Special Subcommittee on the 50th Anniversary of Public School Closings in Virginia



www.loc.gov/exhibits/brown/images/br0057Cs.jpg

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Commission Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Awards Committee

House Room 3 The State Capitol Richmond, Virginia Tuesday, October 20, 2009 10:00 a.m.

AGENDA: WORK SESSION

- 1. Call to order—The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Special Subcommittee members and preliminary remarks—Chairman
- 3. Staff Status Report
 - Massive Resistance Conference: University of Virginia Center for Politics, C-SPAN
 - Times Dispatch Editorial: Regret for Massive Resistance, Richmond
 - Teaching American History: Foundations of U.S. History, Virginia History as U.S. History, Loudoun County Public Schools
 - The End of Massive Resistance Exhibition, Norfolk Chrysler Museum of Art
 - Revised Work Schedule
 - Warren County Meeting and Visit
 - Annual History Teachers Conference

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, *Senior Research Associate* Division of Legislative Services

- 4. Reconsideration of the Vote on the Commemorative Theme
- 5. Report of the Steering Committee

The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Steering Committee Chairwoman

- 6. Special Subcommittee Discussion and Decisions
- 7. Directions to Staff
- Other Business
- 9. Next Meeting Date
- 10. Adjournment

Special Subcommittee Members

MLK Commission and Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Committee

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman
Delegate Rosalyn R. Dance, Vice Chairwoman
Delegate Watkins M. Abbitt
Senator Harry B. Blevins
Delegate Salvatore R. Iaquinto
Senator Mamie E. Locke
Senator L. Louise Lucas
Delegate Daniel W. Marshall, III
Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan

Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr.
The Honorable William C. Cleveland
Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire
Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, President
Dr. Patricia Johnson Brown
Mr. Andrew I. Heidelberg
Mr. Donald E. Martin

Ms. Phyllistine Ward Mosley

Nonlegislative Citizen Members

Dr. Rosa S. Atkins Ms. Betsy S. Barton Dr. Kitty J. Boitnott Ms. Christonya B. Brown Mr. Henry W. Cabarrus, Jr.

Mr. Peter Carr
Ms. Ann W. Carter
Mr. Henry L. Chambers, Jr.
Mr. Brian Daugherity
Mr. Breck Daughtrey
Mr. Patrick Farris
Dr. Vonita Foster
Mr. Brian Grogan

The Honorable Leroy Rountree Hassell, Sr.

Dr. Tameka Hobbs
Mrs. Barbara N. Howard
Dr. Wilbert L. Jenkins
Dr. Deneese L. Jones
Dr. Louis C. Justis
Mr. Brian Lee
Ms. Ruth S. Murphy
The Honorable Dave Norris
Dr. Beverly Thurston
Mr. Michael A. Turner
Mr. Lacy B. Ward, Jr.
Dr. Patricia Watkins

Mrs. Valerie Braxton Williams

Mr. Frank Wilson

STAFF

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, *Senior Research Associate* Mrs. Gwendolyn L. Foley, *Senior Operations Staff Assistant Division of Legislative Services*

Ms. Christine McCormick Assistant Clerk, House Committee Operations Virginia House of Delegates

Mr. D. Hobie Lehman Assistant Coordinator of Committee Operations and Sergeant-at-Arms Senate of Virginia