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Introduction 

 During the 2019 Session, the General Assembly enacted major legislation regarding income 

tax conformity and income tax reform in response to the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA).1 

For more information on ways the TCJA impacts Virginia, see Issue Brief Number 59. 

 The TCJA was a significant overhaul of federal tax policy, which in turn impacted Virginia's 

tax system by complicating the issue of income tax conformity. "Conformity" refers to 

legislation in which a state adopts federal income tax definitions for use in administering its own 

income tax laws. Each year, Virginia passes conformity legislation to conform the definitions of 

its tax code to those of federal law. Conformity legislation greatly reduces a state's burden in 

determining the amount of tax owed by individuals and businesses. Without conformity, a state 

would have to develop its own method of defining income and tax liability, which would greatly 

increase the cost, time, and number of personnel required to process each taxpayer's tax return.  

 In a typical year, conformity legislation is straightforward and uncontroversial.2 However, 

due to the TCJA, a simple conformity bill (one without additional changes to Virginia tax policy) 

would have resulted in higher state tax bills for certain Virginians. As a result, the General 

Assembly passed Chapters 17 and 18 of the Acts of Assembly of 2019 (hereinafter referred to as 

"the legislation"),3 that not only conformed Virginia's tax code to federal law as of December 31, 

2018, but also included the following reforms to mitigate the concern about increased tax 

liability: 

 

 A one-time $110 refund for individual taxpayers ($220 for married filers); 

 A $1,500 standard deduction increase for individual taxpayers ($3,000 for married filers); 

 Deconformity from the TCJA's limit on state and local tax deductions (the "SALT 

deduction"); 

 Deconformity from the TCJA's suspension of the overall limit on itemized deductions (the 

"Pease limitation"); 

 Allowance of a partial deduction of business interest that is disallowed by the TCJA; 

                                                           
1 Pub. L. 115-97 (2017). 
2 See, e.g., Chapters 1 and 2 of the Acts of Assembly of 2017. 
3 HB 2529 (2019), enacted as Chapter 17 of the Acts of Assembly of 2019; SB 1372 (2019), enacted as Chapter 18 

of the Acts of Assembly of 2019. See also HB 1700, enacted as Chapter 854 of the Acts of Assembly of 2019 (Item 

266 and § 3-5.21 included provisions related to federal tax law). 

http://dls.virginia.gov/pubs/briefs/Brief59.pdf
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 Allowance of a subtraction for certain foreign source income that is taxed by the TCJA; 

and 

 Creation of a Taxpayer Relief Fund from surplus revenues obtained as a result of the 

TCJA. 

 

 As in previous years, this year's conformity legislation contained an emergency clause, so it 

became effective when the Governor signed it on February 15, 2019. 

 

The TCJA and Its Impact on Virginia Income Taxes 

 Specifically, the TCJA contained two provisions that complicated the issue of conformity. 

The law (i) increased the federal standard deduction to $12,000 for individuals and $24,000 for 

married persons4 and (ii) placed a $10,000 limit on the amount of state and local taxes that a 

taxpayer could deduct from his federal taxable income.  

 By increasing the federal standard deduction, it is likely that a greater number of taxpayers 

will take the standard deduction in lieu of itemization. This has implications for Virginia taxes 

because Virginia law requires taxpayers to make the same election on their state taxes as they do 

on their federal return.5 Therefore, if a taxpayer chooses to itemize deductions for his federal 

return, he also must itemize deductions on his state return, and vice versa for the standard 

deduction.  

 Consider a taxpayer with $10,000 in potential itemized deductions. Under the TCJA, the 

taxpayer likely would choose the $12,000 federal standard deduction and, therefore, would be 

required to take the standard deduction at the state level. Prior to the TCJA, the taxpayer would 

have itemized both federally and at the state level, and would have received a $10,000 deduction 

on both returns. Under the TCJA, if the taxpayer were to choose the federal standard deduction, 

the taxpayer would receive $12,000 in federal deductions and $3,000 in state deductions, thereby 

resulting in a lower federal tax bill, but a higher state tax bill. 

 The TCJA also placed a limit of $10,000 on the amount of state and local taxes that can be 

deducted on a federal return. For Virginia taxpayers with more than $10,000 of state and local 

tax liability, this limit reduced the amount of deductions available to them, thereby possibly 

increasing their federal and, in some cases, state tax liability.  

 It should be noted that state law does not allow taxpayers to claim the SALT deduction for 

income taxes paid. For Virginia income tax purposes, the $10,000 cap only affects taxpayers 

who claim the SALT deduction for non-income taxes, such as property taxes. 

 In order to offset the impact of these federal changes, the General Assembly enacted the 

reforms described in the sections below as part of its conformity package. 

                                                           
4 The TCJA nearly doubled the standard deduction.  In 2017, it was $6,350 for an individual and $12,700 for a 

married couple filing jointly. 
5 VA. CODE § 58.1-322.03(1). 
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Individual Tax Policy Changes 

$1,500 Standard Deduction Increase 

 The legislation increased the standard deduction from $3,000 to $4,500 (or from $6,000 to 

$9,000 for married taxpayers filing jointly). The increase is effective for tax years 2019 through 

2025, which corresponds to the duration of the TCJA's changes to federal individual income 

taxation. 

 

One-time $110 Refund 

 For tax year 2018, the legislation established a one-time refund of $110 (or $220 for married 

taxpayers filing jointly) to be issued to taxpayers in October 2019.6 It will be available only to 

taxpayers who file their final return before July 2019. The refund is issued after accounting for a 

taxpayer's deductions, subtractions, and credits. If his tax liability is less than $110 after those 

reductions, he may receive a refund only up to his remaining tax liability. 

 

Deconforming from the TCJA's Limit on the State and Local Tax Deduction 

 Prior to the enactment of the TCJA, federal law provided a deduction for state and local taxes 

paid by a taxpayer. The TCJA established a $10,000 cap on the amount allowed to be deducted.7 

The legislation deconformed from the $10,000 cap; therefore, for Virginia tax purposes, a 

taxpayer can still deduct the full amount of state and local taxes. However, Virginia's 

deconformity from the SALT limit does not apply to tax year 2018 and is only effective 

beginning in tax year 2019.  

 

Deconforming from the TCJA's Suspension of the Overall Limit on Itemized Deductions 

 Federal law allows taxpayers to claim a variety of itemized deductions—mortgage interest 

and charitable contributions are two of the most common. Before the TCJA, there was an overall 

limit, referred to as the Pease limitation, on the amount of itemized deductions a taxpayer could 

claim per year.8 The threshold was about $260,000 per tax year.9 If a taxpayer's total deductions 

were over the threshold, his over-the-threshold deductions would be reduced by up to 80 

percent.10 

 

 The TCJA suspended the Pease limitation, making itemized deductions no longer subject to 

an overall limit. However, the legislation deconformed from this federal tax change, and the 

Pease limitation remains operative for Virginia tax purposes. Like deconformity from the SALT 

                                                           
6 The legislation required the refund to be prorated if there are insufficient funds to cover the cost. 
7 The cap applies only to taxes that are not "paid or accrued in carrying on a trade or business." § 11042 of Pub. L. 

115-97 (2017) (codified at I.R.C. § 164). Business taxes remain fully deductible. 
8 The limit is known as the "Pease limitation" for Donald Pease, the Ohio congressman who introduced the law 

creating it. 
9 The threshold was $261,500 for an individual filer in 2017, but it increased every year. 
10 The 80 percent was measured against the entire amount of the taxpayer's itemized deductions. 
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limit, the provision deconforming from the suspension of the Pease limitation applies only to tax 

years 2019 and after. 

 

Business Tax Policy Changes 

Partial Deduction of Disallowed Business Interest 

 Prior to the enactment of the TCJA, federal law allowed certain businesses to deduct 100 

percent of certain types of business interest. The TCJA changed the rules for this deduction, 

allowing more types of businesses to claim the deduction, but also imposing a cap on the 

deduction.11 The legislation provides partial relief from the cap by allowing taxpayers to deduct, 

for Virginia tax purposes, 20 percent of business interest disallowed by the cap's operation. This 

deduction is available starting in tax year 2018. 

 

Subtraction for Certain Foreign Source Income 

 The TCJA made major changes to the taxation of foreign source income. One such change 

created a new category of income called Global Intangible Low-Taxed Income (GILTI), which 

became subject to federal taxation starting in tax year 2018. The legislation establishes an 

income tax subtraction for GILTI; therefore GILTI is not taxable for Virginia tax purposes.12 

 

Taxpayer Relief Fund 
  

 The legislation estimates that, for tax years 2019 through 2025, extra revenues resulting 

from the TCJA will be approximately $450 million per year. After subtracting the amount of 

revenue required to finance the tax policy changes of the legislation described in this Note, the 

legislation provides that any additional revenue accrues to the Taxpayer Relief Fund. Each year, 

by September 1, the Governor will certify the deposit to the Fund. The legislation provides that 

the General Assembly shall appropriate the money for "permanent or temporary tax reform 

measures." 

 

 

For more information, contact the Division of Legislative Services staff: 
 

Connor Garstka, Attorney, DLS  

cgarstka@dls.virginia.gov 

804-698-1869 

Josh Kaplan, Attorney, DLS  

jkaplan@dls.virginia.gov 

804-698-1817 

 

                                                           
11 In its simplest form, the cap equals the sum of the taxpayer's (i) income from business interest plus (ii) 30 percent 

of adjusted taxable income plus (iii) interest from floor plan financing. § 13301 of Pub. L. 115-97 (2017) (codified 

at I.R.C. § 163(j)). 
12 Before the TCJA, foreign source income generally was not taxed under Virginia law. See VA. CODE § 58.1-

402(C)(7). 


