Special Subcommittee on the 50th Anniversary of Public School Closings in Virginia



www.loc.gov/exhibits/brown/images/br0057Cs.jpg

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Commission Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Awards Committee

House Room C General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia Tuesday, July 14, 2009 10:00 a.m.

AGENDA: ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

- 1. Call to order—Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Special Subcommittee members and preliminary remarks—*Chairman*

3. Staff Briefing and Proposed Work Plan

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, *Senior Research Associate* Division of Legislative Services

4. Encyclopedia Virginia: Massive Resistance

Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, *President* Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and Public Policy Member, MLK Memorial Commission

Presentations: Public School Closings in Virginia

Warren County

5.

- Dr. Louis C. Justis, Assistant Superintendent Warren County Public Schools
- Arlington County Mr. Frank Wilson, Former Member Arlington County School Board Arlington, VA
- Charlottesville
 Ms. Ann W. Carter, Co-founder/President
 Our Legacy, Inc.
 Charlottesville, VA
- Prince Edward County Mr. Robert Hamlin, President Robert Russa Moton Museum
 - They Closed Our Schools Mr. Brian Grogan, *Producer, Mercy Seat Films* Richmond, VA
- Norfolk
 Mr. Andrew I. Heidelberg
 Member of Norfolk 17 and Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Committee

6. Special Subcommittee Discussion and Decisions

- 7. Directions to Staff
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Next Meeting Date
- 10. Adjournment

Special Subcommittee Members

MLK Commission/Brown Committee Members

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman Delegate Rosalyn R. Dance, Vice Chairwoman Delegate Watkins M. Abbitt Senator Harry B. Blevins Delegate Salvatore R. laquinto Senator Mamie E. Locke Delegate Daniel W. Marshall, III Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr. The Honorable William C. Cleveland Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, President Dr. Patricia Johnson Brown Mr. Andrew I. Heidelberg Mr. Donald E. Martin Ms. Phyllistine Ward Mosley

Citizen Members

Dr. Rosa S. Atkins Ms. Betsy S. Barton, History Specialist The Honorable Dana J. Boente Dr. Kitty J. Boitnott Ms. Christonya B. Brown Mr. Henry W. Cabarrus, Jr. Ms. Ann W. Carter Mr. Henry L. Chambers, Jr. Mr. Brian Daugherity Mr. Breck Daughtrey Mr. Patrick Farris Dr. Vonita Foster Mr. Brian Grogan The Honorable Leroy Rountree Hassell, Sr. Dr. Tameka Hobbs Mrs. Barbara N. Howard Dr. Wilbert L. Jenkins Dr. Deneese L. Jones Dr. Louis C. Justis Mr. Brian Lee Ms. Ruth S. Murphy The Honorable Dave Norris Dr. Beverly Thurston Mr. Lacy B. Ward, Jr. Dr. Patricia Watkins Mrs. Valerie Braxton Williams Mr. Frank Wilson

STAFF

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Mrs. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant Division of Legislative Services

Ms. Christine McCormick, Assistant Clerk, House Committee Operations Virginia House of Delegates