Division of Legislative Services > Legislative Record > 2007

Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Awards Committee

November 1, 2007

The Brown Committee met in work session on November 1, 2007, to review approved disbursements and the Scholarship Fund, receive the report of the Counseling and Technical Advisory Subcommittee, and consider the proposed legislation and the application packet for the 2008-2009 academic year.


Nearly 200 inquiries have been made this year concerning the scholarship program, of which an increasing number are made by high school and college students, parents, and guidance counselors. However, of this number the Committee has approved 44 persons for scholarships of which 29 awards have been disbursed to approved education programs on behalf of scholarship recipients for the 2007-2008 academic year. Brown scholars are enrolled in GED and adult high school diploma programs, community colleges, and public and private institutions of higher education in Virginia. Some of the scholarship recipients will begin their studies during the spring 2008 term. In May 2008, eight additional Brown scholars will receive their baccalaureate degrees, and several others will complete non-degree educational programs.


The Committee was advised that disbursements from the Fund total $385,674 for 2005 through 2008. A lengthy discussion ensued concerning the $1 million gift in aid that was pledged in 2004 and has not yet been received. Suggestions were offered regarding the most appropriate and efficacious way to ensure receipt of the funds. The Committee agreed that the Chairman would communicate with the donor directly to request the release of the contribution.


Delegate Roslyn Dance, chairwoman of the Advisory Subcommittee, reported the Subcommittee’s findings and recommendations regarding the proposed Action Plan. The Committee amended the Policies further to provide that the Brown scholarship funds will be applied to a student’s account after all other financial aid has been applied. The effect of making the Brown scholarship the “last dollar,” award may, in some instances, reduce the amount of the award. However, because the promised contribution of $1 million has not been received, this procedure will enable the Committee to ensure a reservoir of funds to meet the educational needs of current and new recipients, and comply with the statutory provision that prohibits awards from exceeding the costs of tuition. The Action Plan, as amended, was adopted by the Committee and made effective immediately. A schedule was also set for the first Information Session for the public and the Training Session for representatives of approved education programs.

November 7, 2007

The annual Information Session for 2007 was held at Longwood University on November 7, 2007. Committee and Subcommittee members, and staff addressed the public concerning the genesis, statutory requirements, and policies of the Brown scholarship program. Members and staff also responded to questions from the audience and provided information and technical assistance to potential applicants and scholarship recipients. It was noted that future Information Sessions will be held throughout the state, giving particular attention to those localities and surrounding areas where public schools were closed to avoid desegregation during Massive Resistance.

During this occasion, the first six college graduates of the Brown scholarship program were recognized by the Committee for their achievements. Senator Benjamin J. Lambert, III, Chairman, was honored by the Committee for exemplary statesmanship, visionary leadership, and peerless service to the Committee and the people of the Commonwealth.

November 9, 2007

The first annual Training Session for representatives of approved education programs was held at John Tyler Community College on November 9, 2007. Community colleges, public schools, and public and private four-year institutions of higher education were represented at the training session, which was organized in two phases: (i) background and overview of the scholarship program, including policies, funding, and statutory requirements; and (ii) implementation of the program, roundtable discussion, and questions and answers from participants.


Application packets for the 2008-2009 application cycle will be mailed to all applicants and recipients who applied for a scholarship in 2007-2008, and persons on the Committee’s mailing list in late December. The Application packets will also be available on the Committee’s website at http://dls.state.va.us/Brown.htm, at designated distribution sites around the state, and upon request by contacting Brenda Edwards at Division of Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591 or by email at bedwards@leg.state.va.us. Advertisements and announcements concerning the scholarship program will be posted with the media. The deadline for applications for the 2008-2009 academic year is March 1, 2008.

Distribution Sites*

Charlottesville City Hall
7th and Market Streets
Charlottesville, VA 22902
Norfolk City Hall
810 Union Street
Norfolk, VA 23501

Prince Edward County
The Farmville Herald
114 North Street
Farmville, VA 23901

Warren County
Warren County School
210 North Commerce Ave
Front Royal, VA 22630
Prince Edward County
The Eggleston Company
914 Main Street
Farmville, VA 23901
Southside Virginia CC
200 Dale Road
Keysville, VA 23947
Robert Russa Moton Museum
900 Griffin Boulevard
Farmville, VA 23901

* Additional sites will be announced.


The Hon. Benjamin J. Lambert, III

For information, contact:
Brenda Edwards, Committee Staff


Division of Legislative Services > Legislative Record > 2007

Privacy Statement | Legislative Services | General Assembly