“All laws enacted at a regular session, . . . excluding a
general appropriation law, shall take effect on the first
day of July following the adjournment of the session
of the General Assembly at which it has been enacted.”

(Constitution of Virginia, Article IV, Section 13)

In Due Course:

2004 Changes to Virginia’s Laws

This publication provides a brief summary of legisla-
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tion passed by the 2004 General Assembly that is of

an impact on their daily lives. The legislation has been

- ' '3 interest to the citizens of Virginia and is likely to have

signed by the Governor, and most is due to go into
effect on July 1, 2004. The summaries were prepared
by the staff of the Division of Legislative Services.

Taxes

Because the General Assembly approved the
following taxation measures during its 2004
Special Session, “in due course” for this leg-
islation will be September 1, 2004.

Sales and use tax. The tax rate will increase
from 4.5 percent to 5.0 percent on September
1, 2004.

Cigarette tax. The state tax on a pack of ciga-
rettes will increase from 2.5 cents to 20 cents
on September 1, 2004, and to 30 cents on July
1, 2005.

Recordation tax. The tax rate for recording
real estate transactions will increase from 15
cents to 25 cents per $100 of value on Septem-
ber 1, 2004.

DU

Increased penalties. Mandatory penalties in-
crease as follows: for a second conviction within
10 years: 10 days in jail; for a second convic-
tion within S years: 20 days; for a third convic-
tion within 10 years: 90 days; and for a third
conviction within S years: 180 days.

Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE).
DUI convictions, not previously reported, will
be reported to the CCRE.

Bail. Bail for repeat DUI offenders will be more
difficult to obtain.

License suspension for refusal. Refusal to take
a blood or breath test will be a criminal offense.
For refusal within 10 years of a prior offense:
3-year license suspension and a Class 2 mis-
demeanor; for refusal for a third offense within
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10 years: 3-year license suspension and a Class
1 misdemeanor.

Elevated BAC. Additional penalties, including
mandatory jail time, for driving with elevated
blood alcohol content (BAC) levels will apply for
BAC levels of .20 (rather than .25) and .15
(rather than .20).

Zero tolerance. Driving on a DUIl-restricted
license with a BAC of .02 or above will be a
Class 1 misdemeanor.

Vehicle forfeiture. A vehicle solely owned and
operated by an individual convicted of a third
or subsequent DUI offense (felony DUI) may be
seized and ordered forfeited to the Common-
wealth.

Mandatory minimum fine. A mandatory
minimum fine of $250 will apply for all first
offense DUIs, not just for those offenders with
an elevated blood alcohol content.

Criminal Justice

“21-day rule.” Establishes a procedure for a
convicted felon to petition the Court of Ap-
peals for a writ of actual innocence based on
previously unknown or unavailable nonbio-
logical evidence, a process similar to the one
that already exists in the Code for previously
unknown or untested biological evidence. The
procedure is not available to felons who
pleaded guilty and may be used only once.

Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organi-
zation (RICO) Act. Under Virginia’s RICO
act, various violations of alcoholic beverage,
banking, and criminal law may be prosecuted
as racketeering, with fines of up to $2 mil-
lion and prison terms of 5 to 40 years. The
Attorney General is authorized to prosecute
violations of the Act.

Killing a fetus. Any person who maliciously,
willfully, deliberately, and unlawfully kills the
fetus of another is guilty of a Class 2 felony
(20 years to life).

Wrongful incarceration. Provides guidelines
for the compensation of persons wrongfully
incarcerated. A wrongfully incarcerated per-
son may receive an amount equal to 90 per-
cent of the Virginia per capita personal in-
come for each year of incarceration up to 20
years.

Recording of motion pictures. Recording a
motion picture while it is being shown at a
movie theater will be punished as a Class 1
misdemeanor.

Domestic Violence Fund. The Virginia Do-
mestic Violence Victim Fund, to be adminis-
tered by the Department of Criminal Justice
Services, will support domestic violence,
sexual abuse, stalking and family abuse ser-
vices. An increase in court fees, with a dedi-
cated portion ($2) of court fees deposited into
the fund, will generate approximately $2.5 to
$3 million per year, which will be available to
O prosecutors to support the prosecution of
felonies and misdemeanors involving do-
mestic violence, sexual abuse, stalking and
family abuse, and
O law-enforcement authorities or appropri-
ate programs, including civil legal assis-
tance, to assist in protecting and provid-
ing necessary services to victims of and
children affected by domestic violence,
sexual abuse, stalking and family abuse.

Arrest and detention of illegal aliens. All
law-enforcement officers will have the author-
ity to enforce immigration laws. A law-en-
forcement officer may, in the course of acting
upon reasonable suspicion that an individual
has committed or is committing a crime, ar-
rest the individual without a warrant upon
receiving confirmation from the Bureau of
Immigration and Customs Enforcement that
the individual is an illegal alien, has previ-
ously been convicted of a felony in the United
States, and has been deported or left the
United States after such conviction. A mag-
istrate may issue a warrant and the person
may be detained for not more than 72 hours
or until taken into federal custody, which-
ever occurs first. The bill creates a presump-
tion that an individual shall not be admitted
to bail if he is detained pursuant to this pro-
vision.

Education

Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship
Program and Fund. The Brown v. Board of
Education Scholarship Program and Fund will
assist students who were enrolled in the pub-



Price gouging. Prohibits suppliers from sell-
ing, leasing, or licensing necessary goods and
services during times of disaster at an un-
conscionable price. A violation constitutes a
prohibited practice under the Virginia Con-
sumer Protection Act, though victims will not
be able to bring a private cause of action.

Flood insurance. Insurers issuing a new
or renewal contract or policy of homeowners
insurance on or after October 1, 2004, that
excludes flood coverage must provide writ-
ten notice to the policyholder that contents
coverage may be available with the flood
policy for an additional premium. An in-
surer is required to notify a policyholder
when flood coverage is excluded from a policy
or contract and that flood insurance is avail-
able from the insurer, insurance agent, or
the National Flood Insurance Program.

Homeowners insurance deductibles. An in-
surer who unilaterally changes the deduct-

“Isabel Bills”

Several measures before the 2004 General Assembly were occasioned, at least in part, by the
depredations of Hurricane Isabel in September 2003.

ible on a policy insuring an owner-occupied
dwelling must provide written notice to the
insured stating that the deductible has been
changed and explaining how the new de-
ductible will be applied. This section will
apply to policies renewed in Virginia on or
after October 1, 2004.

Unemployment compensation. An em-
ployer will not be responsible for benefit
charges due to unemployment resulting from
a temporary work closure forced by a disas-
ter for which the Governor has declared a
state of emergency. The benefit charges,
not to exceed four weeks, will be assigned
to the pool tax.

Emergency power. Assisted living facili-
ties with six or more residents will be able
to connect by July 1, 2007, to a temporary
emergency electrical power source for the
provision of electricity during an interrup-
tion of the normal electric power supply.

lic schools of Virginia between 1954 and 1964,
in jurisdictions in which public schools were
closed to avoid desegregation, in obtaining a
high school diploma, the General Education
Development certificate, career or technical
education or training, or an undergraduate
degree from a public institution of higher edu-
cation in Virginia.

Family life education. Adds to the family life
curriculum steps to take to avoid sexual as-
sault and the availability of counseling and
legal resources, and, in the event of such
sexual assault, the importance of immediate
medical attention and advice. The goals of
the revised curriculum are “reducing the in-
cidence of pregnancy and sexually-transmit-
ted diseases and substance abuse among
teenagers.”

Alternatives to student dissection of ani-
mals. School divisions will be required to pro-
vide students with alternatives to animal dis-

section in public school courses, including the
use of detailed models of animal anatomy and
computer simulations as alternatives to dis-
section.

Duty to report child abuse or neglect. Each
public school board and each administrator of
every private or parochial school must post in
each of their schools a notice that (i) any
teacher or other person employed in the school
who has reason to suspect that a child is
abused, neglected, or abandoned is required
to report such suspected cases of child abuse
or neglect to local or state social services agen-
cies or the person in charge of the school,
and (ii) all persons required to report cases of
such suspected child abuse or neglect are
immune from civil or criminal liability or ad-
ministrative penalty or sanction on account
of such reports unless the person acted in
bad faith or with malicious purpose.




Localities

Golf carts and utility vehicles. Authorizes
limited over-the-road operation of golf carts
and utility vehicles under conditions set, for
the most part, by local governing bodies.

Sunday ABC sales. ABC stores in Northern
Virginia and Tidewater will be open on Sun-
days after 1:00 p.m.

Paintball guns. Localities will be authorized
to regulate or restrict the use of paintball guns
by ordinance, including requiring that minors
under the age of 16 have adult supervision
when using them.

Richmond mayor. Provides for the direct elec-
tion of the mayor, for a term of four years,
beginning in November 2004. The person re-
ceiving the most votes in each of at least five
of the nine city council districts shall be
elected. Should no one be elected, a runoff
election will be held between the two per-
sons receiving the highest total of votes
citywide.

Missing children. Requires that local law-en-
forcement agencies enter descriptive infor-
mation about a missing child into the Vir-
ginia Criminal Information Network and Na-
tional Crime Information Center systems, for-
ward the report to the Missing Children In-
formation Clearinghouse maintained by the
State Police, notify other local law-enforce-
ment agencies, and initiate an investigation
within two hours of receiving a report of a
missing child. Currently, the law requires that
this be done “immediately,” but does not de-
fine what this means.

Placement of committed persons and notice
to community. The Commissioner of the De-
partment of Mental Health, Mental Retarda-
tion and Substance Abuse Services, prior to
placing a new facility or designating an exist-
ing facility to be operated for the control, care,
and treatment of persons convicted of a sexu-
ally violent offense who have been referred
for civil commitment, must notify the state
elected officials and the local governing body
of the jurisdiction where the facility will be
placed. Upon receiving the notice, the local
governing body may publish a descriptive no-
tice concerning the proposed site in a news-
paper of general circulation. The Commis-

sioner must also establish an advisory com-
mittee relating to any such facility that must
consist of state and local elected officials and
community organizations. Upon request, the
members of the advisory committee will be
notified whenever the department increases
the number of beds in the relevant facility.

Health

Illegal prescription drugs. Any person who,
for compensation, knowingly assists another
in unlawfully procuring prescription drugs from
a pharmacy or other source he knows is not
licensed, registered, or permitted by the li-
censing authority of the Commonwealth, any
other state or territory of the United States,
or the United States, will be guilty of a Class
1 misdemeanor and, upon a second or subse-
quent conviction, a Class 6 felony.

Licensure conditions for certain methadone
clinics. Prohibits the location of methadone
clinics within a one-half mile of a public or
private day care center or public or private K-
12 school, except when the clinic’s services
are provided by a licensed hospital. The Com-
missioner must, within 15 days of receiving
an application for licensure from a provider of
treatment of persons with opiate addiction,
notify the local governing body and the com-
munity services board serving the jurisdiction
in which the facility is to be located of the
application and its proposed location. The lo-
cal governing body and the community ser-
vices board must submit comments to the
Commissioner on the proposal or application
within 30 days of the date of the notice. The
local governing body must notify the Commis-
sioner of compliance with the location restric-
tions and any relevant local ordinances. No
applicant for a license to provide treatment
for persons with opiate addiction through the
use of methadone or other opioid replacements
that has obtained a certificate of occupancy
in accordance with the law and regulations
in effect on January 1, 2004, will be required
to comply with this law, and no existing li-
censed provider will be required to comply with
these provisions. Further, the location restric-
tion will not apply to jurisdictions located in
Northern Virginia.



Electricity

Electric utility restructuring. The General Assembly reaffirmed its
commitment to replace the traditional cost-of-service system of regu-
lating the costs of electricity generation with a new system where such
costs will be established by competitors in the market. The 2004 amend-
ments to 1999’s Electric Utility Restructuring Act:
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Extend the expiration date of the capped rates for incumbent elec-
tric utilities from July 1, 2007, to December 31, 2010.

Authorize local governments to implement profit-making programs
to aggregate the electric energy load of residential and other retail
customers within its boundaries on an opt-out basis, and elimi-
nate the requirement that aggregated customers must affirmatively
elect to participate in such aggregation programs.

Authorize incumbent electric utilities, other than Dominion Vir-
ginia Power, to petition the SCC for a one-time change in the capped
rates after January 1, 2004, and for another change in the capped
rates after July 1, 2007.

Authorize incumbent electric utilities, other than Dominion Vir-
ginia Power, to petition the SCC annually for adjustment in its
capped rates to recover its incremental costs for transmission or
distribution system reliability and compliance with environmental
laws.

Extend Dominion Virginia Power’s fuel factor that was in effect on
January 1, 2004, until July 1, 2007, after which it may be adjusted
to a new level that will remain in effect through 2010.

Extend by two years the expiration date of certificates previously
issued by the SCC authorizing the construction and operation of
several electrical generating facilities.

Authorize large industrial and commercial customers that return
to their incumbent electric utility or default provider after purchas-
ing power from a competitive supplier to avoid the existing mini-
mum stay requirements by agreeing to accept market-based pric-
ing.

Authorize industrial and commercial customers, as well as aggre-
gated customers in all rate classes, to switch to a competitive ser-
vice provider without paying a wires charge if they agree to pay
market-based prices if they ever return to the incumbent electric
utility, subject to certain size limits.

Authorize an investor-owned distributor that has been designated
a default service provider to petition the SCC for approval to con-
struct a coal-fired generation facility that utilizes Virginia coal and
is located in the coalfield region of the Commonwealth, and autho-
rize the developer of the facility to recover the costs of the facility,
plus a fair rate of return, through its default service rates.

Transportation

Vision examinations for driver’s licenses.
No driver’s license or learner’s permit issued
to any person who is 80 years old or older
will be renewed unless the applicant appears
in person and either (i) passes a vision ex-
amination or (ii) presents a report of a recent

vision examination by an oph-
thalmologist or optometrist
indicating that the applicant’s
vision meets or exceeds stan-
dards.

HOT lanes. Provides for the
designation, by the Common-
wealth Transportation Board,
of high-occupancy toll (HOT)
lanes with electronically col-
lected and photo-enforced
tolls.

Other Measures

Theft of oysters and clams.
Provides that any person who
takes naturally occurring
oysters or clams from leased
planting grounds without the
permission of the owner is
guilty of larceny.

Beekeeper assistance. The
Commissioner of Agriculture
and Consumer Services will
establish a beekeeper assis-
tance program to assist Vir-
ginia beekeepers in main-
taining healthy, productive
bee colonies.

Animals attacking animals.
An owner of a dog or cat who
uses reasonable and neces-
sary force, on his own prop-
erty, against a dog that is at-
tacking the owner’s dog or cat
will be exempt from a charge
of intentional animal cruelty.

Nudist camps for juveniles.
Provides that the Board of
Health shall not issue a li-
cense to the owner or lessee
of any hotel, summer camp,

or campground in the Commonwealth that
maintains or conducts as any part of its ac-
tivities a nudist camp for juveniles. A “nudist
camp for juveniles” is defined to be a hotel,
summer camp or campground that is attended
by nude juveniles whose parent, grandparent
or legal guardian is not also registered and
present with the juvenile in the same camp.



Affirmation of Marriage Act for the Com-
monwealth of Virginia. States that a civil
union, partnership contract, or other arrange-
ment between persons of the same sex pur-
porting to bestow the privileges or obligations
of marriage is prohibited and that such an
arrangement entered into in another state
or jurisdiction is void in Virginia and any con-
tractual rights created thereby are void and
unenforceable.

Off-track betting. The number of satellite
facilities (off-track betting) that the Virginia
Racing Commission may authorize will in-
crease from six to 10.

Virginia Wine Board. The Virginia Wine
Board and the Virginia Wine Promotion Fund
will be established to replace the Virginia
Winegrowers Advisory Board and the Wine-
growers Productivity Fund. The new board
will include citizens who represent grape
growers and owners or operators of wineries
or farm wineries. The board can contract for
research services to improve viticultural and
enological practices in Virginia, enter into
contracts with private and public entities to
market, advertise and promote the industry,
and engage in revenue-producing activities.
The fund consists of general fund appropria-
tions, fees from services rendered, and pay-
ments received for products, equipment or
goods supplied.

Hunting and Fishing

Saltwater licenses. The Virginia Marine
Resources Commission will be authorized to
adjust fees for saltwater fishing licenses and
permits. The fee increases are capped at $5
or an inflation factor, whichever is greater,
and the fee cannot be increased more often
than once every three years. The amounts
generated from increases will be paid into
the Marine Fishing Improvement Fund and
the Virginia Saltwater Recreational Fishing
Development Fund.

License fees. The Board of Game and Inland
Fisheries, through the adoption of regulations,
may revise the fees for hunting, trapping, fish-
ing, and motorboat registration. The fees can-
not be changed more than once every three

years, and any increase or decrease in the
fee cannot be for more than $5.

Combined fresh water and saltwater fishing
licenses. A special combined fishing license
will be available for persons who want to fish
in freshwater and saltwater. If a person pur-
chases this license, he will not have to buy a
basic state fishing license or the saltwater
recreational fishing license. The cost of this
combined license is $19.50 for residents and
$37.50 for nonresidents. A trip license that
allows persons to fish in all inland and tidal
waters for five successive days will also be
available at a cost of $10.50 for residents and
$15.50 for nonresidents. Proceeds from the
new combined licenses will go to the Virginia
Saltwater Recreational Fishing Development
Fund and the Game Protection Fund.

Nonresident youth hunting licenses. New li-
cense fees for nonresident youth who wish to
hunt in Virginia will be in effect (currently,
there is no distinction by age for the various
nonresident hunting licenses):

Basic nonresident hunting license:

Under 12 $12.00
12to 15 $15.00
16 and older $80.00

Nonresident combination license (including bear, deer,
turkey; special archery season; muzzleloading season):

Under 16 $30.00
Big game license:

Under 12 $12.00

12to 15 $15.00

16 and older $60.00

Stationary duck blinds. A stationary duck
blind must be erected at a fixed location for
the purpose of hunting or shooting waterfowl.
This new definition will eliminate the prac-
tice of erecting what are known as “dummy
blinds,” which are placed on the shore or in
the water in order to prevent the construc-
tion of an actual blind in the immediate vicin-
ity.

Killing of beaver. A landowner whose crops
or property has been damaged by beavers may
kill, or employ someone to kill, beavers out of
season without having to obtain a permit from
the Department of Game and Inland Fisher-
ies.



Special License Plates

Revenue-Sharing Special License Plates
Revenue-sharing special license plates are sub-
ject to a $25 annual surcharge. When at least
1,000 sets of these plates are sold, $15 of each
$25 annual surcharge goes to support some speci-
fied entity (shown here in parentheses):

Q Virginia agriculture. (The Office of Farm Land
Preservation to support the Virginia Agricultural
Vitality Program.)

O Blue Ridge Parkway Foundation. (The Blue
Ridge Parkway Foundation to support its pro-
grams and activities in Virginia.)

Q Canine Health Foundation. (The Canine Health
Foundation to support its programs and activities
in Virginia.)

O Children with special needs. (Snap4kids to
support its programs and activities in Virginia.)

Q Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute. (The Virginia Sher-
iffs’ Institute to memorialize and honor Virginia
law-enforcement officers killed in the line of duty.)

Q Adoption programs. (The Virginia Department
of Social Services (i) to support its adoption pro-
grams and (ii) to develop a grants program that
shall provide all licensed Virginia nonprofit child-
placing services a means to apply for portions of
such funds to support their child placement pro-
grams and activities in Virginia.)

O Mothers Against Drunk Driving. (Mothers
Against Drunk Driving to support its programs
and activities in Virginia.)

Q Interdenominational Children’s Foundation
of Virginia. (The Interdenominational Children’s
Foundation of Virginia to support the foundation’s
activities and programs.)

O Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. (The
Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation to sup-
port its programs and activities in Virginia.)

Q Virginia Motor Sports Initiative. (Equal
amounts to the Virginia Economic Development
Partnership Authority and the Virginia Department
of Business Assistance to support their programs
related to the Virginia Motor Sports Initiative.)

Standard Special License Plates

Special license plates will be available

For supporters of:

Organ donor programs

Project Lifesaver

Washington, D.C., United soccer team

Boy Scouts of America

Court-Appointed Special Advocate (CASA)
programs

American Legion
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For persons who are:

Paratroopers or former paratroopers
Retired law-enforcement officers

U.S. Navy chief petty officers

Recipients of the Combat Infantryman Badge
General registrars

Bicycle enthusiasts

Barbershop quartet singing enthusiasts
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Displaying:
O the POW/MIA logo
O the legend: Langley Air Force Base

Commemorating:

O the 150th anniversary of Burke’s Station

O the 200th anniversary of the Town of
Occoquan

Q the 275th anniversary of the County of
Prince William

O the 350th anniversary of the County of New
Kent




Multiple Copies

Members of the General Assembly wishing
to order multiple copies of this publication
are asked to contact their respective
Clerk’s office.

Complete information on all actions of the

2004 General Assembly is available on the

Internet at the General Assembly’s website
(http://legis.state.va.us).

Click on Session Tracking for a complete
array of menu choices for finding bill
summaries or complete bill text for all

legislation considered by the
2004 General Assembly during its
regular and special sessions.

Published in Richmond, Virginia, by the
Division of Legislative Services, an
agency of the General Assembly of

Virginia.
E.M. Miller, Jr.: Director,

R.J. Austin: Manager, Special Projects
K.C. Patterson: Editor
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