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Review of Panel’s Duties 
2 

 Both federal and Virginia law require that child 
support guidelines be reviewed every four years. 

 Va. Code § 20-108.2(H): 

“The Panel shall determine the adequacy of the 
guideline for the determination of appropriate awards 
for the support of children by considering current 
research and data on the cost of and expenditures 
necessary for rearing children, and any other resources 
it deems relevant to such review.”  

Va. Code Ann. § 20-108.2(H); 42 U.S.C. § 667; 45 CFR § 302.56 



2013 Panel Recommendations Enacted 
3 

1. Updated Schedule of Monthly Basic Child Support 
Obligations based on current economic data (20-
108.2(B)). 

2. Removed $250 per child per year in unreimbursed 
medical expenses (20-108.2(D)). 

3. Added new statutory language regarding 
presumptive statutory minimum  (20-108.2(B)). 



Deferred Policy Issues 
4 

The 2013 Panel surveyed stakeholders on several 
guidelines and policy issues. 

 
 289  respondents 
 164 attorneys 

 85 custodial parents (CPs) or 
noncustodial parents (NCPs) 

 



Deferred Policy Issues 
5 

The previous Panel voted to pursue several policy 
issues based on feedback from stakeholders but 
later decided to: 

Focus on updating the guidelines schedule, the 
$250 threshold, and authority to set 
obligations below the presumptive minimum. 

Defer remaining policy issues to the next 
Panel. 

 



Current Panel’s Decisions 
6 

This Panel decided at its 9/9/15 meeting to consider 
issues related to the following: 
1. Guidelines worksheets  

2. Shared custody cases 

3. Complex cases 
4. Age of children and cost of 

private school 

5. Cost of living in various parts 
of the state 



1. Guidelines Worksheets 

ISSUE: 
Require that the guidelines worksheet be attached to all 

child support orders. 

7 



1. Guidelines Worksheets 

 Mediated orders must have guidelines worksheet 
attached, but there is no similar requirement for other 
support orders. 

 Having worksheet attached: 
 Provides parties with specific information about how the 

obligation was calculated. 
 Is helpful if the matter comes back to court at a later date for 

modification or other issues. 
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Va. Code Ann. § 8.01-581.25 



2. Shared Custody Cases 

ISSUE: 
Consider changing the 1.4 multiplier and 90-day 
threshold for determining shared custody and 

calculating the support obligation. 

9 



2. Shared Custody Cases 

Virginia, like most states with a formula for shared 
custody, uses a “cross-credit” formula: 

 Essentially calculates 2 orders – one assuming dad is obligor 
and the other assuming mom is the obligor. 

 Weighs each order by percentage of time child spends with 
other parent. 

 Offsets the difference. 

 Parent who owes greater amount is the obligor. 
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Va. Code Ann. § 20-108.2(G)(3) 



2. Shared Custody Cases 

 Virginia is unique in that it relies on a lower multiplier (1.4) and 
lower overnight threshold (>90) than most states. 

 Among the 24 states that use the cross-credit formula: 
 

11 

MULTIPLIER TIMESHARING THRESHOLD 
# of States Multiplier # of States Overnights 

20 1.5 6 25-30% (90-106 overnights) 

3 None 9 30-40% (107-145 overnights) 

Virginia 1.4 5 More than 145 overnights but 
not quite equal 

3 Equal or nearly equal 

1 No number specified 

Jane Venohr, Ph.D., Virginia Child Support Guidelines Review: Selected Guidelines Factors, Center for Policy Research, 2012. 



2. Shared Custody Cases 

 Why a multiplier? 
 It costs more to raise a child in 2 households than it 

does in 1. 

 Some child-rearing expenses must be duplicated 
between the parents (e.g., housing, 
transportation). 

 Using a multiplier reduces the “cliff effect” that 
can occur when parents have nearly equal incomes 
and nearly equal timesharing. 
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2. Shared Custody Cases 

Calculating shared custody guidelines in Virginia 

 If a party has custody/visitation more than 90 days of the year, the 
shared custody guideline is used to calculate support obligations. 

 Calculate basic obligation, then multiply by 1.4. 

 Multiply that amount by each parent’s custody share (% of time 
spent with each parent). 

 Subtract the parties’ obligations from one another; the difference 
is the amount owed (payor is the party with higher obligation). 

13 



Concerns about timesharing and multiplier: 
 Creates an economic incentive for NCPs to want more time 

with child in order to lower the child support obligation. 

 Creates a disincentive for CPs to give up time in order to keep 
the child support obligation higher. 

 Threshold/lower multiplier can result in precipitous drop (“cliff 
effect”) to obligation amount. Reducing this effect mitigates 
the economic incentive/disincentive. 

14 

2. Shared Custody Cases 



2. Shared Custody Cases 

Possible adjustments to alleviate cliff effect: 
 Use 2-tier formula for timesharing 
 Iowa model: 

 Reduce obligation 15% when there are at least 128 overnights per year; 
gradually increase percentage when there is more timesharing. 

 Use the cross-credit formula when timesharing is nearly equal. 

 Increase multiplier 
 Higher multiplier results in less dramatic cliff effect. 
 The following tables show 0, 1.4 (140%), 1.5 (150%) and 1.6 (160%) 

multipliers at various income levels: 

 
 

15 
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Comparison of Shared Custody Formulas

Father's Monthly  Gross Income = $5,000, Mother's Monthly Gross Income = $5,000

Timesharing Timesharing
Arrangement Arrangement

(Percent) (Percent)

0% (0 days) $789 $789 $789 $789 0% (0 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

5% (18 days) $789 $789 $789 $789 5% (18 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

10% (36 days) $789 $789 $789 $789 10% (36 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

15% (55 days) $789 $789 $789 $789 15% (55 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

20% (73 days) $789 $789 $789 $789 20% (73 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

25% (91 days) $394 $552 $591 $631 25% (91 days) 50% 70% 75% 80%

30% (110 days) $315 $442 $473 $505 30% (110 days) 40% 56% 60% 64%

35% (128 days) $237 $331 $355 $378 35% (128 days) 30% 42% 45% 48%

40% (146 days) $158 $221 $237 $252 40% (146 days) 20% 28% 30% 32%

45% (164 days) $79 $110 $118 $126 45% (164 days) 10% 14% 15% 16%

50% (182.5 days) $0 $0 $0 $0 50% (182.5 days) 0% 0% 0% 0%

 Cross 
Credit with 

160% 
Multiplier

           Support Due ($$ per month)           % of Sole Custody Obligation

 Cross Credit 
with 140% 
Multiplier 
(Existing 

Approach)

 Cross Credit 
with 140% 
Multiplier 
(Existing 

Approach)

 Cross Credit 
with 150% 
Multiplier

 Cross Credit 
with 150% 
Multiplier

 Cross 
Credit with 

160% 
Multiplier

 Cross 
Credit with 

No 
Multiplier

 Cross 
Credit with 

No 
Multiplier

Exhibit 1: 
Effect of Multiplier on Order Amounts Using Shared Physical Custody Adjustment
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Comparison of Shared Custody Formulas

Father's Monthly  Gross Income = $5,000, Mother's Monthly Gross Income = $3,000

Timesharing Timesharing
Arrangement Arrangement

(Percent) (Percent)

0% (0 days) $886 $886 $886 $886 0% (0 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

5% (18 days) $886 $886 $886 $886 5% (18 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

10% (36 days) $886 $886 $886 $886 10% (36 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

15% (55 days) $886 $886 $886 $886 15% (55 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

20% (73 days) $886 $886 $886 $886 20% (73 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

25% (91 days) $532 $744 $798 $851 25% (91 days) 60% 84% 90% 96%

30% (110 days) $461 $645 $691 $737 30% (110 days) 52% 73% 78% 83%

35% (128 days) $390 $546 $585 $624 35% (128 days) 44% 62% 66% 70%

40% (146 days) $319 $447 $479 $510 40% (146 days) 36% 50% 54% 58%

45% (164 days) $248 $347 $372 $397 45% (164 days) 28% 39% 42% 45%

50% (182.5 days) $177 $248 $266 $284 50% (182.5 days) 20% 28% 30% 32%

 Cross 
Credit with 

160% 
Multiplier

           Support Due ($$ per month)           % of Sole Custody Obligation

 Cross Credit 
with 140% 
Multiplier 
(Existing 

Approach)

 Cross Credit 
with 140% 
Multiplier 
(Existing 

Approach)

 Cross Credit 
with 150% 
Multiplier

 Cross Credit 
with 150% 
Multiplier

 Cross 
Credit with 

160% 
Multiplier

 Cross 
Credit with 

No 
Multiplier

 Cross 
Credit with 

No 
Multiplier

Exhibit 2: 
Effect of Multiplier on Order Amounts Using Shared Physical Custody Adjustment

2 Children
Father's Income =  $5,000 per month, Mother's Income = $3,000 per month
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Comparison of Shared Custody Formulas

Father's Monthly  Gross Income = $5,000, Mother's Monthly Gross Income = $7,500

Timesharing Timesharing
Arrangement Arrangement

(Percent) (Percent)

0% (0 days) $682 $682 $682 $682 0% (0 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

5% (18 days) $682 $682 $682 $682 5% (18 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

10% (36 days) $682 $682 $682 $682 10% (36 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

15% (55 days) $682 $682 $682 $682 15% (55 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

20% (73 days) $682 $682 $682 $682 20% (73 days) 100% 100% 100% 100%

25% (91 days) $256 $358 $384 $409 25% (91 days) 38% 53% 56% 60%

30% (110 days) $171 $239 $256 $273 30% (110 days) 25% 35% 38% 40%

35% (128 days) $85 $119 $128 $136 35% (128 days) 13% 18% 19% 20%

40% (146 days) $0 $0 $0 $0 40% (146 days) 0% 0% 0% 0%

45% (164 days) -$85 -$119 -$128 -$136 45% (164 days) -13% -18% -19% -20%

50% (182.5 days) -$171 -$239 -$256 -$273 50% (182.5 days) -25% -35% -38% -40%

 Cross 
Credit with 

160% 
Multiplier

           Support Due ($$ per month)           % of Sole Custody Obligation

 Cross Credit 
with 140% 
Multiplier 
(Existing 

Approach)

 Cross Credit 
with 140% 
Multiplier 
(Existing 

Approach)

 Cross Credit 
with 150% 
Multiplier

 Cross Credit 
with 150% 
Multiplier

 Cross 
Credit with 

160% 
Multiplier

 Cross 
Credit with 

No 
Multiplier

 Cross 
Credit with 

No 
Multiplier

Exhibit 3: 
Effect of Multiplier on Order Amounts Using Shared Physical Custody Adjustment

2 Children
Father's Income =  $5,000 per month, Mother's Income = $7,500 per month

-50%

-30%

-10%

10%

30%

50%

70%

90%

110%

0% (0
days)

5% (18
days)

10% (36
days)

15% (55
days)

20% (73
days)

25% (91
days)

30% (110
days)

35% (128
days)

40% (146
days)

45% (164
days)

50% (182.5
days)

Time Spent with Father

%
 o

f  
So

le 
Cu

sto
dy

 O
bl

ig
ati

on

 Cross Credit with No Multiplier  Cross Credit with 140% Multiplier (Existing Approach)

 Cross Credit with 150% Multiplier  Cross Credit with 160% Multiplier



3. Complex Cases 

ISSUE: 
Family structures are more complex and varied today 

than when the guidelines were enacted.  

Guidelines don’t contemplate more complex situations or 
provide guidance on handling them. 
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3. Complex Cases 

 More children are born out of wedlock. 
 More parents are sharing custody. 
 More parents have children from multiple relationships. 
 A parent may be a CP on one case and an NCP on 

another case. 
 Both parents may owe support to a third party 

custodian, such as a grandparent. 
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3. Complex Cases 

 Virginia’s guidelines allow a deduction from income for 
a parent who financially supports biological or adopted 
children other than those who are the subject of 
matter at hand. 

 The deduction may be:  
 The amount set by a court or administrative order or written 

agreement that the party is actually paying for support of other 
children, or 

 A guidelines-calculated amount for support of children who live in 
the parent’s home (a “theoretical order”). 

21 

Va. Code Ann. § 20-108.2(C)(4) 



 Some other states use the income of both parents who 
are financially obligated to support the other child to 
determine the “theoretical order” amount: 
 NCP of Child A remarries and has Child B with 2nd spouse. 
 In setting support for Child A, court would deduct a 

“theoretical order” amount for Child B’s support from NCP’s 
income. 

 2nd spouse’s income would be included in determining the 
“theoretical order” support amount for the Child B. 

 Including 2nd spouse’s income would impact NCP’s deduction 
for purposes of determining his/her obligation for Child A. 

 

22 

3. Complex Cases 



3. Complex Cases 

Approaches in other states: 

 Limit adjustment to prior orders or first-born children 
only (rationale: parent knew of prior order or child before 
choosing to have subsequent children). 

 Equalize support between sets of children by taking a % of 
theoretical order. 

 Redefine eligible children (e.g., stepchildren). 

23 



 Pennsylvania:  
 Proportionate reduction such that NCP’s combined orders 

are < 50% of NCP’s income (income withholding limit). 

 Washington:  
 Whole Family Formula considers all children and income of 

all adults financially responsible for them. 

 Obligation amount is prorated among all children. 

 Also reduces NCP’s order when CP has multiple orders. 
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3. Complex Cases 



 There is a rebuttable presumption that the obligation 
resulting from calculation of the guidelines is the 
correct amount. 

 To rebut the presumption, the court must: 
 Find that the guidelines amount is unjust or inappropriate. 

 Look at evidence related to statutory deviation factors affecting 
the obligation, each party’s ability to provide support, and the 
child’s best interests. 

 Va. Code § 20-108.1(B) sets out 15 deviation factors. 

25 

4. Deviation Factors:  Child’s Age & Private School Costs 

Va. Code Ann. § 20-108.1 



4. Deviation Factor: Age of Children 

ISSUE: 
Virginia’s guidelines do not take into account that older 

children cost more than younger children. 

26 



4. Deviation Factor:  Age of Children 

 In general, expenditures on 15-17 year olds are 15-26% 
higher than expenditures on 0-2 year olds. 

 USDA reports consider 6 age brackets: 0-2, 3-5, 6-8, 9-11, 
12-14 and 15-17. 

 As children move from one bracket to the next, 
expenditures increase 1-10% (except for 12-14 and 15-17 
year age brackets which show little difference). 

27 

Jane Venohr, Ph.D., Virginia Child Support Guidelines Review: Selected Guidelines Factors, Center for Policy Research, 2012. 



4. Deviation Factor:  Age of Children 

 Most states do not adjust for child’s age. 

 A few states allow age as a deviation factor.  For 
example, in Florida: 

The court may adjust the total minimum child support award, 
or either or both parents’ share of the total minimum child 
support award, based upon the following deviation factors:  

(5) The age of the child, taking into account the greater 
needs of older children. 

28 

Fla. Stat. § 61.30(11)(a)(5) 



4. Deviation Factor:  Age of Children 
29 

State Ages Adjustment to Presumptive Formula 

Kansas 6-11 years 
12-17 years 

15% more than 0-5 years 
8% more than 6-11 years 

Maine 0-11 years 
12-17 years 

92.7% of average for all ages 
114.6% of average for all ages 

Washington 11-17 years 24% more than ages 0-11 

A few states provide separate guidelines amounts for 
older and younger children. For example: 



In Virginia, there is limited case law that suggests 
courts may take age-related expenses into account 
when considering the standard-of-living deviation 
factor, particularly where an obligation starts a short 
time before the child reaches majority. 
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4. Deviation Factor:  Age of Children 

Saxon v. Lesueur, 2013 Va. App. LEXIS 379 (2013) (unpublished) 



4. Deviation Factor:  Cost of Private School 

 Deviation factors do not specifically address cost of 
private school, but do include: 
 Direct payments ordered by the court for education expenses for 

the child’s benefit; 

 Any special needs of a child resulting from any physical, 
emotional, or medical condition;  

 Child’s standard of living established during the marriage; 

 Earning capacity, obligations, financial resources, and special 
needs of each parent; 

 Other factors necessary to consider the equities for the parents 
and children. 

31 

Va. Code Ann. § 20-108.1 



With regard to private school expenses, Virginia case law 
holds courts may set an obligation higher than the 
guidelines amount if: 

 There is a demonstrated need for the child to attend 
private school, and 

 Parent has the ability to pay. 
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4. Deviation Factor:  Cost of Private School 

Joynes v. Payne, 35 Va. App. 386, 407, 545 S.E.2d 561, 571 (2001); Solomond v. Ball, 22 Va. App. 385, 391, 470 S.E.2d 157, 160 (1996) 



In making this determination, courts must consider 
factors such as: 

 Availability of satisfactory public schools, 

 Child’s attendance at private school before the 
parents separated/divorced, and/or 

 Child’s special emotional or physical needs, 
religious training, and family tradition. 
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4. Deviation Factor:  Cost of Private School 

Joynes v. Payne, 35 Va. App. 386, 407, 545 S.E.2d 561, 571 (2001); Solomond v. Ball, 22 Va. App. 385, 391, 470 S.E.2d 157, 160 (1996) 



5. Cost of Living in Various Parts of State 

ISSUE: 
Guidelines do not take into account regional 
differences in cost of living throughout Virginia. 

34 



 Federal law requires that states have one set of 
guidelines that apply uniformly across the state. 

 45 CFR § 302.56(a): 
Effective October 13, 1989, as a condition of approval of its State 
plan, the State shall establish one set of guidelines by law or by 
judicial or administrative action for setting and modifying child 
support award amount within the State. 

35 

5. Cost of Living in Various Parts of State 



 Cost of housing varies regionally in 
Virginia, as in most states. 

 Correlation between median 
housing costs and median income: 
areas with higher housing costs 
also have higher income. 

36 

5. Cost of Living in Various Parts of State 

Jane Venohr, Ph.D., Virginia Child Support Guidelines Review: Selected Guidelines Factors, Center for Policy Research, 2012. 
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Regional Differences in Cost of Living 

Median family 
income of 

married couples 
with children

Median gross 
rent

Median monthly 
homeowner's cost of 

mortgage holders

Median gross rent as 
a percentage of 

household income

Mortgage cost as a 
percent of income

USA $79,746 $871 $1,486 31.9% 22.5%
Virginia 94,885 $1,062 $1,707 30.1% 24.0%
Albemarle County, Virginia $114,759 $1,041 $1,745 33.4% 21.3%
Alexandria city, Virginia $121,175 $1,426 $2,408 28.0% 23.1%
Arlington County, Virginia $170,352 $1,673 $2,646 26.1% 21.2%
Augusta County, Virginia $67,935 $682 $1,220 30.5% 22.4%
Bedford County, Virginia $70,007 $819 $1,232 31.1% 21.8%
Chesapeake city, Virginia $93,454 $1,144 $1,760 32.2% 26.7%
Chesterfield County, Virginia $101,212 $1,062 $1,647 28.1% 23.9%
Fairfax County, Virginia $131,203 $1,592 $2,484 28.2% 22.5%
Fauquier County, Virginia $109,166 $1,147 $2,155 25.0% 23.7%
Frederick County, Virginia $104,425 $1,044 $1,626 31.4% 22.1%
Hampton city, Virginia $77,092 $927 $1,503 34.1% 25.8%
Hanover County, Virginia $112,146 $963 $1,615 28.8% 23.8%
Henrico County, Virginia $97,796 $944 $1,518 27.8% 23.4%
James City County, Virginia $89,994 $1,085 $1,776 30.2% 24.1%
Loudoun County, Virginia $142,684 $1,530 $2,785 27.3% 25.0%
Lynchburg city, Virginia $61,971 $707 $1,174 34.3% 25.4%
Montgomery County, Virginia $90,407 $830 $1,506 38.7% 21.5%
Newport News city, Virginia $70,997 $964 $1,430 32.8% 25.6%
Norfolk city, Virginia $66,983 $949 $1,546 34.0% 28.9%
Portsmouth city, Virginia $87,009 $908 $1,473 34.6% 28.2%
Prince William County, Virginia $107,765 $1,441 $2,175 29.9% 22.9%
Richmond city, Virginia $87,303 $842 $1,475 33.5% 27.4%
Roanoke city, Virginia $64,383 $647 $1,114 26.1% 25.6%
Roanoke County, Virginia $90,160 $759 $1,370 29.4% 22.2%
Rockingham County, Virginia $69,311 $735 $1,314 24.9% 26.9%
Spotsylvania County, Virginia $87,266 $1,321 $1,724 28.0% 24.3%
Stafford County, Virginia $112,362 $1,365 $2,046 30.6% 23.3%
Suffolk city, Virginia $103,562 $1,032 $1,771 33.5% 25.6%
Virginia Beach city, Virginia $90,586 $1,183 $1,802 32.1% 26.4%
York County, Virginia $102,138 $1,348 $1,797 30.4% 22.1%

Exhibit 8: Median Income and Housing Costs
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Regional Housing Costs Are Correlated with 
Regional Incomes 

Exhibit 9: Median Income and Housing Cost
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Families Devote the Same Proportion of Income to 
Housing Regardless of Regional Differences 

Exhibit 10: Median Income and Housing Cost as a Percentage of 
Income
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Non-Guidelines-Related Issues 

The Panel also suggested considering: 
 Adding language to JDR orders stating that order remains 

in effect until modified or terminated by another order. 
 Allowing effective dates: 
 Other than date of filing for initial petitions. 
 Back to filing date instead of date of notice to non-requesting 

party. 

 Civil contempt and present ability to pay. 
 Procedures for driver’s license suspension and 

reinstatement. 
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Non-Guidelines-Related Issues 

Since these issues are not directly related to the 
guidelines, they would be more appropriately 
addressed via other channels (i.e., Boyd-Graves 
Conference, Family Bar Coalition). 

41 



Other Suggestions? 
42 



Panel Website 
43 

Meeting dates, agendas, materials and minutes 

Past reports, economic research, and data 

Panel email address 
 

http://dls.virginia.gov/interim_studies_child_support.html 

 

http://dls.virginia.gov/interim_studies_child_support.html


Staff Contacts 
44 

ALICE G. BURLINSON 
Senior Assistant Attorney General 

Director of Legal Operations—Headquarters 
Email:   alice.burlinson@dss.virginia.gov 

Phone:  540-776-2778 

MELODY C. MCKINLEY 
Panel Administrator 

Special Assistant to the Deputy Commissioner 
Email:  melody.mckinley@dss.virginia.gov 

Phone:  540-776-2780 

mailto:Alice.burlinson@dss.virginia.gov
mailto:melody.mckinley@dss.virginia.gov
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