Joint Meeting of the Small Business Commission and the Manufacturing Development Commission

June 14, 2013, 1:00 p.m.

Meyera E. Oberndorf Central Library, Audititorium & Libris Meeting Rooms
4100 Virginia Beach Boulevard, Virginia Beach

PROPOSED AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Opening Remarks Senators Wagner and Ruff
- 3. Follow-up items (Staff)
 - a. Local reliance on machinery and tools, merchants' capital, and BPOL taxes
 - b. Services industries taxed by other states
- 4. Industry view on machinery and tools taxes for investment decisions
 - a. Overview Brett A. Vassey (Virginia Manufacturers Association)
 - b. Carter Barrett and Paula Bush (STIHL Inc.)
- 5. Local view on machinery and tools taxes Michelle Chapleau (Virginia Beach Department of Economic Development)
- 6. Time permitting Review of House Document 11 (2012); Plan for Repatriating Manufacturing Jobs and Evaluating Possible Tax Incentives (Staff)
- 7. Adjournment

Members of the Small Business Commission

The Honorable Frank Ruff, Jr., Chair The Honorable Daniel W. Marshall, III, Vice-Chair The Honorable R. Lee Ware, Jr. The Honorable R. Creigh Deeds The Honorable George L. Barker The Honorable Mark L. Cole The Honorable Bryce E. Reeves The Honorable John A. Cox John E. Gordon The Honorable Tony O. Wilt Robert G. Marcus The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Jr. Nicole Rilev Gena Thompson Burr Jane-Scott Cantus Owen Van Syckle

Members of the Manufacturing Development Commission

The Honorable Frank W. Wagner, Chair
The Honorable Ralph K. Smith
The Honorable William M. Stanley, Jr.
The Honorable James Cheng, ex officio
Jerry Robertson
David Lohr
Scott Tilley
The Honorable Harry R. "Bob" Purkey
The Honorable Daniel W. Marshall, III
The Honorable Kathy J. Byron
The Honorable David J. Toscano
The Honorable Michael B. Watson
Brett A. Vassey
Robert L. Williams

Staff and Committee Operations

Mark J. Vucci, Senior Attorney, Division of Legislative Services Amigo Wade, Senior Attorney, Division of Legislative Services Eric Bingham, Senate Committee Operations Nick Galvin, Senate Committee Operations