Virginia Commission on Energy and Environment

Tuesday, September 9, 2008, 10:00 a.m. Senate Room B General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

Agenda

I.	Welcome & Call to Order
	Senator Mary Margaret Whipple, Chairman
II.	Current State Approaches to Energy Insecurity
	Existing Law and Policy in the Commonwealth Ellen Porter, Division of Legislative Services
	Innovative Energy Programs in other States
	Patrick Cushing, Division of Legislative Services
III.	Virginia Energy Plan; Update on Implementation
	Tommy Thompson, Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy
IV.	Pushing Technology
	Virginia Coastal Energy Research Consortium Dr. Patrick G. Hatcher, Executive Director and Batten Endowed Chair of Physical Sciences, Old Dominion University
	Virginia Center for Coal and Energy Research Dr. Michael Karmis, Stonie Barker Professor, Department of Mining and Minerals Engineering, Virginia Tech
V.	Break
VI.	A National Response
	Business Sustainability: 21st Century Leadership Kelly Hobbs, Wal-Mart Public Affairs & Government Relations
	Energy and National Security: Issues and Opportunities Hugh E. Montgomery, Jr., Institute for Defense and Homeland Security
	Rural Energy for America Program (REAP) Ellen Matthews Davis, U.S. Department of Agriculture

Public Comment VII.

I.

Members

The Honorable Mary Margaret Whipple, Chair The Honorable J. Chapman Petersen The Honorable Richard H. Stuart The Honorable Samuel A. Nixon, Jr. The Honorable Clarke N. Hogan The Honorable Charles D. Poindexter The Honorable Joseph P. Johnson, Jr. The Honorable Mark D. Sickles Mr. Patrick G. Hatcher Ms. Karen Kennedy Schultz Mr. Hugh E. Montgomery, Jr. Mr. August Wallmeyer Mr. Arlen K. Bolstad Mr. David K. Paylor, *ex officio* Mr. Stephen A. Walz, *ex officio*

Staff

Ellen Porter, Division of Legislative Services, 786-3591 Patrick Cushing, Division of Legislative Services, 786-3591 Patty Lung, Senate Committee Operations, 698-7450