
Individual Income Tax (Effective January 1, 2005 unless otherwise noted) 
 

 Current Structure 
 

Governor Warner’s Plan 
 

 
Personal and Dependent 
Exemption 

 

 
$800 

  

 
$1,000 

  

 
Standard Deduction   

Single $3,000  $4,000
Married Filing Jointly $5,000  $8,000
Married Filing Separately $2,500  $4,000

   
 

For taxable income: 
$0-$3,000               2% 

 
For taxable revenue: 

$0-$3,000                    2% 
$3,001-$5,000        3% $3,001-$7,000             3% 
$5,001-$17,000      5% $7,001-$20,000           5% 
$17,001-over          5.75% $20,001-$100,000       5.75% 

Rates and Brackets 

 $100,001-Over            6.25% 
 

 
Filing Threshold   

Single $5,000  $7,000
Married Filing Jointly $8,000  $14,000
Married Filing Separately $4,000  $7,000
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Individual Income Tax Continued (Effective January 1, 2005 unless otherwise noted) 

 Current Structure Governor Warner’s Plan 

Age Deduction 
$12,000 for individuals 65 or older 
and $6,000 for individuals age 62 
through 64, regardless of income 

Individuals currently receiving the $12,000 
deduction (i.e., are currently at least 65) are 
not affected. 
 

Filers who turn 65 on or after January 1, 
2005 will receive an age deduction based on 
their income. 
 

The age deduction for these individuals 
will be reduced by $1 for every $2 above 
$50,000. 
 

Married couples who turn 65 on or after 
January 1, 2005 will reduce their 
deduction by $1 for every $2 above 
$75,000. 
 

The current $6,000 deduction for 
individuals who are 62-64 may be 
claimed only by filers who turn 62 on or 
before January 1, 2005. 

 

Military Family Tax Relief Act Virginia does not conform. 

 

Virginia will conform for all affected tax 
years -- allowing federal tax relief to apply 
to the Virginia income tax.  Examples of this 
tax relief are a deduction that allows people 
who serve in the National Guard to deduct 
up to $1,500 in expenses for overnight travel 
associated with their duty, and a capital gain 
exclusion for military personnel who sell a 
home owned for less than two years. 
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Sales Tax 
 

 Current Structure 
 

Governor Warner’s Plan 
 

Sales Tax Current combined state and local rate 
of 4.5% 

 
1% increase in sales tax, excluding food, to 
a combined state and local rate of 5.5% 
effective July 1, 2004. 
 

Sales Tax on Food Current combined state and local rate 
of 4.0% 

 
1% reduction in food tax rate, effective July 
1, 2004; an additional 0.5% reduction in 
food tax rate, effective July 1, 2005. 
 

Streamlined Sales Tax Statute 

 
Virginia has not adopted the 
provisions of the multi-state 
Streamlined Sales Tax agreement, 
which is intended to simplify and 
standardize sales tax laws across the 
states. 
 

Adopt the Streamlined Sales Tax statute 
(without the sourcing rules), effective July 
1, 2006.  This does not allow taxing of 
access to the Internet.  If Congress enacts 
legislation, the SSTP would allow states to 
collect sales taxes on goods purchased over 
the Internet.  Under existing state law, sales 
taxes are owed on Internet purchases, but 
states have no means to ensure collection.  
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Business Tax Provisions (Effective January 1, 2004 unless otherwise noted) 
 

 
 

Current Structure 
 

 
Governor Warner’s Plan 

 

    Accelerated Sales Tax Collections

 

Sales tax dealers with annual sales of 
$1.3 million or more must make a 
prepayment in June of 90% of their 
June sales tax liability. 
 

This requirement is repealed, effective July 
1, 2004.  Affected dealers will not have to 
make an accelerated payment in June, 2005. 

Close Intangible Holding 
Company Loophole 

 

Virginia must currently prove that 
transactions with intangible holding 
companies improperly reflect 
Virginia income. 
 

 
Effects of transactions with intangible 
holding companies will be eliminated from 
the corporate income tax computation. 
 

Eliminate “nowhere income” 
loophole by adopting a “sales 
throwback” rule 

Virginia currently does not require 
that sales shipped from a Virginia site 
be included in computing Virginia tax 
if the corporation is not subject to tax 
in other states. 

 

Sales throwback rule would treat sales made 
into states where the corporation  is not taxable 
as Virginia sales, ensuring that profits from 
goods shipped from Virginia are taxed in 
Virginia, unless they are taxed in another state. 
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Current Structure 
 

 
Governor Warner’s Plan 

 

Pass-Through Entities 

 

Currently, federal law provides that 
pass-through entities be taxed at the 
ownership level.  However, most are 
not required to provide information to 
Virginia that identifies their owners.  
At present, only S corporations are 
required to file an annual 
informational income tax return with 
Virginia. 
 

All other pass-through entities (partnerships 
& limited liability companies) will be 
required to file an annual informational 
income tax return with Virginia. 
 

Deductions for Equipment 
Purchases (Federal Conformity to
§ 179 Expensing) 
 

Virginia allows businesses to deduct 
as a business expense up to $25,000 
in equipment or similar purchases.  

 
Virginia will conform to new federal law 
for all affected tax years, allowing 
businesses to deduct up to $100,000 in 
equipment or similar purchases each year. 
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Cigarette Tax 
 

  

 
 

Current Structure 
 

 
Governor Warner’s Plan 

 

State Cigarette Tax Rate of 2.5 cents per pack 

 
Increase rate by 22.5 cents to a total of 25 
cents per pack, effective July 1, 2004. 
 

Local Cigarette Tax Authority to impose is limited to 
cities, towns, and two counties. 

 
Allow all localities to impose a cigarette tax 
up to a maximum rate of 50 cents per pack.  
Localities currently levying the tax at a rate 
above 50 cents per pack may continue to 
levy their existing tax, but may not increase 
it. 
 
Counties will be given authority to levy a 
local cigarette tax in increasing amounts 
over three years: 

July 1, 2004 – up to 20 cents per pack 
July 1, 2005 – up to a total of 35 cpp 
July 1, 2006 – up to a total of 50 cpp 

 
 

Car Tax Relief Reimbursements are currently frozen 
at 70% of liability. 

 
Increase reimbursements to 77.5% for CY 
2005, 85% for CY 2006, 92.5% for CY 
2007, and 100% for CY2008, subject to the 
same conditions as are in the Code of 
Virginia now for revenue growth. 
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Estate Tax 
Tax is imposed on the transfer of 
taxable estates in excess of $1.5 
million. 

 
Effective for deaths occurring on and after 
January 1, 2004, the tax is imposed only on 
the transfer of taxable estates in excess of 
$10 million. No tax is imposed on estates if 
the majority of the estate consists of an 
interest in a closely held business or a 
working farm. 
 

 


	Individual Income Tax (Effective January 1, 2005 unless otherwise noted)
	Standard Deduction
	Single
	Married Filing Jointly
	Married Filing Separately
	
	
	Rates and Brackets
	Filing Threshold
	Single
	$5,000
	$7,000
	Married Filing Jointly
	$8,000
	$14,000
	Married Filing Separately
	$4,000
	$7,000
	Age Deduction

	Military Family Tax Relief Act
	
	Sales Tax



	Cigarette Tax
	State Cigarette Tax
	Local Cigarette Tax
	Car Tax Relief
	Estate Tax


