## JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING RISK MANAGEMENT PLANS FOR PHYSICIANS AND HOSPITALS SB 601 (2004) http://dls.state.va.us/SB601.HTM Monday, October 25, 2004, 1:00 p.m. Senate Room A, General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

# **Proposed Agenda**

### 1. Call to Order

- 2. Opening Remarks of Chairman
- 3. Virginia Association of Defense Attorneys (1:15-2:00 p.m.)
  - Bevin R. Alexander, Jr. Esq., Freeman, Dunn, Alexander, Yeatts & Tiller, P.C., Lynchburg
  - Marshall H. Ross, Wharton Aldhizer & Weaver PLC, Harrisonburg
  - Glen A. Huff, Huff, Poole & Mahoney, P.C., Virginia Beach
  - Representative of Goodman, Allen & Filetti, Richmond
- 4. Virginia Hospital Association (2:00 p.m.-2:45 p.m.)
  - Mark Cain, Consulting Actuary, FAS, MAAA, MBA, IRMS Actuarial Services, Chicago, Illinois
  - Carlyle "Randy" Wimbish, III, Esq., Sands Anderson, Marks and Miller, P.C. Richmond
  - Shannon E. Sinclair, Esq., Vice-President and General Counsel, Inova Health System, Fairfax

5. Insurance and mutual companies offering medical malpractice insurance in the Commonwealth. (2:45 p.m. - 3:15 p.m. Presentations, 3:15 p.m.-3:45 p.m. questions)

- R. Ray Pate, Jr., President and C.E.O., NCRIC, Inc., Washington D.C.
- Robert Boren, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer, State Volunteer Mutual Insurance Co., Brentwood, Tennessee.
- 6. Virginia Association of Independent Insurance Agents. (3:45 p.m.-4:30 p.m.)
  - Robert N. Bradshaw, MAM, Executive Vice-President, Independent Insurance Agents of Virginia, Richmond
  - Thomas P. Cox, ARM, Vice-President, PhillipsCox Insurance and Financial Services, Glen Allen

-over-

- 7. State Corporation Commission (4:30 p.m.-4:50 p.m.)
  - Glen Watkins, Economist, Technical Associates, Inc., Richmond
  - Scott Lefkowitz, Consulting Actuary, Mercer Oliver Wyman Actuarial Consulting, Inc
  - Eric Lowe, Supervisor, Property & Casualty Research Section, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission
- 8. Discussion of Agenda Items for Next Meeting (November 1, 2004)
- 9. Other Business
- 10. Adjournment

### Members

Senator Stephen D. Newman, Chairman Senator Kenneth W. Stolle Senator Thomas K. Norment, Jr. Delegate Clifford L. Athey, Jr., Vice-chairman Delegate David B. Albo Delegate William R. Janis Delegate Kenneth R. Melvin

#### Staff

Jescey French and Franklin D. Munyan, Division of Legislative Service Patty Lung, Senate Clerk's Office