Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Awards Committee § 30-231.1 et seq., Code of Virginia



August 4, 2008

MEDIA ADVISORY

For Immediate Release

<u>Contact Persons:</u>
Brenda H. Edwards (804) 786-3591
Gwendolyn Foley (804) 786-3591
Hobie Lehman (804) 698-7450

The Honorable Rosalyn R. Dance, Chairwoman of the *Brown v. Board of Education* Scholarship Awards Committee, today announced that the Committee has received a gift of \$1 million from the John Kluge Foundation. This gift will be used to support the *Brown* Scholarship Program and to increase the educational opportunities for eligible persons. The scholarship program was created by the Virginia General Assembly in 2004, as a result of the two-year commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the historic Supreme Court decision in *Brown v. Board of Education*, 347 U.S. 483 (1954). The scholarship program, the only one of its kind in the nation, is designed to assist Virginians who were denied an education in the public schools of the Commonwealth between 1954 and 1964, during Massive Resistance. Currently domiciled residents of the Commonwealth who were eligible to attend the public schools of Virginia between 1954 and 1964 in localities (Charlottesville, Norfolk, Prince Edward County, and Warren County) in which the public schools were closed to avoid desegregation may be eligible for a scholarship award to continue their education. Under state law, eligible persons may use the scholarship to cover the costs of tuition, excluding mandatory fees and assessments, and books at accredited Virginia public schools and institutions of higher education. At this time, the scholarship may be used by eligible Virginians for:

- Transitional education programs to prepare them for success in GED and adult education programs
- Approved GED certificate programs
- Adult high school diploma programs
- College Level Examination Program (CLEP) credit
- Career-technical skills training at public two-year colleges
- Part-time or full-time undergraduate degree programs at accredited two-year or four-year Virginia institutions

In May 2007, eight *Brown* scholarship recipients received the bachelor's degree from Saint Paul's College, and six scholars were graduated from Saint Paul's College in May 2008. Others have received the GED and career and technical skills training. Brown scholars are represented among the followings institutions of higher education and educational programs: Chesterfield Technical and Vocational Center, Hanover Technical and Vocational Center, John Tyler Community College, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College, Liberty University, Longwood University, Mary Baldwin College, Marymount College, Northern Virginia Community College, Old Dominion University, Piedmont Virginia Community College, Regent University, Richmond Adult Education and Vocational Center, Saint Paul's College, Southside Virginia Community College, Tidewater Community College, Virginia Commonwealth University, and Virginia State University.

The Committee will meet later today to review applications and make awards for the 2008-2009 academic year. Each applicant, and institutions of higher education and other educational programs in which applicants have enrolled, will be notified in writing of the Committee's decision concerning his application within two weeks following today's meeting. The next application cycle for the 2009-2010 will begin in late fall, and application packets will be available upon request from the Committee in December 2008. The deadline for the 2009-2010 academic year is March 1, 2009.

For further information concerning the *Brown* Scholarship Program, please contact Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards at Division of Legislative Services, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 910 Capitol Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, (804) 786-3591.