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Current overweight truck regulations/2009 introduced legislation

HB 1752 Weight limits for gravel trucks, coal haulers, etc.; extends
sunset provision thereon.

Weight limits for gravel trucks. Extends until July 1, 2010, the sunset on the statute
granting trucks hauling gravel, sand, or crushed stone no more than 50 miles from origin
to destination in counties that impose a severance tax on coal and gases the same
weight limits prescribed for coal trucks. The bill also allows the same overweight permits
for trucks hauling coal and coal byproducts to electricity-generation facilities as trucks
hauling coal to a loading dock or railroad. The bill also sets an annual overweight
vehicle fee for tank wagons. This bill incorporates HB 1622 and HB 2185.

HB 1622 Weight limits for gravel trucks; repeals sunset provision on
Statute.

Weight limits for gravel trucks. Repeals the July 1, 2009, sunset on the statute granting
trucks hauling gravel, sand, or crushed stone no more than 50 miles from origin to
destination in counties that impose a severance tax on coal and gases the same weight
limits prescribed for coal trucks. This bill was incorporated into HB 1752.

HB 2185 Weight limits for gravel trucks; extends sunset provision on.

Weight limits for gravel trucks. Extends for two more years the July 1, 2009, sunset on
the statute granting trucks hauling gravel, sand, or crushed stone no more than 50 miles
from origin to destination in counties that impose a severance tax on coal and gases, the
same weight limits prescribed for coal trucks. This bill was incorporated into HB 1752,
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Current overweight truck regulations/2009 introduced legislation

HB 2319 Overload and overweight permits; revises fees.

Overload and overweight permits; fees. Revises the fees for vehicle overload and
overweight permits to conform to recommendations of the Virginia Transportation
Research Council.

SB 1048 Temporary vehicle registrations and overload and overweight
permits; revises fees.

Temporary vehicle registrations; overload and overweight permits; fees. Revises the
fees for temporary vehicle registrations and vehicle overload and overweight permits.

Sfo 1500 Overload and overweight permits; to establish a new schedule
of fees.

Overload and overweight permits; fees. Requires the Commonwealth Transportation
Board, in consultation with the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles, to
establish a new schedule of fees for issuance of overweight and overload vehicle
permits. Such fees shall not apply to all vehicles hauling cargoes subject to a coal or
gas severance tax.
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Size/Weight Permits in Virginia

* Overload Permits
 Exempt Hauling Permits
* Irreducible Load Hauling Permits
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Statutes regarding overload and
overweight vehicles

« §46.2-1128 allows an owner of a motor vehicle to purchase an overload permit
to exceed legal weight limits by up to 5%

* Fees, based on a percentage of the vehicle’s legal axle weight, range
from $35 to $200

* §46.2-1129 allows growers of Virginia-grown farm or forest products to
obtain an additional 5% overload permit free of charge for a total of 10%
extension in weight limits

e §846.2-1139 authorizes the issuance of over dimensional permits

* §8§46.2-1141 through 46.2-1149.5 authorize the issuance of exempt blanket
permits

 §46.2-652 provides that certain overload and overweight vehicle operators can
purchase temporary registration permits

» $0.10 per mile for single trips,
» $40 for an annual (blanket) permit
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Overload Permits Issued
Pursuant to
Section 46.2-1128 ‘ 46.2-1129
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* Overload Permits issued under 88 46.2-1128 and 46.2-1129 (in Article 17)

« They are offered to any vehicle that wants to haul more product and gives an
extension to those vehicles that are hauling Virginia grown forest or farm
products.

« These permits are purchased at any DMV Customer Service Center when the
vehicle is registered.

- 1% $5 4% $160
- 2% $75 5% $200
- 3% $115

 The customer gets a decal noting the percentage overload they purchased that
is displayed on the truck.

 These permits are not valid on the interstate system
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Legislatively Exempt Hauling Permits
46.2-1141 through 46.2-1149.5

e Permits issued for reducible loads are issued by the
Hauling Permit Office at DMV’s Central Office as
provided in 88 46.2-1142 through 46.2-1149.5.

e They are issued pursuant to the authority in § 46.2-
1139 which gives Virginia and local authorities of
cities and towns the authority to issue permits.

* These legislatively exempt permits increase the axle
and gross weights of certain vehicles (guidelines
determined by General Assembly).

* These extensions are not valid on the interstate
highway system because they are reducible loads
(see Federal and State Code reference).

Approx. 11,000 Legislative Exempt Permits issued per Year
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Virginia

Exempt Hauling Permits

8§46.2-1141 Overweight permits for
containerized freight.

846.2-1142 Overweight permits for
concrete haulers

846.2-1143 Overweight permits for coal
haulers; trucks hauling gravel, sand,
crushed stone, or liquids produced from
gas or oil wells in certain counties.
846.2-1143.1 Overweight permits for
haulers of excavated material.
846.2-1144 Overweight permits for solid
waste haulers.

846.2-1144.1 Overweight permits for tank
wagons. (Currently $45 Admin plus $265
road damage fee)

846.2-1145 Overweight permits for
certain trucks operated by Arlington
County.

846.2-1146 Excess height and length
permits for haulers of certain imported
goods.

Department

846.2-1147 Permits for excessive size
and weight for articulated buses.

846.2-1148 Overweight permits for
hauling Virginia-grown farm produce.

846.2-1149 Unladen, oversize and
overweight, rubber-tired, self-propelled
haulers and loaders; permits; engineering
analysis; costs.

846.2-1149.1 Excess tandem axle weight
permits for cotton module haulers.

8§46.2-1149.2 Permits authorizing
transportation of tree-length logs.

846.2-1149.4 Overweight permits for
specialized mobile equipment.

846.2-1149.5 Overweight permits for
underground pipe cleaning, hydro-
excavating, and water blasting
equipment. (Currently $45 Admin fee)
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Irreducible Vehicle or Load Hauling
Permits

e Permits issued for irreducible Vehicle or Load are issued by the
Hauling Permit Office at DMV'’s Central Office.

 They are issued under 8§ 46.2-1139 (in Article 18) for vehicles
transporting irreducible loads on the Interstate (8 46.2-1141
because containerized cargo is considered to be irreducible)
which complies with Federal Code.

* Irreducible vehicle and load type permits can be for over width,
over height, over length and over weight or a combination of all
dimensions.

 They are issued for a variety of items and vehicles that travel on
and off interstate.

* The travel time, safety requirements, route of travel, etc. are
determined by the Hauling Permit Office using the guidelines of
the Hauling Permit Manual and engineering analysis performed
by VDOT.
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A list of some of the items we permit that
typically do not involve weight:

irginia

Military Vehicles (width)
Portable Offices (Width)
Tree length logs (Length)

Modular Homes (Height and
Width)

Horse barns (Height and Width)
Wall Panels (Width)

Duct Work (Width)

Gear Grinding Machines (Width)

Ship Propellers (Height and
Width)

Boats (Width)
Pools (Width)

Roof Trusses (Length and
Width)

Steel Trusses (Length and
Width)

Electronic Breakers (Height and
Width)

Military Equipment (Width and
Length)

Military Transporters (Width and
Length)

Empty Steel Tanks (Width and
Height)

Crane booms (Width and length)

Empty oversize trailers (Length
and Width)

Airplanes (Width) - Ship to
museums and bases for static
displays

Radar Shields (Width)
Storage Sheds (Width)

Note - items moved for width up to 28 feet wide, Length up to 275 feet

and height up to 19 feet.
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A list of some of the items we permit that
typically do involve weight:

e Construction Equipment (bulldozers, backhoes, etc.)
o Storage Tanks

« Cranes

« Manufacturing Plant machinery

 Bridge beams

o Jalil cells

e Items coming to and from the Ports of Virginia
Electrical Transformers

Large Boats

Military Items

Containerized Cargo

* Specialty Items
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Thank You
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Permit Type Authorizing Statute Count Statutory Fee FYO08 Fees Collected (1)

Single 46.2-652 28,302 $0.10 per mile $1,075,965.55

Blanket 46.2-652 4,573 $40 $674,458.33

Overload 46.2-1128 16,115 $35-200 (2) $3,223,053.00

Farm products 46.2-1129 52 $0 $0.00
46.2-1148

Containerized cargo overweight 46.2-1141 7,386 $0 $0.00

Concrete haulers overweight 46.2-1142 1,589 $0 $0.00

Concrete haulers plus 5% 46.2-1142.1 $35-200 (2) Included in overload totals

Coal, sand and gravel 46.2-1143 857 $0 $0.00

Excavated material 46.2-1143.1 361 $0 $0.00

Solid waste 46.2-1144 1,071 $0 $0.00

Tank wagons 46.2-1144.1 53 $800 (3) $44,785.00

Arlington County trucks 46.2-1145 no data $0 $0.00

Articulated buses 46.2-1147 no data $0 $0.00

Self propelled hauler 46.2-1149 no data $0 $0.00

Cotton haulers 46.2-1149.1 24 $0 $0.00

Specialized equipment - well drilling 46.2-1149.4 28 $0 $0.00

Underground pipe cleaning, hydro- 46.2-1149.5 12 $40 $1,580.00

excavating

Total 60,423 (4) $5,019,841.88

Notes:

(1) Total fees include authorized administrative fees collected by DMV. Blanket permits are issued for 3, 6, 12, and 24 month periods.
Underground pipe cleaning and hydro-excavating vehicle permits are issued for one- or two-year periods. Total fees reflect permit fees
collected for partial year and multi-year permits.
(2) Fees are assessed on a sliding scale based on percentage overload/overweight (e.g., 1% overload/overweight is $35, 5% is $200).
(3) The tank wagon fee was $800 from July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008, but was reduced to $265 on July 1, 2008.

(4) Of the 60,423 overload and overweight permits issued by DMV, approximately 10,500 were issued at no cost.

Data Source: DMV permits database.
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