

Joint Subcommittee to Study Pandemic Response and Preparedness

May 6, 2024, at 10:00 a.m.

Senate Room B, Room 306, General Assembly Building

https://dls.virginia.gov/interim_studies

The Joint Subcommittee to Study Pandemic Response and Preparedness (the Joint Subcommittee) met in Richmond with Senator Scott A. Surovell, co-chair, presiding. The meeting began with introductions and opening remarks followed by the election of co-chairs, presentations, subcommittee assignments, and discussion. Materials presented at the meeting are accessible through the *Joint Subcommittee's meetings webpage*.

Election of Co-chairs

Due to the restructuring of the Joint Subcommittee, members were tasked with electing co-chairs from among their membership. The Joint Subcommittee unanimously elected Senator Surovell and Delegate Candi Mundon King as co-chairs after a brief interjection from Senator David R. Suetterlein, who said that he believed bipartisan leadership would be more beneficial to the Joint Subcommittee.

Pandemic Response and Preparedness Study Update

Amigo Wade, Director, Division of Legislative Services

Mr. Wade provided an update on the pandemic response and preparedness study, including previous actions taken by the Joint Subcommittee. He reiterated the deadline for the after-action report and explained that a new deadline of December 1, 2024, was anticipated with the expected passage of HB 6001 (Torian, 2024 Special Session I).

Presentation and Discussion: After-Action Review and Services Status Update

Michelle Burnett, Assistant Vice President, Resilience, Mitigation and Policy, Tidal Basin Government Consulting (Tidal Basin), LLC

Ms. Burnett provided the Joint Subcommittee with an overview of Tidal Basin's progress on the Joint Subcommittee's tasked study. She explained that it has completed part of phase one of the provided project tasks and deliverables and is currently working on phase two. In phase two, Tidal Basin has completed the documentation gathering period and is currently deploying surveys, conducting interviews with key leaders and stakeholders, and analyzing obtained data. Ms. Burnett outlined next steps for the Joint Subcommittee's study, which include developing a draft outline of the after-action report for the Joint Subcommittee's approval.

¹ **Members Present:** Senator Scott A. Surovell (co-chair), Delegate Candi Mundon King (co-chair), Senator Barbara A. Favola (virtual), Senator Ghazala F. Hashmi, Senator David R. Suetterlein, Delegate Debra D. Gardner, Delegate Richard C. "Rip" Sullivan, Jr., the Honorable Terrance Cole, the Honorable Stephen E. Cummings, Katelyn Deel, the Honorable Karl R. Hade, the Honorable S. Chris Jones, Dr. Heather Jones, the Honorable John Littel, Lisa Lucas-Burke, the Honorable Martha Mugler, Jennifer W. Siciliano

Members Absent: Delegate Irene Shin, Delegate Mark D. Sickles, Delegate Michael J. Webert, Tara Dickerson-Anderson, Jacqueline Grice, the Honorable Aimee Rogstad Guidera, the Honorable Caren Merrick

Joint Subcommittee members inquired about the stakeholder groups that have been identified, surveyed, and interviewed as well as what other states have done and are doing related to pandemic response and preparedness. Ms. Burnett stated that Tidal Basin will provide a list of the stakeholder groups and affiliations it has received and added that the practices from other states will automatically apply to its final recommendations due to the information it has taken away from other studies.

Subcommittee Assignments

The Joint Subcommittee welcomed 11 new members. With this change in membership, Mr. Wade provided an outline of the Joint Subcommittee's subcommittee structure and membership, including the vacancies within each subcommittee. The membership of the subcommittees was updated and adopted as follows:

- Government and Regulatory Systems Subcommittee: Senator Surovell; Delegate Richard C. "Rip" Sullivan, Jr.; Delegate Michael J. Webert; the Honorable Stephen E. Cummings, Secretary of Finance; Jacqueline Grice; the Honorable Karl R. Hade, Executive Secretary, Supreme Court of Virginia; Lisa Lucas-Burke; the Honorable Caren Merrick, Secretary of Commerce and Trade; the Honorable Martha Mugler
- Health Care Systems and Emergency Management Subcommittee: Senator Barbara A. Favola; Delegate Debra D. Gardner; Delegate Mark D. Sickles; the Honorable Terrance Cole, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security; the Honorable S. Chris Jones; Dr. Heather Jones; the Honorable John Littel, Secretary of Health and Human Resources; Jennifer W. Siciliano.
- Education Subcommittee: Senator Ghazala F. Hashmi; Senator David R. Suetterlein; Delegate Mundon King; Delegate Irene Shin; Katelyn Deel; Tara Dickerson-Anderson; the Honorable Aimee Rogstad Guidera, Secretary of Education

Public Comment

The Joint Subcommittee received comment from 22 members of the public.

Next Meeting

Senator Surovell directed staff to poll members for the next meeting of the Joint Subcommittee.

For more information, see the *Joint Subcommittee's website* or contact the Division of Legislative Services staff:

Amigo Wade, Director, DLS awade@dls.virginia.gov 804-698-1810

Lauren Waller, Program Administrator lwaller@dls.virginia.gov 804-698-1810