

Virginia Commission to End Hunger

June 17, 2025, at 10:00 a.m.
Virtual Meeting

https://studies.virginiageneralassembly.gov/studies/682

The Virginia Commission to End Hunger (the Commission) met virtually with Delegate Marcia S. "Cia" Price, chair, presiding. The meeting began with introductions and opening remarks followed by presentations and discussion. Materials presented at the meeting are accessible through the *Commission's meetings webpage*.

Presentation: How Proposed SNAP Cuts Would Hurt Virginia

Kyle Ross, Policy Analyst, Center for American Progress

Mr. Ross provided an overview of federal funding cuts and their impact on communities, businesses, state budgets, economic growth, families, seniors, and other groups previously protected under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). Mr. Ross responded to questions from the Commission regarding the federal reconciliation proposal, which contains significant cuts to SNAP, and explained that the House and the Senate versions of the bill contain different error rates.

Presentation: Virginia Food Access Coalition Handout

Eddie Oliver, Executive Director, Federation of Virginia Food Banks

Mr. Oliver reviewed a handout from the Virginia Food Access Coalition on the impact of federal grant cuts on food access programs in Virginia. Commissioner Oliver discussed the impact of funding loss on SNAP, food banks, federal agency agreements managed by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS), federal programs administered outside of VDACS, and state-funded programs.

Member Discussion

Delegate Price informed the Commission that the budget is being reviewed for options regarding holding meetings in locations outside of Richmond.

Members Absent: Senator Christie New Craig, Senator Stella G. Pekarsky, Susan Bouchard Murray, Ipyana A. Spencer, Terriel Williams-Ford

¹ **Members Present:** Delegate Marcia S. "Cia" Price (chair), Senator Danica A. Roem (vice-chair), Delegate Bonita G. Anthony, Delegate Rae C. Cousins, Delegate David L. Owen, Delegate Kimberly A. Taylor, Rickeya Feggans, Pamela S. Irvine, Vivica I. Kraak, Jennifer Montgomery, Eddie Oliver, Robin Robbins, Andria D. Timmer

For more information, see the **Commission's website** or contact the Division of Legislative Services staff:

Chandler Brooks, Staff Attorney, DLS cbrooks@dls.virginia.gov 804-698-1843

Hannah Yates, Staff Attorney, DLS hyates@dls.virginia.gov 804-698-1873