Special Subcommittee on the 50th Anniversary of Public School Closings in Virginia



www.loc.gov/exhibits/brown/images/br0057Cs.jpg

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Commission Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Awards Committee

House Room C General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia Friday, August 21, 2009 10:00 a.m.

AGENDA: STEERING COMMITTEE MEETING

- 1. Call to order—Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, *MLK Commission Chairman*
- 2. Introduction of Steering Committee members and preliminary remarks—Chairman
- 3. Staff Briefing: Tasks of the Steering Committee Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Division of Legislative Services
- 4. Purpose, Plan, and Implementation: Committee Discussion and Development of Proposed Commemorative Activities
- 5. Recommendations to the Special Subcommittee
- 6. Directions to Staff
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Next Meeting Date
- 9. Adjournment

MEMBERS OF THE STEERING COMMITTEE

Senator Mamie E. Locke, Chairwoman Senator Harry B. Blevins Delegate Daniel W. Marshall, III Ms. Betsy S. Barton The Honorable Dana J. Boente The Honorable Leroy Rountree Hassell, Sr. Mr. Andrew I. Heidelberg Dr. Tameka Hobbs Mrs. Barbara N. Howard Mr. Henry W. Cabarrus, Jr. Mr. Henry L. Chambers, Jr. Dr. Louis C. Justis Ms. Ruth S. Murphy Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III Mr. Lacy B. Ward, Jr. Mrs. Valerie Braxton Williams

Ex Officio Members

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, Special Subcommittee Chairman Delegate Rosalyn R. Dance, Special Subcommittee Vice Chairwoman

STAFF Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, *Senior Research Associate* Mrs. Gwendolyn L. Foley, *Senior Operations Staff Assistant Division of Legislative Services*

Ms. Christine McCormick, Assistant Clerk, House Committee Operations Virginia House of Delegates