

## Joint Commission on Technology and Science

September 4, 2024, at 4:00 p.m.

General Assembly Building, House Room B-205

http://dls.virginia.gov/commissions/jcots/jcots.htm

The Joint Commission on Technology and Science (the Joint Commission) met in Richmond with Delegate C.E. Cliff Hayes, Jr., chair, presiding. The meeting began with introductions and opening remarks. Materials presented at the meeting are accessible through the <u>Joint</u> Commission's meetings webpage.

## **Executive Director Hiring Process Update**

Pursuant to §2.2-3711(A) (1) of the Code of Virginia, the Joint Commission entered into a closed session to hear and discuss the recommendations from the Executive Hiring Panel, receive an update on the Executive Director Hiring Process, and discuss prospective candidates for employment.

After the Joint Commission deliberated, they reconvened out of the closed session, certifying that only public business matters lawfully exempted from the open meeting requirements of FOIA and only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed, or considered in the meeting by the public body. \

The Joint Commission certified the hiring of the recommended candidate for Executive Director of the Joint Commission.

## **Next Meeting**

The next meeting of the Joint Commission is scheduled for September 19, 2024, at 2:00 p.m. in House Room B-205 of the General Assembly Building.

For more information, see the *Joint Commission's website* or contact the Division of Legislative Services staff:

Nikhil Edward, Attorney, DLS nedward@dls.virginia.gov 804-698-1865

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> **Members Present:** Delegate C.E. Cliff Hayes, Jr. (chair), Senator Adam P. Ebbin (vice-chair), Senator Christie New Craig, Senator Barbara A. Favola, Senator Ghazala F. Hashmi, Delegate Bonita G. Anthony, Delegate Michelle Lopes Maldonado, Delegate David A. Reid

**Members Absent:** Senator Lashrecse D. Aird, Delegate Mike A. Cherry, Delegate Anne Ferrell Tata, Delegate Michael J. Webert