Joint Subcommittee to Study

> October 10, 2006, 12:30 p.m. Barrier Islands Center, Machipongo, Virginia

Proposed Agenda

- 1. Call to order.
- 2. Opening remarks of co-chairmen.
- 3. Brief overview of meeting; Staff.
- 4. Follow-up items from last meeting.
- 5. Funding local purchase of development rights programs;
 Ms. Jenny S. McPherson, Agricultural Reserve Program Coordinator, City of Virginia
 Beach Agriculture Department and Ms. Suzanne Wescoat, Member, Northampton
 County Board of Supervisors.
- 6. Perspectives of local purchase of development rights managers; Mr. Melvin Atkinson, Rural Community Coordinator, City of Virginia Beach Agriculture Department
- 7. Purchase of development rights programs in other states; Mr. Kevin Schmidt, American Farmland Trust, Mid-Atlantic States Director.
- 8. Working session of the joint subcommittee (time permitting).
- 9. Adjournment.

MEMBERS

The Honorable Emmett W. Hanger, Jr. (Co-chairman) The Honorable Lynwood W. Lewis, Jr. (Co-chairman) The Honorable Benjamin L. Cline The Honorable Albert C. Eisenberg The Honorable Mark R. Herring

The Honorable Robert D. Orrock, Sr. The Honorable Edward T. Scott The Honorable John Watkins The Honorable Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

STAFF

David A. Rosenberg, Senior Attorney, Division of Legislative Services Kevin Stokes, Attorney, Division of Legislative Services Mark J. Vucci, Senior Attorney, Division of Legislative Services

COMMITTEE OPERATIONS

Barbara Teague, House Committee Operations