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State of the States

• Now eight state programs with mandatory 
financing

CA, ME, MD, WA, MN, TX, OR, CT
90 million US residents or 30% of US population



The First 4 States

• California enacted in 2003
• Maine enacted in 2004
• Maryland enacted in 2005
• Washington enacted in 2006



California Law

• Financing by $6-$10 Advance Recovery Fee (ARF) on all 
video display devices paid for at point of sale

• ARF amount determined by screen size
• Retailers collect fee, remit to state Board of Equalization
• Recyclers submit claims to CIWMB for reimbursement of

– Recycling costs @ $0.28/lb.
– Collection costs @ $0.20/lb.

• Manufacturers must submit an annual report on
sales, compliance with most RoHS provisions



Maine Law
• Passed in 2004: covers TVs and computer monitors (includes laptops) 

from Maine households
• Municipalities collect from household, send to/contract with state-

approved consolidators (facility or pickup)
Collection from households not funded by system

• Consolidators count brands, follow ESM guidelines, bill manufacturers 
for actual count of claimed brands + orphan share (if over 1%)

• Manufacturers submit compliance plans, file reports, 
pay invoices from all (6) consolidators



Maine Law
Implementation

• Began 1/18/06
• 6 consolidators approved for 2007, 4 collected in 2006

– Uniwaste 95% of wt, Onyx next at 2.5%

• 3 DEP staff managing program, plus staff at consolidator 
– tracking brands, invoicing OEMs

• 270 brands billed in first 6 months, 350 currently claimed
– 90 orphan brands in waste stream in first 6 months

• If not registered, and brands show up or are sold….



Maine DO NOT SELL
Maine Do Not Sell List (as of 4/2007)

Manufacturer
Brand

Acula Technology Corp.
ACULA

Advueu Technology Inc.
Advueu Tech

Ag Neovo Technology 
Corporation
AG Neovo

Albatron Monivision, Inc.
Monivision

Barco Folsom, LLC
Barco Folsom LLC

Broksonic c/o Hatzlachh
Supply Inc.
Broksonic

Electrolux Home Products, Inc.
White

White Westinghouse

Emerson
Dora The Explorer (Emerson only)

Sponge Bob Square Pants (Emerson only)

Hansol LCD Inc.
Hansol

Hitachi High Technologies 
America, Inc.

SuperScan



Maine Do Not Sell List (cont)
Manufacturer

Brand
Homlan International 

Corporation
Homlan International

Raytheon Company
Raytheon

SABRE Vision
Sabre

Shengyang Bigtide
Electronics Co., Ltd.

Shengyang Bigtide

Sichuan Changhong
Electric Co.

Sichuan Changhong
Changhong

Siemens Corporation
Siemens

Sinofaith Holdings Limited
Sinofaith

Smith Corona Corp.
Smith Corona

Systemax, Inc.
INFOTEL

MIDWEST MICRO
Systemax

Ultra

Maine DO NOT SELL (cont)



Maryland Computer 
Recycling Law

• Passed in 2005, amended in 2007 to cover TVs in 
2008

• Creates statewide electronics recycling financing 
• Registration and fee required for manufacturers of 

more than 1,000 units per year
1,000 can be sold anywhere



Maryland Recycling 
Law cont’d

• Initial Registration fee now $10,000, then:
$5,000 per year if manufacturer does NOT implement a 
computer take-back program 
$500 per year if manufacturer DOES implement a program

• Registration money into state recycling trust fund
Used to provide collection/recycling grants to local governments
$208k available for FY07, grants to be awarded mid-June

• First year no grants, funds used for education campaign/survey

• Registered Manufacturers as of 5/1/07:
50 Companies for 2006
37 Companies for 2007 (January 1 deadline!)



Washington Law

• Signed March 2006
4th major state electronics recycling program 
Different than other 3 in significant ways

• Producer Responsibility with default
Manufacturer responsible for “return/equivalent share” either 
on own or pay into State quasi-government organization
No collection goal, but must meet your % at year’s end or pay 
penalty 
(refund if collecting more than %)
Ban on exports to developing countries according to Basel Convention
[VETOED]



• Any monitor, TV or other video 
display over 4”

• Desktop computers

• Laptop computers

• All from covered entities only: 
households, small businesses, 
charities, small governments and 
school districts

Washington Product 
Scope



• Manufacturers may/must join Standard Plan (no choice if a white box or new 
entrant manufacturer) to manage and finance recycling program

• Manufacturers may start an independent plan on their own or with others (if 
combined return share above 5%)

• Retailer may not sell covered products if manufacturer is not
registered and part of an approved plan

• Violation for both retailer and manufacturer

WA Standard and 
Independent Plans



Washington MMFA 

• Establishment of WMMFA Board
Board Members for 2007: Apple, Deer Park Computer Sales and 
Service, Dell, Lenovo, Samsung, Sony, Wal-Mart, Best Buy
Authority responsible for “Standard Plan,” certain manufacturers 
must participate (not eligible for independent plan)

• Challenges for WMMFA
Public vs private entity? Subject to open meetings? How to hire 
staff/counsel?  AG’s office: probably a public entity.
Loan from state approved for startup costs ($500K); costs of 
Ecology staff to be repaid

• Standard and Independent Plans due Feb 2008



Washington 
Return Share

• Alternative approach to complete brand 
count as in Maine

Determine % for each manufacturer based on random 
samples throughout year
Processors may be performing sampling

• Return Share Sampling
NCER Project for Dept of Ecology, with statisticians
Sampling used for setting “manufacturer return shares”
in June 2010, final in August 2010



How Are They
Performing?

• California:
1.79 lbs/capita in 2005 or 65 million lbs
3.5 lbs/capita in 2006 or 128 million lbs

• Maine:
3.1 lbs/capita in 2006, 3.85 million lbs

• Maryland:
[1.2 lbs/capita in 2006, 6.2 million lbs] not program stats

Used registration fees for education in 2006



Patchwork Study

• NCER initiative under National Electronics Recycling 
Infrastructure Clearinghouse

www.ecyclingresource.org

• ID and quantify “dead weight” costs of differing state programs
Sought input from all stakeholders
Assumes 2 additional states by 2012

• Findings
Recurring costs per year: $25 million
One time costs per new state: $3 million

A Study of the
State-by-State

E-Waste Patchwork
An analysis of its economic
and other effects on industry, 
government and consumers

October 2006

http://www.ecyclingresource.org/


Four New Laws from 2007 State 
Legislative Activity



1. Minnesota

• A “Producer Pays” law for video display device 
manufacturers (TVs, monitors, portables)

These producers must recycle 0.6 lbs. of “covered electronic 
devices” for every pound of video display device sold to 
Minnesota households

The “Covered Electronic Devices” includes all video display devices and
desktops, peripherals, fax machines, DVD players, VCRs – from 
households only

• Obligation based on current sales
• First program year starts July 1, 2007



2. Texas

• An Individual Producer Responsibility law for 
computer equipment only – NO TVs

• Requires producers of computer equipment to have 
a recycling plan for their branded products

• Requires producers to put their brand on their 
equipment

• Maximum flexibility for recycling plan scope, extent 
and approach

• Supported strongly by Dell



3. Oregon

• Think “Washington” but where the state runs the standard plan
• “Covered Electronic Devices” are desktop and portable computers, 

monitors and TVs >4” viewable area
• “Covered Entities” are slightly different from Washington:

– Households
– Businesses of non-profits that employ 10 or fewer individuals
– Any person giving seven or fewer covered electronic devices to a collector at 

any one time
• Manufacturer obligation based on return share determined by the 

state by each May 1
• Full implementation kicks in January 1, 2009, but manufacturers 

paying state to recycle must pay by September 1, 2008



4. Connecticut

• Think “Maine” but with a broader scope of 
products
– Desktops are covered in Connecticut, but not in Maine

• The state DEP approves recyclers and recycler 
reimbursement rates

• Starting January 1, 2009 approved recyclers count 
brands for all returned covered electronic devices 
and bill manufacturers for their brands + an orphan 
share at the state-approved reimbursement rate



Help Us Find a Solution

Parker Brugge, CEA
Phone: (703) 907-7765
pbrugge@ce.org

http://www.ce.org/default.asp
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