Proposed Agenda

The Joint Subcommittee to Study the Commonwealth's Program for Prisoner Reentry to Society

Pursuant to SJR 126 (2006) http://dls.state.va.us/reentry.htm 10:00 a.m., Thursday, July 27, 2006 Senate Room B General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

- I. Call to Order—Senator Linda Puller, Chairwoman
- II. Introductions and Opening Remarks—Chairwoman
- III. **Staff Briefing and Study Plan** Ms. Ellen Weston, *Research Associate* Division of Legislative Services

IV. Update on Related 2006 Budget Amendments Mr. Barry Green, *Director* Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice

V. National Perspective on State Prisoner Reentry Programs Ms. Keri Beth Cain, *Policy Analyst* National Governors Association

VI. Presentations on the Virginia Prisoner Reentry Policy Academy

Overview and Executive Order

Ms. Dawn Smith, Assistant Secretary of Public Safety Office of the Secretary of Public Safety

Employment and Education Subcommittee of the Policy Academy Ms. Gwynne Cunningham, *Director of Special Programs* Department of Correctional Education

Social Reintegration Subcommittee of the Policy Academy

Ms. Carol-Lee Raimo, *Program Coordinator* Department of Criminal Justice Services

Transitional Therapeutic Communities (TTC)

Mr. Dudley Bush, *Substance Abuse Manager* Department of Corrections

Virginia Prisoner Reentry Pilot Programs

Ms. Jane Brown, *Director of Community Programs* Department of Social Services

- V. Next Meeting Date
- VI. Directions to Staff
- VII. Other Business
- VIII. Public Comment Period
- IX. Adjournment

SJR 273 MEMBERSHIP

Legislative Members Senator Linda T. Puller, Chair Delegate John J. Welch, III, Vice-Chair Senator Patricia S. Ticer Delegate Robert B. Bell Delegate Rosalyn R. Dance Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

Citizen Members

The Honorable Mark Earley Mr. Jeffery R. Dion Ms. Lisa Thomas Ms. Barbara A. Slayden

Ex Officio Members

The Honorable John W. Marshall Mr. Gene M. Johnson Mr. Walter A. McFarlane Mr. James Reinhard, M.D.

Mr. Anthony Conyers, Jr. Ms. Dolores A. Esser The Honorable Bill Mims Secretary, Public Safety Director, Department of Corrections Superintendent, Department of Correctional Education Commissioner, Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services Commissioner, Department of Social Services Commissioner, Virginia Employment Commission Attorney General (designee)

STAFF

Legal and Research

Ellen Weston, Research Associate Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Iris Fuentes, Senior Operations Staff Assistant Division of Legislative Services

Administrative

Rich Fiorella, Senate Committee Operations