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Study AuthorizationStudy Authorization

 The Crime Commission was requested The Crime Commission was requested 
by the Joint Commission on Technology by the Joint Commission on Technology 
and Science to assist in a review of and Science to assist in a review of 
““sextingsexting,,”” specifically, specifically, how current law 
applies and how it is being prosecuted.
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BackgroundBackground

 SextingSexting, derived from the word , derived from the word ““textingtexting,,”” is is 
the act of taking a sexually suggestive photo, the act of taking a sexually suggestive photo, 
usually of oneself, and then sending it via a usually of oneself, and then sending it via a 
picture message from one cell phone to picture message from one cell phone to 
another.another.

 SextingSexting has attracted attention nationwide, as has attracted attention nationwide, as 
many of the participants taking and receiving many of the participants taking and receiving 
such photos are minors.such photos are minors.
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BackgroundBackground

 22 % of teenage girls, and 18 % of teenage 22 % of teenage girls, and 18 % of teenage 
boys, have sent or posted images or video boys, have sent or posted images or video 
showing themselves nude or semishowing themselves nude or semi--nude.nude.
–– 11 % of young teenage girls, between the ages of 13 11 % of young teenage girls, between the ages of 13 

and 16, have done so.and 16, have done so.

Source: Source: ““Sex and Tech,Sex and Tech,”” a report issued by the National Campaign to a report issued by the National Campaign to 
Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, based on an online survey Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, based on an online survey 
conducted from September 25 to October 3, 2008.conducted from September 25 to October 3, 2008.
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BackgroundBackground
 SextingSexting has raised debates across the has raised debates across the 

country: country: 
–– Are child pornography laws, which were meant Are child pornography laws, which were meant 

to criminalize the predatory behavior of older to criminalize the predatory behavior of older 
men, appropriate for the prosecution of men, appropriate for the prosecution of 
teenagers who have engaged in teenagers who have engaged in sextingsexting
voluntarily?voluntarily?

–– What are the best ways to curtail this activity What are the best ways to curtail this activity 
amongst teenagers?amongst teenagers?
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Criminal PenaltiesCriminal Penalties
 SextingSexting may violate a number of Virginiamay violate a number of Virginia’’s criminal s criminal 

statutes.statutes.
 Va. Code Va. Code §§ 18.218.2--374.1 criminalizes the production and 374.1 criminalizes the production and 

distribution of child pornography.distribution of child pornography.
 If a minor takes a photo of himself, it is a violation of If a minor takes a photo of himself, it is a violation of 

subsection (B)(2).subsection (B)(2).
 If the minor is under the age of 15, it is an unclassified If the minor is under the age of 15, it is an unclassified 

felony carrying from 5 to 30 years.felony carrying from 5 to 30 years.
 If the minor is 15 or older, it is an unclassified felony If the minor is 15 or older, it is an unclassified felony 

carrying from 1 to 20 years.carrying from 1 to 20 years.
 It should be noted that unless the minor was tried as an It should be noted that unless the minor was tried as an 

adult, he almost certainly would not receive such a lengthy adult, he almost certainly would not receive such a lengthy 
sentence.sentence.
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Criminal PenaltiesCriminal Penalties
 Va. Code Va. Code §§ 374.1:1 criminalizes the possession of any such 374.1:1 criminalizes the possession of any such 

photos that are sent, making it a Class 6 felony for a first photos that are sent, making it a Class 6 felony for a first 
violation, and a Class 5 felony for a second violation.violation, and a Class 5 felony for a second violation.

 If the recipient of the photos then digitally passes them on If the recipient of the photos then digitally passes them on 
to a friend, or even just displays them on his phone to to a friend, or even just displays them on his phone to 
another, his act of distribution or display is an unclassified another, his act of distribution or display is an unclassified 
felony carrying from 5 to 20 years.felony carrying from 5 to 20 years.

 A second act of distribution or display also carries from 5 A second act of distribution or display also carries from 5 
to 20 years, with a mandatory minimum punishment of 5 to 20 years, with a mandatory minimum punishment of 5 
years. years. 

 Unless the minor is tried as an adult, he also would Unless the minor is tried as an adult, he also would 
probably not receive such a lengthy sentence.probably not receive such a lengthy sentence.
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Criminal PenaltiesCriminal Penalties
 Under Virginia law, actual nudity is not required for the Under Virginia law, actual nudity is not required for the 

images to be child pornography.images to be child pornography.
 Under the relevant definitions provided by Va. Code     Under the relevant definitions provided by Va. Code     

§§ 18.218.2--390, 390, ““nuditynudity”” includes includes ““a state of undress so as a state of undress so as 
to expose the human male or female genitals, pubic to expose the human male or female genitals, pubic 
area or buttocks with less than a full opaque covering, area or buttocks with less than a full opaque covering, 
or the showing of the female breast with less than a or the showing of the female breast with less than a 
fully opaque covering of any portion thereof below the fully opaque covering of any portion thereof below the 
top of the nippletop of the nipple……..””

 The nudity must involve a lewd exhibition; not all The nudity must involve a lewd exhibition; not all 
naked pictures of children qualify as child naked pictures of children qualify as child 
pornography.  pornography.  AsaAsa v. Commonwealthv. Commonwealth, 17 Va. App. 714 , 17 Va. App. 714 
(1994).(1994).
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Criminal PenaltiesCriminal Penalties
 A minor can also break the law if he solicits his A minor can also break the law if he solicits his 

girlfriend to give him a nude photo of herself.girlfriend to give him a nude photo of herself.
 A solicitation to a minor to be the subject of A solicitation to a minor to be the subject of 

child pornography is a violation of Va. Code     child pornography is a violation of Va. Code     
§§ 18.218.2--374.1(B), and carries the same penalties 374.1(B), and carries the same penalties 
as the actual production of child pornography.as the actual production of child pornography.

 Additionally, if the minor communicates his Additionally, if the minor communicates his 
solicitation by esolicitation by e--mail, phone, cell phone, or mail, phone, cell phone, or 
other communications system, it is a violation other communications system, it is a violation 
of Va. Code of Va. Code §§ 18.218.2--374.3(B), which is a Class 6 374.3(B), which is a Class 6 
felony.felony.
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Registration Registration 
RequirementsRequirements
 Under current Virginia law, juveniles are subject to Under current Virginia law, juveniles are subject to 

the registration requirements of sex offenders if:the registration requirements of sex offenders if:
–– They are tried as adults; orThey are tried as adults; or
–– They are over the age of 13 at the time of the offense, andThey are over the age of 13 at the time of the offense, and
–– The CommonwealthThe Commonwealth’’s Attorney makes a motion for the s Attorney makes a motion for the 

juvenile to be registered as a sex offender, andjuvenile to be registered as a sex offender, and
–– The court finds there are sufficient aggravating factors to The court finds there are sufficient aggravating factors to 

require registration.require registration.

 Juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent of a sexual Juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent of a sexual 
offense are not automatically required to be offense are not automatically required to be 
registered.registered.
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RegistrationRegistration
Requirements under the Requirements under the 
Adam Walsh ActAdam Walsh Act
 Title I of the federal Adam Walsh Act requires states to create Title I of the federal Adam Walsh Act requires states to create 

sex offender registries.sex offender registries.
 It contains many specific requirements as to which offenses It contains many specific requirements as to which offenses 

require registration, and how long offenders must be on the require registration, and how long offenders must be on the 
registry.registry.

 Juveniles who are convicted as adults of producing or Juveniles who are convicted as adults of producing or 
distributing child pornography must register as sex offenders distributing child pornography must register as sex offenders 
for at least 25 years. for at least 25 years. 

 VirginiaVirginia’’s registration requirements for these offenses comply s registration requirements for these offenses comply 
with the Act.with the Act.

 Under VirginiaUnder Virginia’’s registration laws, producers of child s registration laws, producers of child 
pornography must register for life as having committed a pornography must register for life as having committed a 
sexually violent offense.sexually violent offense.

 Distributors of child pornography must register for either life,Distributors of child pornography must register for either life,
f t l t 25or for at least 25 ears
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RegistrationRegistration
Requirements under the Requirements under the 
Adam Walsh ActAdam Walsh Act
 Under the Adam Walsh Act, juveniles convicted Under the Adam Walsh Act, juveniles convicted 

as adults of possession of child pornography as adults of possession of child pornography 
must register as sex offenders for at least 15 must register as sex offenders for at least 15 
yearsyears..

 VirginiaVirginia’’s registration requirement for this s registration requirement for this 
offense complies with the Act, for offenses that offense complies with the Act, for offenses that 
occurred on or after July 1, 2006.occurred on or after July 1, 2006.

 Because Virginia does not require registration Because Virginia does not require registration 
for this offense if the crime occurred before July for this offense if the crime occurred before July 
1, 2006, Virginia does not fully meet the 1, 2006, Virginia does not fully meet the 
requirements of the Act for this offenserequirements of the Act for this offense
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RegistrationRegistration
Requirements under Requirements under 
Adam WalshAdam Walsh
 Under the Adam Walsh Act, juveniles who are Under the Adam Walsh Act, juveniles who are 

adjudicated delinquent of a sex offense are only adjudicated delinquent of a sex offense are only 
required to register if:required to register if:
–– They are 14 years old or older at the time of the They are 14 years old or older at the time of the 

offense; and,offense; and,
–– The offense was comparable to or more severe than The offense was comparable to or more severe than 

““aggravated sexual abuse,aggravated sexual abuse,”” which is defined in which is defined in 
relevant part as engaging in a sexual act that involves relevant part as engaging in a sexual act that involves 
actual touching.actual touching.

 Thus, the Adam Walsh Act does not require that Thus, the Adam Walsh Act does not require that 
juveniles who engage in juveniles who engage in sextingsexting be placed on a be placed on a 

ff d iff d i
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General Policy OptionsGeneral Policy Options
 Maintain the status quo, with no change Maintain the status quo, with no change 

in Virginiain Virginia’’s criminal laws; ors criminal laws; or

 Create a new offense to specifically deal Create a new offense to specifically deal 
with with sextingsexting by juveniles.by juveniles.

 Request the Virginia Department of Request the Virginia Department of 
Education work to educate students on Education work to educate students on 
the dangers and illegality of the dangers and illegality of sextingsexting..
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DiscussionDiscussion


