $ 5,618,436 $ 3,609,839
W Total Cities: $ 321,093,819 $ 78,646,273
B Counties and Cities Total: $1,131,257,878 (TPP) $188,363,477 (M&T)

B Total TPP and M&T: $1,319,621,355

SOURCE: Auditor of Public Accounts, Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures for Fiscal
Year 2005.

and other classes of tangible personal property. In 2005, nominal tax rates per $100 of assessed
value on motor vehicles ranged from a high of $8.50 in Bedford County to a low of $.20 in Bath
County. These nominal rates are adjusted by the locality's assessment ratio to determine the
effective tax rate imposed by the locality. An assessment ratio simply sets the percentage of the
fair market value of the motor vehicle that is subject to the locality's tangible personal property
tax and is considered part of the tax rate equation. In 2005, effective tax rates on motor vehicles
also differed substantially among localities, ranging from a high of $5.75 in Buena Vista to a low
of $.20 in Bath. The nominal and effective tax rates and assessment ratios for motor vehicles are
listed in Tables 4 and 5. Assessment ratios vary from a high of 100 percent used in 118 counties
and cities to a low of 20 percent in Bedford County.

The commissioners of the revenue use one of two very similar recognized pricing guides
to value automobiles: (i) The National Automobile Dealers Association Pricing Guide (NADA)
or (i1) The Automobile Red Book, Primedia Price Digests. The commissioner must value
automobiles using all applicable adjustments in the pricing guide or, in the alternative, on one of
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Table 4
Tangible Personal Property Tax Rates on Motor Vehicles, Virginia Counties, 2005
Assessment Effective Adjusted
Nominal Tax Rate Ratio Tax Rate % of Effective Tax
County (per $100) (percent) (per $100) Retail Value Rate (per $100)

Accomack 1 district @ $3.13 100 $3.13 77 $2.41
2 districts @ 3.22 100 3.22 77 248

1 district @ 3.24 100 3.24 77 2.49

1 district @ 3.26 100 3.26 77 2.51

Albemarle 4.28 100 4.28 77 3.30
Alleghany 5.95 50 2.98 77 2.29
Amelia 3.50 100 3.50 77 2.70
Ambherst 3.25 100 3.25 77 2.50
Appomattox 3.50 50 1.75 100 1.75
Arlington 4.40 100 4.40 77 3.39
Augusta 1.90 100 1.90 77 1.46
Bath 0.20 100 0.20 86 0.17
Bedford 8.50 20 1.70 100 1.70
Bland 2.29 100 2.29 77 1.76
Botetourt 2.55 100 2.55 77 1.96
Brunswick 3.40 100 3.40 77 2.62
Buchanan 1.95 100 1.95 77 1.50
Buckingham 4.05 100 4.05 77 3.12
Campbell 3.85 50 1.93 100 1.93
Caroline 6.25 40 2.50 100 2.50
Carroll 1.30 100 1.30 77 1.00
Charles City 3.40 85 2.89 77 2.23
Charlotte 3.00 100 3.00 86 2.58
Chesterfield 3.60 100 3.60 77 2.77
Clarke 4.00 100 4.00 86 3.44
Craig 3.00 100 3.00 77 2.31
Culpeper 3.50 100 3.50 86 3.01
Cumberland 4.50 100 4.50 86 3.87
Dickenson 1.69 100 1.69 77 1.22
Dinwiddie 4.90 100 4.90 77 3.77
Essex 3.50 100 3.50 77 2.70
Fairfax 4.57 100 4.57 86 3.93
Fauquier 4.65 100 4.65 77 3.58
Floyd 2.70 100 2.70 77 2.08
Fluvanna 3.70 100 3.70 86 3.18
Franklin 1.67 100 1.67 77 1.29
Frederick 4.20 100 4.20 86 3.61
Giles 1.85 100 1.85 100 1.85
Gloucester 2.20 100 2.20 100 2.20
Goochland 4.00 100 4.00 77 3.08
Grayson 1.50 100 1.50 77 1.16
Greene 5.00 100 5.00 77 3.85
Greensville 4.50 100 4.50 86 3.87
Halifax 2.50 100 2.50 100 2.50
Hanover 3.64 100 3.64 77 2.80
Henrico 3.50 100 3.50 77 2.70
Henry 1.48 100 1.48 77 1.14
Highland 1.50 100 1.50 100 1.50
Isle of Wight 4.40 100 4.40 77 3.39
James City 4.00 100 4.00 77 3.08

King & Queen 4.00 100 4.00 77 3.08
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TABLE 4, continued

Assessment Effective Adjusted
Nominal Tax Rate Ratio Tax Rate % of Effective Tax
County (per $100) (percent) (per $100) Retail Value  Rate (per $100)
King George 3.10 100 3.10 86 2.67
King William 3.65 100 3.65 77 2.81
Lancaster 1.52 100 1.52 100 1.52
Lee 1.41 100 1.41 86 1.21
Loudoun 4.20 100 4.20 77 3.23
Louisa 1.90 100 1.90 86 1.63
Lunenburg 3.50 100 3.50 86 3.01
Madison 2.14 100 2.14 100 2.14
Mathews 3.60 100 3.60 100 3.60
Mecklenburg 3.26 100 3.26 77 2.51
Middlesex 3.50 35 1.23 100 1.23
Montgomery 2.45 100 2.45 77 1.89
Nelson 2.95 100 2.95 86 2.51
New Kent 3.75 100 3.75 77 2.89
Northampton 4.10 100 4.10 77 3.16
Northumberland 3.60 40 1.44 100 1.44
Nottoway 3.35 100 3.35 77 2.58
Orange 2.20 100 2.20 100 2.20
Page 3.00 100 3.00 77 2.31
Patrick 1.46 100 1.46 86 1.26
Pittsylvania 7.25 30 2.18 86 1.87
Powhatan 3.60 100 3.60 77 2.77
Prince Edward 4.20 100 4.20 77 3.23
Prince George 4.00 100 4.00 77 3.08
Prince William 3.70 100 3.70 86 3.18
Pulaski 2.00 100 2.00 86 1.72
Rappahannock 4.20 100 4.20 77 3.23
Richmond 3.50 100 3.50 77 2.70
Roanoke 3.50 100 3.50 77 2.70
Rockbridge 3.75 100 3.75 77 2.89
Rockingham 2.80 100 2.80 77 2.16
Russell 1.65 100 1.65 77 1.27
Scott 1.40 100 1.40 77 1.08
Shenandoah 2.86 100 2.86 86 2.46
Smyth 2.25 100 2.25 77 1.73
Southampton 4.00 100 4.00 77 3.08
Spotsylvania 5.00 50 2.50 100 2.50
Stafford 5.49 40 2.20 100 2.20
Surry 3.50 100 3.50 77 2.70
Sussex 4.85 100 4.85 77 3.73
Tazewell 2.00 100 2.00 77 1.54
Warren 3.15 100 3.15 86 2.71
Washington 1.55 100 1.55 77 1.19
Westmoreland 2.50 100 2.50 77 1.93
Wise 1.49 100 1.49 77 1.15
Wythe 2.08 100 2.08 77 1.60
York 4.00 100 4.00 77 3.08

SOURCE: Knapp, John L., Ph.D., Shobe, William M., Ph.D., and Culp, Stephen C. Tax Rates 2005; Virginia's
Cities, Counties and Selected Towns, Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service, pp. 68-73.
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Table 5
Tangible Personal Property Tax Rates on Motor Vehicles, Virginia Cities, 2005
Assessment Effective Adjusted
Nominal Tax Rate Ratio Tax Rate % of Effective Tax
City (per $100) (percent) (per $100) Retail Value Rate (per $100)
Alexandria (1) $4.75 100 $4.75 86 $4.09
Bedford 1.80 100 1.80 86 1.55
Bristol 6.00 30 1.80 77 1.39
Buena Vista 5.75 100 5.75 86 4.95
Charlottesville 4.20 100 4.20 77 3.23
Chesapeake (2) 4.08 100 4.08 77 3.14
Colonial Heights 3.50 100 3.50 77 2.70
Covington 5.60 45 2.52 100 2.52
Danville 3.00 100 3.00 86 2.58
Emporia 5.00 100 5.00 77 3.85
Fairfax 3.79 100 3.79 86 3.26
Falls Church 4.71 100 4.71 86 4.05
Franklin 4.50 100 4.50 86 3.87
Fredericksburg 2.99 90 2.69 100 2.69
Galax 1.42 100 1.42 100 1.42
Hampton 4.25 100 4.25 77 3.27
Harrisonburg 2.00 100 2.00 86 1.72
Hopewell 3.05 100 3.05 77 2.35
Lexington 3.95 100 3.95 86 3.40
Lynchburg 3.80 100 3.80 86 3.27
Manassas 3.05 100 3.05 86 2.62
Manassas Park 3.50 100 3.50 86 3.01
Martinsville 2.30 80 1.42 77 1.42
Newport News 4.25 100 4.25 77 3.27
Norfolk 4.00 100 4.00 77 3.08
Norton 1.85 100 1.85 86 1.59
Petersburg 4.30 100 4.30 77 3.31
Poquoson 3.85 100 3.85 77 2.96
Portsmouth 5.00 100 5.00 77 3.85
Radford 2.84 100 2.84 86 2.10
Richmond 3.70 100 3.70 86 3.18
Roanoke 3.45 100 3.45 77 2.66
Salem 3.20 100 3.20 77 2.46
Staunton 2.00 100 2.00 100 2.00
Suffolk 4.25 100 4.25 77 3.27
Virginia Beach 3.70 100 3.70 77 2.85
Waynesboro 5.00 50 2.50 100 2.50
Williamsburg 3.50 100 3.50 77 2.70
Winchester 4.50 100 4.50 86 3.87

(1). Alexandria uses the manufacturer's suggested retail price as an alternative valuation method.

(2). Chesapeake adds 8¢ per $100 for mosquito control.

SOURCE: Knapp, John L., Ph.D., Shobe, William M., Ph.D., and Culp, Stephen C.

Cities, Counties and Selected Towns, Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service, pp. 68-73.

Tax Rates 2005; Virginia's
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the following possible value bases: (i) loan value (finance value); (ii) trade-in value (wholesale
value); or (iii) retail value.

Most counties and cities (73) used the loan value as the base for levying the tax, which is
the lowest value listed in the NADA guide. Retail value is the highest value in the guide and is
used by 18 counties and cities. Trade-in value is used by 37 localities. Comparing the effective
tax rates on motor vehicles among localities can be misleading due to the differences in the
sources of assessment. The Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service has attempted to
standardize the effective tax rates by using a specific make and model of automobile and
calculating an adjusted effective tax rate, using the retail value of the automobile under the
NADA Book as 100 percent. Tables 4 and 5 include a column setting forth the percentage of
retail value used by localities for purposes of valuation. Use of the trade-in value produced 86
percent, and the loan value 77 percent, of the retail value for the same automobile. Multiplying
the percentage of retail value by the effective tax rate produces the adjusted effective tax rate
(right-hand column of Tables 4 and 5), which ranges from a high of $4.95 per $100 of value in
Buena Vista to a low of $.17 per $100 of value in Bath County.

When determining the value of boats, commissioners of the revenue must first determine
whether a boat weighs more or less than five tons. The commissioners are required to value
boats weighing less than five tons and boat trailers according to a recognized pricing guide by
means of a percentage of the original cost. Boats weighing over five tons must be valued by
means of a percentage of original cost.

In valuing tangible personal property, commissioners of the revenue must, upon request
of the taxpayer, take into consideration and, as appropriate, adjust for the condition of the
property. These conditions include technological obsolescence where technological
obsolescence is an appropriate factor for valuing the property.

Tangible personal property taxes must be paid by December 5, unless the locality adopts a
different date for filing the annual returns. Any county, city, or town may provide by ordinance
that payment of the tangible personal property tax be in a single installment or two equal
installments; may offer options to allow the taxpayer to pay the tax monthly, bimonthly,
quarterly, semiannually, or in a lump sum; and may establish due dates for the payment of local
taxes.

Recent Developments
Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998

In 1998 the General Assembly passed legislation that eliminated, over a five-year period,
a portion of the tangible personal property tax on motor vehicles used for personal use. The
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Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998 as originally enacted would have eliminated by 2002
the personal property tax on the first $20,000 of value of passenger cars, pickup or panel trucks,
and motorcycles that were not used in a business. The schedule for the elimination of the tax was
12.5 percent of the tax on the first $20,000 by 1998; 27.5 percent by 1999; 47.5 percent by 2000;
70 percent by 2001; and 100 percent by 2002. However, the phased-in tax relief was made
dependent upon certain negative economic conditions not occurring. The Act also provided that
the Commonwealth would reimburse local governments for the loss in revenues associated with
the tax relief.

The original Act and the scheduled tax relief have been modified several times primarily
because of the actual costs to the Commonwealth of reimbursement payments to local
governments. When the Act first passed, it was estimated that it would cost the Commonwealth
approximately $747 million on an annual basis once fully phased-in.” Actual reimbursement
payments have proved to be much higher. For the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, actual
reimbursement payments to eliminate 70 percent of the tax on the first $20,000 of value of
personal use vehicles totaled $907 million. Further, in 2003 the Department of Taxation
estimated that the annual cost of reimbursement payments in 2005 would be approximately
$1.220 billion if 100 percent of the statutory tax relief was in effect.

Because of the rising costs of the program, in 2004 the General Assembly capped the
Commonwealth's reimbursement payments to local governments at $950 million annually. This
amount was slightly greater than the $907 million incurred by the Commonwealth in fiscal year
2005 to eliminate 70 percent of the tax on the first $20,000 of value.!” Under the legislation,
beginning in 2006, each county, city, and town would receive a fixed share of the $950 million.
Each locality receiving a reimbursement payment was required to develop specific criteria and to
allocate its reimbursement payment among personal use passenger vehicles, pickup or panel
trucks, and motorcycles. Thus, in 2006, the percentage of tangible personal property tax relief
varied greatly from locality to locality, and these differences may become more exaggerated in
future years.

Because of the appeal, complexity, and cost of the tangible personal property tax relief
program, it would not be surprising if it is the subject of future action by the General Assembly.

Granting of Property Tax Exemptions

Prior to January 1, 2003, it was the General Assembly that granted exemptions from
property taxes to nonprofit organizations. The amendment to Article X, Section 6 of the

? Fiscal Impact Statement prepared by the Department of Taxation for House Bill No. 1062 and Senate Bill No. 439,
1998 Session of the General Assembly.

10" Auditor of Public Accounts, Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures for Fiscal
Year 2005.
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Constitution of Virginia ratified by the voters of Virginia on November 5, 2002, gave local
governments the sole authority to grant exemptions from property taxes to these organizations on
and after January 1, 2003. The constitutional amendment took the power to exempt these
organizations away from the General Assembly and gave it to local governing bodies. The
constitutional change gave more control over property taxes, including the tangible personal
property tax, to local governments, which rely on property taxes for 60 percent of total local-
source revenue.

Issues
Difficulty of Accurate Assessment

Article X, Section 2 of the Constitution of Virginia requires that all assessments of
tangible personal property be at fair market value. Several issues arise from this constitutional
requirement.  First, determining the fair market value of tangible personal property is a
challenging problem for most assessors. Sales records by themselves are insufficient in
determining fair market values of many classes of property. Also, the depreciation rates of
personal property make it difficult to determine fair market value, with some classes of property
depreciating faster than others.

Proliferation of Classes

The numerous classifications of tangible personal property, many of which are taxed at a
lower tax rate than the rate imposed on the general class of personal property, are a significant
issue. The number of property classifications has increased from eight in 1979 to close to 40 as
of January 1, 2007. In addition to adding complexity to the taxation of tangible personal
property, the many different classifications constitute a tax preference in those cases in which the
local governing body taxes property included in the classification at a lower tax rate than the rate
imposed on the general class of personal property. The objective of many of the classification
statutes is to reduce the tax burden on a relatively small group of taxpayers.

Summary

The tangible personal property tax is the second largest source of revenue for cities and
counties, comprising 10 percent of total local revenue. The tangible personal property tax,
including the tax on machinery and tools, generated approximately $1.3 billion of revenue for
cities and counties in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005. In the future, revenues from the tax
could change dramatically depending upon the level of tangible personal property tax relief on
personal use automobiles that is funded by reimbursement payments from the Commonwealth
under the Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998.
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Localities are authorized to set their own tangible personal property tax rates, and
consequently the rates vary dramatically throughout the Commonwealth. Assessment ratios and
valuation methods of tangible personal property also differ among localities.

The tangible personal property tax is difficult and time-consuming to administer. Local
officials who administer the tax must contend with locating the property, determining its fair
market value, prorating the tax, and establishing rates, assessment ratios, and valuation methods
of each of the numerous classes of tangible personal property. Given the difficulty in
administering it, the tax is not imposed in a uniform manner throughout the Commonwealth.
Aspects of the tax that make it difficult to administer, such as the difficulty of assessing property
accurately and the proliferation of classifications, have become significant issues in recent years.
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The consumer utility tax is a local option tax, which localities are authorized to impose
on consumers of water, heat, light, or power. The tax on all consumers may not exceed 20
percent of the monthly gross charge. Residential consumers may only be taxed on the first $15
of their bill. This specific residential limit was imposed in 1972; however, localities imposing
higher rates as of July 1, 1972, were grandfathered in at the higher rates. There is no limitation
on the tax base for nonresidential consumers.

Beginning January 1, 2007, the local consumer utility tax (LCUT) on communications
services including telephone (landline and mobile) and cable television will no longer be
imposed. Instead, a five percent communications sales and use tax will be imposed on those
services as well as satellite TV and radio and voice-over-internet protocol. The tax will be
collected at the state level and returned to localities based on a formula.
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History

The taxation of public service corporations at both a state and local level has been linked
to gross receipts since the turn of the 20th century, when the General Assembly, in 1902, levied a
gross receipts tax on railroads and telephone companies. Public service corporations have
historically been taxed on gross receipts for the privilege of being granted monopoly status in a
given area. It is only recently that this monopoly characteristic of public service corporations has
changed. The cessation of public utility monopolies is particularly evident in telecommuni-
cations.

The cessation of public utility monopolies was one of the reasons that led the General
Assembly in 2006 to pass legislation removing the services such monopolies provided from the
LCUT base and replacing it with a sales and use tax.

The first local consumer utility tax in Virginia was imposed by the City of Richmond in
1947, when it enacted a tax, under general city charter taxing powers, on all consumers of utility
services at a rate of five percent. In 1948, a number of other cities imposed the tax, and it then
spread rapidly. Because there were no guidelines by state statute on the tax, wide variation in
local tax rates, base, and amount of tax resulted. This lack of standardization, combined with the
growth in the number of localities imposing the tax, led the Commission on State and Local
Revenues and Expenditures and Related Matters in its 1964 Report to the Governor and the
General Assembly' to recommend that all localities be authorized to impose the tax at a
maximum rate of 10 percent on all consumers, both residential and nonresidential. Moreover,
the commission recommended a tax base limit of $10 per month for residential telephone and
electric customers, $5 per month for gas customers, and $100 per month for commercial and
industrial customers. The commission argued that a limitation on the maximum rate, as well as
on the maximum base amount, was necessary to avoid imposing too high a burden on
consumers.

No action was taken on this specific recommendation by the 1964 General Assembly. In
1966, the General Assembly passed legislation that gave counties the same authority as cities and
towns to impose a local consumer utility tax. In 1972, as a result of the high utility tax rates on
consumers, the General Assembly took a number of steps recommended by the 1964 commission
and limited the utility tax rate and the base amount for residential consumers. Localities that had
tax rates above the ceilings were grandfathered in at the higher rates but were prohibited from
increasing their residential rates further. There were no limits imposed on nonresidential
customers.

! Senate Document No. 10 (1964).
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The consumer utility tax has been studied a number of times since 1972, starting with the
special Governor's Committee to Study State Franchise and License Taxes Applicable to Public
Service Corporations in Virginia, otherwise known as the Mathews Commission. This study
group, which reported in 1976, was established, at least in part, due to the rapid increase in
electric rates resulting from the actions of the OPEC oil cartel during the early 1970s.> The
commission recommended, and the General Assembly adopted, a phased-in reduction of the state
gross receipts tax rates on public service corporations. The commission also determined (i) that
the local utility tax was regressive and should be repealed, (ii) that the tax should be replaced
with an additional one-half percent sales tax, to be returned to localities by point of collection,
and (iii) that the sales tax should be expanded to selected services, including utilities. The
General Assembly took no action on these recommendations.

Other studies seem always to conclude that the tax is unfair, imposes a heavy burden on
lower income taxpayers, and should be either drastically altered or repealed. However, because
it is such a significant revenue source for a large number of Virginia localities (both large cities
and rural counties), the tax remained virtually unchanged since the 1972 legislation that imposed
the limitations on consumer rates, until 2006 following a two-year study by a General Assembly
joint subcommittee and two more years of meetings among communications industry
representatives, local government representatives, and legislative staff.> The joint subcommittee,
which began its work in 2002, focused on how all communications services were taxed in the
Commonwealth and determined that Virginia had the highest average combined (state and local)
tax rate in the nation and that the playing field among the providers of such services was not
level. Finally in 2006, after different options and numerous legislative drafts were discussed at
length, the General Assembly approved legislation that removed communications services from
LCUT rolls and imposed a five percent communications sales and use tax, effective January 1,
2007.

Administering the Tax

In 2005, every city in Virginia except Bedford, 90 of the 95 counties, and 104 of the
towns imposed a local consumer utility tax. The appendix at the end of this chapter lists utility
tax rates for cities, counties, and towns as of 2005. It is difficult to compare local tax rates
because they vary by type of utility service and type of customer. Moreover, some localities
have graduated rate structures similar to that of an income tax. Although the statute authorizing
the utility tax provides maximum rates and bases for residential rates, many localities that collect
large amounts of revenue from this tax source were grandfathered in at higher rates.

2 House Document No. 23 (1976).
3 House Joint Resolution 209 (2002); House Joint Resolution 651 (2003); Chapter 634, 2004 Acts of Assembly;
Chapter 126, 2005 Acts of Assembly.
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In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, the local consumer utility tax in Virginia's
counties and cities generated approximately $514.8 million, or 3.9 percent of their total local-
source revenue. It is the fourth largest source of revenue for Virginia's counties and cities,
behind the real property, tangible personal property, and sales and use taxes. Cities collected
$251.9 million, or approximately 49 percent of the total; counties collected $262.8 million, or 51
percent. Towns reporting to the Auditor of Public Accounts collected $16.5 million, or 5.9
percent of total town revenue, from the consumer utility tax.

Table 1 provides local consumer utility tax collections in Virginia's counties and cities.
Fairfax County collected the largest amount, followed by Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Richmond,
Prince William, Alexandria, and Chesapeake. These seven localities collected $267.6 million, or
approximately 52 percent of the total amount collected from this source throughout the
Commonwealth.

The utility tax is an extremely important part of local revenue for a number of localities,
generating an amount equal to 70 percent of city-generated and 46 percent of county-generated
local sales and use tax. For six cities and 17 counties, utility tax collections were higher than
local sales and use tax collections. The Cities of Norfolk, Richmond, and Portsmouth, as a
group, collected almost 35 percent more revenue from the local utility tax than they did from the
sales tax.

The local utility tax is collected by the public service corporations as part of the monthly
bill with virtually no administrative costs to the locality. The Code of Virginia allows localities
to pay a commission of up to five percent to the public service corporations for collecting the tax
if the tax is remitted in a timely fashion. The tax on telephone service does not apply to long-
distance charges.

Recent Developments

In order to create uniformity and a level playing field in the taxation of communication
services and to lower the combined tax rate, the 2006 Session of the General Assembly amended
the law to remove communication services from the local consumer utility tax base. Beginning
January 1, 2007, the LCUT may be levied only on consumers using water, heat, light, and power
in the county, city, or town imposing the tax, while the five percent communications sales and
use tax will be levied on consumers of telephones, cable television, satellite TV and radio, and
voice-over-internet protocol.

* Chapter 560, 1994 Acts of Assembly.
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Table 1
Local Consumer Utility Tax Collections, Virginia Counties and Cities, 2005

County Collections County Collection City Collections
Accomack $1,347,447 King & Queen $243,084 Alexandria $17,850,544
Albemarle $6,993,297 King George $334,509 Bedford -
Alleghany $441,889 King William $367,020 Bristol $386,628
Amelia $437,423 Lancaster - Buena Vista $478,170
Amherst $1,585,741 Lee $478,297 Charlottesville $6,863,039
Appomattox $637,039 Loudoun $12,591,407 Chesapeake $16,941,953
Arlington $7,802,051 Louisa $510,188 Colonial Heights $1,355,071
Augusta $2,688,223 Lunenburg $300,506 Covington $650,168
Bath - Madison $684,033 Danville $1,997,490
Bedford $1,942,338 Mathews $361,724 Emporia $570,569
Bland $152,224 Mecklenburg $537,753 Fairfax $2,886,027
Botetourt $948,046 Middlesex $420,463 Falls Church $1,645,515
Brunswick $464,283 Montgomery $1,575,545 Franklin $808,304
Buchanan $727,503 Nelson $456,986 Fredericksburg $2,882,555
Buckingham $523,742 New Kent $349,053 Galax $324,950
Campbell $1,921,890 Northampton $685,523 Hampton $10,956,917
Caroline $1,048,517 Northumberland $484,372 Harrisonburg $1,849,330
Carroll $872,194 Nottoway $400,563 Hopewell $1,138,794
Charles City $221,571 Orange $824,666 Lexington $519,509
Charlotte $189,857 Patrick - Lynchburg $7,087,224
Chesterfield $15,510,660 Pittsylvania $2,266,537 Manassas $1,852,781
Clarke $528,769 Powhatan $881,337 Manassas Park $1,244,478
Craig $186,122 Prince Edward $474,912 Martinsville $1,367,947
Culpeper $1,771,697 Prince George $1,462,710 Newport News $12,364,272
Cumberland $452,472 Prince William $25,452,710 Norfolk $39,371,385
Dickenson $524,291 Pulaski $1,253,242 Norton $263,918
Dinwiddie $1,088,753 Rappahannock $395,747 Petersburg $3,239,247
Essex $361,663 *Richmond $268,398 Poquoson $447,622
Fairfax $96,189,365 Roanoke $4,695,721 Portsmouth $12,999,195
Fauquier $2,891,289 Rockbridge $963,485 Radford $1,022,020
Floyd $681,309 Rockingham $1,552,430 Richmond $31,124,965
Fluvanna $1,033,668 Russell $1,095,284 Roanoke $13,349,039
Franklin $2,231,212 Scott $731,796 Salem $1,339,238
Frederick $3,213,017 Shenandoah $1,393,268 Staunton $1,776,769
Giles $232,946 *Smyth $944,398 Suffolk $6,160,225
Gloucester $1,790,229 Southampton $923,270 Virginia Beach $40,702,879
Goochland $1,175,825 Spotsylvania $3,953,925 Waynesboro $1,933,004
Grayson $576,936 Stafford $6,321,760 Williamsburg $798,829
Greene $545,629 Surry - Winchester $3,394,446
Greensville $410,637 Sussex $151,017
Halifax $1,473,096 Tazewell $918,846
Hanover $,418,593 Warren $1,034,003
Henrico $4,804,569 Washington $1,830,895
Henry $4,444,974 Westmoreland $726,763
Highland $110,945 Wise $1,225,468
Isle of Wight $790,142 Wythe $1,019,632
James City - York $246,775

B Total Counties: $262,862,144 B Total Cities: $251,945,016

B Virginia Total: $514,807,160
SOURCE: Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures (June 30, 2005), Auditor of Public Accounts,
Richmond, VA.
* Revenue data are for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2004.
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The service provider must remit monthly to the Department of Taxation the amount of
tax billed during the preceding month to consumers with a service address in that county, city, or
town. After the Department of Taxation has collected the monthly payments, it will distribute
the revenue to the localities in accordance with a formula created by local government
representatives.

Issues
Regressivity

A regressive tax is generally defined as one in which the tax decreases as a percentage of
income as income increases. The local consumer utility tax, as it applies to residential
customers, is regressive. Although a few localities impose the tax at a flat rate on the entire
monthly bill, most use a percentage of the first $20. The maximum rate in the Code is 15 percent
of the first $20, or $3 per month. Because very few people have a monthly electric bill of less
than $20, the same amount of tax applies to low-, middle-, and upper-income taxpayers.

Although numerous study groups have noted the regressivity of the utility tax, there have
been few efforts to modify the tax because of its importance as a local revenue source. With
utility bills comprising such a significant percentage of household income, it is difficult to
overhaul the utility tax structure without significantly increasing the tax on some taxpayers.

Effect on Virginia's Economic Development Climate

Virginia has experienced strong economic growth over the past few decades. The
Commonwealth has prided itself on having an excellent business environment, including its state
and local tax structure. The elimination of the LCUT on communications services is intended to
level the playing field among the providers of such services, simplify its administration for those
providers, and lower the overall rate. All of these are characteristics that business appreciates.

Summary

The local consumer utility tax is imposed on the consumer of utility service (water, heat,
light, and power) by every city except Bedford and by most counties. Localities are authorized
to impose the tax on all such utility services, with limitations on residential customers. The tax
generated $514.8 million, or 3.9 percent of local-source revenue, the fourth largest source of
local revenue, in 2005. A number of localities collect more in utility tax revenue than they do
from the local sales and use tax.

The tax has been essentially unchanged since 1972, when the residential ceilings were
imposed and those localities that were above the maximums were grandfathered in at the higher
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rates. However, in 2006, legislation was enacted that removed telecommunications from the
LCUT and replaced it with a statewide sales and use tax, effective January 1, 2007.

It is difficult to compare utility taxes among localities because of variations in rates and
in utility services taxed. Some localities impose a graduated rate structure similar to the
individual income tax. Moreover, residential and commercial/industrial consumers are treated
differently.

A major issue is the regressivity of the tax, especially for residential customers, most of
whom pay the same tax regardless of income. But because of its importance as a revenue source
for localities and until some other replacement can be found, it seems the LCUT is here to stay.

Appendix Tables

The following tables, numbered 13.1 through 13.4, show (i) the monthly tax on
electricity for residential, commercial, and industrial users (ii) the monthly tax on
telephones for residential, commercial, industrial, and cellular users; (iii) consumers'
monthly tax on gas; and (iv) consumers' monthly tax on water.

The tables are from 2005 Tax Rates in Virginia's Cities, Counties and Selected
Towns, Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service, University of Virginia, and are
reprinted by permission.
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Table 13.1
Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Electricity, 2005
Locality Residential Commercial Industrial
Cities {Note: All ciies responded to this survey. Those that answered “not applicable” to all items in this table are excluded.)
Alexandria $1.12 + 5.012075/kwh; group $0.97 + $0,004610/kwh $0.87 » $0.003755/kwh
meter nol to exceed $2 40 times
the number of dwelling unils
Buena Vista 20% on first 515 20% on first $150 20% on first $150
Charlottesville S0.007349/kwh first 40,726 kwh:  $0.006069/kwh first 49,242 kwh:  $0.008172/kwh first 36 570 kwh;
$0.002940/kwh thereafter; $0.002446/kwh thereafter; 30.70  30.001487/kwh thereafler
$0.70 times number of bills times number of bills $1.15 times number bills
Chesapeake $1.78/dwelling unit + $2.87/meter + $0.017 1/kwh $2 B7imeter + $.0251/kwh
$0.0185/kwh; 53.75 max./mo. $112.50 max./mo. $112.50 maxJmo.
Colonial Heighls 20% on first 515 20% on first 5300 20% on first $300
Covington 6% min/mo. + $0.004743/kwh; 10% minJmo, + 50.006602kwh;  10% min/mo. + 30.006602/kwh;
$6 max./mo. $8,000 max.fyear $8,000 max./year
Darville $0.027 + $0.0038/kwh; 50,489 + $0.0037/kwh on £39 + §0.0019/kwhy;
$0.90 max./mo. first 1,500 kwh 860 max./mo.
Emporia $1.40 + $0.015088/kwh; $2,29 + 50.014085/kwh; $2.29 + 50.014085/kwh;
%3 max./mo, %36 max./mo. $36 max./mo.
Fairfax %1.05 + $0.01136/kwh; 81,72 + 80.010 11 2/kwh; $1.72 + 3001011 2/kwh;
$2.25 max.jmo., 75 max.fmo. 575 max./mo,
Falls Church 50.70 + $0.007535/kwh; %0.082 + 50.004807kwh $0.092 + $0.004807 fkwh
$5 max./mo.
Franklin $1.15 + 50.015/kwh; $2 + 50.015/kwh on first %2 + $0.015/kwh on first
£3 max./mo. 3,700 kwh; $0.0055/kwh 3,700 kwh: $0.0055/kwh
thereafler; 3165 max./mao. therealter; $165 max./mo.
Fredericksburg 20% on first $10 10% on first $2,000 10% on first $2,000
Galax 20% on first $10 20% on first 5100 20% on first 5150
Hampton $1.40 + $0.014958/kwh; $2.29 + $0.013953/kwh on first $2.28 + §0.015498/kwh on first
$3 max./mo. 2,703 kwh; $0.003321/kwh 2,433 kwh: $0.004835/kwh
thereafter, 580 max./mo. thereafter; $80 max./mo.
Harrisonburg $0.50 + 0.0012/kwh; $0.50 + $0.0083/kwh; $0.50 + $0.0083/kwh;
$1 max./mo. $15 max/mo, $15 max./mo.
Hopewell 20% on first $10 20% on first 525 20% on first $2,500
Lexington 33 $100 $100
Lynchburg $0.00460/kwh on first 1,000 $0.00480/kwh on first 1,000 $0.00375/kwh on first 1,000

Manassas Park

Martinsville

Newport News

Norfolk

Norton
Petersburg
Poquoson
Portsmouth
Radford
Richmond

Roanoke

Salem

kwhy; 30.00280/kwh thereafter
20% times min/mo. +
0.01841/kwh; 83 max./mo.

$2.00 + 50.00328/kwh;
3 max./mo.

$1.54 + $0.016398/kwh;
$3.08 max.Jmo.

£1.75 + 50016891 /kwh;
$3.75 max.mo.

20% on first 537 80

$1.40 + $0.015063/kwh;

$3 max.Jmo.

£1.40 + 50.014716/kwh;

$3 max.mo.

$1.40 + 50.015038/kwh;
$3.40 max.fmo.
$0.01505/kwh; $3 max./mo.
$1.40 + 80.015116/kwh;

$4 max./mo,

$0.00780/&kwh on first 1,000
kwh; > of 30.00450/kwh or
12% times minJmo. thereafter
6% on first $15

kwh: $0.00292/kwh thereafter
20% times minJ/mo, +
0.021683/kwh on first 1500 kwh;
$0.0174/kwh thereafler
$0.00828/kwh; $400 max./mo.

£2.29 + 50.013858/kwh on
first 2,771 kwh: $0.003285/kwh
thereafter, $80 max./mo.

$2.87 + $0.017933/kwh on first
537 kwh: $0.006330/kwh
therealier

20% on first $37 .50

£1.72 + 50.010538/kwh;

875 max.mo.

§1.15 + 50.007286/kwh;

$10 max.mo.

$2,29 + $0.013143/kwh;

400 max./mo.

$0.035004wh; $40 max./mo.
§2.75 + $0.018462/kwh on

first 8,945 kwh; $0.002180/kwh
thereafter

$0.00800/kwh on first 1,000
kwh; > of $0.00540/kwh or
12% times min/mo. thereafter
6% on first 35,000

kwh; $0.00260/4wh thereafler
20% times min/mo. +
0.021683/kwh on first 1500 kwh;
$0.0174/kwh thereafter
$0.00528/kwh; 3400 max./mo.

$2.29 + $0.015455/kwh on first
2,440 kwh: $0.003482/kwh
therealter, $80 max./mo.

$1.38 + 50.004965/kwh on first
3,625,100 kwh; $0.004014/kwh
thereafter

20% on first $37 50

$1.72 + $0.010535/kwh;

576 max./mo.

$1.15 + 50 .007286/kwh;

$10 max./mo.

$2.29 + 30.01591 5/kwh;

5400 max./mo.

$0.03000/kwh; $40 max./mo.
52.75 + B0.11952/kwh on

firgt 1,232 kwh; $0.001837
thereafter

50.00880/kwh on first 1,000
kwh; > of $0.00395/kwh or
12% tmes minJmo. thereafter
6% on first $5,000
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Table 13.1 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Electricity, 2005 (continued)

Locality Residential Commercial industrial
Cities (continued)
Staunton $1.40 + 50.015/kwh; 52,29 + 50.01448%%kwh, MIA
$2 max.mo. 520 maxmo,
Sulfolk 20% on first $15 13% on first $10,000 13% on first 510,000
Virginia Beach 5140 + 5001477 \/kwh, $1.72 # 50.010057/kwh on first $1.72 + $0.008253/kwh first
$3.00 max./mo. 9,151 kwh $0.00283 1 /kwh 9946 kwh: 5 0.001190/kwh
thersafier; therealier,
$162 50 max./mo. 5162 .50 max/monih
Waynesboro $0.70 + $0,007589/kwh; $1.15 + 50.007 144/kwh: §1.15 + 80.007409/kwh;
85 max/mo. $15 max./mo. 515 max.mo.
Williamsburg $0.70 = 50 .007468/kwh; $1.15 + §0.008947 kwh; 51.15 + 50.006947 lwh,
51 max./mo. §20 max./mo. $20 max./mo.
Winchester $0.012/kwh; 3 max./mo. $0.011/kwh; 10,700 kwhimo, max  $0.011/kwh; 10,700 kwh/mo, max
Counties {Note: All counties responded to the survey. Those that answered "not applicable” for all iters in this table are
exciuded.)
Accomack $0.00321/kwh $0.00342/kwh $0.00132/kwh
Albemarle $0.0312831/kwh on first 128 $0.006161/kwh on first 48,693, $0.005265/kwh on first 56,980,
kwh: $4 max./mo. $0.0016361/kwh thereafter $0.000934/kwh thereafter
Alleghany 18% on first $15 10% on first $500 10% on first $500
Amelia 20% on first $12 50 20% on first 525 20% on first §25
Amherst 20% times minJmo. + 20% times minJmo, + 20% tmes min/mo, +
50.015508kwh; $3 max/mo, $0.014214/kwh; 520 max/mo. 50.014214/kwh; 320 max/mo.
Appomattox 20% times min/mo. + 20% times minJ/mo. + 20% times minJmo, +
$0.14768/kwh; $3 max./mo. $0.015279%%kwh; $20 max./mo, $0.0156279kwh; $20 max.J/mo.
Arlington M/A $1.15 + 50.004989%/kwh $1.15 + §0.008022/kwh
Augusta $1.40 + $0.015084/kwh; $2.29 + 50,014 169 kwh; §2.28 + 50.01416%kwh;
$3 max./mo. 830 max./mo, $30 max./mo.
Bedford $0.0075&wh; $1.50 max./mo. 80.00808/hwhy; $25 max./mo. $0.00735/kwh; $25 max.Jmo,
Bland $1.50 + $0.01515/4wh; $1.50 + $0.00945/kwh; $1.50 + $0.00945/4kwh on first
$3 max.fmo. 830 max.fmo. 3,175 kwh: 30.00012/wh on next
66,667 kwh.
Holetourt 20% on first 15 20% on Airst 515 20% on first $15
Brunswick 20% on first $10 20% on first 5100 20% on first $100
Buchanan $1.50 + $0.01515/kwh; 50.75 + 50.1125/hkwh; $0.75 + $0.0109/%kwh;
53 max./mo. $3 max./mo, 83 max./mo.
Buckingham 10% on first 515 10% on first $100 10% on first $100
Campbell Greater of 50.01506/kwh or Greater of $0.03500/kwh or Greater of 50.03000/kwh or
min. tax of 51 50; 53 max./mo. min. tax of $2.28, $3 max./mo. $2.28 min. lax; $3 max/mo.
Caroline 20% of min. monthly charge + 20% of min, monthly charge + 20% of min. monthly charge +
$0.01672/kwh; $3 max./mo. $0.01865/kwh; $10 max./mo. $0.01865/kwh; 510 max./mo.
Carrolt $0,01140/kwh; $3 max./mo. $0.0200/Mwh; $20 max./mo. $0,01155/kwh; $50 max./mo.
Charles City 20% on first $10 20% on first $10 20% on first $10
Charlotle £1.40 + $0.014432/kwh; $0.015398/kwh on first 176 kwh;  $0.006583/kwh on first 412 kwh;
%2.50 max./fmo. $0.001326/kwh thereafter $0.001568/kwh thereafter
Chesterfield £1.40 + $0.015062/kwh; $1.15 + §0.007023/kwh on first $1.15 + $0.010995/kwh on first
52 maxJmo, 2,684 kwh; $0.000508/kwh on 1,714 kwh; 50.000758/wh on
2.685-195 597 kwh; 1,715-131,002 kwh;
$0.000367/kwh thereafter 50.000167/kwh thereafter
Clarke $1.40 + 50.015/kwh; $2.28 + 30.0140167kwh $2.29 + 50 0140167 kwh
$3 max/mo. on first 5,300 kwh, on first 5,300 kwh;
$0.00283/kwh thereafier $0.00283/kwh thereafter
Craig $0.01515/kwh; $1.50 min./mo. $0.01700/kwh; $1.50 minJ/mo. $0.01525/kwh; §1.50 min./mo.
53 max./mo. $9 max./mo. 59 max./mo.
Culpeper $0.14953/kwh; 53 maxJ/mo, $0.14658/kwh; 510 max./mo. $0.14658/kwh; 510 max/mo.
$1.40 minJmo. $2.29 minimao. $2.29 minJmo.
Cumberiand 20% on frst 515 20% on first $15 20% on first 815
Dickenson 20% of charge over §3 20% of charge over $37 50 20% of charge over 575

N/A Not applicable.
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Table 13.1 Utility Consumers' Monthly Tax on Electricity, 2005 (continued)
Locality Residential Commercial industrial
Counties (continued)

. - .

Franklin $O D’i 525ikwh 51 50 min./mo. $0 MOO!kwh $1. 5{) min. z‘mo $O 01600:‘&(% $1 50 min./mo.
53 max./mo. $3 max./mo. $40 max./mao.

Frederick $0.22 + $0.003/kwh; $0.30 + $0.0024/kwh on first 700 $0.30 + $0.0024/kwh on first 700
$3 maximo. kwh: $0.0015928/kwh thereafter  kwh; $0.0015928/kwh thereafter

Gloucester 20% on first $15 10% on first $75 10% on first $75

Goochland 20% times min./mo. + : 20% times min./mo. + 20% times min/mo, +
$0.015164/kwh $0.0148686/kwh; $6 max./mo, $0.014866/kwh; $6 max./mo,

Grayson $0.0155/kwh, $1.50 min./mo. $0.0155/Kwh, $1.50 min./mo. $0.0155/kwh, $1,50 min/mo.

$3 max./mo.

‘///// //,\ . //433/// o

/,// .

éww :  $1.15+ 5 ,Wﬁmik%
&;W ’////m% //? ... S0opmexne

Henry 20% of min. charge +$0.010374  20% of min. charge + $0.009794  20% of min. charge +$O 0049794
per kwh; not to exceed $3 per kwh until tax reaches $3; per kwh until tax reaches $3;
thereafter $0.003183/kwh thereafter $0.003183/kwh
Hightand $0.015/kwh; $1.00 min./mo. $0.018/kwh; $1.00 min/mo. $0.015/kwh; $1.00 minJ/mo.
$3 max./mo, $3 maxJmo. $3 max./mo.
Iste of Wight $0.007813/kwh; $1.50 maxJmo.  $0.007383/kwh; $100 max/mo.  $0.007383/kwh; $100 max./mo.
King & Queen $0,0003807 kwh on first 2,500 $0.000380/kwh on first 2,500 $0.000380/kwh on first 2,500

kwh; $0.000240/kwh thereafter  kwh; $0.000240/kwh 2,501-60,000 kwh; $0.000240/kwh 2,501-50,000
kwh; $0.000180/kwh thereafter kwh; $0.000180/kwh thereafter
ng George Maxsmum tax: $1.50 Maxxmum tax: $10. 0{} Maximum tax: $10.00

O o e e 2 e l;//%v/rm{ «’«,%’4 i St
Madison 20% of minimum charge + 20% of minimum charge + 20% of minimum charge +
$0.014473/kwh; $3 max./mo. $0.013966/kwh; $20 max.J/mo. $0.013866/kwh; $20 max./mo.
Mathews 20% on first $10 20% on first $10 20% on first $10
Mecklenburg $3 83 $3
Middlesex 20% on first $10 5% on first $50 5% on first $50
20% on ﬁrst 815

20% on first $100 20% on first $100

20% on first $15

20% on ﬁrst 315 20% on first $15
Pittsylvania 15% on first $15 15% on first $100 15% on first $100
Powhatan 20% of minimum charge 20% of minimum charge 20% of minimum charge
+ %0.16231/kwh; $3 maxJ/mo. + $0.015071/kwh; $20 max./mo,  + $0.015071/kwh; $20 max./mo.
Prince Edward $2.50 maximum $40.00 maximum $40.00 maximum
Prince George 20% on first $15 20% on first $200 20% on first $200

N/A Not applicable.
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Table 13.1 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Electricity, 2005 {continued)

Locality

Residential

Commercial

Industrial

Counties {continued)

Prince William $1.40 * 80.01809/kwh; $2.29 + B0.013487/why; $2.29 + S0.018487kwh;
$3 max./mo. $100 max/mo. $100 max./mo.
Putaski $0.01525/kwh $0.01415/kwh $0.01515kwh
Rappahannock 20% on first 515 20% on first $15 NIA
Richmond $0.015/kwh; 83 max./mo. $0.015/kwh; 53 max./mo. $0.015/kwh; $3 max./mo.
Roanoke $0.089/kwh; $0.80 minJmo, $0.0610/kwh; 50.90 min/mo. $0.0640/kwh; 50.90 min/mo.
£1.80 maxmo. $600 max./mao. $600 max./mo.
Rockbridge 20% on first $15 20% on first $50 20% on first $50
Rockingham 20% on first $10 20% on first $100 20% on first $100
Russell 20% on first $15 10% on first $200 20% on first $1,000; 2% thereafter
Scolt 20% on first $15 20% on first $37.50 20% on first $75
Shenandoah 20% on first 5 10% on first $100 10% on first $100
Smiyth 20% of minimum charge + 20% of minimum charge + 20% of minimum charge +
$0.01525/kwh; 53 max./mo. $0.0146/kwh; $20 max./mo. $0.0126/kwh; $200 max./mo.
Southampton $1.40 + $0.014543/kwh; $2.29 + 50.01519%9kwh on firsl $2.29 + $0.015199/kwh on first
$3 max./mo. 3,218 kwh; $0.000365/kwh 3,219 kwh; $0.000365/kwh
thereafter; 51,500 max./mo. thereafier; 51,500 max./mo.
Spotsylvania L ’ 10% on first $300; 1% thereafler  10% on first 300, 1% thereafter
Stafford $0.014855/kwh; $3 max./mo. $0.006434/kwh; 52 max./mo. $0.006434/kwh; §2 max./mo.
Sussex 10% on first $15 10% on first $150 10% on first 5150
Warren $1.40 + $0.015 per kwh; $2.29 + $0.0047223/kwh on first  $2.29 + $0.0047223/kwh on first
$3 max./mo. 5,300kwh; $0.000943/kwh thereafter 5,300kwh; +50.000943kwh thereafler
Washington $1.50 + $0.01520/kwh; $1.50 + $0.01500/kwh on first 667 $1.50 + $0.01500 on first 667 kwh;
$3 max./mo, kwh: $0.00105/kwh thereafter; 20.00108/kwh thereafter;
$100 max./mo. $100 max./mo.
Woestmoreland $3.00 N/A NIA
Wise $0.015625/kwh; $1.50 min/mo.  $0.01800/kwh; $1.50 minJmo, 20.01800/kwh; $1.50 min/mo,
$3.00 max./mo. $7.50 max.Jmo, $15.00 max./mo.
Wythe 20% on first $156 20% on first $200 20% on first $1,000; 1% thereafter
Towns (Note: Towns that answered “not applicable” for all ems in this lable are excluded, For a listing of town respondents and
non-respondents, see Appendix B.)
Abingdon $0.00750/kwh; $10 max./mo. $0.00750kwh; 25 max./mo. $0.00550/kwh; 5100 max./mo.
Alberta $1.40 + $0.015243/kwh; $2.29 + $0.014663/kwh; $2.29 + 50.014663/kwh;
%3 max./mo, $20.00 max./mo. $20.00 max./mo.
Allavista $1.40 minimurn; $3.00 maxJmo,  52.29 minimum: 3.00 max./fmo. $2.29 minimum; $3.00 max./mo.
Amherst min/mo. + $0.0065/kwh; min/mo, + $0.005/kwh; 20% on first $100
$1.20 max./mo. $8 max.Jmo.
Ashland $0.70 + 50.007525/kwh; $1.18 + 50.007342/kwh; $1.15 + 50.007342/kwh;
%1 maxJ/mo. $10 max./mo. $10 max./mo.
Berryville 50.0034/kwh; $3 max./mo. $0.00195/kwh; $10 max./mo. $0.000065/kwh; $10 max./mo.
Big Stone Gap 50.80.+ §0.008644/kwh; $1.50 + 500123367 /kwh; &7 + 50.0057034/kwh;
%3 max./mo. $10 max./mo. $10 max./mo.
Blacksbury 50.01135/kwh; $2.25 max, 50.01118/4kwh; $7.50 max, $0.012000/4kwh; $7.50 max.
Bluefield 0.75% 0.75% NIA
Boones Mill 20% on first 315 20% on first 315 20% on first 200
Bowling Green $1.40 + $0.018094/kwh; $2.28 + $0.014597 /kwh; $2.29 + $0.014597/kwh;
53 max./mo. $10 max./mo. $10 max./mo.
Boydton 15% on first $10 15% on first 550 15% on first 550
Bridgewater $0.0142/kwh; $1.50 maxJ/mo. $0.0125/kwh on first 6,300 kwh:  50.0125/kwh on first 6,300 kwh;
$0.0024/kwh thereafter $0.0024/kwh therealter
Broadway 15% on first $10 15% on first $100 15% on first $100
Brodnax 20% on first $15 20% on first $100 20% on first $100
Buchanan 20% on first $15 20% on first 15 20% on first $15
Cape Charles 10% on first $15 10% on first $100 10% on first 3100
Cedar Bluff 20% on first$158 20% on first 50 20% on first $50
Charlotte Court House 20% on first $12.50 20% on first $25; then 2% excess  20% on first $25; then 2% excess
Chase City 20% on first $10 20% on first 3100 20% on first 100

N/A Not applicable.
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Table 13.1 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Electricity, 2005 (continued)

Locality Residential Commercial Industrial
Towns {continued)
Chatham 20% on first $15 7% on first $100 7% on first $100
Chithowie 50.01800/kwh or 20% times 80.01185/kwh or 20% times $0.01265/kwh or 20% times
minJmo.; $1 max./mo. min/mo.; $40 max./mo, min/mo.; 5200 max./mo.
Chincoleague $1.50 on first 5 kwh; $3.50 on lirst 5 kwhy $3.50 on first 5 kwh;
50.0015/kwh thereafter $0.0015/kwh thereafter $0.0015/kwh thereafter
Christiansburg $0.0148/kwh; 2 max./mo. $0.0125/kwh: 520 max./mo, $0.0125/kwh; $20 max./mo,
Clarksville $1.40 + 50.014839/0kwh; 52.29 # 50.01419 /kwh; $2.29 + 50.014191/kwh;
$3 maxJmo. $20 max./mo. $20 max./mo.
Clifton Forge $1.40 + 50.015084/kwh; §2.29 + 0.01440Vkwh; $2.29 + $0.014401/kwh;
$3.00 max./mo. $25.00 max./mo. $25.00 max./mo.
Clirtwood 50.01510hkwh; $3 max./mo. $0.01500/kwh; $10 max./mo. $0.03200Mkwh; $10 max/mo.
Coeburn Greater of $0.01/kwh or Greater of $0.01/kwh or Greater of $0.01/kwh or
20% % minJmo., 53 maxJmo, 20% x mirn/mo., $3 maxmo. 20% % minJdmo.; 53 max/mo.
Craigsville 15% on first $10 15% on first $100 NIA
Crewe $3.00 $20.00 N/A
Damascus 20% on first 815 20% on first $100 20% on first 8100
Dayton $0.0373/kwh; $1.50 max./mo. $0.00251/kwh on first 625 kwh;  $0.00251/kwh on first 625 kwh;
’ $0.0027kwh thereafter $0.0027/kwh thereatter
Dillwyn 0-2,500 kwh: 0.00038/kwh 0-2,500 kwh: 0.00038/kwh; NIA
2,501-50,000 kwh: 0.00024/kwh
Drakes Branch $1.40 + $0.014418/kwh; $2.20 + $0.015319/kwhoon first 5229 + 50.015319/kwh on first
$2.50 max. 177 kwh; $0.000723/kwh 177 kwh: $0.000723/kwh
thereafier thereafier
Dublin 10% on first $13.00 10% on first $100.00 10% on first $100.00
Edinburg $1.00 $5.00 N/A
Elkton 15% on first $10.00 15% on first $100.00 15% on first $100.00
Exmore 10% on first $15.00 20% on first $300.00 10% on first $300.00
Farmville 20% on first $15.00 20% on first $300 20% on first $300
Fincastie 20% on first $15 + 20% on first $15 + 20% on first $15 +
$0.015417/kwh;, 53 max./mo. $0.017684/kwh; $3 max./mo. £0.0148/wh; 540 max./mo.
Fries $0.01135/kwh; $2.25 max./mo. $0.00650/kwh; $10 max./mo. $0.00570/kwh; $20 max./mo.
Front Royal $0.03/kwh; $3 max./mo. NIA NiA
Glade Spring 20% on first 5625 15% on first $83.33 15% on first $83.33
Glasgow 20% on first $15 20% on first $15 20% on first $15
Glen Lyn 9% on first $15 9% on first $15 9% on first $15
Gordonsville 20% on first $15 20% on first 815 20% on first $15
Goshen $1.40 + $0.015094/kwh; $2.24 + $0.014524/kwh; $2.28 + 50.14524/kwh;
$3.00 max./mo. $10.00 max/mo, $10.00 max/mo.
Grundy 10% on first $15 10% on first $15 10% on first $15
Halifax 20% on first $15.00 20% on first $50.00; 20% on first $150.00;
. 1% 0N eXcess 1% on excess
Herndon $1.40 + 50.015082/kwh; $2.29 + $0.014536/kwh; $2.29 + $0.014536/kwh;
$3 max./mo. $30 max./mo. $30 max./mo.
Hillsville $0.0151/kwh; $3.00 max./mo. $0.0125hwh; 20 max./mo. $0.0185/kwh; $40 max./mo.
Honaker 20% on first $15 20% on first 15 20% on first $15
Hurt $1.80 + $0.015084/kwh; $2.29 + 50.017726/wh; $2.29 + 50.017726/kwh;
33 max./mo. %3 max./mo. 33 maxmo.
independence $50.01528Mkwh; $3.00 max./mo. $0.00580/kwh; $20.00 maxtmo.  $0.01300/kwh; $40.00 max./mo.
iron Gate $1.05 + $0.011419/kwh $1.72 + $0.010015/kwh $1.72 » 50.010015/kwh
Kenbridge $1.40 + 50.015084/kwh; £2.29 + 50.014384/kwh; $2.29 + 50.01396%/kwh;
53 max./mo, %18 max./mo. $15 max.fmo.
Kilmarnock $1.40 + $0.014932/kwh; $2.29 + 50.015588hwh; $2.29 + 50.015588/kwh;
$3 max./mo. %6 max./mo. £6 max./mo,
La Crosse 15% on first $15 15% on first $100 15% on first $100
Lawranceville 0.0158132/kwh; $3 max./mo, $0.010828&wh; $30 max.fmo, 50.010628/kwh; $30 max./mo,
Lebanon 53 53 53

NiA Not applicable.
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Table 13.1 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Electricity, 2005 {continued)

Locality Residential Commercial Industrial
Towns (continued)
Leesburg $1.12 + 50012047 kwh; $1.84 + 50.010707 kwh; $1.84 + 50 010707 /kwh;
$2.40 max./mo, $48 max./mo. 548 max./mo.
Lovetisville 7% on first 815 7% on first $100 7% on first 5100
Luray $0.0007095/kwh: $1.50 min/mo.  50.0008462/kwh; $1.50 min/mo  $0.000053084kwh; $1.50 min/mo.
$3 max /mo, $3 max.mo. $3 max.Jmo.
Marion 20% on first 85 20% on first 550 20% on first 5250
McKenney 20% of minimum charge + 20% of minimum charge + 20% of minimum charge +
$0.018225/kwh; $1.60 max/mo.  $0.014883/%kwh; $16 max./mo. $0.014865/kwh: $16 max./mo.
Middiebury $1.26 + $0.013424/kwh; $1.26 + $0.007421/kwh; $1.26 + 50.007421/kwh;
$2.70 ma.mo. $33.00 max,/mo. £33.00 max./mo.
Middistown $0.50 + $0.008/kwh; 83 max./mo.  $0.50 + $0.0034wh; $3 max/mo.  $0.50 + $0.003/kwh; 33 max./mo.
Montross $0.031283%/kwh; $3 max./mo. $0.006161/kwh on first 48,693kwh; $0.006161/4&wh on first 48,693kwh;
$0.001636/kwh thereafter;: %0.001636/4wh thereafler;
$10 max.fmo. $10 max./mo.
Narrows 18% on first $15 18% on first $15 18% on first 515
New Market 10% on first $15 10% on first $100 10% on first 3100
Onancock $0.70 + 50.0033/kwh 50.50 + 50.0035/kwh $0.50 + $0.0014/kwh
Pearisburg 52 ° 56 $6
Pennington Gap 50.80 + 50.008644/kwh; 50.80 + 50.009644/kwh; $0.80 + $0.009644/kwh;
$3 max/month 53 max/month $3 max/month
Pound 20% on first 815 20% on first 15 20% on first $15
Pulaski 15% on first 515 15% on first 5250 15% on first 5250
Remington $0.70 + 50.007458/kwh; $1.15 + $0.00702/kwh; $1.156 + $0.00702/kwh;
$1.50 max./mo. $15 max./mo, $15 max./mo,
Rocky Mount 10% on first $20 10% on first $50 10% on first $150
Round Hill $1.26 + 50.013424/kwh; $1.26 + $0.007421/kwh; $1.26 + $0.007421/kwh;
$2.70 max.tmo. $33 max./mo. $33 max./mo,

Rural Retreat
Baint Paul

Sooltsville
Shenandoah

Smithfield
South Boston

South Hill

Stanley
Stephens City
SBtrasburg

SBurry
Tappahannock

Timberville
Vigtoria
Vienna

Vinton
Wakefield

$0.0151/kwh; $3 max./mo.
$0.015/kwh on first 200 kwh;
$3 max./mo.

$0.03/kwh on first 100 kwh

$1.50 + 50.00144/kwh;

83 max./mo.

10% on first 310

£0.70 + 80.007 157 /kwh;

32 max./mo.

$1.06 + 50.011429/kwh;
$2.25 max/ma.
$0.0025/kwh; $.75 max./mo.
4% .

$0.70 + 80.007498/kwh;

$1 max.Jmo.

10% on first $10

$1.40 + $0.015087 /kwh;

$2 max./mo.

$2.00 max./mo.

15% on first 515

$1.40 + $0.015111/kwh;

$3 max./mo.

$0.00900/kwh
$0.00038/kwh on first 2,500 kwh;

$0.0150/kwh; $15 max./mo.
$0.015/kwh on first 500 kwh;
$7.50 max./mo.
$0.006161/kwh on first 48,693
kwh; 50.001636/kwh thereafter
$1.50 or $0.00039/kwh
whichever is greater

10% on first 3700

$1.15 + $0.006460/kwh;

£200 max./mo.

$1.72 + 50.010708/kwh;

$15 max./mo.

$0.0028/kwh; $.75 max./mo.
4%

10% on first $100

10% on first $100

%2.29 + 50.016504/kwh;

%5 max./mo.

$20.00 max./mo.

15% on first 3200

$1.72 + $0.010200/kwh;

%45 max./mo,

$0.00610/kwh

$0.00038/kwh on first 2,500 kwh;

S0.0150/kwh; $15 max./mo.
$0.0154wh on first 1,000 kwh;
%15 max./mo.

$0.00525/kwh on first 56,980 kwh;
$0.000934/kwh thereafter
$1.50 or 50.00005/kwh
whichever is greater

10% on first 5700

$1.15 + 50.006468/kwh;
$200 max./mo.

$1.72 + 50.010708/kwh;
$15 max./mo.
$0.0025/kwh; .75 max./mo.
4%

10% on first 3100

10% on first $100

$2.29 + $0.016504/kwh;

$5 max./mo.

$20.00 max./mo,

15% on first 3200

$1.72 + 50.010200kwh;

$45 max./mo.

$0.00640/kwh

$0.00038/wh on first 2,500 kwh;

$0.00024/kwh on 2,501-50,000 kwh; $0.00024/wg on 2,501-50,000 kwh; $0.00024/kwh on 2,501-50,000 kwh;

$0.00018/kwh thereafter

$0.00018/kwh therealter

%0.00018/kwh thereafter
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Table 13.1 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Electricity, 2005 (continued)

Locality Residential Commaercial industrial

Towns {continued)

Warrenton 50.0158865/kwh: $3 max./mo. $0.015000kwh; 820 max imo. $0.015009kwh; $20 max./mo.

Warsaw $0.015/kwh; $1 max./mo. $0.015/Mkwh; 81 max./mo. $0.015%kwh: $1 max.J/mo.

Waverly $1.05 + 50.011250/kwh; $1.72 + 80.011334/kwh; $1.72 # 50.011334/kwh;
$1.50 maxJmo. $7.50 maxSmo. $7.50 max.imo.

Weber City 20% on first $15 20% on first $37.50 20% on first $75

West Point $1.40 # 50.015094/kwh; $1.15 # 50.007319kwh: $1.15 + §0.007319/kwh;
$3.00 max/mo. $10.00 max./mo. $10.00 max./mo.

Windsor 50.70 + 80.006831/kwh; $1.15 + $0.006928/kwh; $1.15 + $0.006928/kwh;
$1.50 max./mo. 570 maxJmo, $70 max./mo.

Wise $0.80 + $0.009644/kwh; $1.50 + $0.0123367/kwh; $7.50 + $0.0047528/kwh;
$3 max./mo, $10 max./mo, $10 maxJmo.

Woodstock $1.00 + $0.007585/kwh; $1.25 + $0.007520/kwh; $1.25 + $0.007520/kwh;
$1.25 max./mo. $5 max/mo, $10 max./mo.

Wytheville

$0.01135/kwh; $2.25 max./mo.

$0.01kwh; $11.25 max./mo.

50.0112/kwh; $11.25 max./mo.
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Mobile (Cellular)

10% on first 830

5% on first $30
10% on first $30
10% on first $30

N/A
NIA
10%

10% on first 530
NiA
10% on first $30

10% not to exceed 330
Residential:

10% on first $300
Commercial/industrial;
20% on first $2, 500
N/A

10% on first 530

10% on first $30

%3

10% on first $30

10% on first $30

$3

10% on first $30

10% on first $30

10% on first $30
10% on first $30

$3
NiA
NiA
10%
20% on firgt 315
10% on first $30

10% on first 530
$0.90/ine; 5300 max.
10% on first 530

10% on first $30
10% on first $30

£2.50
10% on first $30

Table 13.2
Utitity Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Telephone, 2005
Locality Residential Commercial Industrial
Cities {Note: All cities responded to the survey. Those that answered "not applicable” for all items in this table are excluded.)
Alexandria 25% of local service 25% on first $150 of 25% on first 150 of
local service local service
Bristol 5% 5% 5%
Buena Vista 20% on first $15 20% on first $160 20% on first $150
Charlottesville 10% on first $3,000; 10% on first $3,000; 10% on first 53,000;
4% thereafier 4% thereafler 4% thereafler
Chesapeake 25% on first $50 25% on first 350 25% on first $50
Colonial Heights 20% on first $15 20% on first 300 20% on first 3300
Covington 6% on first $100 10% on first $5,000; 10% on first $5,000;
$8,000 max.fyear $8,000 max fyear
Danville 20% on first $15 20% on first $200 20% on first 5200
Emporia 20% on first $15 20% on first $180 20% on first $180
Fairfax 15% on firgt 315 15% on first $500 15% on first $500
Falls Church 10% on first 50 20% on first 550 20% on first 850
Franklin 20% on first 515 16.5% on first 51,000 16.5% on first $1,000
Fredericksburg 20% on first $10 20% on first 500 20% on first $500
Galax 20% on first $10 20% on first $50 20% on first $75
Hamplon 20% on first $15 20% on first $300 20% on first 300
Harrisonburg 10% on first $10 10% on first $150 10% on first $150
Hopewell 20% on first $10 20% on first $25 20% on first $2,500
Lexington 20% on first $156 10% on first $1,000 10% on first $1,000
Lynchburg 7% 7%:; $130,000 max. 7%; $130,000 max,
Manassas 20% on first 315 20% on first 3500 20% on first $500
Manassas Park 20% on first $15; 20% on first $500; 20% on first $500,
53 max, $150 max, $150 max.
Martinsville 20% on first $15 20% on fist 315; 20% on first $15;
5% thereafter 5% thereafter
Newport News 22% on first $13.20 20% on first $300 20% on first 3300
Norfolk 25% 25% on service o 25% on service to
building; instrument/ building; instrument/
switchboard exempt switchboard exempt
Norton 20% on first 815 20% on first $37.50 20% on first $37.50
Petersburg 20% on first $15 16% 15%
Poquoson 20% on first $15 10% on first $100 10% on first $100
Portsmouth 20% on first $2,000 20% on first $2,000 20% on first $2,000
Radford 20% on first $158 20% on first $200 20% on first $200
Richmongd 25% on first $20 25% on first $625; 25% on first $625;
5% thereafler 5% thereafler
Roanoke 12% 12% on first $20,000 12% on first 520,000
Salem 6% on first $15 6% on first $5,000 6% on first 5,000
Staunton 20% on first 510; 20% on frst $100; 20% on first $100;
82 max./mio. $20 max./mo. $20 max./mo.
Buffolk 20% on first 515 13% on first 310,000 13% on first 510,000
Virginia Beach 20% on first $15 20% on first $500 on 20% on first $500 on
base charge base charge
Waynesboro 10% on first $50 10% on first $150 10% on first $150
Williamsburg 5% 5% 5%
Winchester 15% on first $15 15% on first $750 15% on first $750

10% on first $30

NIA Not applicable.
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Table 13.2 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Telephone, 2005 (continued)

Locality

Residential

Commercial

industrial

Mobile (Cellular)

Counties (Note: All counties responded to the survey. Those that answered "not applicable” for all items in this table

are excluded.)
Accomack

Albemarle

Alleghany
Amelia
Amherst
Appomatiox
Augusta
Bedford
Botetourt
Brunswick
Buchanan
Buckingham
Campbell
Caroline
Carroll
Charles City
Chesterfield

Clarke

Craig
Culpeper
Cumberland
Dickenson
Dinwiddie
Esgex
Fairfax
Fauquier
Floyd
Fluvanna
Franklin
Frederick
Gloucester
Goochland
Grayson
Greene
Greensville
Halifax

Hanover
Henrico
Henry

Highland
isle of Wight
James City
King & Queen
King George
King William
Lee
Loudoun
Lunenburg
Madison
Mathews

10% on first $15;
2% thereafter
20% on first $20

15% on first $15
20% on first $12.50
20% on first $15
20% on first $15
20% on first 515
10% on first $10
10% on first 310
20% on first $10
20% on first $15
10% on first 515
9.3% on first 15
20% on first $15
20% on first $15
10% on first $10
20% on first $10

20% on first $15

1.5% per month
20% on first $15
20% on first $15
20% after first 53
16% on first 515
20% on first 15
22.2% on first $50
20% on first 315
20% on first 315
20% on first $15
20% on first 15
4%

20% on first $15
20% on first $15
20% on first §15
20% on first 5
20% on first 15
20% on first $15

53
10% on first $10
20% on first $15

20% on first 815
10% on first 15
20% on first 58

20% on first 815
15% on first $10
20% on first $15
15% on first $15
9% on first $30

20% on first $15
10% on first $30
30% on first 510

10% on first $100;
2% thereafier
10% on first $3,000;
2% thereafter
10% on first 5500
20% on first $25
20% on first $100
20% on first $100
20% on first $150
10% on first $25
10% on first $150
20% on first $100
N/A

10% on first $100
9.3% on first 15
20% on first 550

20% on first $25

10% on first $10
10% on first $200;
1% on $201-$10,000;
0.5% thereafter
20% on first $75;
4%, thereafter

1.5% per month
20% on first $50
20% on first 15
20% after first $37 .50
20% on first $150
10% on first $100
22.2% on first $1,600
10% on first $1,000
20% on first $50
20% on first $15
20% on first $15
4%

10% on first $75
20% on first $30
20% on first $100
20% on first §5
20% on first $150
20% on first $100;
2% thereafter

$3

10% on first $100
20% on first $15;
6.5% thereafler
20% on first $15
10% on first $1,000
20% on first $8
10% on first $100
15% on first $10
10% on first $100
15% on first $15
8% on first 5900
20% on first $30
10% on first $30
30% on first $10

10% on first $100;
2% thereafier
10% on first $3.000;
2% thereafter
10% on first 3500
20% on first $25
NIA

20% on first $100
20% on first $150
10% on first $25
10% on first $150
20% on first $100
NIA

10% on first 5100
9.3% on first 515
20% on first 550
20% on first $25
10% on first $10
10% on first $200;
1% on $201-810,000;
0.5% thereafter
20% on first $75;
4% thereafter
1.5% per month
20% on first $50
20% on first $15
20% alter first 575
20% on first $150
10% on first 100
22.2% on first 51,600
10% on first $1,000
20% on first $100
20% on first $15
20% on first $15
4%

10% on first §75
20% on first $30
20% on first $100
20% on first $5
20% on first $150
20% on first $100;
2% thereafier

$3

10% on first $100
20% on first $15;
6.5% thereafter
20% on first $15
10% on first $1,000
20% on first $8
10% on first $100
18% on first $10
10% on first $100
15% on first $15
8% on first $800
20% on first $30
10% on first $30
30% on first $10

10% after first 830
10% on first 330

NA

NIA

10% on first 330
NIA

10% on first $30
10% on first $10
10% on first $10
M/A

0.5%

N/A

10% on first 530
$3.00

10% on first 530
NIA

10% on first $30

N/A

NIA

10% on first $30
10% on first 330
$3.00

NIA

20% on first $15
10% on first $30
10% on first $30
20% on first $15
10% on first $15
10% on first $30
NiA

10% on first $30
10% on first $30
N/A

$3.00

N/A

20% on first $15

$20% on first $15
10% on first $30
10% on first $30

N/iA

10% on first $30
20% on first 8
NIA

NIA

NIA

N/A

9% on first $30
N/A

10% on first $30
10% on first $30

N/A - Not applicable,
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Table 13.2 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Telephone, 2005 (continued)

Locality Residential Commercial Industrial Mobile (Celldar)

Counties (continued)

Middlesex $2 per line 52 pet line §2 per line $2 per line

Monlgomery 20% on first $15 20% on first $100 20% on first 5100 Residential;
10% on first $30
CommJ/indus..20%

Nelson 20% on first $10 20% on first $10 20% on first $10 NIA

New Kent 20% on first 515 20% on first $100 20% on first 3100 $3.00

Northamplon 20% on frst 515 20% on first $100 20% on first $100 10% on first $30

Notloway 20% on first 515 20% 20% N/A

Orange 20% on first $15 20% on first $75 20% on first 75 10% on first $30

Patrick 20% on first 315 20% on first $15 20% on first $15 N/A

Pitisylvania 15% on first 315 15% on first $100 15% on first 100 $3

Powhatan 20% on first 315 20% on first $100 20% on first 100 NIA

Prince Edward 20% on first 512.50 20% on first $25 20% on first 525 10% on first §25

Prince George 20% on first 515 20% on first 3200 20% on first $200 $3

Prince William 20% on first 515 20% on first $500 20% on first $500 10% on first $30

Pulask 20% on first 515 20% on first $100 20% on first $100 20% on first $15

Rappahannock 20% on first $158 20% on first 15 20% on first 815 10% on first $30

Richmond 10% on first $30 10% on first $30 10% on first $30 10% on first $30

Roanoke 12% on first $15 12% on first $5,000 12% on first $5,000 10% on first $30

Rockbridge 20% on first $15 20% on first $50 20% on first $50 10% on first $30

Rockingham 20% on first $10 20% on first $100 20% on first $100 NIA

Russell 20% on first $10 20% on first $25 20% on first $25 10%

Scolt 20% on first $10 20% on first $25 20% on first 525 20% on first 10

Shenandoah 20% on first $5 20% on first $50 20% on first 50 N/A

Smyth 20% on first $16 20% on first 200 20% on first $1.000 N/A

Southampton 20% on first $15 20% on first $25 20% on first $25 10% on first $30

Spotsylvania 20% on first 550 10% on first $300; 10% on first $300; 10% on first $30

1% thereatter 1% thereafter

Btafford 20% on first 310 20% on first $500 20% on first $500 10% on first $30

Sussex 10% on first $15 10% on first $150 10% on first $150 NiA

Warren 20% on first $15 20% on first $15 20% on first $15 NiA

Washington 15% on first $20 15% on first $333 15% on first $333 $3.00

Westmoreland 10% on first $30 NIA NIA NIA

Wise 20% on first $15 20% on first $37.50 20% on first $75 10% on first $30

Wythe 20% on first $15 20% on first $25 20% on first $25 10% on first $30

Towns {Note: Towns that answered “not applicable” for all items in this table are excluded. For a listing of town respondents and

non-respondents, see Appendix B.)

Abingdon 10% on first $10 10% on first §25 10% on first $100 NIA

Alberta 20% on first 315 20% on frst $100 20% on first $100 NIA

Altavista 9.3% on first 15 9.3% on first 15 9.3% on first 815 NIA

Ambherst 20% on first $15 20% on first 3100 20% on first $100 53

Ashland 10% on first $10 10% on first $100 10% on first $100 10% on first $30

Berryville 20% on first $75 20% on first $250 20% on first $250 NIA

Big Stone Gap 20% on first $15 20% on first $50 20% on first $50 10% on first $30

Blacksburg 15% on first $15 16% on first $15 15% on first $15 10% on first $30

Boones Mill 20% on first $10 20% on first $10 20% on first $10 NIA

Bowling Green 20% on first $15 20% on first $50 20% on first $50 NIA

Boydton 15% on first $15 20% on first $50 20% on first $50 10% on first $30

Bridgewater 10% on first $15 15% on first $500 15% on first $500 N/A

Broadway 15% on first 510 15% on first $100 15% on first $100 NIA

Brodnax 10% on first 315 10% on first $100 10% on first 3100 10% on first $30

Cape Charles 20% on first $15 20% on first $50 20% on first $50 10% on first $30

Cedar Bluff 20% on first 315 20% on first $50 20% on first §50 10% on first $30

Chase Cily 20% on first $10 20% on first $100 20% on first $100 NIA

Chatham 20% on first $15 7% on first $100 7% on first 3100 NIA

Chithowie 20% on first 35 20% on first $200 20% on first $1,000 NIA

Chincoteague 10% on first $15; 10% on first $100; 10% on first $100; 10% on first $300

2% thersafter

2% thereafter

2% thereafter

NiA Not applicable.
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Table 13.2 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Telephone, 2005 (continued)

Locality Residential Commercial Industrial Mobile {Cellular)
Towns {continued)
Christiansburg 20% on first 810 20% on first $100 20% on first $100 10% on first $30
Clarkesville 20% on first 515 20% on first $30 20% on first $30 NIA
Clifton Forge 20% on first $15 20% on first $125 20% on first $125 NIA
Clintwood 20% on first 15 20% on first 850 20% on first 50 10% on first $30
Coeburn $3 $3 $3 NIA
Craigsville 15% on first $10 15% on first $100 NIA N/A
Damascus 20% on first $15 20% on first $30 20% on first $30 NIA
Dayton 15% on first $10 15% on first $100 15% on first $100 NIA
Dublin 10% on first $13 10% on first $100 10% on first $100 1% on first $30
Edinburg 10% on first $10 10% on first $50 10% on first $50 N/A
Elkton 15% on first $10 15% on first $100 15% on first $100 NIA
Exmore 10% on first 515 10% on first $100 10% on first $100 10% on first 30
Farmville 20% on first $15 20% on first $37.50 N/A 10% on first 530
Fries 15% on first 315 10% on first $100 10% on first 5200 NIA
Glade Spring 20% on first $6.25 15% on first $83.33 15% on first 583.33 NIA
Glasgow 20% on first 15 20% on first $15 20% on first $15 NIA
Glen Lyn 9% on first $15 9% on first $15 9% on first $15 NIA
Gordonsville 20% on first 515 20% on first $15 20% on first $15 10% on first $30
Goshen 20% on first $15 20% on first $50 20% on first $50 NIA
Grundy 10% on first $15 10% on first $15 10% on first $15 NIA
Herndon 20% on first $15 20% on first 3150 20% on first $150 10% on first $30
Honaker 20% on first $10 20% on first 510 20% on first $10 NIA
Hurt 15% on first 315 15% on first $100 15% on first $100 NIA
Independence 16% on first $15 10% on first 5100 $10 on first $200 NIA
lron Gate 15% on first 515 10% on first $250 NiA $3.00
Kenbridge 20% on first 315 20% on first §75 20% on first $75 NIA
Kilmarnock 20% on first $15 20% on first $30 20% on first $30 N/A
La Crosse 15% on first $15 15% on first $100 15% on first $100 NIA
Lawrenceville 20% on first 315 20% on first $200 20% on first $200 N/A
Lebanon &3 $3 53 NIA
Leesburg 16% on first $15 16% on first $300 16% on first 5300 NIA
Lovetisville 7% on first 30 7% on first $300 1% on first $300 NIA
Luray 5% on first 315 5% on first $150 5% on first $150 NIA
Marion 20% on first $5 20% on first 550 20% on first $250 NiA
McKenney 16% on first 510 16% on first $100 16% on first $100 NiA
Middleburg 15% on first $15 11% on first $300 1% on first $300 NIA
Middletown 4% 4% 4% NIA
Montross 20% on first $15 20% on first $30 20% on first $30 10% on first $30
Narrows 18% on first $15 18% on first $15 18% on first $15 NIA
New Market 10% on first $15 10% on first $100 10% on first $100 10% on first $15
Onancock 10% on first $15; 10% on first $100; 10% on first $100; 10% on first $30

2% therealler 2% thereatfter 2% thereafter
Parksley 10% on first 515; 10% on first $15; 10% on first $15; N/A

2% thereafler 2% therealter 2% thereafier
Penninglon Gap 20% on first 315 20% on first $15 20% on first 515 NIA
Pound 20% on first $15 20% on first $15 20% on first 15 NIA
Pulaski 15% on first 815 15% on first $250 15% on first $250 10% on first §15
Remington 10% on first $15 10% on first $150 10% on first 3150 10% on first $30
Rocky Mourt 10% on first $20 10% on first $50 10% on first $150 10% on first $30
Round Hill 9% on first $15 8% on first $300 9% on first $300 NiA
Rural Retreat 20% on first $15 20% on first 875 20% on first $75 20% on first $15
Saint Paul 20% on first 815 20% on first $37.50 20% on first $75 N/A
Bcottsville 20% on first $20 10% on first $3,000; 10% on first $3,000; NIA

2% therealter 2% thereafter

Shenandoah 10% on first 515 10% on first $15 10% on first 515 NIA
Smithfield 10% on first $10 10% on first 3700 10% on first $700 10% on first 525
South Boston 10% on first 320 10% on first $2,000 10% on first $2,000 10% on first $30
South Hil 15% on first 515 $100 3 10% on first 330

N/A Not applicable.
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Table 13.2 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Telephone, 2005 {continued)

Locality Residential Commercial Industrial Mobile (Cellulan

Towns (continued)

Stanley 5% on first $15 5% on first $15 5% on first $15 N/A

Stephens City 4% 4% 4% NIA

Strasburg 20% on first 85 20% on first 50 20% on first 850 NA

Surry 10% on first $10 10% on first $100 10% on first $100 N/A

Tappahannock 20% on frst 10 20% on first $25 20% on first $10 10% on first 530

Timberville 20% on first 310 20% on first $100 20% on first 3100 N/A

Victoria 15% on first 318 18% on first $100 15% on first $100 NIA

Vienna 20% on first 315 15% on first $300 15% on first 300 10% on first $30

Vinton 12% on first 315 12% on first 35,000 12% on first $5,000 10% on first $30

Wakefield 10% on first $15 10% on first $150 10% on first $150 N/A

Warrenton 20% on first $16 20% 20% 10% on first 30

Warsaw 53.00 $3.00 $3.00 $3.00

Waverly 15% on first $10 15% on first 50 15% on first 50 NIA

Weber Cily 20% on first 10 20% on first §25 20% on first $25 NA

West Point 20% on first $15 10% on first $100 10% on first $100 N/A

Windsor 10% on first $10 10% on first $700 10% on first $700 Residential;
10% on first $30
Commaercial;
10%; $70 max./mo,

Wise 20% on first 315 20% on first $50 20% on first 3500 N/A

Woodstock 10% on first $10 10% on first $50 10% on first $100 N/A

Wytheville 15% on first $15 15% on first $75 15% on first $75 10% on first $30

N/A Not applicable.
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Table 13.3
Utility Consumers’ Mompiy Tax on Gas, 2005
Locality Residential Commaercial Industrial
Citles (Note: All cities responded 1o this survey. Those that answered “not applicable” to all items in the lable are excluded.)
Alexandria $1.28 + 50.01244/CCF $1.42 » 0.050213/CCF interrup-  $1.42 + 0.050213/CCF
tible; $4.50 + $0.00367/CCF interruptible
Buena Vista 20% on first $15 20% on first 5150 20% on first 150
Charlottesville $0.80 + 50.0638/CCF on first $0.80 + $0.0638/CCF on first $0.80 + $0.0638/CCF on first
4,500 CCF; 4,500 CCF; 4500 CCF;
$0.0214/CCF thereafter $0.0214/CCF thereafier $0.0214/CCF thereafter
Chesapeake 51.88/meter 54.00/meter + 50,185/CCF; $4.00/meter + $0.155/CCF;
$112.50 max./mo. $112.50 max./mo.
Colonial Helghts 20% on first $15 20% on first $300 20% on first $300
Covinglon 6% + $0.05601/CCF; $6 max./mo. 10% + $0.07783/CCF over 10% + $0.07783/CCF over 84 CCF,;
64 CCF; 88,000 max./year $8,000 max./year
Danville 80,27 + $0.0485/CCF 50.68 + $0.0446/CCF $0.95 + §0.0445/CCF; $60 max/mo.
Fairfax %1.05 + §.05709/CCF; $1.27 + 50.05205/CCF; $1.27 + $0.05295/CCF,
$2.25 max.mo. $75 max./mo. $75 max./mo.
Falls Church 50,70 + $0.0039/CCF; $50.676 + $0.01759/CCF $0.676 + $0.01759/CCF
$5 max./mo.
Fredericksburg 20% on first 55 20% on first $500 20% on first $500
Hampton $1.98 + $0.181/CCF; $2.78 + $0.135199/CCF on first  $2.78 + $0.035199/CCF on first
$2.40 max./mo. 130 CCF; 80.032578/CCF 130 CCF; $0.032578/CCF
thereafter; $65 max./mo, thereafter; 565 max./mo.
Harrisonburg 51 $2.33 + 80.0775/CCF; §2.33 + 80.0775/CCF;
$15 maxJmo. $15 max.Jmo.
Hopewell 20% on first $7 20% on first 825 20% on first $2,500
Lexington 53 $100 $100
Lynchburg $0.86 + $0.05088/CCF $1.63 + 50.02689/CCF $1.63 + $.00256/CCF
Manassas $2.45 + $0.027/CCF; 53 max./mo. $465+$0.06/CCF, $100 max/mo.  $4.85 + $0.06/CCF; $100 max./mo.

Manassas Park

Newpori News

Norfolk

Norton
Pelersburg

Poguoson
Portsmouth
Radford

Richmond

Roanoke
Salem
Staunton
Suffolk
Virginia Beach
Waynesboro
Williamsburg

Winchester

20% times min/mo. +
$0.193%/CCF,; 53 max./mo.

$1.51

$1.50, pro-rated per day if
less than 26 days

20% on first $37.50

£2.45 + 80.092/CCF;

%3 max./mo.

£1.98 + 50.0188374/CCF;
$3 max./mo.

$2.45 + 50.18/CCF;

$3 max.Jmo.

$0.025/CCF; 83 max./mo,
$1.78 + $0.10091/CCF;
34 max./mo. .

$0.13/CCF or 12% times minJ/mo.

6% on first $15
52

20% on first $15
51,98 + 50.162451/CCF,
%3, max./mo.

$1.23 + $0.07145/CCF;
$5 max./mo,

$0.70 + 50 14/CCF;

$1 max./mo.

$0.22/CCF: 83 max.J/mo,

20% times minJ/mo, +
$0.1857/CCF on first 200 CCF;
$0.1830/CCF thereafter

$150 max./mo.

$£1.29 + 0,067802/CCF on first
128.91 CCF; $0.0325876/CCF
thereafter; $55 max./mo.
$3.225 + BOABTE2HCCF on first
70 CCF; $0.181552/CCF on
70-430 CCF; $0.18363/CCF
thereafier

20% on first $37.50

$3.49 + 50.063/CCF;

$7.50 max./mao.

$1.29 + 50.068855/CCF;

$10 max./mo.

$4.65 + S0 10/CCF:

$400 max./mo.

$0.25/CCF; 340 max./mo.
Bmiall volume: 52.88 +
$0.1739027/CCF; Large volume:
$24 + $0.0716308B1/CCF
S0.08/CCF or 12% times minJmo,
8% on first $5,000

$4.65 + $0.1B32280/CCF;

$20 max.fmo.

13% on first $10,000

$1.94 + 50.097668/CCF on first
961 CCF; $0.031382 thereafter,
$162.50 max./mo,

$2.33 + 50.07384/CCF,;

$15 max./mo.

$1.15 + 50.0243/CCF;

$20 max./mo.

$0.18/CCF on first 800 CCF

20% times min/mo. +
S0.1587ICCF on first 200 CCF;
%0,1830/CCF thereafler,

%150 max./mo.

51.29 + 0.067602/CCF on first
128.91 CCF,; $0.032576/CCF
thereafter; 555 max./mo.
$3.225 + $0.167821/CCF on first
70 CCOF; $0.181552/CCF on
70-430 CCF; 80.15363/CCF
therealter

20% on first $37.50

$3.49 + $0.063/CCF;

$7.50 max./mo.

$1.29 + $0.068855/CCF;

$10 max./mo,

$4.65 + 50 10/CCF;

$400 maxtmo.

$0.25/CCF,; %40 max./mo.
$120 + $0.011835/CCF

S0.008/CCF or 12% times min/mo.
6% on first $5,000

$4.65 + S0.1832269/CCF;

$20 max./mo.

13% on first $10,000

$1.94 + 50.097668/CCF on first
961 CCF; $0.031362 therealter;
$162.50 max./mo,

$2.33 + $0.073B4/CCF;

$15 maxJmo.

$1.15 + $0.0243/CCF;

$20 max.Jmo.

$0.15/CCF on first 800 CCF

Note: CCF means hundred cubic feet
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Table 13.3 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Gas, 2005 (continued)

Locality

Residential

Commercial

industrial

Counties (Note: All counties responded to the survey. Those that answered "not applicable” for all items are excluded.)

Accomack
Albemarle

Alleghany
Amherst

Arlington

Bedford

Brunswick
Buchanan
Campbell
Caroline

Chesterfield

Clarke
Fairfax

Fauquier

Floyd
Franklin

Frederick

Goochland

Grayson
Greensville
Halitax

Hanover
Henry

Isle of Wight
King George
Lee
Loudoun
Madison

Mecklenburg
Montgomery
New Kent

Northampton
Pittsylvania
Powhatan

Prince George

10% on first $15; 2% thereafter
$1.2B/CCF on first 1.6 CCF

15% on first 515

20% times minJmo, +
$0.018B7/CCF; 53 maxmo.
NIA

$1.25 + $0.04/CCF;

$1.50 max./mo.

20% on first $10

$0.069/CCF; $3 max./mo,

$2.45 + $0.05/CCF; 83 max./mo.
20% times min. per mo. +
$0.18670/CCF; §3 max./mo,

52

20% on first $15
8% on first $50.00 +
$0.05259/CCF; $4 max./mo.
20% times min/mo. +
gxf&ﬁ?fﬁ(:%’ : $3 max./mo.

3
81.50 + §0.12183/CCF;
$3 max./mo.
$0.04 times non-metered +
$0.055/CCF; $3 max./mo.

20% times minJmo, +
$0.1867/CCF; 53 max./mo.
$15

N/A

20% times minJmo. +
$0.1867/CCF; 83 max.Jmo.

$3
20% tmes minJmo. +
$0.015192/CCF: 3 max./mo;

$0.09335/CCF; $1.50 max./mo.
$3 max./mo,

15% of first $15

$0.06485/CCF

20% times min/mo. +
$0.1867/CCF; $3 max./mo.

33

20% on first 815

10% times min/mo. +
$0.08273/CCF; $1.50 max./mo.
20% on first 15

15% on first $15

20% times minJmo. +
$0.18670/CCF; $3 max./mo.
$3.00

10% on first 3100, 2% therealter

$0.063B/CCF on first 4,500 CCF;

$0.0110/CCF thereatter for non-

interruptible service; $0.0588/CCF

on first 4,770 CCF interruplible

10% on first 8500

20% times min fmo. +

$0.15566/CCF, $20 max./mo.

$0.845 + 50.08017/CCF; inter-

ruptible non- residential $4.50 +

$0.00813/CCF

$2.35 + $0.04/CCF;

%25 max./mo

20% on first $100

80.048/CCF; $3 max./mo.

82.45 + 0.05/CCF; §3 max./mo.

20% times min. per mo, +

%0.15566/CCF; $10 max./mo,

$2.00 + 50.010010 on first 50,000

CCF; 80.00005 thersafter

20% on first $75; 4% thereafter

10% on first $3,000 +

$0.04794/CCF; 5300 max./mo.

10% times min/mo. +

g&ﬁ?‘?ﬁfﬂ{:@; $100 max/mo.
3

$1.50 + $0,12183/CCF;

$3 max.Jmo.

$0.04 times non-metered +

50.04 on first 6000 CCF;

S0.033/CCF on next 24,000;

$0.025/CCF thereafter

20% times min/mo. +

$0.015566/CCF; $6 max./mo.

20%: 51,000 max./mo,

20% on first $150

20% times min/mo. +

$0.15566/CCF on first 100 CCF;

$0.015566/CCF thereafter

$3

20% limes min./mo. +

$0.14874/CCF to 3.

$0.04867 thereafter

$0.07888/CCF; $100 max./mo.

WA

15% of first $15

$0.03034/CCF

20% times minJ/mo. +

B0.18566/CCF; 520 max./mo.

53

20% on first $100

10% times minJ/mo. +

$0.05845/CCF; 510 max./mo,

20% on first $100

15% on first 100

20% times minJmo. +

$0.15566/CCF; $20 max./mo.

$30.00

10% on first $100; 2% thereafter
$0.0638/CCF on first 4,500 CCF;
$0.010/CCF therealler for non-
interruptible service; $0.0588/CCF
on first 4,770 CCF interruptible
10% on first 5500
20% times min./mo, +
$0.15566/CCF; 520 max./mo.
$0.845 + $0.05017/CCF; inter-
ruptible non- residential $4.50 +
$0.00913/CCF
$2.35 + 50.04/CCF;
%25 max./mo
20% on first $100
NIA
$2.45 + $0.05/CCF; $3 maxJmo.
20% times min, per mo. +
$0.15566/CCF; $10 max./mo.
$2.00 + $0.010010 on first 50,000
CCF; $0.00008 therealter
20% on first $75: 4% thereafter
10% on first $3,000 +
$0.04794/CCF; $300 max./mo.
10% times min/mo, +
20.0??63!66?‘: $100 max./mo.
3
$1.50 + $0.12183/CCF;
$40 max./mo.
$0.04 times nore-metered +
$0.04 on firgt 6000 CCF;
$0.033/CCF on next 24,000;
$0.025/CCF thereafter
20% times min/mo, +
SO.015566/CCF; $6 max/mo.
20%; $200 max./mo.
20% on first $150
20% times min/mo, +
S0 15566/CCF on first 100 CCF;
20,0’2556&!669 thereafter
2
20% of min/mo. on first 315,
6.5% thereafter

$0.07858/CCF: $100 max./mo.
NIA

15% of first $15
$0.03034/CCF

20% times min/mo. +
$0.15566/CCF; $20 max./mo.
$3

20% on first $100

10% times minJmo +
$0.05945/CCF; $10 max./mo,
20% on first $100

15% on first $100

20% on first $100

$30.00

Note: COF means hundred cubic fest

N/A Not applicable.
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Table 13.3 Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Gas, 2005 {continued)

Locality

Residential

Commuercial

industrial

Counties {continued)

Prince William $1.60 + 50.06/CCF; $3.00 max $3.35 + SD.085/CCFE: 5100 max  $3.35 + $0.085/CCF; 5100 max
Pulaski $0.15492/CCF $0.14618/CCF $0.14618/CCF
Rappahannock NIA N/A 20% on first 515
Roanoke 50.12183/CCF; $0.90 min/mo. 50.12183/CCF; $0.80 min/mo. $0.12183/CCF; $0.90 min/mo.
$1.80 max/mo. $600 max./mo. $600 max./mo.
Rockbridge 20% on first 815 20% on first 50 20% on first $50
Rockingham 20% on first $10 20% on first 810 20% on first $10
Russell 20% on first $15 10% on first 5200 20% on first $1,000; 2% thereafier
Scott 20% on first $15 20% on first $37.50 20% on first $75
Smyth 20% times min/mo. + 20% times minJ/mo, + 20% times min/mo. +
$0.015492/CCF; $3 max./mo. 50.014618/CCF; 820 max/mo. %0.013842/CCF; $200 max./mo.
Spotsylvania 52 10% on first $300; 1% thereafter  10% on first $300; 1% thereafter
Statford $0.06/CCF; 83 max./mo. $0.085/CCF; $100 max.mo, $0.085/CCF; 5100 max./mo.
Sussex 10% on first 515 $2.00 + $0.18B/CCF; $4.00 + 0. 115/CCF;
515 maxJmo. %15 max.Jmo.
Warren $0.22/CCF; $3 max./mo. $0.16/CCF; $128 max./mo. $0.16/CCF; 5128 max./mo.
Washington $1.20 + $0.135/CCF; $2.50 (small), $12.30 (large) $2.50 (small), $12.30 targe)
$1.20 min/mo.; $3 max./mo. + $0.10/CCF on first 100 CCF; + $0.10/CCF on first 100 CCF;
+ $0.075/CCF thereafter; + $0.075/CCF thereafter,
$100 maxJmo. $100 max./mo.
Wythe 20% on first 15 20% on first 5200 20% on first $1,000; 1% thereafter

Towns (Note: Towns thal answered "not applicable” for all fems in this lable are excluded, For a listing of town respondents and
non-respondents, see Appendix B.)

Abingdon
Altavista
Ambherst
Ashland

Berryville
Blacksburg
Bowling Green
Bridgewater

Broadway
Brodnax
Cedar Bluft
Chase City
Chatham
Chilhowie
Christiansburg
Clifion Forge

Damascus
Dayton
Dublin
Exmore
Glade Spring
Glasgow
Gordonsville
Halifax
Herndon

Hurt

fron Gate
Lawrenceville
Lebanon
Leesburg

$0.0212/CCF; $7 max/mo,
$2.45: $3 max./mo.

20% on first $15

$0.10 + 50 10/CCF;

$0.50 max./mo.

S0.2V/CCF; $3 max/mo.
50.1891/CCF; $2.25 max./mo,
20% on first 15
%0.0251/CCF; $1.50 max./mo.

15% on first $10

20% on first 515

20% on first 315

20% on first $10

20% on first 515
50.0184/CCF; 81 max./ma.
50.0946/CCF; $2 max./mo.
$2.45 + 50, 15866/CCF;

$3 max.Jmo.

20% on first $15
$0.0240/CCF; $1.50 maxJmo,
10% on first $13

10% on first $15

20% on first $6.25

20% on first $15

20% on first $156

20% on first $18

$2.45 + 80.183/CCF;

$3 ma/mo,

$2.45 + 50.10/CCF; $3 max./mo.
$1.05 + 50.082402/CCF
B0.18670/CCF; 83 max.J/mo.
53

%1.12 + §0.07172/CCF;
$2.40 max./mo.

50.0104/CCF; $25 max/mo,
$2.45; 53 max.mo.

20% on first $100

$1.00 + S010/CCF;

$10 max.Jmo.

$0.085/CCF; $10 max./mo.
B0.07955/CCF; 57 .50 max./mo.
20% on first $50

50.0124/CCF on first 1225 CCF;
$0.0035/CCF therealter

15% on first $100

20% on first $100

20% on first $50

20% on first $100

7% on first $100

50.0668/CCF: $40 max./mo.
£0.0766/CCF; $20 max.J/mo.
%4.85 + B0.15566/CCF;

825 max./mo.

20% on first $50

$0.0170/CCF; $15 max./mo,
10% on first $100

10% on first $100

15% on first $83.33

20% on first 515

20% on first 815

20% on first 350: 1% thereafter
$4.65 + §0.086/CCF;

$30 max./mo.

$2.45 + $0.10/CCF: $3 max./mo.

$1.05 + $0.082403/CCF
$0.18566/CCF, $30 max./mo.
$3

$1.35 + 0.5352/CCF,

$48 max.Jmo,

$0.0104/CCF; $100 max./mo.
§2.45; §3 maxJmo.

20% on first $100

$1.00 + 80 10/CCF,

$10 max.J/mo.

S0.055/CCF; 510 max.Jmo,
B0.07955/CCF; 87.50 max./mo.
20% on first $50

50.0124/CCF on first 1225 CCF;
$0.0035/CCF thereafter

18% on first 3100

20% on first $100

20% on first $50

20% on first $100

7% on first $100

$0.0052/CCF; $200 max./mo.
$0.0225/CCF: $20 max./mo,
$4.65 + 50.15566/CCF

$25 max./mo.

20% on first $50

50.0170/CCF; 815 max.Jmo.
10% on first $100

10% on first $100

15% on first $83.33

20% on first $15

20% on first $15

20% on first $150; 1% thereafler
54.65 + 50.086/CCF;

$30 max./mo.

§2.45 + B010ICCF; $3 mag./mo,
$1.05 + 50.082403/CCF
$50.18566/CCF, $30 max./mo,
$3

$1.35 + 80.5352/CCF,

548 max./mo,

Note: CCF means hundred cubic fest

N/A Not applicable.
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Table 13.3 Utility Consumers' Monthly Tax on Gas, 2005 {continued)

Locality Residential Commercial industrial
Towns {continued)
Lovettsville T% on first $18 7% on first $100 7% on first 3100
Luray 52 $4.65 + $0.08274/CCF; $4.65 + $0.0B274/CCF;
520 max.dmo. $20 max./mo.
Marion 20% on first 85 20% on first $50 20% on first 5250
Middleburg $0,0288/CCF; 53 max./mo. $0.0290/CCF; $33 max./mo. $0.0290/CCF; 533 max./mo.
Middletown $0.50 + $0.03CCF: 83 max/mo.  $0.50 + $0.03/CCF; $3 maxJmo.  $0.50 + $0.03/CCF; §3 max./mo.
MNew Market 10% on first $15 10% on first $100 10% on first $100
Onancock 10% on first $15; 2% thereafter 10% on first $100; 2% thereafter  N/A
Pearisburg $2 $6 36
Pound 20% on first $15 20% on first $100 20% on first $100
Pulasgki 15% on first $15 15% on first $250 15% on first $250
Round Hill S0.0288/CCF: 53 max.tmo, 30.079/CCF; $33 max/mo. $0.079/CCFE, $33 max./mo,
Rural Retreat $0.166/CCF; §3 max./mo. $2.344 + 50.158/CCF; $2.344 + 50 188/CCF;
$15 max./mo. $15 max./mo.
Saint Paul $0.01/CCF; 83 max./mo. $0.01/CCF; $7 .50 max./mo. $0.01/CCF; 515 max/mo.
Scoltsville $1.25/CCF on first 1.8 CCF $0.00638/CCF on first 4,500 CCF; $0.00638/CCF on first 4,500 CCF,
@ $0.0110/CCF therealter $0.0110/CCF thereafier
Shenandoah $2 $0.08274/ICCF $0.08274/CCF
Smithfield 10% on first $10 10% on first $700 10% on first $700
South Hill $1.50 $3.49 + $0.065/CCF; $3.49 + $0.065/CCF;
$15 max./mo. $15 max./mo.
Stephens City 4% 4% 4%
Surry 10% on first $10 10% on first $100 10% on first $100
Timberville $2 20% on first $100 20% on first $100
Vienna $1.40 + 50.18356/CCF, $1.27 + $0.10780/CCF; $1.27 + 80.10780/CCF;
%3 max./mo. $45 max./mo. $45 max./mo.
Vinton $0.12183/CCF $0.12183/CCF $0.12183/CCF
Warrenton $0.0186/CCF; $3 max/mo. $0.015566/CCF; 520 max./mo. $0.015566/CCF; $20 max/mo.
Weber City 20% on first $15 20% on first $37.50 20% on first §75
Woodstock $1 + 50.10/CCF; $1.25 + 50.10/CCF; $1.25 + 30.10/CCF;
$1.25 max./mo. $5 max./mo. $10 max./mo.
Wytheville $0.90 + $0.1333%/CCF; $1.875 + $0.126/CCF; $1.875 + 50.126/CCF;

$2.25 max./mo.

$11.25 max./mo.

$11.25 max./mo,

Note: CCF means hundred cubic feet

N/A Not applicable.
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Table 13.4
Utility Consumers’ Monthly Tax on Water, 2005
Locality Residential Commaercial Industrial
Cities {(Note: All cities responded 1o the survey. Those that answered “not applicable” for all items in this table are excluded.)
Alexandria 15% 15% on first $150 15% on first 3150
Bristol 5% 5% 5%
Buena Vista 20% on first $15 20% on first $150 20% on first $150
Charloltesville 10% on first $3,000; 10% on first 53,000, 10% on first $3,000;
4% thereafter 4% therealier 4% thereafter
Emporia %3 20% 20%
Fairfax 15% on first $15 15% on first $500 15% on first $500
Falls Church 10% on first $150 8% 8%
Franklin 20% on first $15 16.5% on first $1,000 16.5% on first $1,000
Harrisonburg 10% on first $10 10% on first $150 10% on first $150
Hopewell 20% on first $10 20% on first $25 20% on firgt $2,500
Martinsville £1.00 if not an electric customer  $1.00 If not an electric customer 1,00 if not ap electric customer
Norfolk 25% on first 345 25% on first $75; 15% thereafler  25% onp first $75; 15% therealter
Petersburg 20% on first 30,000 cu. ft, 15% on first 30,000 cu. i 15% on first 30,000 cu, ft.
Portsmouth 20% on first 52,000 20% on first $2,000 20% on first 52,000
Roanoke 12% 12% on first $20,000 12% on first 520,000
Salem 6% on first $15 6% on first $5,000 6% on first $5,000
Staunton 20% on first 810 20% on first 3100 20% on first 3100
Virginia Beach 20% on first 15 15% on first $625; 15% on firgt $625;
5% on $626-52,000 5% on $626-52,000
Counties {(Note: All counties responded to the survey. Those thal answered "not applicable” for all lems in this table are ex-
cluded.)
Greensvilie MNIA 20% on first $150 20% on first $150
Nelson $16.70 on first 4,000 gallons; $16.70 on first 4,000 gallons, $16.70 on first 4,000 gallons,;

$5.00 per 1,000 galions

$5.00 per 1,000 gallons

$5.00 per 1,000 gallons

thereafier thereafter thereafter
Roanoke 12% on first $15 12% on first $5,000 12% on first $5,000
Towns (Note: Towns that answered “not applicable” for all tems in this table are excluded. For a listing of town respondents and
non-respondents, see Appendix B.)
Capron $9.50 for first 4,800 gailons; $9.50 for first 4,800 gallons; NA
$1.00/1,000 gallons thereafter $1.00/1,000 gallons thereafler
Clifton Forge Varies Varies Varies
Vinton 12% on first $15 12% on first $5,000 12% on first $5,000

NiA Not applicable,




Infroduction
History

Administering the Tax
BPOL Tax
Merchants' Capital Tax

Recent Developments

Issues
Elimination of the BPOL Tax
Basing Tax on Gross Receipts

Summary

Infroduction

In many localities, certain businesses, professions, and occupations are subject to local
license taxes. The statutory law for this tax is found in the Code of Virginia (§§ 58.1-3700 through
58.1-3735). Rather than what some might consider the traditional purpose of a license tax, which is
to regulate, the main purpose of this tax is to raise revenue for the locality. Those localities that do
not levy the business, professional and occupational license (BPOL) tax may instead levy a
merchants' capital tax. The statutory provisions for this tax are found in §§ 58.1-3509 through 58.1-
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3510.3 of the Code. Localities may levy only one of these taxes; however, they no longer have to
levy either one if they choose not to do so.'

History

The license tax has existed for quite some time in Virginia. Practically unheard of in the
colonial period, it was recognized as a source of revenue at the state level following the War of
1812, when the state government assumed Virginia's quota of the costs of that war. The license tax
rates not only increased but were extended to more businesses. By 1850, the policy of levying a
license tax on practically all well-established businesses and professionals was adopted. Today, the
BPOL tax remains a significant source of revenue to localities.

Although a significant revenue source, the BPOL tax has been subject to criticism and study
for many years, especially during the 1970s. BPOL tax rates were actually frozen at their
December 31, 1974, level during the 1975 Session of the General Assembly on the recommendation
of the Revenue Resources Commission, which was conducting a study that resulted in the
publication of Fiscal Prospects and Alternatives: 1976. Included in the publication is a detailed
analysis of the BPOL tax—its advantages and disadvantages. The analysis points out the
importance of the tax as a source of revenue and also discusses the inequities of the tax structure as
it then existed and suggests that many of these inequities still exist today.

The tax is based on gross receipts, which has no relation to profitability. Further, different
types of business have different levels of profitability relative to receipts. For example, a grocery
store would have a relatively low profit margin but a relatively high volume of gross receipts.
However, other types of business have high profit margins with lower gross receipts. Finally, there
were some extremely high tax rates for certain types of business in some localities.

The following year, in its 1977 report to the Governor and General Assembly,” the
commission focused on one alternative for restructuring the framework of the BPOL tax. The intent
was to categorize activities that had displayed similar operating ratios over a recent time period and
to set maximum tax rates per gross receipts for those classes reflecting the same relative differences
in profitability. The report suggested that the state also could require that in addition to being
within the state maximums, each locally set rate for each business category must be relative to the
operating ratios for all categories. The report indicated that guidelines developed by the
Department of Taxation would provide some assurance to the various categorized businesses that
tax rates would reflect their general ability to pay and that no business would be subject to special

! Virginia Constitution Article X, § 6 ().
? Revenue Resources and Economic Commission, Report to the Governor and the General Assembly on Local Fiscal
Issues, A Staff Report (December 1977).
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treatment, because a rate change for one category would be accompanied by similar changes for
other categories.

This 1977 report resulted in a proposal by the commission in its 1978 report to the Governor
and the General Assembly.3 An excerpt from the 1978 report explains the proposal.

The proposal places ceilings on the local business, professional, occupational license tax

as follows:
Tax Rate Per
Category of Enterprise $100 Gross Receipts
Contracting 16
Retail Sales .20
Finance, real estate, and professional services .58
Repair, personal and business services, and all other businesses .36

No such local license tax shall exceed $30 or the rate per $100.00 of the enterprise's
gross receipts as stated above, whichever is greater. Three businesses, massage parlors,
fortune tellers, and carnivals, are allowed as exceptions and no ceilings are placed on these
businesses.

NOTE: The relationship between the ceiling rates reflects the relative differences in
operating ratios between broad categories of similar activities, i.e., the gross profit ratios for
similar business activities as reported by the Internal Revenue Service in Statistics of
Income: Business Income Tax Returns, 1970.

The Department of Taxation will be responsible for drafting regulations enumerating
the various types of businesses which fall within the four broad categories. Local
governments will have the option of setting varied rates for sub-categories of businesses as
long as the rates do not exceed the ceiling rate of the major category.

Any local government which presently has rates higher than the proposed ceilings is
frozen at the same amount of dollars it collected in FY 1977-78 until such time as it is able
to reduce its rates to the ceiling rates without a loss of revenue. When the locality has
adjusted its rates at or below the ceiling, it may once more collect additional revenues as
inflation and/or economic growth increases the tax base.

The administrative procedure for a locality that must roll back its BPOL rates is
explained by the following example:

a) A locality is frozen at FY 1977-78 BPOL dollars (until such time as its tax rates are
within the ceilings). For example, assume $100,000 is collected in FY 1977-78.

b) InFY 1978-79, assume $106,000 is collected.

c) The locality must lower the tax rates for the subsequent tax year on one or more of the
categories which was above the ceiling rate. The rate (rates) must be lowered so that the
total receipts in the next fiscal year can reasonably be expected to be the amount received in
FY 1977-78 less the $6,000 in receipts which was over-collected.

3 Revenue Resources and Economic Commission, Report to the Governor and the General Assembly, Senate Document
No. 16 (1978).
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The merchants' capital tax is repealed. This tax source yielded $2,806,321 for
counties in tax year 1976 (Department of Taxation Annual Report 1976-77, Table 5.6).
Some towns also levy this tax, but the total dollars collected is not available. It is perceived
that counties now levying a merchants' capital tax would adopt a BPOL tax.

Any county license tax imposed shall not apply within the limits of any town located
in such county. This is the present law (§ 58-266.1(7), Code of Vilrginia)."4

Today's BPOL tax provisions include many of the recommendations made by the Revenue
Resources Commission in its 1978 report. The categories and maximum tax rates are identical to
those recommended by the commission.

Administering the Tax
BPOL Tax

In Virginia, the governing body of any locality can levy and provide for the assessment and
collection of local license taxes on businesses, trades, occupations, and professions. Whenever a
local jurisdiction imposes a BPOL tax, the basis for the tax, whether it is gross receipts or
otherwise, will be the same for all individuals engaged in the same business. Some occupations and
businesses are exempt from the tax (e.g., certain public service corporations, manufacturers that sell
merchandise at wholesale at the place of manufacture, and certain printers and publishers of
newspapers, magazines, and other publications issued daily or regularly).’

For counties, the license tax imposed does not apply in any town in the county where the
town has a similar tax, unless the town's governing body makes provision for the county tax to

apply.

The situs for BPOL tax purposes is any county, city, or town in which the individual
maintains an office or carries on a principal and essential business. If such taxable situs is in more
than one local jurisdiction, the tax in any one jurisdiction may not exceed the amount of business
attributable to that local jurisdiction.

The governing body of any locality may charge a fee for issuing a license in an amount no
greater than (i) $50.00 in localities with populations of 25,000 or more and (ii) $30.00 in localities
with populations less than 25,000. If a fee is imposed, the tax may not also be imposed on any
amount of gross receipts on which the fee is charged.

In addition, no BPOL tax may be imposed on any person whose gross receipts from a
business, profession, or occupation are less than (i) $100,000 in any locality with a population

*1d. at 3-5.
3 See Va. Code § 58.1-3703 B for the entire list of exemptions.
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exceeding 50,000 or (ii) $50,000 in any locality with a population of 25,000 but no more than
50,000. Any business with gross receipts exceeding $100,000 or $50,000, as applicable, may be
subject to the tax at a rate not to exceed the rate below for the type of business listed:

1. For contracting, and persons constructing for their own account for sale, $.16 per $100 of
gross receipts;
2. For retail sales, $.20 per $100 of gross receipts;

het

For financial, real estate and professional services, $.58 per $100 of gross receipts; and
4. For repair, personal and business services, and all other businesses and occupations not
specifically listed or excepted in this section, $.36 per $100 of gross receipts.

These rates are the same as those recommended by the Revenue Resources Commission in its 1978
report.

In administering the BPOL tax, localities follow guidelines provided by the Department of
Taxation, which define and explain the four categories of business named above. These guidelines,
which had not been updated since 1984, were revised by the Department of Taxation, effective July
1, 1995, and are revised every three years. In 2001, these guidelines became subject to the
Administrative Process Act (§§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) and were accorded the weight of regulations.

Table 1 presents the 2005 local license tax rates on professionals, retail merchants,
contractors, and repair service occupations. The rates imposed by one county and four cities exceed
at least one of the four categories of maximum rates allowed. While the total list of license taxes is
extensive, these four categories should illustrate well the form and range of license taxes. The four
shown correspond to the four broad categories for classifying business concerns, as established in §
58.1-3706 of the Code.

Table 2 shows the total 2005 BPOL tax collections for the counties and cities that levy the
tax. For the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, the BPOL tax, collected by 38 cities and 55 counties,
generated $538.5 million. The tax is an important part of local tax revenues and the fourth largest
single tax source for Virginia's counties and cities.

Merchants' Capital Tax

The merchants' capital tax may be and often is imposed in localities that do not impose a
BPOL tax. Generally, more rural counties levy the merchants' capital tax, while cities, towns and
urbanized counties opt to levy the BPOL tax on businesses, professions, and occupations. The
reason for this seems to be based on the differences in the kinds of businesses located in cities,
towns, and urbanized counties versus those in rural counties. The merchants' capital tax is a local
tax only, the rate of which may not exceed the rate and ratio which were in effect in the locality on
January 1, 1978.
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Table 1
BPOL Taxes, Virginia Counties and Cities, 2005
Retail Repair
Professionals Merchants Contractors Service
Rate/ $ Volume Rate/ $ Volume Rate/ $ Volume Rate/ $ Volume
County $100 (GR) $100 (GR) $100 (GR) $100 (GR)
Albemarle $0.58 Over $5,000 $0.20 Qver $5,000 $0.15 Over $5,000 $0.36 Over $5,000
Alleghany $0.29 Over $5,172 $0.10 Over $15,000 $0.08 Over $18,750 $0.18 Over $8,333
Amelia $0.15 ALL $0.05 ALL 0.16 ALL $0.09 ALL
Ambherst $0.50 ALL $0.13 ALL $0.31 ALL
Arlington $0.55  Over $4,000 $0.20°  Over $4,000 0.16 Over $4,000 0.35 Over $4,000
Augusta $0.30 Over $10,000 $0.30 Over $10,000 $0.16 Over $15,625 $0.30 Over $10,000
Botetourt $0.29 ALL $0.10 ALL $0.08 ALL 0.18 ALL
Caroline $049 ALL $0.15 ALL 50.12 ALL $0.19 ALL
Chesterfield $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.15 ALL $0.36 ALL
Clarke Flat fee of $25 Flat fee of $25
Cumberland $0.10 ALL $0.05 ALL $0.05 Over $3,000 $0.05 ALL
Dickenson Flat fee of $125
Dinwiddie® $0.45 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.14 ALL $0.30 ALL
Fairfax $0.31 Over $5,000 $0.17 Over $5,000 0.11 Over $5,000 $0.18 Over $5,000
Fauquier $0.30 Over $3,500 $0.10 Over $10,000 $0.10 Qver $12,500 $0.20 Over $6,000
Frederick” $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL 0.16 ALL 0.36 ALL
Gloucester $0.12 ALL $0.10 $0-$200,000 $0.10 ALL $0.10 ALL
$0.20 Over $200,000
Goochland $0.15 Over $25,000 $0.05 Over $25,000 50.10 Over $25,000 50.05 Over $25,000
Greene’ $0.44 ALL $0.15 ALL 50.12 ALL $0.27 ALL
Greensville $0.40 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.16 ALL 0.30 ALL
Halifax $0.29 Over $200,000 $0.10 Over $200,000 50.08 Over $200,000 $0.18 Over $200,000
Hanover 0.10 ALL
Henrico $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL 50.15 ALL 50.20 ALL
Henry $0.25 Over $2,000 $0.15 Over $5,000 0.025 Over $7,000 0.15 Over $3,000
Isle of Wight $0.35 ALL $0.12 ALL $0.10 ALL $0.20 ALL
James City $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL 50.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
King George $0.25 Over $2,500 $0.10 Over $2,500 50.12 Over $2,500 50.10 Over $2,500
Loudoun $0.33 Over $10,000 $0.11 Over $10,000 0.09 ALL 0.16 ALL
Louisa 55 Fee Up to $5,000
25 Fee $5,001-$25,000
25 Fee Plus $0.20 Over $25,000
Mathews® $0.10  Over $3,000 0.10 $3,001-$200,000 Flat fee from $5 to $500 $0.10 Over $3,000
$0.20 Qver $200,000
Nelson Flat fee of $30 Flat fee of $30
New Kent $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL 0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Nottoway $0.15 ALL $0.05 ALL $0.04 ALL $0.09 ALL
Page $0.30 ALL $0.10 ALL 0.10 ALL $0.20 ALL
Powhatan Flat fee of $30 Flat fee of $30 Flat fee of $30
Prince $0.20 ALL $0.15 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.20 ALL
George
Prince $0.33 Over $3,030 $0.17 Over $5,882 $0.13 Over $7,692 $0.21 Over $4,761
William
Roanoke $0.50 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.34 ALL
Rockbridge $0.38 ALL $0.13 ALL 50.10 ALL $0.23 ALL
Southampton $50.58 ALL $0.10 ALL $0.25 ALL
Spotsylvania $0.29  Over $50,000 $0.10 Over $50,000 $0.08 Over $50,000 $0.18° Over $50,000
Surry $0.15 Over $20,000 $0.15 Over $1,000 50.08 Over $35,000 $0.15 Over $20,000
Warren 50.35 ALL 50.12 ALL 50.10 ALL $0.22 ALL
Wise $0.12 ALL
York $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
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Table 1, continued

Professionals Retail Merchants Contractors Repair Service
Rate/ $ Volume Rate/ $ Volume Rate/ $ Volume Rate/ $ Volume
City $100 (GR) $100 (GR) $100 (GR) $100 (GR)
Alexandria $0.58 Over $5,172 $0.20 Over $15.000 $0.16 Over $18,750 $0.35 Over $8,750
Bedford $0.50 Over $5,000 $0.125 Over $8,000 $0.10 Qver $25,000 $0.25 Over $4,000
Bristol’ $0.20 ALL $0.20 ALL 50.16 ALL $0.20 ALL
Buena Vista $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Charlottesville $0.58 Qver $2,500 0.20 Over $2,000 0.15 Over $20,000 $0.30  Over $10,000
Chesapeake $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.36 $0-$500,000
$0.30 Over $500,000
Clifton Forge $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Colonial $0.57 Over $5,623 $0.20 Over $15,000 $0.15 Over $20,000 $0.35 Over $8,571
Heights
Covington $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Danville $0.58 ALL 0.20 ALL 0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Emporia $0.55 ALL $0.20 $0-$600,000 $0.16 ALL $0.20 $0-$600,000
0.15 Qver $600,000 $0.15 Over $600,000
Fairfax $0.40 ALL 0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.27 ALL
Falls Church $0.54 ALL $0.36 ALL 50.16 ALL $0.35 ALL
Franklin $0.74 Over $3,000 0.29 Over $2,000 $0.15 Over $10,000 $0.30  Over $2,000
Fredericksburg $0.58  ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16  ALL $0.36  ALL
Galax $0.58 Qver $5,200 0.20 Qver $15,000 0.16 Qver $18,800 $0.20 Over $15,000
Hampton $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.30 ALL
Harrisonburg $0.58 ALL 0.20 ALL 0.16 ALL $0.20 ALL
Hopewell $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Lexington $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL 50.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Lynchburg $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL 50.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Manassas $0.22 ALL 0.10 ALL 0.10 ALL $0.22 ALL
Manassas Park  $0.35 Over $8,572 0.15 Over $20,000 0.10 Over $30,000 $0.18 Over $16,668
Martinsville $0.58 Over $5,173 $0.20 Over $15,000 $0.10 Over $30,000 $0.36 Over $8,333
Newport News®  $0.58 Over $5,172 0.20  Over $15,000 $0.15  Over $20,000 $0.36  Over $15,000
Norfolk $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Norton $0.50 ALL $0.20 ALL 50.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Petersburg $0.58 ALL $0.24 ALL $0.18 Over $25,000 $0.32 Over $9,400
Poquoson $0.40 ALL 0.15 ALL 0.15 ALL $0.30 ALL
Portsmouth $0.58 Over $5,173 $0.20 Over $15,000 $0.16 Over $18,753 $0.36 Over $8,334
Radford $0.365 ALL $0.135 ALL 50.125 ALL $0.14 ALL
Richmond $0.58 ALL S0 3/5 AL 50.19 ALL $0.43 ALL
Roanoke $0.58 ALL 50.20 ALL $0.14 ALL $0.36 ALL
Salem $0.58 Over $5,173 50.20 Over $15,000 50.16  Over $18,750 $0.36  Over $8,334
South Boston $0.58 ALL 50.20 ALL 50.16 ALL $0.33 ALL
Staunton $0.40 ALL 50.20 ALL 50.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Suffolk $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL 50.15 ALL $0.20 ALL
Virginia Beach $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL 50.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Waynesboro $0.58 ALL 50.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Williamsburg $0.58 ALL $0.20 ALL $0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL
Winchester $0.58 ALL $0.20 Over $15,000 $0.16 ALL $0.36 ALL

NOTES: Included in the category of "Professionals" are such occupations as architect, attorney, engineer, physician, and veterinarian.

'A second category of retail merchants in Arlington County includes restaurants, other eating places, and night clubs; the retail merchants' tax
on those establishments is $0.20 per $100 gross receipts, with a maximum of $25. A third category of retail merchants includes retail
gasoline dealers; the tax on this category is $0.10 per $100 gross receipts, with a maximum of $25.

2Payment of license tax not required if gross receipts are under $2,000.

®Payment of a license tax not required if the computed annual license tax is less than $10.00 or if gross receipts are less than $10,000.

“No minimum charge for gross receipts under $4,000.

®Payment of a license tax not required if gross receipts are less than $5,000.

*The tax on contractors is levied on gross orders.

"Bristol charges a 75¢ fee for each license issued.

8A second category of retail merchants in Newport News includes retail gasoline dealers; the retail merchants' tax is $30 plus $0.23 per $100
gross receipts for receipts over $12,000. A third category is new automobile dealers; the rate on these establishments is $30 plus $0.33 per
$100 on the first $197,000 of gross receipts and $0.28 per $100 for receipts over $197,000.

SOURCE: 1994 Tax Rates in Virginia's Cities, Counties, and Selected Towns, Center for Public Service, University of Virginia.
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Table 2
BPOL Tax Collections, Virginia Counties and Cities, 2005

County Collections County Collections County Collections
Accomack $68,995 Isle of Wight $418,242 Washington -
Albemarle $8,042,962 James City $4,663,030 Westmoreland -
Alleghany $333,202 King & Queen $11,608 Wise $19,919
Amelia $155,705 King George $1,052,792 Wythe -
Ambherst $413,661 King William $243,080 York $4,226,847
Appomattox - Lancaster - City

Arlington $45,699,04 Lee - Alexandria $27,098,032
Augusta $2,662,780 Loudoun $21,230,878 Bedford $402,880
Bath . Louisa $139,265 Bristol $1,200,656
Bedford $501 Lunenburg - Buena Vista

Bland - Madison - Charlottesville $4,695,807
Botetourt $717,265 Mathews $184,391 Chesapeake $21,461,924
Brunswick - Mecklenburg - Colonial Heights $2,601,296
Buchanan - Middlesex $25,745 Covington $444,459
Buckingham - Montgomery - Danville $3,777,830
Campbell $1,322,512 Nelson $31,570 Emporia $559,511
Caroline $825,542 New Kent $652,313 Fairfax $8,295,462
Carroll - Northampton $16,637 Falls Church $2,913,022
Charles City - Northumberland $16,637 Franklin $760,383
Charlotte - Nottoway $127,601 Fredericksburg $4,974,756
Chesterfield $16,392,87 Orange - Galax $813,218
Clarke $30,229 Page $132,276 Hampton $11,019,387
Craig - Patrick - Harrisonburg $5,274,648
Culpeper - Pittsylvania $75,311 Hopewell $1,411,667
Cumberland $97,023 Powhatan $70,440 Lexington $4,488.447
Dickenson - Prince Edward - Lynchburg $7,371,507
Dinwiddie $473,874 Prince George $631,522 Manassas $2,700,753
Essex - Prince William $19,534,000 Manassas Park $681,181
Fairfax $113,956,6 Pulaski - Martinsville $1,750,980
Fauquier $1,287,192 Rappahannock - Newport News $13,391,073
Floyd - Richmond - Norfolk $21,854,626
Fluvanna - Roanoke $4,572,222 Norton $658,845
Franklin $3,394 Rockbridge $665,463 Petersburg $2,675,192
Frederick $4,160,697 Rockingham - Poquoson $339,675
Giles - Russell - Portsmouth $5,841,124
Gloucester $1,312,493 Scott - Radford $351,235
Goochland $607,580 Shenandoah - Richmond $24,152,763
Grayson - Smyth - Roanoke $11,843,732
Greene $260,921 Southampton $108,119 Salem $4,032,843
Greensville $189,664 Spotsylvania $3,868,673 Staunton $1,698,253
Halifax $177,948 Stafford - Suffolk $4,528,220
Hanover $441,541 Surry $65,897 Virginia Beach $36,444,397
Henrico $26,055,40 Sussex $155 Waynesboro $1,565,469
Henry $1,436,093 Tazewell - Williamsburg $1,749,413
Highland - Warren $1,207,130 Winchester $5,437,444

B TOTAL COUNTIES: $291,100,914

B VIRGINIA TOTAL: $538,523,475
SOURCE: Auditor of Public Accounts Report, 2005.

B TOTAL CITIES: $247,422,561
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Table 3
Merchants’ Capital Taxes, Virginia Counties, 2005
. Nominal
Nominal Tax Assess-
Assessment Tax Rate Assessment
County (pe?gtfoo) Method m;nt County $(:3§(;) Method Assef/fment
Ambherst $3.95 Original Cost 20 Lunenburg $1.20 Original Cost 40
Appomattox $1.00 Original Cost 85 Madison $0.86 Original Cost 100
Bedford $1.10 Original Cost 20 Mecklenburg $0.72 Original Cost 100
Bland $0.89 Original Cost 100 Montgomery $4.50 Original Cost 20
Brunswick $1.20 Original Cost 100 Northampton $6.25 Original Cost 10
Buchanan $2.00 Original Cost 10 Northumberland $1.00 Original Cost 50
Buckingham $1.00 Depreciated 100 Orange $0.40 Original Cost 100
Cost
Carroll $2.30 Original Cost 30 Pittsylvania $2.75 Original Cost 30
Charles City $2.80 Original Cost 100 Prince Edward $0.70 Original Cost 100
Charlotte $3.20 Original Cost 10 Pulaski $4.80 Original Cost *
Craig $3.50 Original Cost 25 Richmond $3.50 Original Cost 50
Dickenson $10.50 Original Cost 10 Rockingham $0.87 Original Cost 67
Essex $3.75 Original Cost 5 Russell $0.65 Original Cost 20
Floyd $3.50 Original Cost 15 Scott** $0.72 Original Cost 100
Franklin $1.08 Original Cost 100 Shenandoah $0.60 Original Cost 100
Giles $0.75 Original Cost 100 Smyth $0.40 Original Cost 100
Grayson $6.70 Original Cost 10 Southampton $0.50 Fair Market 100
Value
Hanover $1.90 Original Cost 10 Stafford $0.50 Original Cost 100
Highland $1.00 Merchant's 20 Sussex $1.00 Original Cost 100
Inventory
King & Queen $0.65 Original Cost 100 Tazewell $4.30 Original Cost 20
Lancaster $1.00 Original Cost 50 Westmoreland $0.50 Original Cost 100
Lee $1.41 Fair Market 30 Wise $2.85 Fair Market 45
Value Value
Louisa $0.65 Original Cost 100 Wythe $0.56 Original Cost 100

SOURCE: 2005 Tax Rates in Virginia’s Cities, Counties and Selected Towns, Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service,
University of Virginia.

* Pulaski County's assessment percentages are as follows: $1-$300,000 = 22%; $300,001-$20,000,000 = 5%; more
than $20,000,000 = 1%.

** Scott County allows a business to estimate its inventory and compares the estimate with the inventory reported on
Form 1040, Schedule C.

Merchants' capital is inventory of stock on hand, daily rental passenger cars as defined in §
58.1-2401 of the Code, daily rental property, and all other taxable personal property of any kind
except (1) money on hand and on deposit and (ii) tangible personal property not offered for sale as
merchandise. The situs for the assessment of the tax is the locality in which the property is
physically located on tax day, January 1.

During the 2005 tax year, 53 Virginia counties imposed a tax on merchants' capital. Table 3
shows the nominal tax rate per $100, the assessment percentage, and the assessment method. As
Table 4 illustrates, the total tax revenue generated by the merchants' capital tax was $10,851,741 for
the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005.
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Table 4
Merchants’ Capital Tax Collections, Virginia Counties, 2005

County Collections County Collections
Appomattox $76,716 Lunenburg $46,111

Bedford $135,380 Madison $158,504
Bland $201,160 Mecklenburg $292,591

Brunswick $100,684 Middlesex $35,139
Buchanan $62,862 Montgomery $968,498
Buckingham $57,720 Northampton $66,586
Campbell $2,862 Northumberland $36,309
Carroll $185,186 Orange $138,354
Charles City $21,910 Patrick -
Charlotte 23,442 Pittsylvania $348,086
Craig $3,708 Prince Edward $342,802
Culpeper - Pulaski $312,403
Dickenson $69,089 Richmond -
Essex $46,578 Rockingham $724,840
Floyd $43,352 Russell $24,351

Franklin $595,784 Scott $118,163
Giles $139,155 Shenandoah $206,905
Grayson $38,335 Smyth -
Greene $484 Southampton $457,080
Hanover $795,591 Stafford $681,595
Highland $2,362 Sussex $65,118
King & Queen $14,511 Tazewell $974,972
King William $165 Westmoreland $48,936
Lancaster $86,906 Wise $779,269
Lee $61,853 Wythe $378,122
Louisa 280,912 York $356,104

B TOTAL COUNTIES: $10,851,741

SOURCE: Auditor of Public Accounts Report, 2005.

Recent Developments

The BPOL tax has been a controversial tax for many years. Some in the business
community think the categories of occupations are inappropriate and the tax rates unfair. A majority
of those objecting to the tax agree that it should not be levied on the gross receipts of a business.
However, local jurisdictions depend substantially on the BPOL tax revenues and, therefore, do not
want to give them up without some alternative that will generate comparable funds in order to
provide required services. An equitable distribution of the financial responsibilities for those local
services is of paramount concern to the localities.

HIJR 526, passed by the 1993 General Assembly, established a joint subcommittee to study
the BPOL tax imposed by local jurisdictions and to consider alternative means of taxation. HJR
110, passed by the 1994 General Assembly, continued the study for another year for the purpose of
improving administration of the tax.
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In its deliberations during the first year, the joint subcommittee considered options for
restructuring or replacing some or all of such taxes with alternative revenue-neutral business taxes
that are fairer, easier to understand and apply, and more efficient to administer. During the second
year, deciding that eliminating the tax was impossible without an alternative revenue producer, the
joint subcommittee focused on making administration of the tax more uniform. To achieve this
goal, the subcommittee relied on an advisory committee, consisting of business and local
jurisdiction representatives, and the Department of Taxation for assistance in preparing a model
BPOL ordinance for use by all localities.

The model ordinance was introduced during the 1995 General Assembly Session as HB
2351, but it failed to pass. A resolution was also introduced that continued the study for an
additional year in order to examine once again the possibility of eliminating the BPOL tax entirely.
Obviously, that idea was never adopted.

During 2001 and 2002, another joint legislative subcommittee examined Virginia's entire tax
code.® As part of the study, the BPOL tax was included with a focus on retailers. Discussion
among retail industry representatives, legislators, and staff included lowering the rate on retailers
and increasing the sales and use tax rate to replace any loss in revenues. This idea, however, was
not adopted by the joint legislative subcommittee.

Issues
Elimination of the BPOL Tax

Since 1993, much discussion has centered on eliminating the BPOL tax. The business
community claims it is harmful to business, especially new and small businesses. Local
government officials assert that localities cannot operate without the BPOL tax revenues.
Therefore, until another source of revenue that produces the same amount as the BPOL tax can be
identified, it seems the BPOL tax will remain on the books.

Basing Tax on Gross Receipts

One issue that has persisted for several years is that the BPOL tax is levied on the gross
receipts of a business, profession, or occupation, even if the business fails to realize a profit. Many,
especially those paying the tax, believe this is inequitable and think it should be more like an
income tax with deductions and exemptions.

® House Joint Resolution 685/Senate Joint Resolution 387 (2001); House Joint Resolution 60 (2002).
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Summary

The BPOL tax may be imposed by counties, cities, and towns on certain businesses,
professions, and occupations. In the alternative, localities may impose a merchants' capital tax on
the capital of a business. The BPOL tax is an important source of revenue and is used by virtually
all cities and most urban counties. In 2005, the BPOL tax provided 4.1 percent of total local
revenues.

The categories and tax rates for the BPOL tax and the merchants' capital tax are established
in the Code of Virginia. The rate for the merchants' capital tax may not exceed the rate that existed
in the locality on January 1, 1978. Situs for the BPOL tax is the locality in which the individual
maintains an office or carries on a principal business. Situs for the merchants' capital tax is the
locality in which the property is physically located on tax day, which generally is January 1.

As a source of local revenue, the BPOL tax is administered by each locality that imposes it,
with guidance from the Department of Taxation through its regulations and guidelines.

The elimination of the BPOL tax and the perceived inequity of levying the BPOL tax on
gross receipts regardless of profits remain the two major issues concerning the BPOL tax in
Virginia.
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History

Administering the Tax
Recent Developments

Issues
Unequal Taxing Authority between Counties and Cities
Small Tax Revenues to Some Localities
Definition of "Meal" for Tax Purposes

Summary

Infroduction

The food and beverage tax, also known as the meals tax, is a local tax based on the
amount charged for certain prepared foods and beverages. The statutory provision in the Code of
Virginia (§ 58.1-3833) specifically applies to counties. Cities and towns have the authority to
impose this tax under their general taxing powers provided under the Uniform Charter Powers
Act.! The meals tax is in addition to the five percent state and local sales and use tax charged.
However, the total of the sales and use tax and the meals tax rate may not exceed nine percent in
the counties; that is, the maximum meals tax rate is four percent. There is no similar limit placed
on cities and towns.

History

The meals tax is a special sales tax added to the price of the meal at the time of purchase.
Cities and towns were granted the taxing authority through their charters, with such authority

' Chapter 11 of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia, specifically § 15.2-1104.
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clarified in the Code in 1984. Counties, however, did not have the authority to levy a meals tax
until 1988.

In 1976, the only cities levying the meals tax were Norfolk, Petersburg, Portsmouth,
Richmond, and Virginia Beach. By 1982, that number had tripled to 18 cities (but no towns).
By 2005, all of the Commonwealth’s 39 cities imposed the meals tax, while 34 of 36 towns
reporting to the Auditor of Public Accounts reported meals tax revenues. The cities’ rates for
2005 ranged from 2 percent in the City of Fairfax to 6.5 percent in Franklin, Hampton,
Lynchburg, Newport News, Norfolk and Portsmouth. Table 1 shows the 2005 tax rates for each
city imposing the meals tax.

In 1990, 10 counties imposed a meals tax: Ambherst, Botetourt, Caroline, James City,
Pulaski, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Spotsylvania, and Stafford imposed the tax at the four percent
maximum rate allowed counties; Frederick imposed a two percent meals tax. By 1994, 21
counties levied the meals tax, with all but the Counties of Augusta and Frederick imposing the
maximum four percent rate (see Table 2). By 2005, the number of counties imposing the tax
almost doubled to 39, with all except Dickenson County imposing the tax at the maximum
permissible four percent tax rate.

Towns also may impose the meals tax in accordance with their town charters. In 2005,
the annual report of the Auditor of Public Accounts indicates 34 of 36 towns listed collected
meals tax revenues, with rates ranging from 2 percent to a top rate of 6.5 percent in the Town of
Farmville. As with other local taxes, whenever a town imposes the meals tax, it prevents the
county in which the town is located from imposing the county meals tax within the town, unless
the town specifically allows the imposition of the county tax within the town's geographical
limits.

Administering the Tax

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, the meals tax generated $292,377,388 in revenue
for the Commonwealth's counties and cities. Cities produced $224,248,589, or approximately 77
percent of the total meals tax revenue, while counties collected $68,128,799, or approximately
23 percent of the total. When compared to total local-source revenues, the meals tax comprises
2.2 percent of the total.

Table 3 provides a listing of local meals tax collections in the Commonwealth's counties
and cities. The largest amount of meals tax revenue was collected by the City of Virginia Beach.
Other localities collecting in excess of $10 million from this source were Chesapeake, Hampton,
Newport News, Norfolk, Richmond, and Arlington County. In other words, 52 percent of the
total meals tax revenue was collected by these seven localities.
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Table 1
Meals Tax Rates, Virginia Cities, 2005
City Rate (%) City Rate (%)

Alexandria 3.0 Manassas 4.0
Bedford 5.0 Manassas Park 4.0
Bristol 6.0 Martinsville 5.0
Buena Vista 4.0 Newport News 6.5
Charlottesville 4.0 Norfolk 6.5
Chesapeake 5.5 Norton 5.0
Colonial Heights 5.0 Petersburg 4.0
Covington 4.0 Poquoson 5.5
Danville 4.5 Portsmouth 6.5
Emporia 5.0 Radford 5.0
Fairfax 2.0 Richmond 6.0
Falls Church 4.0 Roanoke 4.0
Franklin 6.5 Salem 4.0
Fredericksburg 4.5 Staunton 5.0
Galax 4.0 Suffolk 5.5
Hampton 6.5 Virginia Beach 5.5
Harrisonburg 6.0 Waynesboro 5.0
Hopewell 4.5 Williamsburg 5.0
Lexington 4.0 Winchester 5.0
Lynchburg 6.5

SOURCE: 2005 Tax Rates in Virginia’s Cities, Counties and Selected Towns, Weldon
Cooper Center for Public Service, University of Virginia.

Table 2
Meals Tax Rates, Virginia Counties, 2005
County Rate (%) County Rate (%)

Albemarle 4 Isle of Wight 4
Alleghany 4 James City 4
Ambherst 4 King George 4
Arlington 4 Madison 4
Augusta 4 Montgomery 4
Bedford 4 Nelson 4
Bland 4 New Kent 4
Botetourt 4 Northampton 4
Caroline 4 Orange 4
Carroll 4 Page 4
Craig 4 Prince George 4
Dickenson 2 Pulaski 4
Dinwiddie 4 Rappahannock 4
Franklin 4 Roanoke 4
Frederick 4 Rockbridge 4
Gloucester 4 Spotsylvania 4
Greene 4 Stafford 4
Greensville 4 Warren 4
Henry 4 Wythe 4

York 4

SOURCE: 2005 Tax Rates in Virginia’s Cities, Counties and Selected Towns, Weldon
Cooper Center for Public Service, University of Virginia.
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Table 3
Meals Tax Collections, Virginia’s Cities and Counties, 2005
City Collections County Collections

Alexandria $9,598,763 | Albemarle $4,554,989
Bedford $521,767 | Alleghany $239,750
Bristol $3,522,872 | Amherst $774,352
Buena Vista $139,969 | Arlington $23,844,071
Charlottesville $5,745,899 | Augusta $1,990,184
Chesapeake $16,684,210 | Bedford $994,188
Colonial Heights $3,441,923 | Bland $73,059
Covington $385,135 | Botetourt $934,270
Danville $3,971,100 | Caroline $713,527
Emporia $1,158,099 | Carroll $431,513
Fairfax $2,176,558 | Craig $37,451
Falls Church 1,452,095 | Dinwiddie $455,393
Franklin $902,417 | Franklin $745,316
Fredericksburg $5,987,400 | Frederick $2,420,073
Galax $795,147 | Gloucester $1,318,307
Hampton $12,449,368 | Greene $456,137
Harrisonburg $6,711,580 | Greensville $72,706
Hopewell $986,819 | Henry $1,700,628
Lexington $552,946 | James City $4,444,002
Lynchburg $8,666,119 | King George $640,118
Manassas $2,583,398 | Madison $322,589
Manassas Park $292,943 | Montgomery $201,596
Martinsville $1,119,338 | Nelson $486,865
Newport News $14,779,660 | Northampton $342,956
Norfolk $26,669,046 | Orange $409,958
Norton $721,995 | Page $215,579
Petersburg $1,130,653 | Prince George $504,917
Poquoson $481,323 | Pulaski $812,610
Portsmouth $5,450,310 | Rappahannock $144,369
Radford $735,982 | Roanoke $2,990,255
Richmond $16,028,093 | Rockbridge $1,126,412
Roanoke $7,995,551 | Spotsylvania $4,650,797
Salem $2,190,099 | Stafford $4,343,493
Staunton $1,751,768 | Warren $126,165
Suffolk $3,323,238 | Wythe $647,926
Virginia Beach $41,565,553 | York $3,962,278
Waynesboro $1,773,540

Williamsburg $5,367,745

Winchester $4,438,168

Cities’ Total: $224,248,589

Virginia Total:

Counties' Total: $68,128,799

$292,377,388

SOURCE: 2005 Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, Auditor of Public

Accounts.

It is extremely difficult, if not impossible, to compare the Commonwealth's meals tax
with those of other states. Many states incorporate the tax or take it into account through their
sales and use tax. Only a handful of states allow a separate local meals tax.
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With regard to counties, the tax applies to meals sold by restaurants as well as prepared
sandwiches and single-meal platters sold in grocery and convenience stores. However, the tax
does not apply to (i) meals served at boarding houses that do not accommodate transients, (ii)
industrial plant employee cafeterias, (iii) certain fire departments and rescue squad dinners and
bazaars, (iv) church meals provided as a regular part of religious observances, and (v) nonprofit
cafeterias in public schools, nursing homes, and hospitals.

Prior to its imposition, the meals tax must be approved by a referendum in the county,
unless the county is exempt from this requirement. Once a meals tax ordinance has been
approved as required by the Code of Virginia, amendments to the ordinance do not need voter
approval.

Recent Developments

The 1993 General Assembly added § 58.1-3834, which allows for apportionment of the
meals tax when a business is located partially within two or more local jurisdictions and one or
more of them imposes the meals tax. The apportionment is accomplished in the same manner as
§ 58.1-3709 provides for the business, professional and occupational license tax. The factors
considered in such apportionment are the taxpayer’s total volume of business, the taxpayer’s
volume of business done in each applicable jurisdiction, and the area occupied by the business in
each applicable jurisdiction.

Issues
Unequal Taxing Authority between Counties and Cities

One area of inequity is in the unequal taxing authority of the Commonwealth's counties
and municipalities. Cities and towns have no rate ceiling, but counties are limited to a nine
percent total tax rate, including five percent sales and use tax, resulting in an effective meals tax
cap of four percent. Moreover, most counties can adopt this tax only after the measure is
approved in a local referendum.

Small Tax Revenues to Some Localities

The meals tax is often referred to as a nuisance tax in some localities. While the tax
provides a substantial source of revenue to some localities, its contribution to the total local-
source revenue is slightly in excess of two percent. In some localities, it may not be an efficient
tax to collect since administrative and audit costs are a relatively high percentage of revenue.
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Definition of "Meal" for Tax Purposes

Currently, for meals tax purposes, there is no clear definition of "meal" in the Code or in
regulations. A meal obviously includes food and beverages sold in a restaurant. But should it
also include the salad bar at the supermarket or the prepared foods (e.g., fried chicken, french
fries, lasagna, soup) sold in the delicatessen at the supermarket?

Summary

The meals tax is imposed by all of the cities and 39 counties in the Commonwealth.
Counties are limited to a nine percent combined meals and sales and use tax rate, while cities and
towns have no limits on their rates. The meals tax provided $292,377,388 in revenue for cities
and counties in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, 2.2 percent of total local-source revenue
collected.

That less than half of Virginia's counties impose the meals tax may be due partially to the
fact that counties have only had the power to levy the tax since 1988. Cities and towns have
exercised the power to levy the tax for many years through their charter provisions. Also, most
counties must have voter approval in order to levy the tax, while cities and towns do not.

A major issue regarding the meals tax is common to many local taxes—the inequity in
rates that may be levied by counties as opposed to cities and towns. Counties have a limit; cities
and towns do not. The low revenues generated by the tax in some localities and the lack of a
clear definition of “meal” for tax purposes are also important issues.



Infroduction
History
Administering the Tax

Issues
Requirement of Local License Decal

Summary

Infroduction

State law required the registration of motor vehicles even before it required that they be
titled or that their drivers be licensed. From the very beginning, registration of motor vehicles,
and the revenues derived therefrom, was a state/local partnership. As the years went by, the role
of local vehicle registration evolved. While it may have been almost purely a revenue-generator
in the beginning (prior to the passage of the Byrd Road Act in 1932, local governments were
responsible not only for city streets, but for county roads as well), local vehicle registration (and
the possibility of the denial thereof) proved useful for enforcement of the payment of local
tangible personal property tax on automobiles and other vehicles and other local fees, taxes, and
fines as well.

At least in recent decades, the requirement of local vehicle registration has grown
increasingly unpopular with the general public, particularly since the slender metal local
registration license plates were replaced by stickers attached to the vehicles' windshields. Some
localities no longer require the decals; some no longer impose a registration fee; some continue
to do both.
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History

Beginning in 1906, the owner of any "automobile, locomobile, or any vehicle of any
kind, the motive power of which shall be electricity, steam, gas, gasoline, or any other motive
power except animals" was required to register his "machine" with the Secretary of the
Commonwealth. These registrations were valid for the life of the vehicle, and the fee for
registration was $2.50.

In spite of the fact that the provisions of the act applied only to those counties and cities
whose governing bodies had "adopted the same," 3,800 vehicles were registered the first year.
Over the following decades, the local option character of registration eroded as more and more
localities adopted the state requirement and as state law first permitted and then required that
motor vehicle owners obtain certificates of title. By 1932, Virginia law contained an explicit
requirement that all motor vehicles be registered before their operation on the public highways.
These registrations expired annually on March 31 and were subject to a fee based on the weight
of the vehicle.

In 1972 the General Assembly authorized the staggering of registration renewals,
eliminating the annual DMV nightmare resulting from simultaneous expiration of virtually all
motor vehicle registrations in the Commonwealth. Beginning in 1973, registration renewals
were spread throughout the year and annual issuance of new license plates was replaced with a
system of annual validation decals. Some localities followed suit and provided for staggered
issuance of their local licenses, and others did not. Even today, in some localities, all local
vehicle decals expire on the same day of the same month, in others, expirations are staggered—
often corresponding to the expiration of the state registration of the vehicle.

Until the early- to mid-1990s, DMV's involvement with most local motor vehicle
registration programs remained fairly tangential. Before then, DMV's involvement in these
programs typically extended no further than furnishing localities lists of motor vehicles
registered within their jurisdictions. Although § 46.2-756 allows DMV, on the basis of written
agreements with localities, to collect local motor vehicle licensing fees along with state fees
when registrations are issued or renewed, by 1990, only Waynesboro, Staunton, and
Charlottesville had entered into such agreements with DMV. In recent years, such agreements
have begun to be more common.

When it comes to consideration of local vehicle licenses as a source of local revenues, it
is important to note that, while § 46.2-752 permits counties, cities, and towns to levy taxes on
and require licenses for motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers, the amount of the fee charged
by a locality for a local vehicle license for any given vehicle cannot be greater than the fee
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charged by the Commonwealth for the registration of that vehicle. This may be significant for
vehicles qualifying for free or reduced-cost state license plates.'

Over the past 16 years, the General Assembly has been fairly active in creating and
adding to a list of persons to whom local vehicle licenses may be issued free of charge, at the
issuing locality's option. A new twist was added in 1995, when blanket authorization for
Augusta County to issue all of its decals free of charge, recognizing that, at least in that county in
that year, the purpose of the decal was very much more a means or enforcing the personal
property tax than raising revenue directly. The next year, this permission was broadened to
embrace all localities.

Authorization for localities by ordinance to "provide for ... the limitation, restriction, or
denial of ... free issuance to an otherwise qualified applicant” and the grounds therefore, also
came in 1996. The next year saw leased vehicles were accorded the same treatment as owned
vehicles. Persons 65 years old or older were allowed a 50 percent discount, at local option,
beginning in 2000. The 2001 Session saw an action that allowed for an increase rather than a
decrease in local registration fees when, in addition to using the windshield decal to raise local
revenue, the law allowed localities to impose a surcharge of up to one dollar per vehicle, with the
proceeds going to the Volunteer Firefighters' and Rescue Squad Workers' Pension Fund.

In many localities, the issuance (or denial) of these local vehicle licenses has been used as
a mechanism for collecting various local taxes, fees, and fines. In 1956, the General Assembly
authorized localities to require that all local personal property taxes owed on any vehicle be paid
as a precondition to the issuance of a local license for the vehicle. Later, the legislature went a
step further and allowed other Virginia localities similarly to require that local parking tickets
issued to a vehicle's owner be paid before issuance of a local vehicle license. Another bill of
1995 finally broadened this authority to embrace all cities. Further refinements as to parking
violations were made in 2003.

In 1993, the first steps in intergovernmental reciprocity in enforcement of local "decal"
statutes were taken, allowing localities to enter into compacts with one another for enforcement
of each others local ordinances. In 1992 the General Assembly took a first step in more directly
linking payment of personal property taxes to vehicle registrations at the state level by allowing
local governments to enter into agreements with DMV whereby the Department would not issue
or renew vehicle registration of any vehicle owned by any person who owed the locality $100 or
more in delinquent personal property taxes with respect to the vehicle. This $100 threshold was
lowered to $50 in 1997 and finally removed completely in 2002, along with making the statute
applicable to all taxes and fees assessable against the applicant, rather than against his vehicle.

! Such as license plates issued to recipients of the Medal of Honor under § 46.2-745 and former prisoners of war
under § 46.2-746, to cite but three examples.



98 e GUIDETO LOCALTAXATION

Table 1
Motor Vehicle Local License Tax, Virginia Cities, 2005

Private Passenger Vehicles

City Tax Motorcycles Trucks, Not For Hire
Alexandria $25.00 $15.00 $25.00-$90.00
Bedford $25.00 $12.00 $25.00
Bristol $15.00 $8.00 $17.00 up to 13,000 lbs.
$22.50 over 13,000 lbs
Buena Vista $25.00 $18.00 $25.00 up to 2,000 lbs.
$32.50 over 2,000 Ibs.
Charlottesville $28.50 $8.50 $33.50
Chesapeake $23.00 up to 4,000 Ibs. $8.00 $23.00-$150.00
$28.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Colonial Heights $20.00 up to 4,000 Ibs. $15.00 $20.00-$25.00
$25.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Covington $20.00 $10.00 $20.00 up to 10,000 Ibs.
$25.00 over 10,000 Ibs.
Danville $25.00 $25.00 $25.00-$195.00
Emporia $25.00 $15.00 $25.00
Fairfax $25.00 $15.00 $25.00
Falls Church $25.00 $24.00 $28.00 up to 6,500 lbs.
$39.00 from 6,500 to 10k Ibs.
$44.00 over 10,000 lbs.
Franklin $23.00 up to 4,000 lbs. $8.00 $29.00-$45.00
$28.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Fredericksburg $20.00 $20.00 $20.00
Galax $15.00 $8.00 $15.00 up to 10,000 Ibs.
$20.00 over 10,000 Ibs.
Hampton 1/1-6/30: $28.00-$33.00; $15.00 1/1-6/30: $28.00-$33.00;
7/1-10/14: 1/2 price; 7/1:1/2 price;
10/15-12/31: 1/3 price 10/15: 1/3 price
Harrisonburg $20.00 55.00 $20.00-$64.00
Hopewell $23.00 57.50 $23.00-$65.00
Lexington $20.00 $14.00 $20.00
Lynchburg $29.50 up to 4,000 Ibs. $21.00 $24.50-$250.00
$34.50 over 4,000 Ibs.
Manassas $25.00 $10.00 $25.00
Manassas Park $25.00 $10.00 $25.00
Martinsville $20.00 $5.00 $20.00 + 1.00 per 1,000 Ibs. over
15,000 Ibs.
Newport News $26.00 up to 4,000 lbs. $24.00 $26.00 up to 4,000 lbs.
$31.00 from 4,001 to 10k Ibs. $31.00 from 4,001 to 10k Ibs.
+ 0.20/100 Ibs. over 10k Ibs.
Norfolk $26.00 up to 4,000 lbs. $15.00 $26.00-$130.00
$31.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Norton $10.00 $10.00 $10.00
Petersburg $23.00-$28.00 $16.00 $28.00-$208.00
Poquoson $25.00 $15.00 $25.00 up to 7,500 lbs.
$30.00 over 7,500 lbs.
Portsmouth $25.00 up to 4,000 Ibs. $24.00 $25.00-$250.00
$30.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Radford $21.00 $11.00 $21.00 + 0.25/100 Ibs.
over 10k Ibs. (max. $65.00)
Richmond $23.00 up to 4,000 Ibs. $15.00 $24.00-$250.00
$28.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Roanoke $20.00 $8.00 $20.00-$66.00
Salem $20.00 $16.00 $20.00-$120.00
Staunton $20.00 up to 4,000 lbs. $15.00 $20.00-$55.00
$25.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Suffolk $20.00 up to 4,000 lbs. $15.00 $24.00-$85.00
$25.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Virginia Beach $25.00 up to 4,000 lbs. $23.00 $24.00-$85.00
$35.00 over 4,000 lbs.
Waynesboro $25.00 $15.00 $25.00-$60.00
Williamsburg None None None
Winchester $24.00 $12.00 $36.00

Source: 2005 Tax Rates in Virginia's Cities, Counties and Selected Towns, Center for Public Service, University of Virginia
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Table 2

Motor Vehicle Local License Tax, Virginia Counties, 2005

Private Passenger Vehicles

County Tax Motorcycles Trucks, Not For Hire
Accomack 527.00 527.00 $27.00
Albemarle $25.00-30.00 520.00 $25.00-$30.00
Alleghany $20.00 513.00 $20.00 up to 2,000 lbs.
$25.00 over 2,000 Ibs.
Amelia 520.00 513.00 $20.00
Ambherst 25.00 12.00 $25.00
Appomattox 25.00 24.00 $25.00
Arlington $24.00 $24.00 $24.00
Augusta 25.00 20.00 $25.00
Bath $5.00 $5.00 $5.00
Bedford 520.00 510.00 $20.00
Bland $20.00 $10.00 $20.00
Botetourt $20.00 $11.00 $20.00
Brunswick 25.00 10.00 $25.00
Buckingham $25.00 $25.00 $25.00
Campbell 27.00 17.00 $27.00
Caroline $23.00 up to 4,000 Ibs. $18.00 $23.00 up to 4,000 Ibs.
$28.00 over 4,000 Ibs. $28.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
$41.00 over 10,000 Ibs.
Carroll $25.00 $15.00 $25.00
Charles City 522.00 515.00 $22.00
Charlotte $25.00 $10.00 $25.00
Chesterfield 20.00-$25.00 10.00 $20.00-$45.00
Clarke $25.00 $12.00 $25.00
Craig 20.00 10.00 $20.00
Culpeper $25.00 $15.00 $25.00
Cumberland $23.00 $18.00 $20.00-$30.00
Dickenson $10.00 $10.00 $10.00
Dinwiddie $20.00 $10.00 $20.00
Essex 525.00 515.00 $20.00
Fairfax $25.00 $18.00 $25.00
Fauquier 25.00 15.00 $25.00
Floyd $25.00 up to 4,000 Ibs. $10.00 $25.00 up to 4,000 Ibs.
$30.00 over 4,000 Ibs. $30.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Fluvanna 20.00 $6.00 $20.00
Franklin $25.00 $18.00 $25.00
Frederick 25.00 10.00 $25.00
Giles 515.00 $7.00 $15.00
Goochland $25.00 $20.00 $25.00 up to 2,000 Ibs.
$30.00 over 2,000 Ibs.
Grayson 520.00 $15.00 $20.00
Greene 525.00 $9.00 $25.00
Greensville 525.00 $20.00 $25.00
Halifax $25.00 $5.00 $25.00
Hanover $23.00 up to 4,000 Ibs. $18.00 $23.00 up to 4,000 Ibs.
$28.00 over 4,000 Ibs. $28.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Henrico $20.00 up to 4,000 Ibs. $15.00 $20.00-$64.00
$25.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Henry 520.00 58.00 $20.00
Highland 515.00 55.00 $15.00
Isle of Wight 520.00 $18.00 $20.00
James City None None None
King & Queen $25.00 510.00 $25.00
King George 523.00 518.00 23.00
King William 525.00 520.00 25.00
Lancaster $20.00 $12.00 $20.00
Lee 510.00 510.00 $10.00
Loudoun 525.00 516.00 $25.00
Louisa 520.00 510.00 20.00
Lunenburg 525.00 515.00 $25.00
Madison $25.00 $10.00 $25.00

trailers: $7.50
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Table 2, continued

Private Passenger Vehicles
County Tax Motorcycles Trucks, Not For Hire

Mathews 20.00 $10.00 $20.00
Mecklenburg $25.00 N/A $25.00
Middlesex 20.00; $7.00 $20.00

trailers: $10.00
Montgomery $20.00; $10.00 $20.00

trailers:

$5.00 up to 1,500 Ibs.

510.00 over 1,500 lbs.
Nelson 520.00 58.00 $20.00
New Kent $20.00 $8.00 $20.00
Northampton $27.00 $27.00 $27.00
Northumberland 25.00 18.00 $25.00
Nottoway $25.00 $15.00 $25.00
Orange 25.00 15.00 $25.00
Page $20.00 $4.00 $20.00
Patrick 25.00 15.00 $25.00
Pittsylvania $29.50 $29.50 $29.50
Powhatan $25.00 $8.00 $25.00
Prince Edward 520.00 510.00 $20.00-$40.00
Prince George $23.00 up to 4,000 Ibs. $18.00 $23.00 up to 4,000 Ibs.

27.00 over 4,000 Ibs. $27.00 over 4,000 Ibs.
Prince William $24.00 $12.00 $24.00
Pulaski 25.00 10.00 $25.00
trailers: $10.00
Rappahannock $20.00 $15.00 $20.00
Richmond 25.00 $8.00 $25.00
Roanoke 520.00 515.00 $20.00-80.00
Rockbridge 525.00 525.00 $25.00
Rockingham $20.00 $7.50 $20.00
Russell 15.00 8.00 $15.00
Scott $23.00 $13.00 $23.00
Shenandoah $25.00 $18.00 $25.00
trailers 1,500 Ibs.: $15.00

Smyth $15.00 $10.00 $15.00
Southampton $23.00 $15.00 $23.00
Spotsylvania $25.00 $10.00 $20.00
Stafford 523.00 518.00 $23.00
Surry $10.00 $3.00 $10.00
Sussex $25.00 515.00 $25.00
Tazewell 510.00 510.00 $10.00
Warren $25.00 $512.00 $25.00
Washington 520.00 $8.00 $20.00
Westmoreland $29.50 $15.00 $29.50
Wise $5.00 $5.00 $5.00
Wythe $20.00 $10.00 $20.00
York 523.00 515.00 $23.00

Source: 2005 Tax Rates in Virginia's Cities, Counties and Selected Towns, Center for Public Service, University of
Virginia.

The DMV Commissioner was allowed to charge a delinquent tax payer a fee to cover the
Commissioner's costs in any such enforcement action, and collect the fee from the applicant for
registration.

Administering The Tax

Table 1 lists the 2005 Motor Vehicle License tax rates in cities, and Table 2 provides the
tax rates for counties.
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In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, motor vehicle license taxes generated $141.5
million for Virginia's counties and cities (Table 3) which amounted to 1.1 percent of total local
revenue. All counties and cities have chosen to impose this tax, with the exception of the City of
Williamsburg and the County of James City.

Table 3
Motor Vehicle License Tax Revenues, Virginia Cities and Counties, 2005
City Revenue County Revenue
Alexandria $2,460,980 Essex 218,225
Bedford 99,431 Fairfax 19,802,772
Bristol 197,101 Fauquier 1,421,448
Buena Vista 136,064 Floyd 395,292
Charlottesville 752,745 Fluvanna 424,029
Chesapeake 4,465,961 Franklin 1,237,090
Colonial Heights 363,426 Frederick 1,871,393
Covington 108,725 Giles 152,931
Danville 891,092 Gloucester 844,427
Emporia 83,725 Goochland 514,876
Fairfax 462,290 Grayson 281,065
Falls Church 223,394 Greene 370,405
Franklin 150,156 Greensville 174,593
Fredericksburg 165,647 Halifax 650,565
Galax 87,107 Hanover 2,359,824
Hampton 2,905,173 Henrico 5,974,167
Harrisonburg 504,105 Henry 1,047,476
Hopewell 392,283 Highland 44,778
Lexington 65,320 Isle of Wight 458,663
Lynchburg 1,498,014 James City 136,380
Manassas 753,839 King & Queen 171,479
Manassas Park 294,064 King George 456,906
Martinsville 227,623 King William 264,436
Newport News 3,585,609 Lancaster 192,947
Norfolk 2,692,643 Lee 93,496
Norton 29,486 Loudoun 4,626,043
Petersburg 588,524 Louisa 577,077
Poquoson 296,574 Lunenburg 202,816
Portsmouth 1,959,659 Madison 352,139
Radford 174,864 Mathews 217,997
Richmond 3,453,990 Mecklenburg 651,195
Roanoke 1,761,745 Middlesex 269,184
Salem 539,346 Montgomery 579,415
Staunton 394,005 Nelson 306,716
Suffolk 1,350,308 New Kent 358,774
Virginia Beach 8,845,748 Northampton 233,519
Waynesboro 407,343 Northumberland 334,663
Williamsburg 0 Nottoway 178,369
Winchester 502,303 Orange 617,435
Cities' Total: $43,870,412 Page 343,792
County Patrick 455,041
Accomack 553,503 Pittsylvania 1,395,187
Albemarle 2,092,304 Powhatan 690,909
Alleghany 287,300 Prince Edward 231,477
Amelia 267,410 Prince George 681,175
Ambherst 703,770 Prince William 6,275,000
Appomattox 296,570 Pulaski 366,884
Arlington 3,456,567 Rappahannock 172,614
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Table 3 - continued

County Revenue County Revenue
Augusta 1,785,822 Richmond 158,055
Bath 33,551 Roanoke 1,821,134
Bedford 1,466,204 Rockbridge 545,606
Bland 111,562 Rockingham 1,158,694
Botetourt 694,280 Russell 292,194
Brunswick 350,884 Scott 461,017
Buchanan 0 Shenandoah 654,599
Buckingham 356,044 Smyth 290,748
Campbell 1,306,364 Southampton 331,890
Caroline 574,161 Spotsylvania 2,654,574
Carroll 613,518 Stafford 2,223,491
Charles City 177,240 Surry 60,778
Charlotte 263,625 Sussex 203,003
Chesterfield 6,187,924 Tazewell 278,869
Clarke 277,418 Warren 593,932
Craig 105,980 Washington 761,157
Culpeper 710,746 Westmoreland 375,832
Cumberland 191,840 Wise 109,080
Dickenson 0 Wythe 368,244
Dinwiddie 476,262 York 1,291,961

Counties' Total: $97,642,511
Grand Total $141,522,923

Source: 2005 Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, Auditor of Public Accounts.

Issues
Requirement of Local License Decal

Local motor vehicle licenses and the fees that go with them have probably never been
particularly popular with the general public; however, they appear to have become even more
unpopular since localities switched from using supplemental license plates to windshield decals.
The decals have proven difficult to remove and replace—particularly in cold winter weather.
The 2006 Session approved legislation making it clear that local governments are not obliged to
require display of local license decals, unless they by ordinance so provide.

Table 4 provides a breakdown of which localities do and do not continue to require the
display of windshield decals as evidence of payment of those fees.

Table 4

Motor Vehicle Local License Tax Displays and Exemptions, 2006
City Display Decals Special Exemptions
Alexandria Yes Members of Congress, diplomats, active duty mmtary
Bedford Yes Disabled vets, POWS, fire, rescue, and police personnel
Bristol Yes N/A
Buena Vista Yes Military
Charlottesville No N/A
Chesapeake No Vehicles exempt under Code of Virginia § 46.2-755
Colonial Heights Yes N/A
Covington Yes N/A
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Table 4, continued

City Display Decals Special Exemptions
Danville No Rescue crew members (1/2 off)
Emporia Yes N/A
Fairfax Yes Public safety, military, students
Falls Church Yes Active military
Franklin Yes N/A
Fredericksburg Yes N/A
Galax Yes N/A
Hampton Yes Disabled veterans, POWs
Harrisonburg Yes Rescue squad, POWs, disabled vets, National Guard
Hopewell Yes POWs, military, antique, city vehicles, National Guard
Lexington Yes N/A
Lynchburg No Public safety, antique vehicles
Manassas Yes Public safety
Manassas Park Yes Police, military, and fire personnel
Martinsville No N/A
Newport News Yes N/A
Norfolk No Disabled vets (1 vehicle), military (out-of-state)
Norton Yes N/A
Petersburg Yes N/A
Poquoson Yes N/A
Portsmouth No N/A
Radford Yes N/A
Richmond No Veterans
Roanoke Yes N/A
Salem Yes N/A
Staunton Yes N/A
Suffolk Yes N/A
Virginia Beach No Auxiliary Sheriff, auxiliary police, chaplains, disabled vets
Waynesboro Yes N/A
Williamsburg Yes N/A
Winchester Yes N/A
County
Accomack Yes Volunteer firemen (1 vehicle), POWs (all vehicles)
Albemarle Yes N/A
Alleghany Yes Fire and rescue members
Amelia Yes N/A
Ambherst Yes N/A
Appomattox Yes N/A
Arlington Yes N/A
Augusta Yes N/A
Bath Yes N/A
Bedford Yes Public safety, POWs, disabled veterans
Bland Yes Firefighters (with x number of hours)
Botetourt Yes Fire and rescue volunteers
Brunswick Yes N/A
Buchanan No N/A
Buckingham Yes Disabled veterans
Campbell No Disabled veterans, fire and rescue members
Caroline Yes Fire and rescue members (1 exemption per person)
Carroll Yes Fire and rescue members, POWS, disabled veterans
Charles City Yes Volunteer firefighters
Charlotte No Volunteer fire and rescue members
Chesterfield No N/A
Clarke Yes fire and rescue members
Craig Yes N/A
Culpeper yes Fire and rescue members, police, disabled veterans
Cumberland Yes N/A
Dickenson Yes N/A
Dinwiddie yes Fire and rescue, POWs, military, disabled veterans
Essex Yes N/A
Fairfax Yes Fire and rescue members, auxiliary police
Fauquier Yes N/A
Floyd Yes N/A
Fluvanna Yes N/A
Franklin Yes N/A
Frederick yes Fire and rescue, disabled veterans
Giles Yes N/A
Gloucester No N/A
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Table 4, continued

County Display Decals Special Exemptions
Goochland Yes Fire and rescue, physically handicapped
Grayson Yes N/A
Greene Yes N/A
Greensville Yes Fire and rescue, POWSs, county vehicles
Halifax Yes Disabled veterans, volunteer fireman
Hanover Yes Public safety, disabled veterans, gualified volunteers
Henrico Yes N/A
Henry Yes N/A
| Highland Yes Public safety
Isle of Wight yes Fire and rescue, police, POWs, disabled veterans
James City Yes N/A
King & Queen Yes N/A
King George Yes Fire and rescue (1 per person)
King William No N/A
Lancaster No Fire and rescue, disabled veterans
Lee Yes Churches
Loudoun Yes Public safety
Louisa Yes N/A
Lunenburg No Fire and rescue members
Madison Yes POWSs
Mathews Yes Fire and rescue (1 decal per person)
Mecklenburg Yes N/A
Middlesex Yes Fire and rescue, National Guard
Montgomery Yes N/A
Nelson Yes Fire and rescue
New Kent Yes Fire and rescue, auxiliary police
Northampton Yes N/A
Northumberland Yes N/A
Nottoway yes N/A
Orange Yes Fire and rescue
Page Yes N/A
Patrick Yes N/A
Pittsylvania Yes N/A
Powhatan yes Fire and rescue (1 decal per person)
Prince Edward Yes N/A
Prince George yes Fire and rescue, volunteer police
. i Fire and rescue, military, handicapped, disabled veterans, National
Fiinee Wian o Guard, antique vehiclesy .
Pulaski Yes N/A
Rappahannock Yes N/A
Richmond Yes N/A
Roanoke Yes N/A
Rockbridge Yes N/A
Rockingham Yes Fire and rescue, disabled veterans
Russell Yes N/A
Scott Yes N/A
Shenandoah Yes N/A
Smyth Yes Fire and rescue (1 decal per person)
Southampton Yes N/A
Spotsylvania Yes Fire and rescue
Stafford Yes N/A
Surry Yes N/A
Sussex Yes N/A
Tazewell Yes N/A
Warren Yes Emergency services, antique vehicles, disabled veterans
Washington yes N/A
Westmoreland Yes Fire and rescue, antique vehicles
Wise Yes N/A
Wythe Yes N/A
York Yes N/A

Source: 2005 Tax Rates in Virginia's Cities, Counties and Selected Towns, Center for Public Service, University of Virginia

Note: All counties responded to the survey. Those that answered "not applicable" for all items in this table are excluded.
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Summary

The motor vehicle license tax is imposed by virtually all of Virginia's counties and cities.
The amount of the license tax on any motor vehicle, trailer, or semi trailer cannot exceed the
amount of the license tax imposed by the Commonwealth. The motor vehicle license tax
provided $141,522,923 in revenue for cities and counties in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005,
or 1.1 percent of total local-source revenue collected.

A recent issue, other than the amount of the tax, is whether counties and cities should
continue to require the motor vehicle to display the local license decal to indicate the payment of
the tax.
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Summary

Infroduction

The transient occupancy tax is a local tax based on the charge for lodging in hotels,
motels, boarding houses, campgrounds, and other facilities offering guest rooms rented out for
continuous occupancy for fewer than 30 days. The Commonwealth allows localities to impose
this tax by local ordinance. Cities and towns are granted authority to impose a transient
occupancy tax, without any rate limitation, under their general taxing powers provided under the
Uniform Charter Powers Act.' If a town imposes the transient occupancy tax, the county is
preempted from imposing the county tax within the territorial limits of the town.

All counties are authorized to impose a tax of up to two percent based on the amount of
the charge of the occupancy. However, numerous counties have been given the authority to
impose the tax at higher rates, with the proviso, in most cases, that the additional revenue be used
for tourism-related purposes (see Table 1).

" Chapter 11 of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia, specifically § 15.2-1104.
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Table 1
Transient Occupancy Tax Rates in Excess of 2% Authorized for Counties

Counties: Total Rate (%) Restriction

Albemarle 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Arlington 5.25 all over 5% rate dedicated for tourism; and maximum license tax
on hotels/motels of 1%

Augusta 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Bedford 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Botetourt 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Caroline 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Carroll 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Chesterfield 9 0%-2% general fund; 2%-6% dedicated for tourism; 6%-8%
dedicated for expanding the Richmond Centre; and 8%-9%
dedicated for Virginia Performing Arts Foundation

Craig 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Cumberland 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Dinwiddie 5 of the 2% rate over initial 2% rate: no more than 75% dedicated
for tourism, with remainder dedicated for a nonprofit convention
and visitor's bureau

Fairfax 4 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Floyd 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Franklin 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Gloucester 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Halifax 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Hanover 9 0%-2% general fund; 2%-6% dedicated for tourism; 6%-8%
dedicated for expanding the Richmond Centre; and 8%-9%
dedicated for Virginia Performing Arts Foundation

Henrico 11 0%-2% general fund; 2%-6% dedicated for tourism; 6%-8%
dedicated for expanding the Richmond Centre; and 8%-9%
dedicated for Virginia Performing Arts Foundation; and 9%-11%
for a county conference center

James City 5% and $2 of the 5%, all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism; entire $2
for advertising the Historic Triangle District as an overnight
tourism destination

King George 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Loudoun 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Mecklenburg 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Montgomery 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Nelson 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Page 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Patrick 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Prince Edward 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Prince George 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Prince William 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Pulaski 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Roanoke 5 no restrictions; by charter

Rockbridge 7 0%-2% general fund; 2%-5% for tourism; and 5%-7% for the
Virginia Horse Center Foundation or the Virginia Equine Center
Foundation

Spotsylvania 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Stafford 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Tazewell 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Wise 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

Wythe 5 all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism

York 5% and $2 of the 5%, all over initial 2% rate dedicated for tourism; entire $2

for advertising the Historic Triangle District as an overnight
tourism destination

SOURCE: Va. Code §§ 58.1-3819, 58.1-3820, 58.1-3822, 58.1-3823, 58.1-3824, and 58.1-3825.
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History

Only a handful of cities imposed the tax prior to 1970, and it was not until then that a
local transient occupancy tax of up to two percent was authorized for the counties of Arlington
and Fairfax. Albemarle County was granted the authority to impose the tax in 1973, and four
more counties followed in 1974. During the next 10 years there was little legislative activity
regarding this tax. Prior to July 1, 1985, eight counties were authorized to impose the transient
occupancy tax, but only three actually used the authority. As a result of the gradual but constant
increase in the number of counties seeking authority to impose the tax, the 1985 Session of the
General Assembly passed legislation to allow all counties to impose a local transient occupancy
tax at a rate of up to two percent.

From the early 1990s to the present, there has been a constant increase in counties given
the authority to impose a tax rate in excess of the initial 2 percent (see Table 1). Today, 36 cities
impose a transient occupancy tax with rates ranging from 2 percent (Covington and Martinsville)
to 10.5 percent in certain districts in Virginia Beach (see Table 2).

Table 2

Transient Occupancy Tax Rates, Virginia Cities, 2005
Cities: Rate (%) Cities: Rate (%)
Alexandria 5.5% + $1 Lynchburg 5.5% + $1
Bedford 5 Manassas 5
Bristol 6 Martinsville 2
Buena Vista 4 Newport News 7.5
Charlottesville 6 Norfolk 8
Chesapeake 8 Norton 4
Colonial 8 Petersburg 4
Heights
Covington 2 Portsmouth 8
Danville 3 Radford 5
Emporia 5 Richmond 8
Fairfax 4 Roanoke 7
Falls Church 5 Salem 4
Franklin 8 Staunton 4
Fredericksburg 5 Suffolk 6
Hampton 8 Virginia Beach 8 (10.5in

special
districts)

Harrisonburg 6 Waynesboro 5
Hopewell 8 Williamsburg 5
Lexington 6 Winchester 5

SOURCE: 2005 Tax Rates in Virginia’s Cities, Counties, and Selected Towns, Center for Public
Service, University of Virginia.
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Administering the Tax

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, the local transient occupancy tax in Virginia's
counties and cities generated approximately $132.2 million. It is not a large source of revenue
statewide; however, in those areas where tourism is an important component of the local
economy, the tax provides a significant source of revenue for localities. Cities generated $65.3
million, and counties collected $66.8 million.

Table 3 provides local transient occupancy tax collections in Virginia's counties and
cities. Virginia Beach collected the largest amount ($19.1 million), followed by Arlington
($17.2 million), Fairfax County ($14.6 million), and Henrico County ($8.3 million). The table
also shows a large number of localities collecting small amounts from this source (e.g. $2,208 in
Lee County and $2,802 in Covington).

Issues
Unequal Taxing Authority between Counties and Cities

One continuing issue concerning the transient occupancy tax is the unequal taxing
authority between Virginia's counties and cities. Since 1985, all counties in Virginia have been
authorized to impose a local tax of up to two percent, and many counties have been authorized to
impose the tax at higher rates. However, cities and towns are authorized to impose the tax with
no rate ceiling by their general taxing powers provided under the Uniform Charter Powers Act.
There have been efforts to reduce the variation in this tax (as well as a number of other taxes) in
recent sessions of the General Assembly. Table 3 reveals the small amount of revenue collected
in virtually all the counties that impose the tax. The table also shows that even in the relatively
urban counties a doubling of the tax rate to four percent would not generate sufficient funds to
address many local needs. Thus, in terms of the debate regarding the disparity of local taxing
authority, many localities appear to be arguing principle rather than revenue. In many localities,
the tax generates such small sums of money that it may cost more to administer than it generates
in local revenues.

Viability as a Revenue Source

Another issue is the role this special tax should play in the local revenue structure.
Although state and local governments typically rely on broad-based taxes, governments also
single out businesses for specific tax treatments. Some typical examples are transient
occupancy, meals, tobacco products, alcoholic beverages, and motor fuels. The issue, then, is
whether this activity is an appropriate special tax source and what an appropriate tax rate should
be.
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Local Transient Occupancy Tax Collections,
Virginia Counties and Cities, 2005

County Collections County Collections
Accomack $331,418 Rockingham 79,854
Albemarle 1,415,988 Scott 7,316
Alleghany 61,958 Shenandoah 85,314
Ambherst 25,143 Spotsylvania 865,818
Arlington 17,236,935 Stafford 985,891
Augusta 417,760 Warren 7,363
Bath 279,173 Washington 37,558
Bedford 235,823 Wise 49,262
Bland 3,524 Wythe 128,891
Botetourt 251,643 York 2,857,007
Buchanan 27,043 Bedford 53,830
Caroline 235,697 City

Carroll 127,754 Bristol 585,739
Chesterfield 3,637,137 Buena Vista 13,113
Clarke 8,572 Charlottesville 1,909,540
Craig 2,370 Chesapeake 2,935,669
Culpeper 18,696 Colonial Heights 240,825
Dickenson 12,940 Covington 2,802
Dinwiddie 26,554 Danville 329,451
Fairfax 14,629,545 Emporia 379,693
Franklin 119,479 Fairfax 607,630
Frederick 321,422 Falls Church 222,079
Giles 38,036 Franklin 175,870
Gloucester 88,143 Fredericksburg 718,473
Grayson 5,735 Galax 5,089
Greene 5,383 Hampton 2,516,024
Greensville 42,201 Harrisonburg 1,262,314
Halifax 54,682 Hopewell 359,545
Hanover 670,700 Lexington 174,923
Henrico 8,308,420 Lynchburg 1,392,866
Henry 99,450 Manassas 164,652
Isle of Wight 47,860 Martinsville 13,735
James City 2,480,944 Newport News 2,6686,120
Lee 2,208 Norfolk 6,560,868
Loudoun 4,865,837 Norton 127,921
Mecklenburg 12,463 Petersburg 272,130
Montgomery 21,718 Portsmouth 1,036,638
Nelson 185,703 Radford 113,919
Northampton 74,569 Richmond 4,578,302
Nottoway 16,456 Roanoke 2,250,249
Orange 37,752 Salem 660,790
Page 308,464 Staunton 234,685
Patrick 35,497 Suffolk 302,463
Prince George 195,738 Virginia Beach 19,175,967
Prince William 2,793,000 Waynesboro 265,978
Pulaski 258,290 Williamsburg 5,277,984
Roanoke 626,855 Winchester 594,456
Rockbridge 914,290

B Total Counties: $66,833,355 B Total Cities: $65,385,408

SOURCE: Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, Auditor of Public Accounts

(2005).

B TOTAL: $132,218,763
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Summary

The local transient occupancy tax is imposed by a large majority of the cities and by
about half of the counties in the Commonwealth. Cities and towns are authorized to impose this
tax with no rate limitations, while counties are generally limited to a rate of two percent. The tax
generated $132.2 million of revenue for cities and counties in the fiscal year ending June 30,
2005, which amounted to one percent of total local tax revenue. The localities that are more
heavily dependent on tourism and the business traveler receive larger amounts from this tax.

The major issue concerning the tax in Virginia is the unequal taxing authority granted
counties and cities. Although this is a significant inequality in principle, equalizing the rates
counties and cities are authorized to levy would not generate appreciable revenue gains in most
counties.



Infroduction

History

Administering the Tax
Recent Developments

Issues
Increasing the Tax Rate
Unequal Taxing Authority between Counties and Cities

Summary

Infroduction

The cigarette tax is a flat fee levied by the Commonwealth and certain localities on each
pack of cigarettes. The statutory authority for the local cigarette tax is found in §§ 58.1-3830
through 58.1-3832 of the Code of Virginia. The local cigarette tax is added on to the price of
each pack prior to its purchase.

History

Subsection A of § 58.1-3830 of the Code of Virginia provides that "[n]Jo provision of
Chapter 10 (§ 58.1-1000 et seq.) of this title shall be construed to deprive counties, cities and
towns of the right to levy taxes upon the sale or use of cigarettes, provided such county, city or
town had such power prior to January 1, 1977." (Section 58.1-1000 et seq. addresses the state
cigarette tax.)
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Originally, the state cigarette tax and what later became the separate local cigarette tax
were part of the same legislation coming out of the 1960 Session of the General Assembly. With
the recodification of Title 58 in 1984, the local cigarette tax statutes were placed in Article 7 of
Chapter 38, "Miscellaneous Taxes," of Title 58.1 of the Code.

Administering the Tax

Virginia is one of eight states that allow selected counties and municipalities to levy a
local cigarette tax. The other seven are Alabama, Alaska, Illinois, Missouri, New York, Ohio,
and Tennessee. In 2005, 30 cities, two counties, and 29 towns in Virginia imposed the tax, with
rates ranging from $.03 in the Town of Bluefield to $.75 per pack in the City of Franklin (see
Table 1).

Local cigarette tax collections by the counties and cities in fiscal year 2005 totaled
$58,274,183 (see Table 2). Local cigarette taxes are generally concentrated in two areas—
Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia. Virginia Beach collected $11.7 million in 2005, while
Norfolk collected $6.9 million, for a total of $18.6 million, or about 32 percent of the local
cigarette tax revenue collected by all localities. In fact, the cities within the Hampton Roads area
collected approximately 63 percent of total local cigarette taxes in Virginia.

Currently, only two counties—Fairfax and Arlington—Ilevy the cigarette tax. Each is
statutorily limited to imposing the tax up to the state cigarette tax rate of $.30 per pack, and each
imposes its local cigarette tax at that rate.

The actual administration and enforcement of the local cigarette tax is provided for by
local ordinance. Localities may allow the use of meter impressions or stamps to evidence
payment of the tax and may enter into an arrangement with the Department of Taxation, which
allows a tobacco wholesaler, who is responsible for the collection of the tax, to use a dual die or
stamp to evidence the payment of both the state and local tax. The stamp is attached to the pack
by the wholesaler or distributor, with the tax paid to the Department of Taxation by the 10th day
of the following month. Most localities administer the tax themselves in accordance with their
local ordinances.

Recent Developments

There has been little activity in the local cigarette tax area in terms of legislation.
However, there has been substantial activity in terms of increasing local tax rates and the
increasing number of localities that have imposed local cigarette taxes. No additional counties
have been granted the authority to impose the tax; however, over the 10-year period beginning
with fiscal year 1996, an additional eight cities and 14 towns first began to impose a cigarette tax.
The rate of tax has also gone up dramatically. In 1996, the highest local tax rate was $.35 per
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pack, which was imposed by the City of Hampton. The highest rate today is the $.75 per pack
imposed by the City of Franklin, with the City of Alexandria at $.70 per pack. Cities and towns
are increasingly using cigarette taxes to generate revenue, which could be explained by the fact
that there are few limitations on the authority granted to cities and towns to impose the tax.

Table 1
Local Cigarette Tax Rates, (Based on 20 Cigarettes per Pack)
Virginia’s Counties and Cities, 2005

County Rate City Rate
Arlington $.30 Manassas $.50
Fairfax .30 Manassas Park .50
Martinsville .20
City Newport News .65
Alexandria $.70 Norfolk .55
Bedford .20 Petersburg .10
Bristol .04 Poquoson .10
Charlottesville .25 Portsmouth .50
Chesapeake .50 Radford 15
Covington .20 Roanoke .27
Fairfax .50 Salem 15
Falls Church .50 Staunton 15
Franklin 75 Suffolk .50
Fredericksburg .31 Virginia Beach .50
Hampton .65 Waynesboro .20
Harrisonburg .30 Williamsburg .25
Lynchburg .35 Winchester 10

SOURCE: Tax Rates 2005; Virginia’s Cities, Counties and Selected Towns,
Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service.

Issues
Increasing the Tax Rate

The state cigarette tax was increased to $.20 per pack effective in 2004, and increased to
the present rate of $.30 per pack in 2005. While the issue of capping local cigarette tax rates
arose in conjunction with the increase in the state tax rate, no legislation has been passed by the
General Assembly establishing a cap on the local cigarette tax rates imposed by cities and towns.
Such a statutory cap would place limits on the amount of revenue that could be generated from
the local cigarette tax. On the other hand, high local tax rates cause the loss of state cigarette tax
revenue to neighboring states. For instance, a person purchasing a pack of cigarettes in the City
of Franklin pays a total of $1.05 tax per pack ($.30 state + $.75 local). However, if the taxpayer
travels into North Carolina, he pays only $.30 tax per pack, which results in a $7.50 per carton
tax savings.
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Table 2

Local Cigarette Tax Collections,
Virginia’s Counties and Cities, 2005

County Collections City Collections
Arlington $1,925,743 Manassas Park $562,020
Fairfax 6,061,050 Martinsville 145,099
TOTAL COUNTIES: $7,986,793 Newport News 4,639,855
City Norfolk 6,947,795
Alexandria $2,277,366 Petersburg 114,110
Bedford 148,514 Poquoson 94,467
Bristol 168,778 Portsmouth 2,714,850
Charlottesville 661,266 Radford 144,636
Chesapeake 4,827,640 Roanoke 1,889,419
Covington 176,640 Salem 451,765
Fairfax 939,837 Staunton 393,534
Falls Church 412,894 Suffolk 1,538,959
Franklin 284,266 Virginia Beach 11,747,980
Fredericksburg 898,413 Waynesboro 451,890
Hampton 4,084,162 Williamsburg 209,340
Harrisonburg 967,983 Winchester 327,470
Lynchburg 1,087,358
Manassas 979,036 TOTAL CITIES: $50,287,390

VIRGINIA TOTAL: $58,274,183

SOURCE: Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, Fiscal Year
Ending June 30, 2005, Auditor of Public Accounts.

Unequal Taxing Authority Between Counties and Cities

As with several other local taxes, the unequal taxing authority among Virginia's localities
continues to be an issue. Under the general taxing powers provided in the Uniform Charter
Powers Act, any city or town may levy the cigarette tax without any restriction on the rate
charged. However, only the Counties of Fairfax and Arlington are currently allowed by statute to
levy the tax, and the rate may not exceed $.30 per pack.

Summary

Virginia, along with seven other states, allows cities, towns, and certain counties to
impose a local cigarette tax. The tax is levied on each pack of cigarettes prior to its sale. Most
localities imposing the tax also handle its administration and collection.

In 2005, 30 cities, two counties, and 29 towns imposed the tax, with rates ranging from
$.03 to $.75 per pack. Local cigarette tax revenues in cities and counties for 2005 totaled
$58,274,183.
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Severance taxes are levied on the production of natural resources when they are "severed"
from the earth. In the major energy-producing states, severance taxes provide substantial
revenues. In the Commonwealth, local severance taxes are levied by and produce revenue in
only a few local jurisdictions. The specific Code of Virginia provisions for local severance taxes
are found at §§ 58.1-3712 through 58.1-3713.5, which comprise part of the chapter on license
taxes.

Technically, Virginia’s severance taxes are license taxes levied on persons engaging in
the business of severing the resources, and the amount of tax liability is generally based on the
gross receipts from their sale. The natural resource taxes that may be levied by cities and
counties include severance taxes on coal and gas, a coal and gas road improvement tax, and a
mineral lands tax. In addition, localities had been authorized to levy a 0.5 percent license tax on
gross receipts from the sale of severed oil up until July 1, 1995.
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History

Coal and other mineral lands were specifically segregated for local taxation by Section
172 of the 1928 revision of the Constitution. This provision was continued in Article X, Section
4 of the 1971 Constitution.

In 1973, the General Assembly first authorized a local license tax at the rate of one-half
of one percent of gross receipts from the business of severing coal and gases. The maximum rate
of this tax was doubled to one percent three years later.

In 1985, cities and counties were permitted to assess a severance tax on oil at the rate of
one-half of one percent of the gross receipts of oil sold. The enabling legislation provided that
the bill would expire in 1992. The expiration date was extended to July 1, 1995. The
authorization was not extended in the 1995 Session, and the ability to levy this tax has expired.

In 1978, the General Assembly authorized the imposition of the one percent coal road
improvement tax on the gross proceeds from the severance of coal and gas. The purpose for
which the tax proceeds could be used was expanded in 1986 to include all roads within the
taxing jurisdictions rather than only roads used to haul coal. Concurrent with the establishment
of the Coalfield Economic Development Authority in 1988, the General Assembly directed that
25 percent of the coal and gas road tax collected in member localities be paid to the Virginia
Coalfield Economic Development Fund.

When enacted in 1978, the coal and gas road improvement tax was scheduled to expire
on December 31, 1986. The expiration date for this tax has subsequently been extended to 1992,
to 1995, to 2002, and to 2007.

Severance Taxes in Other States

Virginia is in the minority of states that segregate coal, oil, and natural gas for local
taxation only. In most of the jurisdictions in which a severance tax is levied on these resources,
it is applied at the state level, though in five states (Alabama, Minnesota, Mississippi, North
Dakota, and Tennessee), plus the District of Columbia, taxes may be imposed by local
governments as well as by the state. Maryland and Virginia are the only states where the
production of these resources is subject only to a local severance tax. Fifteen other states
(Arizona, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, lowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New
Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, and Washington) do
not levy severance taxes on coal, oil, or gas. The lack of severance taxes in these states may be
attributed to their lack of production of these natural resources.
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Table 1
Maximum State Severance Taxes Rates
State Coal Natural Gas Qil
Alabama 13.5¢/ton 2% of value 8% of value
Alaska 6.4¢/MCF or 80¢/bbl.
10% of value or 12.25% of value

Arkansas 10¢/ton 0.3¢/1,000 c.f. 5% of value
California 5.0898¢/10,000 c.f. 5.0898¢/bbl.
Colorado 36¢/ton plus 5% gross income 5% gross income
Florida 8% of value $0.509/MCF 8% of price
Idaho 5 mills/50,000 c.f. 5 mills/bbl.
lllinois 0.1% gross revenue 0.1% gross revenue
Indiana 3¢/1000c.1. 1% of value
Kansas $1/ton 8% of value 8% of value
Kentucky 4.5% of value 4.5% of value 4.5% of value
Louisiana 10¢/ton 37.3%/1000c.f. 12.5% of value
Michigan 5% of value 6.6% of value
Minnesota 9.8% of value
Mississippi 6% of value 6% of value
Missouri 25¢/ton first 50,000 tons -

15¢/ton next 50,000

tons
Montana 15% of value (surface); 12% of value 7% of value

4% of value

(underground)
Nebraska 3% of value 3% of value
Nevada 5% of value 50 mills/50,000 c.f. 50 mills/bbl.
New Mexico $1.17/ton (surface) 3.75% of value 3.75% of value

$1.13/ton (underground)

North Carolina 0.5 mill/1,000 c.f. 5 mills/bbl.
North Dakota 75¢/ton 5.07¢/1,000 c.f. 5% of value
Ohio 7¢/ton 2.5¢/1,000 c.f. 10¢/bbl.
Oklahoma 7.5¢/ton 7% of value 7% of value
Oregon 6% of value 6% of value
South Dakota 4.5% of value 4.5% of value 4.5% of value
Tennessee 20¢/ton 3% of sale price 3% of sale price
Texas 7.5% of value 4.6¢/bbl. or
4.6% of value
Utah - 3% on 1st $1.50/MCF 3% on 1st
and 5% on balance $13 value/bbl. and
5% on balance

West Virginia 5% of gross proceeds 5% of gross proceeds 5% of gross proceeds

(surface)

2% of gross proceeds

(underground)
Wisconsin 7% of value 7% of value
Wyoming 7% of value (surface); 6% of value 6% of value

3.75% of value

(underground)

SOURCE: RIA State and Local Taxes: All States Tax Guide, Vol. 2.

A summary of the rates assessed on these resources in states that levy severance taxes is
set forth in Table 1. State severance taxes on coal are generally assessed based either on the
tonnage or the value of the coal produced. Among states taxing the severance of coal based on
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the tonnage mined, rates range from $0.07 (Ohio) to $1.17 (New Mexico). Among states basing
their coal severance tax on the value of production, rates range between 15 percent for surface-
mined coal in Montana and 5 percent in West Virginia. Four states (Montana, New Mexico,
West Virginia, and Wyoming) impose higher coal severance tax rates on surface-mined coal than
on coal mined underground.

Coal and Gas Severance Taxes

Any city or county in the Commonwealth may impose a license tax on persons who sever
coal or gases from the earth. The tax rate may not exceed one percent and is based on the gross
receipts from the sale of the coal or gas. If a city or county levies this severance tax, it may not
levy the severance tax on coal and gases extracted from land on which the mineral lands tax
authorized by § 58.1-3286 of the Code is levied.

Cities and counties may also impose an additional levy of one percent of the gross
receipts from the sale of gases. One half of the proceeds from this additional levy on gases in the
jurisdictions that belong to the Virginia Coalfield Economic Development Authority (Buchanan,
Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Scott, Tazewell and Wise Counties and the City of Norton) are required
to be paid to the Virginia Coalfield Economic Development Fund. The other half of the
proceeds in these localities, and all of the proceeds in any other jurisdiction levying this
additional tax on gases, are paid into each locality’s general fund.

Coal and Gas Road Improvement Tax

In addition to the one percent coal and gas severance tax authorized under § 58.1-3712,
any county or city may levy a license tax, at a rate not exceeding one percent of gross receipts,
on the business of severing coal or gases. The biggest difference between this tax and the other
one percent coal and gas severance tax is the use of the moneys collected. Revenues from the
coal and gas road improvement tax in localities outside of the Virginia Coalfield Economic
Development Authority must be paid into a special account called the Coal and Gas Road
Improvement Fund of the locality imposing the tax, to be used for improvements to public roads.
The rationale for the road improvement tax was to have coal trucks share the burden for paying
for road improvements necessitated by the heavy traffic of coal trucks. For the localities
comprising the Authority, three-fourths of the revenue is paid to the Coal and Gas Road
Improvement Fund (of which sum 25 percent may be used for construction of new and improved
water systems, sewers, and lines) and one-fourth of the revenue is paid to the Virginia Coalfield
Economic Development Fund.

A specific statutory exception requires that the incorporated towns and city within Wise
County shall receive 20 percent of the coal road improvement tax collected in Wise County.
Twenty-five percent of these funds is distributed to the city and towns based on the number of
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registered motor vehicles, and the remaining 75 percent is distributed equally among the City of
Norton and the towns of Appalachia, Big Stone Gap, Coeburn, Pound, St. Paul, and Wise.

Moneys in a county’s Coal and Gas Road Improvement Fund are required to be spent on
improvements to public roads within the collecting locality. At its discretion, the county may
elect to improve city or town roads with the approval of the city or town council. Localities
imposing the coal and gas road improvement tax must establish a Coal and Gas Road
Improvement Advisory Committee, which must develop an annual plan before July 1 for road
improvements to be implemented in the following fiscal year.

In 1992, the General Assembly authorized Dickenson County to transfer up to $1 million
per year of unexpended balances collected under the Coal and Gas Road Improvement Tax to the
general fund to be used for public education purposes. Wise County was authorized by the 1993
General Assembly to transfer up to $1 million per year of balances collected under this tax to its
general fund, provided the county matches any sums transferred, and the matching funds are
derived by a one-time increase in local revenues. Up to $500,000 of the transferred coal and gas
road improvement funds were to be used for public government purposes, and up to $500,000 of
such funds were to be used for public education. The county was prohibited from reducing the
amount of its appropriation for educational purposes as a result of the fund transfer. The act
providing for transfers of Coal and Gas Road Improvement funds in Dickenson County expired
July 1, 1995, and the act regarding Wise County expired January 1, 1995.

In 2001, the General Assembly passed legislation that creates a priority lien on a debtor's
estate for all delinquent severances taxes imposed under § 58.1-3712 and 58.1-3713 on persons
who sever coal from the earth. Such a lien is only inferior to real estate and tangible personal
property taxes and penalties; obligations, bonds or instruments used in lieu of a bond to the
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy; and liens benefiting the Commonwealth.

Mineral Lands Tax

As part of the real estate tax process, cities and counties are required to specifically and
separately assess at the fair market value all mineral lands and improvements located on them.
Mineral lands are taxed at the same rate as other real estate in the locality. As an alternative to
assessing the fair market value of mineral lands, the county or city may impose by ordinance a
severance tax of up to one percent of the gross receipts on all coal and gases extracted from lands
within its jurisdiction. Section 58.1-3712 prohibits any locality levying a severance tax on coal
or gases under that section from enacting the provisions of § 58.1-3286 “relating to a tax on
gross receipts.” Two cities and 19 counties levy the mineral lands tax. Thus far, no localities
utilize the severance tax option permitted by § 58.1-3826.
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Article X, § 4 of the Constitution segregates “coal and other mineral lands” for local
taxation only, and provides that they “shall be assessed for local taxation in such manner and
such times as the General Assembly may prescribe by law.” The term “mineral lands” is not
defined in the Code. However, § 58.1-3826 requires the commissioner of revenue to ascertain
the fair market value of the coal, iron, other minerals, mineral waters, gas and oils under the
surface, when the mineral rights and the surface of the land are not owned by the same person.

Table 2

Severance/Mineral Tax Rates
Virginia Cities and Counties, 2005

Per $100 of Gross Receipts (%)

Coal & Gas Oil Additional Coal & Gas Tax on

Severance Severance Gas Severance Road Improvement Mineral

Tax Tax Tax Tax Land
Locality (§ 58.1-3712) (§ 58.1-3712.1)  (§ 58.1-3713.4)  (§ 58.1-3713) (§ 58.1-3286)

Cities
Norton* 1.0 N/A N/A 1.0 Yes
Roanoke N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Counties
Albemarle N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Buchanan 1.0 0.5 1.0 1.0 Yes
Caroline N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Culpeper N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Dickenson 1.0 0.5 N/A 1.0 Yes
Dinwiddie N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Goochland N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Grayson N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Greene N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Greensville N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Hanover N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Henry N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
King George N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Lee 1.0 0.5 1.0 1.0 No
Pittsylvania N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Pulaski 1.0 N/A 1.0 1.0 No
Rockbridge N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
Rockingham 1.0 0.5 N/A N/A Yes
Russell 1.0 0.5 N/A 1.0 Yes
Scott 1.0 0.5 N/A 1.0 No
Tazewell 1.0 N/A 1.0 1.0 Yes
Wise 1.0 0.5 1.0 1.0 Yes
Towns**

Appalachia N/A N/A N/A 0.1335 No

Note: All cities and counties responded to the survey. Those that answered "not applicable" for all items in this table are excluded.
* The City of Norton reports that it also charges a mineral loading tax of $0.05/ton of coal.

** No towns reported having natural resource severance taxes.

SOURCE: 2005 Tax Rates in Virginia Cities, Counties, and Selected Towns, Center for Public Service, University of Virginia.

Administering the Taxes

Table 2 provides a list of cities and counties that levy at least one of the severance taxes
or the mineral tax and their rates for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005. Only one city and nine
counties imposed at least one of the severance taxes. Most of the localities levying the tax are
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located in Southside and Southwest Virginia, where the natural resources subject to the tax are
mined and produced. The rates range from one-half percent to three percent for the severance
taxes.

Table 3 provides a listing of severance tax collections on coal, gas, and oil for the fiscal
year ending June 30, 2005. Total collections for all counties and cities collecting a severance tax
on coal, oil, or gas for this period was $32.8 million. The severance tax on coal generates the
vast majority of all severance tax revenue. While this figure is small compared to some of the
other local tax revenues, severance taxes are an important revenue source to those counties and
cities in Southwest Virginia that impose them. For example, in Buchanan County, the $12.6
million from its local coal and gas severance tax equaled 36.1 percent of total local revenue. In
Wise County, the $10.2 million collected equaled 28.3 percent of total local revenue. And in
three (the Counties of Buchanan, Dickinson, and Wise) of the eight localities that levy a
severance tax, the revenue it generated in 2005 exceeded that generated by the local real estate

tax.
Table 3
Local Coal, Oil, and Gas Severance Tax Collections,
Virginia, 2005
Local Coal, Oil, and Gas
County Severance Tax Collections
Buchanan $12,615,517
Dickinson $ 6,140,446
Lee $ 340,700
Russell $ 2,264,142
Scott $ 9,153
Tazewell $ 974,742
Wise $10,241,368
City
Norton $ 178,632
Virginia Totals: $32,764,600
SOURCE: Auditor of Public Accounts, Comparative Report of Local
Governments Revenues and Expenditures for Fiscal Year 2005.
Summary

Severance/mineral taxes may be imposed by certain counties and cities located in
Southwest Virginia on persons who sever coal, gas, or oil from the earth. Severance tax rates
range from one-half percent to three percent total. The mineral tax is imposed by two cities and
19 counties with none imposing the optional severance tax in its place. These taxes are
important revenue sources for those localities that levy them.
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The revenue raised by most of the severance taxes may be used by cities and counties for
whatever purposes their governing bodies may select. However, the coal and gas road
improvement tax revenues must be paid into a special account to be used to improve the roads, as
its title suggests. Also, part of the severance tax revenue goes to the Virginia Coalfield
Economic Development Fund, which is to be used to enhance the economic base of the seven
counties and one city that comprise the Virginia Coalfield Economic Development Authority.
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The admissions tax is a local tax based on a percentage of the amount charged for
admission to events. The General Assembly has enumerated classes of events for which
admission may be taxed. Cities and towns may impose the tax without limitation under their
general taxing powers provided under the Uniform Charter Powers Act. Of Virginia’s counties,
however, only Arlington, Brunswick, Charlotte, Clarke, Culpeper, Dinwiddie, Fairfax, Madison,
Nelson, New Kent, Prince George, and Sussex are authorized to levy a local admissions tax. The
admissions tax imposed by these counties may not exceed 10 percent of the amount of the charge
for admission to the event. In addition, three counties have obtained county charters
(Chesterfield, James City and Roanoke) which provide general taxing authority similar to those
provided cities and towns, and Roanoke has elected to impose an admissions tax.
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History

Events to which admission is charged were first divided into classes for the purpose of
local taxation in 1950. At that time the two classes of events were (a) any event the gross
receipts of which go wholly to charitable purpose or purposes and (b) all other events. Cities and
towns were authorized under their charters to levy the admissions tax, and counties with a
population over 150,000 were granted authority by the Commonwealth. At that time there were
no counties that met the population requirement. The counties were not subject to a tax rate
limitation, but were prohibited from levying the tax on admissions to any event whose gross
receipts went wholly to charitable purposes.

In 1971, the Commonwealth removed the population requirements for counties that
imposed the admissions tax and instead granted the taxing authority to Fairfax and Arlington
Counties only. Fairfax and Arlington were able to levy an admissions tax on any event but were
subject to a limitation of 10 percent of the amount charged for admission. In 1977, Prince
George County was also granted the authority to impose the admissions tax; in 1978, Dinwiddie
County was added to the list; in 1986, Roanoke County; and in 1995, Culpeper County. The
remainder were added in 1998 and 2001.

The General Assembly in 1989 expanded the classifications of events to which admission
is charged. The purpose of these classifications was to allow localities to charge different tax
rates for different types of events. The current classes are as follows:

1. Admissions charged for attendance at any event, the gross receipts of which go
wholly to charitable purpose or purposes.

2. Admissions charged for attendance at public and private elementary, secondary, and

college school-sponsored events, including events sponsored by school-recognized

student organizations.

Admissions charged for entry into museums, botanical or similar gardens, and zoos.

Admissions charged to participants in order to participate in sporting events.

All other admissions.

ok

Administering the Tax

In 2005, 16 cities, three counties, and two towns imposed the admissions tax. Dinwiddie,
New Kent and Roanoke are the only counties that utilize the tax, although a number of localities
are authorized to do so. The tax rates on admissions ranged from a low of two percent in New
Kent County to a high of 10 percent in Chesapeake, Hampton, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk and
Virginia Beach. Virginia Beach levies a lower rate, five percent, on persons participating in
certain sports (golf, tennis, bowling, swimming, roller skating, billiards, and sports fishing
boats). Roanoke City imposes a 6.5 percent admissions tax, except for events at the Civic Center
when the tax is nine percent. Culpeper and Vinton are the only towns levying an admissions tax.



ADMISSIONS TAX o 127

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, the local admissions tax generated approximately
$14.4 million for Virginia’s cities and counties (Table 1). This is an extremely small portion of
local revenue, comprising an average of 0.36 percent of total local revenue for the localities that

Table 1
City and County Admissions Tax Collections, Fiscal Year 2005

% of Total % of Total
Local Local

Locality Collections Revenue Locality Collections Revenue
Albemarle County $73,974 0.04% Norfolk $4,118,927 0.98%
Chesapeake $543,054 0.14% Petersburg $12,123 0.02%
Dinwiddie County $45,358 0.17% Portsmouth $205,601 0.13%
Falls Church $18,092 0.03% Richmond $1,195,603 0.27%
Fredericksburg $163,734 0.26% Roanoke $448,312 0.25%
Galax $18,443 0.15% Roanoke County $104,268 0.08%
Hampton $1,125,799 0.49% Salem $184,320 0.36%
Harrisonburg $164,417 0.29% Suffolk $369,995 0.32%
Lynchburg $344,161 0.27% Virginia Beach $4,595,065 0.60%
New Kent County $5,406 0.02% Winchester $115,821 0.21%

Newport News $566,599 0.18%

B TOTAL: $14,419,072

SOURCE: 2005 Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, Auditor of Public Accounts
(2005)

collect revenue from the tax, and 0.1 percent of total local revenue for all cities and counties. As
Table 1 shows, five localities generated less than $50,000 from this tax in 2005. Norfolk and
Virginia Beach collected the largest amounts of admissions tax revenue, collecting between them
over 60 percent of all revenue from the admissions tax. Despite this fact, the revenue for these
two cities comprises, on average, only 0.74 percent of their total local revenue. Culpeper and
Vinton are the only towns levying this tax, with Vinton collecting $7,215 from this source.

Comparison with Other States

Over half of the states tax admissions at the state level in a manner similar to that in
which Virginia’s localities tax admissions at the local level. Most of these states tax admissions
at the same rate, and collect the tax in the same manner, as the sales and use tax. Maryland
allows local governments to impose an admissions tax in addition to the state sales and use tax.
Ohio and Pennsylvania allow local admissions taxes only, much like the tax in Virginia.
Washington allows localities to charge a five percent admissions tax; however, admission is
exempt from the state sales and use tax if the local tax applies.’

Localities in Virginia that have the authority to impose the admissions tax may choose to
impose the tax on the admission to any type of event. Many states, however, exempt certain

! Sales Taxation of Services: 2004 Update, Federation of Tax Administrators’ Research Report.
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events from the tax. For example, some states exempt admissions to school sporting events but
tax professional events. Thirty-seven states and the District of Columbia tax admissions to
professional sporting events, but only 22 states tax school or college events. Arkansas, Arizona,
Delaware, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Montana, Nevada, New York, North Dakota, South
Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, and Washington exempt admissions to college sporting events.

Other types of events subject to an admissions tax include amusement park admissions
(taxed in 37 states), circuses and fairs (34 states), cultural events (37 states), bowling alleys (27
states), and pari-mutuel racing events (28 states). The highest rate (10 percent) is assessed in
Connecticut, Maryland and Nevada (Table 2).

Table 2:

State Admission Tax Rates on Sports Events, 2004
State Rate (%) State Rate (%)
Alabama 4 Nebraska 5.5
Arizona 5.6 Nevada 10
Arkansas 6 New Jersey 6
Connecticut 10 New Mexico 5
Delaware 0.4 New York 4.25
District of Columbia 5.75 North Carolina 3
Florida 6 North Dakota 5
Georgia 4 Oklahoma 4.5
Hawaii 4 South Carolina 5
Idaho 6 South Dakota 4
lowa 5 Tennessee 7
Kansas 5.3 Texas 6.25
Kentucky 6 Utah 4.75
Louisiana 4 Vermont 6
Maryland 10 Washington 5
Minnesota 6.5 West Virginia 6
Mississippi 7 Wisconsin 5
Missouri 4.225 Wyoming 4
Montana 5

SOURCE: Sales Taxation of Services: 2004 Update, Federation of Tax Administrators, Research
Report

Issues
Unequal Taxing Authority between Counties and Cities

The unequal taxing authority granted Virginia's cities and counties is a continuing issue
in the admissions tax area. Only 12 counties have the authority to impose a local admissions tax
of up to 10 percent under § 58.1-3818 while three other counties have the authority under their
county charter powers. Cities and towns are authorized to impose the tax under their general
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powers authority, with no rate limitation. A number of bills were introduced over the past
decade that would have, in an attempt to reduce the disparity in taxing powers between cities and
counties, authorized any county to levy cigarette, food and beverage, and admissions taxes, at
rates up to the highest rate charged by any locality. None of these bills were adopted by the
General Assembly. Although these bills failed, their introduction called attention to the disparity
in local taxing powers.

Viability as a Revenue Source

In taxing admissions to certain events, governments target a particular item and a
particular group of consumers to tax. Targeting admissions as an activity for taxation generates a
relatively insignificant amount of revenue for localities. During the fiscal year 2005, for
example, New Kent County collected $5,406, and the City of Petersburg collected $12,123. The
relative triviality of the admissions tax collections may explain why so few localities have
chosen to impose the tax. Only 16 out of 39 cities have adopted the tax. Though 15 counties
have been authorized to levy the tax, only three (Dinwiddie, New Kent and Roanoke Counties)
have implemented the tax. The local revenue generated by the admissions tax may not be
enough in some localities to cover the administrative expenses of imposing the tax.

Summary

The local admissions tax is a little-used tax that may be imposed on the admission to any
event. The tax is usually added to the price of the ticket and passed on to the consumer. Cities
and towns have the authority to impose the tax with no rate ceilings, while counties must request
authorization from the General Assembly to impose the tax. A county’s admissions tax is
subject to a rate limitation of 10 percent.

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, the admissions tax generated approximately
$14.4 million for Virginia’s cities and counties. This is an extremely small portion of local
revenue, comprising an average of only 0.36 percent of total local revenue for the localities that
impose the tax, and 0.1 percent of total local revenue for all cities and counties. Norfolk, and
Virginia Beach collected the largest amounts of admissions tax revenue, which comprised only
0.74 percent of their total local revenue.

The revenue-generating capacity of the admissions tax is minimal for most localities, and
consequently the tax is not widely used by local governments. The tax is also a subject of the
debate over the disparities in the taxing powers of cities and counties.
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Virginia's counties and cities are authorized to impose up to a one percent local sales and
use tax on a tax base identical to the tax base for the state sales and use tax. All counties and
cities have chosen to impose the local tax at the maximum rate of one percent, which means that
there is a uniform five percent state and local sales and use tax imposed throughout the
Commonwealth."! The maximum local tax rate authorized has not changed since the sales and
use tax was enacted in 1966.

There is also a special regional state sales and use tax on motor fuel of two percent of the
retail price of the fuel in all of the localities comprising the Northern Virginia Transportation
District or any transportation district contiguous to the Northern Virginia Transportation District.

! Because the state sales tax on food for human consumption has been reduced to 1.5 percent, the combined state
and local sales tax on food is 2.5 percent.



132 e GUIDETO LOCAL TAXATION

Currently, only the Potomac-Rappahannock Transportation District is contiguous to the Northern
Virginia Transportation District.> Motor fuel is one of the categories of tangible personal
property exempt from the general sales and use tax base. The tax is levied like a sales and use
tax.

History
Sales and Use Tax

The retail sales and use tax was enacted by the 1966 Session of the Virginia General
Assembly and became effective on September 1, 1966. At that time, the Commonwealth was
authorized to impose a state sales and use tax at a rate of two percent, while counties and cities
were authorized at a local rate of up to one percent. Every county and city adopted the one
percent rate. The same legislation also provided that the state rate would increase from two
percent to three percent on July 1, 1968. The sales tax was proposed by Governor Godwin in his
address to the 1966 Session of the General Assembly. The original purpose was to provide a
quality education to all of Virginia's children.

Another reason the Commonwealth adopted a sales and use tax was because by the mid
1960s approximately 15 municipalities had imposed a local sales and use tax under their charter
powers. These taxes were at varying rates and on different bases, and if any uniformity was to
be achieved, a statewide tax was needed before the number of municipalities imposing the tax
proliferated. Virginia was one of the last states to adopt a sales and use tax. In fact, only three
states have adopted the tax subsequent to Virginia, and only five states (Alaska, Delaware,
Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon) still have no state sales and use tax.

The state sales and use tax was increased to 3.5 percent by a Special Session of the
General Assembly in 1986, with the one-half percent increase earmarked for transportation
purposes. In 2004 the state sales and use tax was increased to four percent.

The local tax has remained unchanged at one percent since its inception. It should also
be noted that although the state tax rate is four percent, one-fourth of this state sales and use tax
revenue is returned to the counties and cities based on percentage of school-age population.

Motor Fuel Tax

The regional state sales and use tax on motor fuel was enacted originally in 1976 as a
permissive local sales and use tax on motor fuel. The legislation allowed the counties and cities
of any multimember transportation district in existence on January 1, 1973 (the Northern

? The localities comprising the Northern Virginia Transportation District are Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church,
Arlington County, Fairfax County, and Loudoun County. The localities comprising the Potomac-Rappahannock
Transportation District are Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, Prince William County and Stafford County.
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Virginia Transportation District), to impose a local sales tax on motor fuel sold in the district at a
rate of up to four percent of the retail sales price. The tax would be included in the pump price
of the gasoline and would be collected by the Department of Taxation. However, the legislation
stipulated that no county or city in the transportation district could impose the tax unless all the
counties and cities in the district imposed the tax. The tax was never imposed because one city
in the district refused to impose the tax. This local taxing authority expired in 1978 without the
tax ever becoming effective.

The 1980 Session of the General Assembly passed legislation imposing a state sales and
use tax of two percent on all motor fuel sold in the Northern Virginia Transportation District.
The tax was based on the retail sales price of fuel and was incorporated into the pump price. As
originally enacted, the tax was due to increase from two percent of the pump price to four
percent on July 1, 1982. However, the increase was repealed by the 1982 Session. In 1986 the
Code was amended to levy a two percent tax in any transportation district contiguous to the
Northern Virginia Transportation District. As a result, a similar two percent tax was imposed on
fuels sold within the Potomac-Rappahannock Transportation District.

Administering the Tax
Sales and Use Tax

All counties and cities impose the local-option one percent sales and use tax. For the
fiscal year ending June 30, 2005, Virginia's counties and cities collected $921.5 million of local
sales and use tax (see Table 1). Sales and use tax dealers are not allowed any compensation for
collecting the local sales and use tax (although they are compensated for collecting the state sales
and use tax revenue. The taxes are collected by the Department of Taxation and are remitted
monthly by point of collection to each county and city in the month after it is collected by the
department.

Cities received nearly $357.6 million in the last fiscal year, while counties collected
$563.8 million. The three localities collecting the largest sums from this tax in Fiscal Year 2005
were Fairfax County ($151.1 million), Henrico County ($52.8 million), and Virginia Beach
($49.3 million). Although some counties and cities received relatively small amounts of
revenue, the tax is nevertheless an important source of revenue for all counties and cities.

Although there are exceptions, generally, a town is eligible to receive from the applicable
county its proportionate share of the sales and use tax revenue collected by the county in the ratio
that the school age population of the town bears to the school age population of the entire county.
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Table 1
Local Sales and Use Tax Collections
Virginia Counties and Cities, Fiscal Year 2005

County Collections County Collections City Collections
Accomack $2,761,611 King & Queen $135,707 Alexandria $23,812,277
Albemarle $12,059,884 King William $600,521 Bedford $968,531
Alleghany $673,900 Lancaster $1,222,068 Bristol $3,546,056
Amelia $624,615 Lee $992,635 Buena Vista $341,367
Ambherst $2,261,019 Loudoun $40,440,519 Charlottesville $9,001,835
Appomattox $743,777 Louisa $1,381,918 Chesapeake $31,989,281
Arlington $30,969,494 Lunenburg $340,111 Colonial Heights $6,664,763
Augusta $4,387,914 Madison $858,730 Covington $1,548,310
Bath $862,771 Mathews $405,622 Danville $6,941,295
Bedford $2,767,094 Mecklenburg $2,641,338 Emporia $1,220,669
Bland $220,396 Middlesex $797,339 Fairfax $11,604,756
Botetourt $1,907,016 Montgomery $6,555,523 Falls Church $3,828,328
Brunswick $671,085 Nelson $884,935 Franklin $1,377,290
Buchanan $1,398,536 New Kent $847,734 Fredericksburg $11,994,065
Buckingham $468,114 Northampton $1,132,340 Galax $1,904,093
Campbell $3,310,792 Northumberland $693,279 Hampton $12,885,589
Caroline $1,105,781 Nottoway $865,181 Harrisonburg $10,739,589
Carroll $1,322,944 Orange $1,941,534 Hopewell $1,710,007
Charles City $406,928 Page $1,276,657 Lexington $646,198
Charlotte $513,808 Patrick $652,766 Lynchburg $12,221,812
Chesterfield $34,673,367 Pittsylvania $2,008,242 Manassas $6,989,980
Clarke $780,660 Powhatan $1,407,932 Manassas Park $2,032,705
Craig $115,682 Prince Edward $2,258,289 Martinsville $2,020,464
Culpeper $5,426,631 Prince George $1,091,419 Newport News $20,955,339
Cumberland $403,954 Prince William $43,857,000 Norfolk $29,497,479
Dickenson $581,664 Pulaski $2,186,449 Norton $1,497,058
Dinwiddie $930,972 Rappahannock $392,306 Petersburg $3,568,160
Essex $1,496,395 Richmond - Poquoson $446,435
Fairfax $151,104,611 Roanoke $7,377,963 Portsmouth $5,922,997
Fauquier $6,605,989 Rockbridge $2,317,974 Radford $813,064
Floyd $539,870 Rockingham $4,173,990 Richmond $26,302,099
Fluvanna $790,835 Russell $1,534,690 Roanoke $19,663,577
Franklin $3,795,054 Scott $1,175,375 Salem $5,601,846
Frederick $8,488,195 Shenandoah $2,932,417 Staunton $3,859,669
Giles $984,998 Smyth - Suffolk $6,393,278
Gloucester $3,556,343 Southampton $467,318 Virginia Beach $49,315,425
Goochland $1,761,650 Spotsylvania $12,980,307 Waynesboro $3,339,120
Grayson $475,802 Stafford $9,369,450 Williamsburg $4,219,603
Greene $882,511 Surry $408,238 Winchester $10,273,222
Greensville $326,906 Sussex $464,151

Halifax $2,589,323 Tazewell $4,057,061

Hanover $14,361,323 Warren $2,124,574

Henrico $52,849,683 Washington $5,157,082

Henry $4,076,404 Westmoreland $656,785

Highland $90,298 Wise $2,558,577

Isle of Wight $1,709,088 Wythe $3,099,274

James City $7,636,974 York $7,564,266

King George $1,103,560

B Total Counties: $563,863,903
B Virginia Total: $921,520,286

SOURCE: Comparative Report of Local Government Revenues and Expenditures, Auditor of Public Accounts,
Richmond, Virginia (2005)

B Total Cities: $357,656,383
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Items that are exempt from the state sales and use tax are also exempt from the one
percent local sales and use tax, with the exception that artificial or propane gas, firewood, coal,
or home heating oil for domestic consumption are subject to the one percent local sales and use
tax. However, cities and counties may by ordinance exempt these materials from the local one
percent sales and use tax.

Motor Fuel Tax

The local motor fuel tax for the Northern Virginia Transportation District and the
Potomac-Rappahannock Transportation District generated $41.9 million in Fiscal Year 2005
(Table 2). The tax is collected by the Department of Taxation, and the localities are charged for
the administrative expenses of collecting the tax. With respect to the Northern Virginia
Transportation District, the tax revenue must be applied to the operating deficit and debt service
of the mass transit system serving the district. In the Potomac-Rappahannock Transportation
District, the revenue can be used for any transportation purpose of the district.

Table 2

Local Sales and Use Tax Collections on Motor Fuel
Fiscal Year 2005

Northern Virginia Potomac-Rappahannock
Transportation District Transportation District

Locality Revenue Locality Revenue
Alexandria $1,991,081 Fredericksburg $1,293,971
Fairfax City $879,648 Manassas $1,111,921
Falls Church $350,627 Manassas Park $735,457
Arlington $2,811,893 Prince William $8,449,785
Fairfax County $15,836,721 Stafford $3,067,810
Loudoun $5,421,411

District Total: $27,291,380 District Total: $14,658,943

TOTAL: $41,950,323
SOURCE: Virginia Department of Taxation, 2005 Annual Report.

Recent Developments in Sales and Use Tax

The 2003 Session of the General Assembly overhauled the procedure for granting sales
and use tax exemptions to nonprofit entities. Prior to the change, exempt status for a nonprofit
entity could be established only by a member of the General Assembly filing a specific bill
requesting such, and the General Assembly passing the bill in the same manner required to pass
any law. The volume of such requests grew greatly over the years, creating a time-consuming
and tedious task for the General Assembly as well as for the nonprofit entities. In addition,
although some rough guidelines were established by the relevant standing committees, the bills
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were considered on a case-by-case basis, resulting in an exemption landscape for nonprofit
entities that was far from uniform.

As a result, the 2003 overhaul by the General Assembly replaced this legislative process
with an administrative one, whereby the Department of Taxation grants tax-exempt status to
nonprofit entities pursuant to criteria established by the General Assembly. Among the criteria
are that (i) the entity is exempt from federal income taxation pursuant to § 501 (c) (3) of the
Internal Revenue Code or is exempt as a charitable entity under § 501 (c) (4) of the Internal
Revenue Code; (i) the entity's annual general administrative costs are not greater than 40 percent
of its gross revenue; and, (iii) if the entity's revenue is above a certain threshold, the entity must
provide a financial audit.

In a series of laws passed in several sessions of the General Assembly from 1999 through
2005, the state sales tax on food for human consumption was gradually reduced. Today, the state
sales and use tax on food is 1.5 percent, which, together with the local 1 percent tax, produces a
total state and local sales and use tax of 2.5 percent. Of the 1.5 percent state tax, the revenue
attributable to the 1 percent is returned to localities based on school-age population, and the
revenue attributable to the remaining .5 percent is dedicated to the Transportation Trust Fund.

Issues
Local Tax Rate

Ever since the sales tax was adopted, the local-option tax rate has been one percent.
During the same time, the state tax rate has increased from two percent to four percent.
Legislation authorizing localities to increase their local tax rate beyond one percent has been
introduced several times in recent sessions without success. A local sales and use tax rate
increase has been mentioned as an alternative to the business, professional and occupational
license (BPOL) tax. It should be noted that not all localities would benefit equally from an
increase in the local tax rate, whether as a substitute for the BPOL tax or not. Those rural
localities with relatively few retail centers would not benefit as much as those localities with a
heavier concentration of retail centers. Those localities that do not levy a BPOL tax may benefit
to a greater degree than those that do.

Local revenues could also be increased by broadening the base of the tax. Eliminating
exemptions for certain activities, goods, or persons has been mentioned as an alternative to
increasing the local sales and use tax rate.

Table 3 lists the state and local sales taxes levied in all states. In many states the local
rate is not uniform, and Table 3 captures the highest rate actually imposed by at least one local
jurisdiction in the state.
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Table 3
Comparison of State-Local Retail Sales Taxes: July 2004
Food ltems’ Maximum Maximum
Taxable (T) State Local State/Local

State Exempt (E) Rate Rate® Rate®
Alaska 1 7.00° 7.00
Alabama T 4.00 7.00 11.00
Arizona E 5.60 4.50 10.10
Arkansas T 6.00 5.50 11.50
California E 6.25 2.65 8.90
Colorado E 2.90 7.00 9.90
Connecticut E 6.00 6.00
District of Columbia E 5.75 - 5.75
Florida E 6.00 1.50 7.50
Georgia E 4.00 3.00 7.00
Hawaii b 4.00 - 4.00
Idaho T 6.00 3.00 9.00
lllinois i 6.25 3.00 9.25
Indiana E 6.00 - 6.00
lowa E 5.00 2.00 7.00
Kansas T 5.30 3.00 8.30
Kentucky E 6.00 --- 6.00
Louisiana E* 4.00 6.25 10.25
Maine E 5.00 5.00
Maryland E 5.00 5.00
Massachusetts E 5.00 5.00
Michigan E 6.00 - 6.00
Minnesota E 6.50 1.00 7.50
Missouri 1 4.225 45 8.725
Mississippi T 7.00 0.25 7.25
North Carolina E* 4.50 3.00 7.50
North Dakota E 5.00 2.50 7.50
Nebraska E 5.50 1.50 7.00
New Jersey E 6.00 6.00
New Mexico T 5.00 2.25 7.25
Nevada E 6.50 1.00 7.50
New York E 425 4.50 8.75
Ohio E 6.00 2.00 8.00
Oklahoma T 4.50 6.00 10.50
Pennsylvania E 6.00 1.00 7.00
Rhode Island E 7.00 7.00
South Carolina T 5.00 2.00 7.00
South Dakota T 4.00 2.00 6.00
Tennessee T 7.00 2.75 9.75
Texas E 6.25 2.00 8.25
Utah T 4.75 2.25 7.00
Virginia i 4.00 1.00 5.00
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Table 3, continued

Vermont E 6.00 1.00 7.00
Washington E 6.50 2.40 8.90
Wisconsin E 5.00 0.60 5.60
West Virginia T 6.00 6.00
Wyoming T 4.00 2.00 6.00

! Food purchased for consumption off-premises.

2 Highest local rate known to be actually levied by at least one jurisdiction. Includes local taxes for general

purposes and those earmarked for specific purposes (e.g. transit). Taxes applying only to specified sales
(e.g. lodging or meals) are excluded.

® Alaskan cities and boroughs may levy local sales taxes from 1% to 6%.

* Food exempt from state tax, but subject to local taxes.

* Income tax credit allowed to offset sales tax on food.

** Food taxed at lower rate.

Source: Compiled by the Washington Department of Revenue from various sources.

The Role of the Motor Fuel Tax

Currently the sales tax on motor fuel sales is imposed only in localities belonging to two
transportation districts. The proceeds of this tax are used to finance transportation-related
projects in the 11 affected localities. Other localities with unmet transportation needs may not
impose the tax. One question raised by this tax is whether it should be imposed in other
transportation districts in Virginia to be used for transportation purposes in the applicable
transportation district.

Summary

A local sales and use tax is imposed by all cities and counties in the Commonwealth at a
rate of one percent, generating seven percent of their total locally generated revenue.

The local rate has remained at one percent since its enactment in 1966. Since that time,
the state tax rate has increased from two percent to four percent. Increasing the permitted rate of
the sales and use tax, or limiting exemptions for certain activities or materials, would allow
localities to increase revenues while reducing their reliance on property and BPOL taxes.

The two percent local sales and use tax on motor fuel is levied in two transportation
districts in Virginia.
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Infroduction

A local income tax is one the state authorizes its local governments to impose, generally
by providing for an additional tax to be added to the state’s income tax (the so-called “piggy-
back” tax)." When a local tax is authorized, the state tax-collecting agency also generally
administers, collects, and distributes the local income tax for ease of administration and for
purposes of uniformity. Only 12 states permit their localities to impose a local income tax:
Delaware, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, New York, Ohio, Oregon,
Pennsylvania, and Virginia. However, no Virginia locality has yet attempted to take advantage
of this potential revenue source. Sections 58.1-540 through 58.1-549 of the Code of Virginia

Y[1977] All States Tax Guide (P-H) § 793.
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specifically authorize certain Virginia localities to impose a local income tax if the local voters
approve the tax by a referendum.

The maximum local income tax rate in Virginia is one percent; by local option, the tax
may be imposed in lesser increments than one percent as long as such increments are stated in
one-quarter percents (i.e., 0.25 percent, 0.50 percent, or 0.75 percent). The rates in the other 11
states range from a low of 0.50 percent in Indianapolis (Marion County), Indiana, to a high of
3.20 percent in Maryland's counties. However, rate comparisons can be deceiving, because
many localities seek to tax only salaries, wages, commissions, and other income earned in the
taxing jurisdiction. Unearned income is not taxed at all in many of the other states. The states
of New York, Iowa, and Maryland allow the local income tax liability to be computed by
taking a percentage of the individual's taxable income. Baltimore imposes a rate of 3.05
percent on taxable income while Maryland counties may impose a rate of 1 percent but no more
than 3.20 percent.

Virginia is the only jurisdiction that allows the imposition of a local corporate income
tax under the label of an income tax. Many jurisdictions tax businesses under gross receipts or
gross income taxes, with various deductions, but Virginia is the only state that authorizes
localities to impose a local corporate income tax as such. Moreover, Virginia permits both
local gross receipts taxes (business, professional, and occupational license taxes, or the BPOL
tax) and the local income tax to be imposed in certain of its jurisdictions.

History

Under Dillon’s Rule and Virginia case law, cities and counties possess only those
powers expressly conferred upon them by charter or statute, or which may be necessarily or
fairly implied in or incident to powers expressly granted. Moreover, historically Virginia has
specifically prohibited the imposition of local income taxes. However, with the continuing
urbanization of Virginia and the growing need for core cities to expand their tax bases and
increase tax revenues, certain authors began to call for repealing the prohibition against
municipal income taxes.” In 1970, Senate Bill 454 provided for a local surtax, not to exceed 20
percent of the state income tax liability, to be returned to the taxpayer’s place of residence (in
the case of an individual or estate or trust) or to a corporation’s principal place of doing
business. The Senate Finance Committee rejected the effort.

In 1989 identical bills were introduced in each house of the General Assembly, and
House Bill 1684 was eventually enacted by the General Assembly and signed into law by
Governor Baliles. By virtue of the classifications written into the local income tax law, only

% Harris and Rollins, “Taxation,” 56 Va. L.Rev. 1376 (1970); McSweeney, “Local Government Law in Virginia,
1870-1970,” 4 U.Rich. L.Rev. 174 (1970).
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the Northern Virginia localities of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William Counties
and the Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park, as well as
the Cities of Norfolk and Virginia Beach, are now empowered to enact the tax. A precondition
for imposition of a local income tax is approval of the tax by the local voters by referendum.
At this time, no locality has placed the issue before the voters, and no local income tax has been
enacted by any locality.

Local Income Tax Structure

Virginia’s local income tax is a “piggy-back”™ tax based on a percentage of “Virginia
taxable income”; an additional .25 percent to 1.00 percent, on top of the state tax rate for
individuals and corporations, is authorized. Individual state rates range from 2.00 percent to
5.75 percent, and the corporate state rate is 6.00 percent. “Virginia taxable income” is a term
of art and is essentially federal adjusted gross income with Virginia adjustments. This reflects
Virginia’s policy of conformity with the Internal Revenue Code and gives the taxpayer the
benefit of certain personal exemption amounts, the standard or itemized deductions, child and
dependent care deduction, and any other additions to or subtractions from federal adjusted
gross income as may be provided by the Code of Virginia.

The tax base includes Virginia individuals who are domiciled in or residents of the
taxing locality, as well as part-year residents who may reside for 183 days or less in a locality
that imposes the tax. Residents are persons who, for an aggregate of more than 183 days in a
taxable year, maintain a place of abode in Virginia. The locality where the individual resides,
and not the locality where the income is earned, is the jurisdiction that may impose the tax. No
commuter tax or payroll or occupation tax is permitted by the local income tax law. Estates
and trusts are also subject to a local income tax if the fiduciary for such estate or trust is
domiciled in the taxing locality or maintains a place of residence or business situs within the
tax locality for more than 183 days and the estate or trust is principally administered, managed,
or controlled from the taxing authority.

Any corporation with income from sources within a taxing locality would be subject to
the tax in that locality on that portion of its income subject to state income tax, with one
additional limitation. To the extent a corporation had income from more than one locality in
Virginia, it would allocate and apportion its income among the localities using various
prescribed formulae. Additional record-keeping duties might be faced by many corporate
taxpayers.

Localities may impose a local income tax of up to one percent of Virginia taxable
income, with required adjustments as appropriate, and individuals, estates, trusts, and
corporations are all subject to the same rate of tax. The Virginia Department of Taxation
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would administer the local income tax and distribute the local income tax revenues on a
quarterly basis back to the localities in which the taxpayers reside, after deducting its
administrative costs from the distributions on a prorated basis. The local income tax would be
subject to withholding and estimated tax filing and payment requirements.

No local income tax can become effective until January 1 of the year following the
calendar year in which the ordinance adopting the tax is adopted. However, after adoption the
locality, without a referendum, may either change (increase or decrease, subject to the one
percent rate limitation) the tax rate or repeal the tax, effective the following January 1, subject
to the condition that no tax can be repealed if the local income tax “revenues are pledged or
otherwise committed to pay or secure local debt or other obligations of the locality.” In light of
the rejection by the voters of the so-called “local pledge bond” amendment to the Constitution
of Virginia (1971) in the November 1990 referendum, the meaning, effect, and continuing
viability of this last requirement is not fully known.

Finally, any local income tax levied by a locality automatically expires on a date five
years from the effective date of the tax in the locality. Furthermore, localities adopting a local
income tax must dedicate and use the revenues exclusively for “transportation purposes.”
Transportation purposes include construction, administration, operation, improvement,
maintenance, and financing of transportation facilities, a term broadly defined to include
highway systems, public transportation or mass transit systems, airports, and port facilities.
The law also requires state and local “maintenance of funding efforts”; that is, neither the
Commonwealth nor the locality is permitted to reduce its funding of local transportation
projects. The local income tax revenues are to augment previous and current transportation
funding efforts, not replace them.

Estimated Revenue Impact

Based on the Virginia Department of Taxation’s 2005 annual report, if all 11 localities
had levied a full one percent income tax effective January 1, 2003, fiscal year 2004 revenues
would have approximated $646 million (excludes revenues from local corporate income tax).
Because the tax is imposed at the locality’s option, with a range of tax rates, this amount is an
estimate of the maximum revenues that could have been generated.

The estimate of local revenues is reflected in Table 1. Fairfax County’s share of
individual income tax revenues would have been approximately 48.3 percent of the total
collected.
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Table 1
Revenue Potential from a 1 percent
Local Option Individual Income Tax

Estimated Individual

Locality Revenue in FY 2004
City
Alexandria $ 40,566,739
Fairfax $ 5,583,623
Falls Church $ 4,073,270
Manassas $ 6,591,131
Manassas Park $ 1,797.470
Norfolk $ 21,495,374
Virginia Beach $ 66,170,210
Total Cities: $ 146,277,817
County

Arlington $ 62,216,338
Fairfax $ 311,955,200
Loudoun $ 61,078,229
Prince William $ 61,481,290
Total Counties: $ 499,731,057
Total Localities: $ 646,008,874

SOURCE: Virginia Department of Taxation Annual Report, 2005.

Comparison with Other Tax Sources

Table 2 compares potential local individual income tax revenues with the real estate and
tangible personal property tax levies in the jurisdictions authorized to impose the local income
tax for the period noted.

The real estate and tangible personal property taxes are the leading revenue sources for
Virginia’s localities. However, if a local income tax were to be adopted, such a tax could
approach or exceed the tangible personal property tax in terms of collections.

Recent Developments

House Bill 1530, introduced during the 1995 Session, would have eliminated the
authorization to levy a local income tax if the voters in the locality did not approve the tax in a
referendum prior to January 1, 1997. No action was taken on this bill in committee.

There have been other bills over the last several years that would have made minor
changes, but nothing truly significant.
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Table 2
Estimated Individual Income Tax Revenue
Compared to Other Tax Sources

Estimated Income Real Property Tangible Personal
Tax Revenue Collections Property
Locality for FY 2004 2005 2005
City
Alexandria $ 40,566,739 $ 227,826,224 $ 20,539,104
Fairfax City $ 5,683,623 $ 36,257,486 $ 4,398,889
Falls Church $ 4,073,270 $ 25,757,307 $ 2,483,363
Manassas $ 6,591,131 $ 41,010,293 $ 5,618,436
Manassas Park $ 1,797,470 $ 14,541,141 $ 2,436,487
Norfolk $ 21,495,374 $ 145,781,000 $ 31,427,253
Virginia Beach $ 66,170,210 $ 375,423,810 $ 51,699,196
County

Arlington $ 62,216,338 $ 355,952,313 $ 42,339,954
Fairfax County $ 311,955,200 $ 1,637,227,420 $ 245,869,685
Loudoun $ 64,078,229 $ 422,518,209 $ 62,198,326
Prince William $ 61,481,290 $ 376,259,000 $ 47,748,000

SOURCE: Virginia Department of Taxation Annual Report, 2005 and Auditor of Public Accounts Report, 2005.

Issues
No Locality Has Imposed or Put the Tax Up in Referendum

As previously stated, no locality has imposed the local income tax. Moreover, no
locality has even adopted a proposed ordinance and put the issue to the voters in a referendum.
Although various complaints about the referendum requirement have been voiced, generally
accompanied by the statement that the local governing body should be empowered to enact a
local income tax and face the will of the voters at the next election, no bills to remove the
referendum requirement have been introduced since the original enabling legislation of 1989.
However, there are those who question whether putting tax increases on the ballot is the
appropriate purpose of representative government.

Available Only to a Limited Number of Localities

Next, although written in general language, the power to adopt local income tax
ordinances has only been granted to 11 of Virginia’s local jurisdictions. In times of fiscal
constraint and crisis for all levels of government and the continuous shifting of financial
responsibilities to smaller units of government, the question is whether the power to tax
incomes should be granted to all Virginia localities to give them the maximum flexibility
possible. Some ask, if it is good for Northern Virginia and the Cities of Norfolk and Virginia
Beach, why is it not good for all localities in the Commonwealth?
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Imposition of Payroll Taxes

Finally, many of the local income taxes permitted by other states are essentially payroll
taxes collected only from individuals. Such taxes are collected by the employer where the
income is earned, not based on where the employee-taxpayer resides. The theory is that a
payroll tax is easy to administer and that the locality where the employer is located is entitled to
additional tax revenues, not the locality where the employee-taxpayer resides. Historically,
Virginia has prohibited payroll or commuter taxes based on an urban-suburban dichotomy. As
fiscal stress facing many of Virginia’s cities continues to increase, as well as transportation
concerns, this historical reluctance to impose payroll taxes may moderate.

Summary

The local income tax, enacted in 1989, offers the potential, to the localities authorized
to enact it, to reduce the historic reliance on property taxes and to make the local tax structure
more “progressive”; that is, to impose taxes on those persons with the greatest ability to pay
them. In addition, the taxing mechanism would be easily administered, from a locality’s point
of view, while producing significant amounts of new local tax revenue. However, despite these
advantages, no locality has attempted to enact the tax.

Issues surrounding the local income tax include (i) eliminating the requirement for a
referendum before imposing the tax, (ii) extending the authorization to impose the tax from the
current 11 jurisdictions to all Virginia localities, and (iii) imposing a payroll tax in the locality
where the income is earned, rather than where the employee lives.
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Infroduction

The Constitution of Virginia requires the election of five local officials, including
a commissioner of the revenue and a treasurer. The Code of Virginia explains the process for
electing these officials, their duties, and their powers. The commissioner of the revenue and the
treasurer are primarily responsible for assessing and collecting all local taxes and some state
taxes.

In order to understand the local taxation system, it is helpful to understand how the taxes
are administered and by whom. That is the purpose of this chapter.

History

"There shall be elected by the qualified voters of each county and city a treasurer, a
sheriff, an attorney for the Commonwealth, a clerk, who shall be clerk of the court in the office
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of which deeds are recorded, and a commissioner of the revenue. The duties and compensation

of such officers shall be prescribed by general law or special act."!

These five officers are known as constitutional officers and they have existed in the
Commonwealth for more than 200 years. They first appeared in the 1776 Constitution of
Virginia with clerks, sheriffs, justices of the peace, coroners, and constables. Then in the 1851
Constitution, commissioners of the revenue were added, followed by treasurers in the 1870
Constitution.

There has been discussion from time to time about whether the local officials should be
named in the Constitution at all. The issued was settled for the time being when the Commission
on Constitutional Revision in 1969 recommended enumerating the five officers and that
recommendation became part of the 1971 Constitution of Virginia, which we still have today.

Whether such officers should be appointed or elected has also been debated throughout
the years. Those favoring appointment suggested the need for technical knowledge and skills as
well as freedom from fear or favor of the electorate. However, neither the General Assembly nor
the Commission on Constitutional Revision thought there was any advantage to abandoning the
election process for such officials.?

Local Tax Officials
Commissioner of the Revenue

The commissioner's job is comparable to that of the state Tax Commissioner, only on a
more limited basis. His jurisdiction is in the county or city in which he is elected. One of the
commissioner's main duties is to ascertain and assess all subjects of taxation located in his
county or city on the first day of January every year. The taxes for which he is specifically
responsible are those taxes imposed only by localities, which include taxes on real property,
tangible personal property, machinery and tools, merchants' capital, and business licenses
(BPOL).? In doing so, the commissioner is required to provide in writing to the taxpayer (i) the
assessment amount with property description; (ii) the valuation method used; (iii) the due date
for the taxes; and (iv) a description of the procedures and records required in case the taxpayer
decides to appeal the assessment.

' Article VII, § 4, Constitution of Virginia (1971).

2 A. E. Dick Howard, Commentaries on the Constitution of Virginia, Vol. II (Charlottesville: University Press of
Virginia, 1974), pp.827-828.

3 There are other local taxes that are collected by someone other than the commissioner. They include the
recordation tax and tax on wills and administration, which are collected by the Clerk of the circuit court, and the
consumer utility tax, admissions tax, transient occupancy tax, and meals tax, which are paid by the consumer and
collected by a third party business, which then remits them to the locality.
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Another major duty of the commissioner of the revenue is to obtain completed tax returns
from all taxpayers residing in his jurisdiction for all taxes assessed by the commissioner. It is
also the commissioner's duty to assist taxpayers in preparing tax returns and to advertise when
and where taxpayers may receive such assistance. Such returns include state income tax returns
as well as returns for numerous local taxes (i.e. BPOL, personal property, real property,
merchants' capital, machinery and tools, admissions, and transient occupancy).

The commissioner is responsible for maintaining the personal property tax books as well
as the land books. These are records containing information on the personal property and real
property, respectively, located within the commissioner's county or city. Such information
includes the owner's name, the property's assessed value and address of its location, and the
amount of taxes levied on such property. The original copy of the personal property book is kept
by the commissioner with a second copy sent to the treasurer. If the Department of Taxation
requests a copy of the book, it is also sent there.

Commissioners of the revenue are the first avenue of appeal for both individual and
business taxpayers who do not agree with an assessment or the amount of tax levied. With regard
to personal property, individuals may appeal their assessment to the commissioner and then to
the local circuit court. Real estate is a little different in that the individual begins with the local
commissioner of the revenue or assessor, then proceeds to the board of equalization and finally,
the circuit court (or the taxpayer may choose to go directly to the court, bypassing the
commissioner and the board of equalization).

Section 58.1-3983.1 of the Code explains the appeals and rulings process for local
business taxes. In brief, businesses must first appeal to the local commissioner of the revenue
who must respond within 90 days. If the business taxpayer is still not satisfied, he may next
appeal to the State Tax Commissioner. If the Tax Commissioner determines he has jurisdiction
in the case, he has 90 days to issue a final determination unless he notifies the taxpayer and
commissioner of the revenue that he needs a longer period of time, which shall not exceed an
additional 60 days. Once the Tax Commissioner issues a final determination in the matter, the
taxpayer or commissioner of the revenue, if not satisfied, may then apply to the circuit court for
judicial review.

Treasurer

The primary task of the treasurer” is to receive the revenues, levies and other amounts
payable into the treasury of the locality in which he was elected and to disburse moneys in
accordance with the Code of Virginia. In addition, the treasurer maintains correct accounts of all

* The term "treasurer” also includes the director of finance or other local official who performs the same duties
described in the Code of Virginia as the treasurer does.
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the moneys he receives and disburses. Within the parameters of the secrecy of information
provisions of § 58.1-3, he also must keep all books, papers and moneys related to his job ready
to be inspected by his locality's Commonwealth's Attorney or governing body or any taxpayer in
his locality. In carrying out these duties, the treasurer may summons anyone to his office to
answer questions, under oath, about tax liabilities.

The local treasurer must maintain a warrant book showing all legally drawn warrants
presented for payment, including the amount, number, in whose favor the warrant is drawn, and
the date it was issued. When paying any lawfully drawn warrants, he may first deduct all taxes
and other charges due from the person receiving the warrant and if the amount of taxes exceeds
the warrant amount, then he must credit the bill for the taxes by the amount of the warrant. As
often as the local governing body requires, he must provide a statement of accounts showing the
receipts and expenditures for which he is responsible. In short, the local treasurer is his locality's
bookkeeper/accountant.

Recent Developments
Set-Off Debt Collection

Counties, cities, and towns are authorized to collect delinquent local taxes and other debts
through participation in the setoff debt collection program administered by the Department of
Taxation. Under the program, the Department will forward the amount of any state income tax
refund otherwise owed to the debtor to the respective county, city, or town for payment on any
delinquent local tax or debt. Upon receipt of such amount, the locality will then reduce the
delinquent debt accordingly.

A county, city, or town wishing to participate in the Department's program must notify
the Department of its intent and must furnish information identifying the debtor whose state
income tax refund is being sought. If a state income tax refund to the debtor is pending, the
Department will notify the county, city, or town. Within 10 days of the Department's notice, the
locality must provide written notice to the debtor informing him of the locality's intent to apply
the tax refund to the outstanding delinquent debt. The debtor may preserve his right to appeal
the locality's action by giving written notice to the locality, within thirty days of the locality's
notice, of his intent to appeal.

Officials of the local government will hear the taxpayer's appeal. The scope of the appeal
hearing is limited to determining whether the delinquent local debt is due and owing to the
locality, and shall not address the underlying basis of the debt obligation. No action in regard to
the refund shall be taken by the Department of Taxation while an appeal is pending. The
taxpayer may appeal the locality's final determination to the appropriate circuit court.
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For the 2003 taxable year, counties, cities, and towns received a total of $10.5 million
otherwise owed as refunds to income tax filers, which was used for payment on delinquent local
taxes and other local debts.

Issue
Commissioner's Role in Collecting State Tax Returns

From time to time, the commissioners of the revenue strive to become more involved in
assisting with the preparation and collection of state income tax returns. Currently, § 58.1-305
requires the local commissioner of the revenue to obtain income tax returns from every
individual or fiduciary in his jurisdiction if they have not filed the returns with the Department of
Taxation. Once the local commissioner has audited the returns and completed the proper
assessment sheets and forms, he must forward such returns to the Department. Because the
majority of taxpayers do file with the Department of Taxation, organizations representing the
commissioners of the revenue have sought legislation requiring individuals and fiduciaries to file
income tax returns only with local commissioners of the revenue. Thus far, their legislation has
not been successful.

Summary

Commissioners of the revenue and treasurers are vital officials in local government. Both
have been part of local government, by way of the Constitution of Virginia, for more than 130
years and are elected by the residents of the locality in which they serve. The role each of them
plays in the assessment, levy and collection of taxes and other revenues on behalf of the
Commonwealth and their respective localities is essential to the unhindered operation of
government.

Commissioners of the revenue assess and levy taxes on personal property, real property,
business licenses, merchants' capital, and machinery and tools. They also assist taxpayers in the
preparation of state income tax returns, which they may collect on behalf of the State Tax
Commissioner. It is the responsibility of the commissioner of the revenue to keep the land book
and the personal property book that contain assessed values, taxes levied, taxpayer/owner names
and addresses, and location of the taxable property.

The local treasurer is the locality's bookkeeper/accountant. He collects the actual tax
payments for most local taxes and payments, records them, and disburses payments by way of
warrants on behalf of the locality. He and the commissioner of the revenue work closely
together in managing local government tax revenues and other payments, such as disbursements
of state and federal funds to the localities.
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Another method of collecting local tax revenues is through participation in the set-off
debt collection program administered by the Department of Taxation. The commissioner of the
revenue sends delinquent taxpayer information to the Department and if the delinquent taxpayer
is entitled to receive a state income tax refund, the Department will notify the commissioner of
the revenue and the refund amount equal to the local tax liability will be sent to the locality,

pending any appeal the taxpayer may file.



	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	



