Assessment of Sales and Use Tax by Surrounding States

Casual Sales of Vehicles
MARYLAND (410) 787-2978
For vehicles 7 years old or newer
5% of the NADA book value
or

Notarized bill of sale from buyer and the seller

Minimum value of vehicle is $640 making the minimum tax $32

NORTH CAROLINA (519) 733-6948

3% of computer value — a private company provides the computer value which is slightly
less than NADA - North Carolina law requires that the computer value not exceed
wholesale value — Has been in place since 1989

There is no cap and no minimum

TENNESSEE (615) 253-0600

Tax is assessed on the actual consideration between buyer and seller (when reasonable).
As an administrative rule a reasonable threshold is 75% of the NADA value. If the
threshold is not reasonable, the buyer is required to obtain an affidavit from the seller
attesuing 10 the sale price. This has alleviated many problems for Tennessee such as
recorded sale prices of $50 and a lien of $10,000 on the vehicle. The affidavit has been
used for approximately 3 years.

WEST VIRGINIA (304) 558-4809

If the vehicle is less than 2 years old, Blue Book value. Otherwise a notarized bill of sale
is accepted as long as the bill of sale is at least 50% of the blue book value. If the bill of
sale Is less than 50% of the Blue Book value, the Blue Book value is used to assess the
lax.
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