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Federal Tied-House Laws 
 

Federal Law 

• Prohibits unlawful 
inducements including: 
– Interest in a retail license or 

retail property 

– Furnishing things of value 

• e.g. Free warehousing 

– Cooperative advertising 

– Renting display space 

• e.g. Slotting fees 

Virginia Law 

• §4.1-215 

• §4.1-216 

• VAC 5-30-30 



Control States 2018 



In 1934, Virginia adopted a combination monopoly and license system, thus 
becoming a control state, and the Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control was born. 

Virginia ABC was born 



• Licenses have existed since the origination of the 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Act and the creation of 
Virginia ABC in 1934. 

• The 10 original licenses have grown to over 100 
different license types 

• Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia establishes license 
and fees 

Alcohol Licenses 



• There are three primary license type subject areas: 

– Retail licenses 
• Currently 68 privilege combinations 

– Producer/Wholesaler licenses 
• Currently 75 privilege combinations 

– Permits 
• §4.1-212 lists 18 permits 

– Only 6 provide for fees to be assessed 

Alcohol Licenses 
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• The highest volume retail licenses: 

Alcohol Licenses 

License Privilege Active Licensees License Fee 

Wine & Beer Off 
Premises 

5,731 $230 

Wine & Beer On 
Premise 

5,538 $300 

Mixed Beverage 
Restaurant (Seating – 
over 150 seats) 

2,163 $1,430 

Mixed Beverage 
Restaurant (Seating – 
1 to 100 seats) 

1,855 $560 

Wine & Beer On and 
Off Premises 

1,617 $600 

*Licensee count as of April 2018 



• At the other end of the spectrum there are a number 
of “boutique” licenses with only 1 or 2 licensees 

Alcohol Licenses 

License Type Active Licensees 

Historic Cinema House 0 

Canal Boat Operator 0 

Annual MB Banquet License 0 

Commercial Lifestyle Center 1 

Meal Assembly Kitchen 1 

Gourmet Oyster House 1 

Equine Sporting Event 1 

Annual MB Motor Sports Racing Track 1 

Annual MB Motor Sports Facility (NASCAR) 2 

Hospital 2 

*Licensee count as of April 2018 



• The General Assembly and Virginia ABC see multiple 
bills each year relating to new license types and 
expansion of existing privileges 

 

New Alcohol Licenses 

Year # Bills 
Introduced 

# Bills 
Approved 

Total # New Licenses Added 

2018 15 5 2 new; 2 expansion of existing 
licenses 

2017 13 7 2 new; 3 expansion of existing 
licenses 

2016 9 3 1 new; 2 expansion of existing 
licenses 

2015 8 3 2 new; 1 expansion of existing license 

2014 6 3 2 new; 1 expansion of existing license 



“Dry” Map – After Nov. 5, 1968 

• “Dry” means the counties that do not permit the consumption of liquor by the drink. 
• Exceptions may exist for towns or supervisor’s election districts within certain county borders 



“Dry” Map – June 30, 1990 

• “Dry” means the counties that do not permit the consumption of liquor by the drink. 
• Exceptions may exist for towns or supervisor’s election districts within certain county borders 



“Dry” Map – Current Day 

• “Dry” means the counties that do not permit the consumption of liquor by the drink. 
• Exceptions may exist for towns or supervisor’s election districts within certain county borders 



Exceptions to Mixed Beverage Referendum 

• § 4.1-126 of the Code of Virginia carves out exceptions to the 
previous maps by bypassing the referendum requirement 
– There are currently 30 exceptions defined in §4.1-126  

– Examples: 
• (viii) at an altitude of 2,645 feet or more above sea level on land containing at least 

750 acres used for recreational purposes and located within two and one-half miles 
of the Blue Ridge Parkway 

• (xi) property consisting of at least 10,000 acres and operated as a resort located in 
any county with a population between 19,200 and 19,500 

• (xviii) on property within the boundary of any town incorporated in 1875 located 
adjacent to the intersection of Interstate 81 and Route 91 

• (xxiv) on property located within 1,500 feet of Exit 26 on Interstate 81 

• (xxvi)  on property within the boundary of any town incorporated in 1894 consisting 
of 1.9 square miles and, prior to the town's incorporation, known as Guest Station 

• (xxx) on property located on State Route 685 approximately 1,600 feet east of the 
intersection of State Routes 652 and 685;  



Exceptions to Mixed Beverage Referendum 

• The General Assembly and Virginia ABC see multiple bills each 
year relating to these exceptions 

Year # Bills 
Introduced 

# Bills 
Approved 

Total # Exceptions Added 

2018 1 1 Expanded existing exception 

2017 3 3 3 new; 1 expansion of existing 
exception 

2016 1 1 1 new 

2015 1 1 4 new 

2014 1 1 3 new 



Mixed Beverage Ratio 
• Based on National Alcoholic Beverage Control Association (NABCA) 

research, 9 of 18 control jurisdictions (including VA) have a ratio and 
12 of 20 open states who reported information have a ratio of some 
sort. 
 

• Ratio implementation varies greatly 
– UT: Must have food sales equal to 70% of total combined sales 
– NH: Required to do 50% in food sales, unless they sell $75,000 

in food during the licensing year 
– PA: No provision specific to food vs. alcohol sale ratio, however, 

the Liquor Code defines a "restaurant" as a reputable place 
which is principally used for the purpose of providing food for 
the public 

– NC: Food sales must be 30% of total sales 



• Since the local option was 
passed in 1968, a food ratio 
has existed but has been 
modified over the years 

Mixed Beverage: Food Ratio 



• 1968 - “Whiskey Bill” passes; Permits localities 
to vote on whether they wish to offer liquor-by-
the drink; 51% food to 49% alcohol 

• 1980 – The 45% food to 55% alcohol ratio was 
created 

• 1990 – Beer and wine were excluded from the 
ratio. New ratio is 45% food to 55% mixed 
beverages 

• 2016 – ABC updated definition of “meals” 
• 2017 – HB 1216 clarified food requirement 

 

Mixed Beverage: Food Ratio 



Current State 

• The Mixed Beverage 
Annual Review (MBAR) 
is the annual reporting 
of mixed beverage and 
food sales by mixed 
beverage licensees 

• The report is due within 
30 days after the end of 
the mixed beverage 
license year 

• In FY2017, 4,866 
MBARs were reviewed 
 
 



MBAR Schedule of Penalties 
Established by SB 1349 Study (2013) 

• For a ratio of 44% or higher (up to 45%): Written 
Warning 

• For a ratio of greater than 30%, but less than 44% 
– 1st offense: 30 day suspension lifted at the end of 15 

days upon payment of $1,000 
– 2nd offense: 60 day suspension lifted at the end of 30 

days upon payment of $2,000 
– 3rd offense: Revocation of license 

• For a ratio of 30% or less: Revocation of license 
• Fraudulent MBAR reports: Revocation of license 



Operational Stats 

Fiscal Year Food Ratio < 45% 

FY 2013 66 

FY 2014 61 

FY 2015 52 

FY 2016 34 

FY 2017 44 

Total 318 

• Of the roughly 4,500 – 4,900 mixed beverage 
licensees, approximately 1% have fallen below the 
required ratio each of the last five fiscal years. 



Operational Stats 

• At least 90% of mixed beverage licensees average 
monthly food sales above $10,000. 

 Licenses Subject to Ratio # of Active 
Licenses 

% of Total 
Licenses 

Mixed Beverage Restaurant  
(Seating Capacity: 1-100 seats) 

1,855 9% 

Mixed Beverage Restaurant  
(Seating Capacity: 101-150 seats) 

960 5% 

Mixed Beverage Restaurant  
(Seating Capacity: 151+ seats) 

2,163 10% 

Mixed Beverage Caterer 185 1% 

Mixed Beverage Caterer Limited 75 0% 

Total 5,238 25% 

*Licensee count as of April 2018 



Operational Stats 

• 38 licenses have been revoked over the past 5 fiscal 
years as a result of MBAR infractions 

• A little over one-third of cases heard are related to 
MBARs 

• Late MBARs are the #2 most filed annual charge 

– The only charge filed more often is underage buyer (UAB) 

• Annual time spent on MBAR issues in the 
Hearings and Enforcement divisions is 
equivalent to 10,400 man hours 

 



Past Ratio Bill Efforts 
• 12 “ratio” bills have been introduced in the past 5 General 

Assembly sessions 
– 2009 – 2013: No “ratio” bills 
– 2014: 2 “ratio” bills 

• SB 502 (Favola & Ebbin) and SB 642 (McEachin) 

– 2015:  2 “ratio” bills 
• HB 1814 (DeSteph) and HB 1815 (DeSteph) 

– 2016: 5 “ratio” bills and MBAR Study by joint subcommittee 
• HB 171 (Albo), HB 219 (Taylor), SB 373 (Ebbin), SB 488 (DeSteph), SB 

486 (DeSteph) 

– 2017: 2 “ratio” bills 
• SB 970 (DeSteph) and SB 1161 (Reeves) 

– 2018: 1 “ratio” bill 
• SB 773 (DeSteph) 

 
 
 



2016 Joint Subcommittee MBAR Study 
• A joint subcommittee studying the MBAR issue in Summer 2016 

were presented with 11 options: 
 

1. Food required to be sold any time alcohol is sold ***included in 
all options** 

2. Maintain status quo 
3. Maintain current ratio, but give ABC discretion, upon petition by 

licensee to craft alternatives for those who can’t/don’t meet 
ratio 

4. Current ratio, but based on “purchase” vs. “sale” price 
5. Lower current ratio 
6. Set minimum food sale requirement ($4,000 - $10,000) 

WITHOUT ANY RATIO 
 

 
 

 

 



2016 Joint Subcommittee MBAR Study 
6a. Set minimum food sale requirement ($4,000 - $10,000)  
 WITH CURRENT RATIO 
6b. Set minimum food sale requirement ($4,000 - $10,000)    
 WITH LOWER RATIO 
7. Establish a tiered minimum food sale requirement based 

on Certificate of Occupancy (CO) for establishment 
8. Create a new MB “tavern” or “entertainment” license 

(separate and distinct from MB restaurants and caterers 
subject to ratio) 

9. Establish tiered annual license tax based on food sales 
10. Set ratio based on proof-gallon 
11. Enter into MOU with Dept of Taxation to verify sales 
 

 
 

 



2016 Joint Subcommittee MBAR Study 

• A 2016 study of the MBAR issue did not reach a 
final decision (split vote) however the final option 
discussed by the committee: 
– Licensees with monthly food sales less than $10,000 

($120,000 annually) must meet or exceed  a 35% ratio 

– No ratio will be required for licensees with monthly 
food sales of at least $10,000 or $120,000 annually.   

– Food that is cooked and prepared on the premises and 
consumed on the premises must be available at all 
times when alcoholic beverages are served by such 
licensees. 

 



Food Research 
Much research has been done on the metabolism, absorption and 
distribution of alcohol in the body and what factors impact these 
processes.  Gender, age, race, food, biological rhythms, exercise, body 
type, expectations, fatigue and drugs/medication all impact the body’s 
processing of alcohol.  The research below explain the impact of food 
consumption on Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC). 
 

– Meals high in fat, protein and carbohydrates impact BAC and elimination 
of alcohol from the blood was shortened by 1 to 2 hours when food was 
consumed. 

 
– Strength of Drink 

• Highest absorption rates occur when alcohol content is between 10% and 30% 
• Alcohol content less than 10% and the slower the body processes the alcohol, then 

the slower absorption rate 

 



Recap of Major Issues 

• Disparity in licenses 

• Wet/Dry 

• MBAR 

 


