
D I V I S I O N  O F  L E G I S L A T I V E  S E R V I C E S  

In Due Course: 
   This publication provides a brief summary of legislation passed by the 2007 General Assembly 
that is of interest to the citizens of Virginia and is likely to have an impact on their daily lives.  
The legislation has been signed by the Governor and most is due to go into effect on  
July  1,  2007.   The summaries were prepared by the staff of the Division of Legislative Services. 

2007 Changes to Virginia’s Laws 

                                

    “ All laws enacted at a regular session,  
. . .  excluding a general appropriation law,  

shall take effect on the first day of July  
following the adjournment of the session of the  

General Assembly at which it has been enacted.”   
 

                  Constitution of Virginia, Article IV, Section 13 

Alcoholic Beverages 
New ABC licenses and permits.  Several laws  
established new Alcoholic Beverage Control  
licenses and permits, including the following: 

• A new internet wine retailer license for 
businesses that may not have a retail store 
open to the public, but sell and ship 
directly to consumers by way of internet 
sales or telephone orders. 

• A license for certain businesses and food 
service entities to serve wine or beer at 
private gatherings or at special events. No 
charge may be made for the alcoholic 
beverages served, and no more than two  
5-ounce glasses of wine or two 12-ounce 
glasses of beer may be served to each 
customer.  

• A permit allowing the whiskey distilled at 
the licensed Mount Vernon distillery, 
according to the recipe used by George 
Washington, to be sold at the Mount 
Vernon gift shop.   

Business and Labor 
Child labor at farm wineries.  The law allows an 
employee under the age of 18 years old to work at a 
licensed Virginia farm winery provided the child does 
not serve or dispense alcoholic beverages in any 
manner. 

Minimum wage for older workers.  The law removes 
persons over the age of 65 from the list of employees 
who are excluded from the provisions of the Virginia 
Minimum Wage Act.  
 

 Unemployment 
Unemployment compensation maximum weekly 
benefit.  The law increases the maximum weekly 
benefit from $347 to $363 for claims effective on or 
after July 1, 2007. 
 

Children's Welfare and Social 
Services 
Adoption records.  The law requires that a child-
placing agency or local director provide prospective 
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parents with all of the reasonably ascertainable 
background, medical, and psychological records of 
an adopted child. 

Long-term care services for seniors.  The law  
expands, under the Department for the Aging, the 
health, social, and supportive services needed to 
deliver long-term care, which includes transporta-
tion, education and housing, and opportunities for 
self-care and independent living, to citizens aged 60 
and over who have chronic illnesses and impair-
ments. 

Continued residence in an assisted living facility.  
The law prevents the Board of Social Services from 
ordering the removal of a resident from an assisted 
living facility if the resident, his physician, his family, 
and the facility consent to the resident's continued 
stay. The facility must be capable of providing or 
obtaining necessary services for the resident, 
including home health care or hospice care. 

Virginia Caregivers Grant Program.  The law 
modifies the definition of caregivers that are eligible 
to receive a grant under the program to include legal 
guardians and raises the Virginia adjusted gross 
income limit under the program from $50,000 to 
$75,000 for a married caregiver. 

Family day homes.  The law requires a family day 
home to provide written notice to a child's parent or 
guardian within 10 business days of a termination of 
the facility's liability insurance coverage. 
 

Courts and Criminal Offenses 
Virginia Amber Alert transmitted to residents.  The 
law requires the Virginia State Police to use auto-
matic dialing technology, where available, to deliver 
a prerecorded message to alert residents of an 
Amber Alert in their locality. Targeted calls will be 
transmitted to the area where the abducted child was 
most recently seen. 

Senior Alert Program.  The law creates a program 
for local, regional, or statewide notification of a 
missing senior adult similar to the Amber Alert 
Program for missing children and insures that police 
and sheriff's departments eliminate the waiting 
period requirement before a report is acted 
upon. Within two hours of receiving a missing 
persons report, law-enforcement agencies are 

required to enter identifying information about the 
missing senior adult into the Virginia Criminal 
Information Network and the National Crime 
Information Center Systems, forward the informa-
tion to the Department of State Police, notify other 
law-enforcement agencies in the area, and initiate an 
investigation.  

Smoking near gas pumps.  The law provides that 
any person in the open air who smokes or uses an 
open flame within 20 feet of a pump used to fuel 
motor vehicles or a fueling tanker being used to 
deliver gasoline to a gasoline station, where smoking 
or the use of an open flame is prohibited by a 
posted sign, is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Extortion. The law makes it a Class 5 felony for any 
person to possess, withhold, or destroy the passport 
or the government identification or immigration 
document of another person and thereby extorting 
money, property, or benefit from him in any way. 

Soliciting a firearms dealer to sell a gun to a person 
posing as a buyer. The law makes it a Class 6 felony 
for any person, other than a law-enforcement officer 
acting in the line of duty, to entice a firearms dealer 
to sell a gun to a person who is not an actual buyer, 
defined as a person who executes the required 
consent form provided by the Department of State 
Police to purchase a firearm. A person who aids or 
abets a person violating this provision is also guilty of 
a Class 6 felony. 

Spousal support guidelines.  The law establishes a 
statewide formula to be used by the courts to 
calculate the amount of an award of pendente lite or 
temporary spousal support. The law allows the court 
the discretion to deviate from the amount calculated 
under the formula for good cause, including any 
relevant evidence relating to the current financial 
circumstances of the parties that indicates the 
amount is inappropriate. The formula applies to 
cases in which the parties' combined monthly gross 
income does not exceed $10,000. 

Right to remove a law case to the circuit court  
eliminated. A defendant no longer has the right to 
remove an action from the general district court to 
the circuit court in actions where the courts have 
concurrent jurisdiction over the amount in contro-
versy, thus protecting a plaintiff's decision to bring an 
action in the general district court.  
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Writings intended as wills.  The law establishes that 
even though a document is not in compliance with the 
requirements of an executed will, it can still be valid if 
clear and convincing evidence exists that the decedent 
intended the document to be a will, a partial or 
complete revocation of a will, an addition or alteration 
of a will, or a partial or complete revival of a formerly 
revoked will. The law does not excuse any failure to 
comply with the requirement of the testator's  
signature. 

Voting   
Absentee ballots. The law requires voters to provide 
the last four digits of their social security number 
when applying to vote by absentee ballot. 

Voting equipment and procedures.  The law requires 
localities to provide accessible equipment for 
disabled voters, as well as prohibits localities from 
purchasing direct recording electronic (DRE) 
devices, commonly known as touch screen voting 
machines.  Localities may use existing DRE devices 
until they wear out. The law also prohibits any form 
of wireless communication between vote-counting 
systems until the polls are officially closed on 
Election Day. 
 

Elections 
Public officials convicted of sex crimes.  The law 
provides that any holder of public office who is 
convicted of an offense requiring registration on the 
Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry 
will forfeit his public office once all rights of appeal 
have expired. 
 

Localities 
Local employee's right to receive benefit informa-
tion.  The law requires localities to provide informa-
tion about benefit options and programs in writing to 
any local employee who develops a life-threatening 
health condition. 

FEMA floodplain map and notification of changes to 
property owners.  The law provides that any locality 
notified by the United States Federal Emergency 
Management Agency (FEMA) that a change in the 
FEMA floodplain map concerns or relates to real 
property within the locality’s jurisdiction must 
provide property owners with written notification of 
any floodplain changes and contact information for 
the National Flood Insurance Program to aid owners 
in determining if there has been a change to the 
flood risk of their property. 

Zoning violations for overcrowding. The law 
increases the fines for a conviction for overcrowding 
of a residential dwelling; however, a violation is not 
punishable by a jail term.  

Sex Offenders 
Sex offender registration. The law requires a 
sex offender to include in sex offender 
registration information any e-mail  
addresses and internet or instant messaging 
screen names that he uses or will use.  Any 
changes in this information or any other 
identity information must be reported and 
reregistered in person or electronically with 
the local law-enforcement agency within 30 
minutes of the change. 

Sex offender notification. The law requires 
nursing homes and assisted living facilities to 
provide residents with information on how 
to access the Virginia's sex offender registry 
on the Virginia State Police's website.   
The law provides similar requirements as 
established in the Virginia Residential 
Property Disclosure Act.  

Sex offenders prohibited on school  
property.  The law provides that an adult 
who has been previously convicted of a 
sexually violent offense is guilty of a Class 6 
felony if he enters or is present during 
school hours at a public or private  
elementary or secondary school or a child 
day center property, except in specific 
circumstances outlined in the law or 
permitted by a court order. 

Sex offender treatment offices.  The law 
prohibits sex offender treatment offices  
or similar facilities to be located in a 
residentially zoned subdivision. 
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Public Education 
Technical high school diploma.  The law directs the 
Board of Education to establish the requirements 
for a technical diploma.  The diploma must meet or 
exceed the requirements of a standard diploma and 
include a concentration in career and technical 
education.  The law establishes an advanced 
technical diploma if a student meets the require-
ments of an advanced studies diploma and com-
pletes a concentration in career and technical 
education.  

Childhood obesity. The law requires the Superin-
tendent of Public Instruction and the State Health 
Commissioner to work together to combat child-
hood obesity and other chronic health conditions 
that affect school-aged children. 

Family life education.  The law requires the Board 
of Education to include instruction on dating 
violence and abusive relationships in the family life 
education curriculum. 

Due process for students with disabilities.  The law 
requires that all testimony will be given under oath 
in dispute procedures involving children with 
disabilities and their parents or guardians and the 
school divisions in all matters of program place-
ments, individualized education programs, tuition 
eligibility, and other areas as defined in state or 
federal statutes or regulations. 

Safety hotline decal on school buses.  The law 
allows school divisions to display on its school buses 
a decal providing information and phone numbers 
of a locality's school bus safety hotline. 

Transportation sharing with private schools. The law 
permits local school boards to enter into an agree-
ment with a nonpublic school to provide student 
transportation to and from the private school for a 
fee.  

Online learning for the incarcerated.  The law 
allows the Board of Correctional Education to 
develop programs for incarcerated individuals, 
providing restricted Internet access to online 
secondary education, adult education, and literacy 
programs leading to a diploma or the General 
Education Development (GED) program. 
 

 

Eminent Domain 
Eminent domain and the definition of "public 
uses."  The law defines "public uses" as relating 
only to the acquisition of property in the 
following instances: 

• Land is taken for the possession, 
occupation, and enjoyment by the 
public or a public corporation. 

• Land is taken for construction, 
maintenance and operation of public 
facilities by public corporations or by 
private entities provided that there is a 
written agreement with a public 
corporation providing for the use of 
the facility by the public. 

• Land is taken for the creation or 
functioning of a public service corpora-
tion, public service company, or 
railroad. 

• Land is taken for the provision of 
utility services by a government utility 
corporation. 

• Land is taken because it is blighted for 
the elimination of the blight. 

• Land is taken in a redevelopment or 
conservation area that is abandoned or 
the acquisition is needed to clear title 
where one of the owners agrees to such 
acquisition or the taking is by agree-
ment of all of the owners. 

The law states that property can only be taken 
when the public interest dominates the private 
gain and that the primary purpose is not private 
financial gain, private benefit, an increase in tax 
base or revenues, or an increase in employment, 
except if the property is taken for the creation or 
functioning of a public service corporation, 
public service company, or railroad, or for the 
provision of authorized utility services by a 
government utility corporation. 
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Higher Education 
Suicide prevention. The law directs public institu-
tions of higher education to develop and implement 
policies that advise students, faculty, and staff, 
including residence hall staff, of the proper proce-
dures for identifying and addressing the needs of 
students that exhibit suicidal tendencies or behavior. 

In-state tuition.  The law allows in-state tuition to 
any person, who lives outside of the Common-
wealth, but within a 30-mile radius of one of the 
Virginia Community College System's institutions, 
provided the student's state of residence has a 
reciprocal arrangement for Virginia residents.   

Two-Year College Transfer Grant Program. The 
law establishes a Two-Year College Transfer Grant 
Program for the purpose of providing higher  
education grants of up to $2,000 per year to 
Virginia residents who have successfully completed 
an acceptable associate degree program at a public  
two-year institution of higher education.  The State 
Council of Higher Education (SCHEV) will make  
the appropriate regulations for the program's  
administration.  
 

Health 
Abraham's Law. The law specifies that a decision by 
parents or a legal guardian to refuse a particular 
medical treatment for a child with a life-threatening 
condition will not be deemed a refusal to provide 
necessary care if the decision is made jointly by the 
parents and the child, the child has reached the age 
of 14 and is sufficiently mature to have an informed 
opinion on the subject of his medical treatment, the 
parents and the child have considered alternative 
treatment options, and the parents and the child 
believe in good faith that the decision is in the 
child's best interest. 

 HPV vaccine.  The law requires females to receive 
three properly spaced doses of human papillomavi-
rus (HPV) vaccine. The child will receive the first 
dose before entering sixth grade. After having 
reviewed information about the link between the 
human papillomavirus and cervical cancer approved 
by the Board of Health, a parent may elect for his 
daughter not to receive the vaccine. The law has a 
delayed effective date of October 1, 2008. 

Pregnant Women Support Act.  Every licensed 
practitioner, during the course of routine prenatal care, 
must include information and support services to 
patients receiving a positive test diagnosis for Down 
Syndrome or other conditions diagnosed in prenatal 
testing.  The act also creates the Virginia Pregnant 
Women Support Fund to help women and families 
who are facing an unplanned pregnancy. 

Laboratory test results. The law permits a health care 
provider to allow laboratory or other testing facilities to 
provide a copy of test results, upon request, directly to 
the patient or a legal guardian. 

Organ donations.  The Revised Uniform  
Anatomical Gift Act (UAGA) addresses each step in 
the organ donation process and establishes rules to 
resolve uncertainties and ambiguities that have arisen 
under prior versions of UAGA.  The act further 
ensures that if an individual wishes to make an anatomi-
cal gift or to refuse to make such a gift, his wishes will 
be respected without exception. 

Physical therapists.  The law permits patients to receive 
treatment from a licensed physical therapist without a 
doctor's referral by meeting the following conditions: 

• The patient is not already under the care of a 
physician. 

• The patient identifies a physician that he 
intends to see if his condition does not 
improve. 

• The patient gives written consent for health 
information and treatment records to be sent 
to his physician. 

• The physical therapist notifies the physician 
no later than three days after treatment 
commences and provides him with a copy of 
the initial evaluation and a copy of the 
patient's history. 

 

Hospital visitation policy.  The law prevents hospitals 
from barring an adult patient from having any visitor he 
desires, subject to hospital visitation hours and rules 
and established Department of Health regulations. 

Private wells.   The law prohibits the construction of a 
private well within 50 feet of the property line of an 
adjacent agricultural property, except under certain 
conditions and with the approval of the Department of 
Health and the permission of the owner of the agricul-
tural parcel. 
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Natural Resources &  
the Environment 
Cruelty to animals.  The law states that a person who 
has been convicted of a prior offense of animal 
cruelty will be charged with a Class 6 felony for a 
second offense, if occurring within five years of the 
first, for maliciously depriving an animal of food, 
drink, shelter or emergency veterinary treatment 
when either violation resulted in the death of the 
animal. 

Retrieving hunting dogs.  The law provides that a 
hunter that goes on prohibited lands to retrieve his 
hunting dogs and willfully refuses to identify himself 
when requested to do so by a landowner is guilty of a 
Class 4 misdemeanor. 

Boating safety and mandatory education.  The law 
establishes a $100 civil penalty for anyone to operate 
a motorboat with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater 
without having successfully completed an approved 
boating safety education course. The education 
requirement is phased-in so that by July 1, 2016, all 
motorboat operators will have been required to 
complete and pass a course or an equivalency exam. 

Boating BUI.  The law makes the protocol for testing 
alcohol or drug content of the blood or breath for 
boating under the influence (BUI) consistent with 
procedures for driving under the influence (DUI). 

Garbage dumping.  The law increases the fine from a 
maximum of $100 to $1,000 for dumping garbage 
into Virginia's waters. 

State park regulations.  The law reduces the penalty 
for violating the regulations in Virginia State Parks 
from a Class 1 misdemeanor to a Class 3  
misdemeanor. 

Violation of erosion and sediment control ordi-
nances.  The law allows localities to adopt an 
ordinance that assesses a civil penalty between $100 
and $1,000 for violation of erosion and sediment 
control laws, as well as increases the cap on civil 
penalties from $3,000 to $10,000. 

Land application of sewage sludge.  To facilitate state 
permit applications to store sewage sludge, the law 
requires localities to certify within 30 days a storage 
site's compliance with all local ordinances. Localities 
also have the authority to adopt an ordinance that 
may reasonably restrict the storage of sewage sludge 
to certain areas based on public health, welfare, or 
safety concerns.  Local ordinances may not restrict 
farmers from storing sewage sludge solely for land 
application on their own farms for a period of no 
longer than 45 days.   
 

Taxes 
Individual income tax filing threshold amounts. The 
law increases the filing threshold for the state income 
tax for individuals to $11,250 in 2008, $11,650 in 
2010, and $11,950 in 2012.  The threshold for 
married persons increases to $22,500 in 2008, 
$23,300 in 2010, and $23,900 in 2012. The personal 
tax exemption amount increases to $930 in 2008. 

Sales tax exemption for energy-efficient  
products.  The law provides a sales tax exemption for 
purchases of certain Energy Star qualified products 
with a sales price of $2,500 or less made during a 
four-day period each year in mid-October, beginning 
in 2007.  The sales tax holiday will expire July 2012. 

Sales and use tax exemption for hurricane prepared-
ness equipment.  The law provides a sales and use 
tax exemption, beginning in 2008, for certain 
hurricane preparedness equipment purchased during 
a seven-day period beginning on May 25 of each 
year. The sales and use tax holiday will expire July 
2012. 

 

 

Multiple Copies 
 

Members of the General Assembly  
wishing to order multiple copies  
of this publication are asked to  
contact  their respective Clerk’s Office.
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 DMV and  Spec ia l  L icense  P la tes  

Special License Plates 
Authorizes issuance of revenue-sharing license 
plates for members of: 

Nurses 

Fraternal Order of Police of Virginia 

Authorizes issuance of special license plates  
for members and unremarried surviving spouses 
of members of: 

United States Coast Guard 

Authorizes issuance of special license plates  
honoring: 

Robert E. Lee 

   Operation of a Vehicle   

Specially constructed, reconstructed, and replica 
vehicles.  The law revises procedures whereby 
specially constructed, reconstructed, and replica 
vehicles are titled and registered by DMV and 
requires that these vehicles meet safety and emission 
standards for the year of which the vehicle is a 
replica. 

Photo-monitoring of traffic signals. The law author-
izes localities to operate traffic signal enforcement 
systems. Localities may install photo-monitoring 
systems at no more than one intersection at a time 
for every 10,000 residents. The law limits the use 
and retention of recorded images. 

Child restraint devices.  The law increases the age 
that children must be secured in a child restraint 
device from five to eight years old and requires that 
rear-facing child restraint devices for infants from 
birth to one-year-old be secured only in the back 
seat of motor vehicles manufactured after January 1, 
1968. The law also requires the use of child restraint 
devices in the rear cargo area of vehicles other than 
pickup trucks. 

 

Transportation Reform  

The law allows the Commonwealth Transportation Board to issue bonds not to exceed $3 billion 
for statewide transportation funding with the debt to be paid from one-third of the annual revenues 
from the state tax on insurance businesses.  Other aspects of tax reform include the following: 

• Statewide funding of transportation projects through current funds and additional 
funds. Authority to the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority and the  
Hampton Roads Transportation Authority to impose regional fees and taxes. 

• Authority to localities under either of the above transportation authorities to impose  
an additional real property tax on commercial property with revenues to be used for 
transportation. 

• Administrative and efficiency reforms impacting transportation.  
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