
D I V I S I O N  O F  L E G I S L A T I V E  S E R V I C E S  

In Due Course: 
   This publication provides a brief summary of legislation passed by the 2009 General Assembly 
that is of interest to the citizens of Virginia and is likely to have an impact on their daily lives.  
The legislation has been signed by the Governor and most is due to go into effect on  
July  1,  2009.   The summaries were prepared by the staff of the Division of Legislative Services. 

2009 Changes to Virginia’s Laws 

                                   

 “ All laws enacted at a regular session,  
. . .  excluding a general appropriation law,  

shall take effect on the first day of July  
following the adjournment of the session of the  

General Assembly at which it has been enacted.”   
 

                  Constitution of Virginia, Article IV, Section 13 

Alcoholic Beverages Control 
ABC pilot project. The law creates a two-year pilot 
project for participating mixed beverage restaurant 
licensees to use an alternative calculation for the 
food-to-beverage ratio based on volume by proof 
gallon.  

Special event license.  The law creates a new type 

of special event license that will allow the State Fair 
in Caroline County to serve wine, beer, and mixed 
beverages.   

 

Animals 
Dangerous dogs. The law provides that if a court 
finds a dog to be a dangerous or vicious animal, it 
may order the owner, custodian, or harborer of the 
dog to pay restitution for actual damages to any 
person injured by the dog or whose companion 
animal was injured or killed by the dog. 

Business & Employment 
Automatic dialing-announcing devices.  The law 
prohibits a business from using an automatic dialing-
announcing device to make a commercial telephone 
solicitation unless a subscriber has requested or 
authorized receipt of the message or unless the 
message is preceded by a live operator who obtains  
consent before delivering the message.  

Earned income tax credit.  The law requires employ-
ers to post any notice that may be provided by the 
Department of Social Services informing employees 
that they may be eligible for federal and state earned 
income tax credits. 

Payment of wages by prepaid cards.  The law 
authorizes employers to pay wages to an employee 
hired after January 1, 2010, by credit to a prepaid 
debit card account if the employee does not designate 
his own financial institution. The employer is required 
to arrange for the card and the employee will have the 
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ability to make at least one free withdrawal per pay 
period. 

Sales of recalled children's products.  The law 
prohibits under the Virginia Consumer Protection 
Act the sale or manufacture of children's products a 
supplier believes has been recalled by the United 
States Consumer Product Safety Commission.  The 
law does not apply to products that are used or 
"seconds."  

Scrap metal processors.  The law adds catalytic 
converters to the list of proprietary articles for which 
heightened scrutiny is required prior to sale to a 
scrap metal processor. 

Unemployment benefits.  The law postpones the 
scheduled increase, from $2,700 to $3,000, in the 
minimum amount of wages an employee must have 
earned in the two highest earnings quarters of his 

base period in order to be eligible for unemployment 
benefits. The increase had been scheduled to apply 
to claims filed on or after July 5, 2009, and now will 
apply to claims filed on or after July 4, 2010.  

 

Civil Law 
Garnishment. The law provides that a parent whose 
household income does not exceed $1,750 and who 
supports a dependent child or children residing with 
him may hold exempt from garnishment an 
additional amount for the support of the child or 
children as follows: $34 per week for one child, $52 
per week for two children, and $66 per week for 
three or more children. 

Homestead exemption.  The laws: 

• Increase the homestead exemption from 
$5,000 to $10,000 for householders who are 
65 years of age or older. 

• Increase the additional homestead exemption 
for disabled veterans from $2,000 to $10,000. 

Postadoption contact and communication. The law 
authorizes and establishes procedures governing 
postadoption contact and communication 
agreements between the birth parent or parents of 
a child and the preadoptive parent or parents. 

Petition to remove a public official. The law 
provides that the court will not dismiss a petition 
for the removal of a public official solely because of 
an error or omission in the form of the petition 
unless the error or omission is material in 
determining whether statutory requirements have 
been met. The measure provides further that any 
person who signs or circulates a petition for the 
removal of a public official:  

• Will not be liable for any costs associated 
with the proceedings, including attorney 
fees or court costs.  

• Will not have sanctions or fines imposed 
on him under the statute that provides 
sanctions in frivolous court proceedings. 

 

Criminal Law 
Abduction.  The law expands abduction to include 
abducting a person with the intent to subject the 
person to forced labor or services. Intimidation is 

redefined to include withholding a person's 
passport or like documents. The law also adds four 
new RICO (Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt 
Organizations) crimes.  

Possession of ammunition by convicted felons.  
The law prohibits a convicted felon from possess-
ing ammunition for a firearm and adds a definition 

of ammunition.  A violation is a Class 6 felony. 

Power of magistrates to issue felony arrest warrants.   
The law provides that a magistrate may not issue an 
arrest warrant for a felony offense upon the basis of 
a complaint by a person other than a law-
enforcement officer without prior consultation by 
the magistrate with the attorney for the  
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Commonwealth or without prior consultation with a 
law-enforcement agency, if no attorney for the 
Commonwealth is available. The law also provides 
that a written complaint shall be required whenever 
practicable if the complainant is not a law-
enforcement officer. 

Reimbursement of expenses in DUI and related 
incidents.   The law specifies that a locality that has 
passed an enabling ordinance is entitled to restitution 
from a person convicted of certain DUI offenses, 
when issuing any arrest warrant or summons, in 
addition to compensation for an appropriate law-
enforcement response. 

Sexual battery.   The law expands the authority of a 
magistrate or judge to issue any stalking protective 
order to include issuance when a warrant is issued 
for sexual battery or aggravated sexual battery. 

Currently, issuance of the order is limited to criminal 
offenses resulting in serious bodily injury or stalking. 

 

Higher Education 
Financial aid programs.  The law provides that 
students who have completed a program of home 
school instruction and certain students who have 
been excused from school attendance will be 
deemed to have met any high school graduation 
requirements for purposes of determining eligibility 
for any state-supported financial aid or other higher 
education programs. Also, when a high school grade 
point average, class rank, or other academic criteria 
is specified as a condition of participating, the State 
Council of Higher Education for Virginia will 
develop an equivalent measure for these students.  

National Guard tuition assistance. The law provides, 
notwithstanding the eligibility requirement that a 
member of the National Guard have a minimum of 
two years remaining on his service requirement in 
order to receive a tuition grant, if a member is 

activated or deployed for federal military service, an 
additional day, up to 365 days, will be added to the 
member's eligibility for the grant for each day of 
federal service. Additional credit, or credit for state 
duty, may be awarded at the discretion of the 
Adjutant General.  

State Council of Higher Education student advisory 
committee.  The law permits the State Council of 
Higher Education for Virginia to appoint students 
enrolled in private and accredited institutions of 
higher education in the Commonwealth to the 
student advisory committee.  

 

Public Education 
Educational Opportunity for Military Children. The 
law establishes a compact to remove barriers to 
success imposed on children of military families 

because of frequent moves and deployment of their 
parents.  

Family life education.  The laws: 

• Require school divisions to distribute a 
summary, already required by law, to be made 
available to parents and guardians to assist 
them in understanding the public school 
family life education program and include a 
statement that they have the right to review 
all materials used in the program, as well as 
remove their child from all or part of the 
family life instruction. 

• Add the benefits, challenges, responsibilities, 
and value of marriage for men, women, 
children, and communities to the list of 
topics to be covered in family life education 
curricula. 

Planning time for school teachers.  The law requires 

local school boards to ensure that all elementary 
school teachers are provided an average of 30 
minutes a day of planning time.  

Special education due process hearings.  The law 
provides that any party aggrieved by a decision made 
in a special education due process hearing may 
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appeal the decision to a circuit court within 180 
days. 

Textbooks. The law provides that local school 
boards may assess a reasonable fee or charge for 
the loss or damage to a textbook, so long as the 
textbook has been provided to the student free of 
charge. 

 

Elections 
Absentee voters and first responders.  The law 
adds law-enforcement officers, firefighters, and 
other first responders to the list of persons who are 
entitled to vote absentee. 

Federal write-in absentee ballots. The law provides 
that a federal write-in absentee ballot will be valid 
for purposes of satisfying both an absentee ballot 

application and a completed absentee ballot for 
federal offices if the envelope contains the 
signature of a witness and even if the witness' 
printed name and address is not completed. 

Petition to remove a public official. See Civil Law. 

Registration and election processes.  The law: 

• Clarifies the definition of "residence" for 
voting purposes. 

• Allows a person to wear political shirts, 
hats, stickers, or other apparel at a polling 
place. 

• Increases the criminal penalty for voting by 
a person who knows he is not qualified to 
vote or assisting another person to vote 
who is not qualified. 

 

Energy 
Clean energy financing.  The law authorizes 
localities to provide loans for the initial acquisition 
and installation of clean energy improvements. 

Electric energy efficiency programs.  The law 
authorizes investor-owned electric utilities to recover 
the costs of designing, implementing, and operating 
energy efficiency programs.  

Electrical generation from agricultural waste.  The law 
excludes any farm that owns and operates facilities for 
the generation of electric energy from waste-to-energy 
technology, including methane digesters, from 
regulation as a public utility, public service corpora-
tion, or public service company.    

Electric rates of distribution cooperatives.  The law 
authorizes any distribution electric cooperative, 
without State Corporation Commission approval, to 
adjust its rates in a manner reasonably calculated to 
collect any or all of the fixed costs of owning and 
operating its electric distribution system through a 
new or modified fixed monthly charge.   

 

Environment & Natural Resources 
Department of Forestry permit. The law authorizes 
the State Forester to require a person to obtain a 

permit to fish, as well as to ride mountain bikes or 
horses on lands under the control of the Department 
of Forestry. Currently, a permit to hunt or trap is 
required. 

No discharge zone. The law establishes the tidal 
creeks of Virginia as "no discharge" zones. Vessels 
operating in these designated areas are prohibited 
from discharging treated and untreated waste into the 
waters. A no discharge zone would only be estab-
lished on tidal creeks where the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency has determined that sufficient 
facilities exist for the removal of sewage. 

Rechargeable battery recycling.  The law authorizes 
localities to ban the disposal of rechargeable batteries 
in any waste disposal facility within its jurisdiction, 
provided the locality has a recycling program that is 
capable of handling rechargeable batteries.  
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Refunds for saltwater fishing licenses. The law 
requires the Marine Resources Commission to 
refund fees for saltwater fishing licenses on a 
prorated basis if the Commission stops selling the 
license due to fishery management purposes.  

State parks and access for disabled veterans. The 
law establishes a Disabled Veteran's Passport 
program that provides free parking and admis-
sion and a 50 percent discount on camping and 
swimming fees, picnic shelter rentals, and other 
park equipment rentals for veterans with a 
service-connected disability rating of 100 percent.  

Wearing blaze orange. The law exempts persons 
from wearing blaze orange clothing when hunting 
doves. 

 

FOIA 
Protection of Social Security Numbers.  The law 
provides that the first five digits of a social 

security number contained in a public record are 
confidential and exempt from disclosure under 
the Freedom of Information Act.  

 

Health 
Advance medical directives. The law revises the 
Health Care Decisions Act to allow a person to 

make a written advance directive to specify health 
care the declarant does or does not authorize, 
appoint an agent to make health care decisions 
for him, and specify an anatomical gift. 

Designation of persons authorized to make 
funeral and burial decisions. The law allows 

identification of persons who may make 
decisions about the funeral of a deceased person, 
as well as specification of the priority of persons 
to make decisions.  

First responders.  The law provides that when a 
firefighter, paramedic, or emergency medical 
technician is exposed to a patient's body fluids in a 
manner that may transmit HIV or hepatitis, the 
patient will be deemed to have consented to testing 
for the viruses even though the person has not been 
notified. The law also provides that when a first 
responder is asked to transport someone with a 
communicable disease, a facility is required to inform 
the first responder as to the patient's condition and 
any precautions that need to be taken.  

Virginia Indoor Clean Air Act. The law prohibits 
smoking in all indoor restaurants and bar and lounge 
areas in Virginia, requires the posting of “No 
Smoking” signs, and provides for a $25 civil penalty 
for a violation of the provisions. 

 

Home Ownership 
Cancellation of property insurance policy upon 
foreclosure.  The law authorizes the cancellation of a 

policy insuring an owner-occupied dwelling on 
grounds that the property secured by the policy has 
been sold pursuant to foreclosure of a deed of trust 
encumbering the property. 

Homestead exemption.  See Civil Law. 

Mortgage Lender and Broker Act. The law prohibits 
a mortgage broker from failing to use reasonable skill, 
care, and diligence in exercising the broker's duty to 
make reasonable efforts to secure a mortgage loan 
that is in the best interests of the applicant, consider-
ing the applicant's circumstances and loan characteris-
tics. 

Mortgage loan originators.  The law prohibits an 
individual from acting as, or holding himself out to 
the public as being, a mortgage loan originator on or 
after July 1, 2010, unless he has obtained a license 
from the State Corporation Commission. 
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Insurance 
Coverage for prosthetics.  The law requires health 
insurers to make available coverage for medically 
necessary prosthetic devices to replace a limb, and 
their repair, fitting, replacement, and components.  

Small group health insurance.  The law allows health 
insurers to sell group health insurance policies to 
employers with 50 or fewer employees that do not 
include all of the state mandated health insurance 
benefits; however, coverage for mammograms, pap 
smears, PSA testing, and colorectal cancer screenings 
is required.  

 

Local Government 
Annexation. The law extends from 2010 to 2018 the 
temporary restriction on city annexation authority, 
the granting of city charters, and county immunity 

proceedings. 

Boards of zoning appeals variance standard.  The law 
changes the standard by which a variance can be 
granted by eliminating the requirement for a showing 
of a hardship "approaching confiscation." 

Derelict buildings. The law defines derelict buildings 
and authorizes local governments to provide real 

estate tax abatements and fee refunds if owners timely 
submit plans for demolition or renovation.  The law 
also simplifies tax lien enforcement and blight 
provisions and encourages action on derelict 
buildings by adjusting time frames. 

Graffiti abatement.  The law permits courts to order 
any person convicted of unlawfully defacing property 
to pay full or partial restitution to the locality for costs 
incurred by the locality in removing or repairing the 
defacement.   

Land use approvals. The law extends the period of 
validity for certain preliminary and recorded plats and 

final site plans, as well as certain other land use 
approvals, to July 1, 2014. 

 

 

 

Social Services &  
Child Welfare 
Adult neglect and religious treatment. The law 
provides that an adult who is receiving religious 
nonmedical treatment or nursing care rather 
than medical care for a medical condition will 
not be considered "abused or neglected" where 
the treatment is provided in good faith, the 
treatment is in accordance with the religious 
practices of the adult receiving care, and the 
adult receiving care has made a written or oral 
consent to the treatment. 

History of sexual abuse and child custody and 
visitation.  The law provides that any history of 

sexual abuse must be considered as a factor in 
determining the best interests of a child for 
purposes of awarding custody or visitation. 

Postadoption contact and communication.  See 
Civil Law. 

Unlicensed child day centers. The law reduces 
the required staff-to-child ratio for children ages 
24 months to 6 years in child day care centers 
operated by religious institutions that are not 
required to be licensed by the Department of 
Social Services. 

Virginia Child Protection Accountability 
System.  The law creates the Virginia Child 
Protection Accountability System, which will 
collect and make available to the public 
information about the Department of Social 
Services' response to reported cases of child 
abuse in the Commonwealth.  
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Taxes 
Earned income tax credit. See Business and 
Employment. 

Power of attorney for tax matters.  The law 
requires the Department of Taxation to provide to 
a power of attorney named by the taxpayer any 
written materials or documents that have been 
provided to the taxpayer.  The Department must 
provide the documents to the power of attorney at 
the same time as they are provided to the taxpayer. 

Sales and use tax exemption.  The law exempts 
from sales and use tax the processing of meat, 
vegetables, or other foodstuffs when the purchas-

ers, such as hunters and farmers, supply the food 
and it is consumed by the purchaser or his family, 
or when the purchaser is a nonprofit organization 
or donates the foods. 

Virginia Tax Amnesty Program.  The law authorizes 
the State Tax Commissioner to operate a tax 
amnesty program any time between July 1,2009, and 
June 30, 2010. The program would allow any 
individual, corporation, estate, trust, and partnership 
that failed to file a state tax return or to pay any state 
tax that was due for any taxable year before January 
1, 2008, to pay the tax due and have all penalties and 
one-half of the interest forgiven. 

For multiple copies of  

In Due Course  
or other DLS publications,  

please contact the House or  the  Senate  

Clerks’  Office. 

 

                                    

  Special  L icense Plates  & DMV   

The laws authorize issuance of special license 
plates for: 

Participants in Operation Enduring Freedom. 

Members of the Virginia State Defense Force. 

Supporters of the Shenandoah National Park 
Trust. 

Supporters of the Choose Life Virginia Fund. 

Supporters of tourism and conservation on the 
Northern Neck. 

Tobacco Heritage plates for trucks, for-hire 
vehicles, and vehicles registered under the 
International Registration Plan. 

Operat ion  o f  a  Veh ic le  
 

Text messaging while driving.  The law 
prohibits operation of a motor vehicle on the 
highway while using a cell phone or other 
handheld personal communications device to 

send or receive text massages. Use of  
global positioning systems and emergency  
communications are exempted from the 
prohibition. 
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