# The Joint Subcommittee to Study Liability Protections for Health Care Providers

http://dls.state.va.us/Liability.htm

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 701 (2007) SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 390 (2007)

> Thursday, August 30, 2007 10:00 A.M. House Room D General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

## **Agenda**

## I. Call to Order.

House Committee Clerk

#### II. Election of Chairman and Vice Chairman.

House Committee Clerk

## III. Chairman's Opening Remarks and Introduction of Members.

Chairman and Joint Subcommittee Members

## IV. Review of Study Objectives.

David Cotter, Staff Attorney

## V. Health Care Provider Liability in Disasters.

Steven D. Gravely, J.D., M.H.A. (via teleconference) and Erin S. Whaley, J.D., M.A. Troutman Sanders LLP

## VI. Virginia Department of Health.

Dr. Lisa Kaplowitz, M.D., M.S.H.A., Deputy Commissioner for Emergency Preparedness & Response, Virginia Department of Health

## VII. Medical Society of Virginia.

Gerald C. Canaan, II, Esq. Hancock, Daniel, Johnson & Nagle, P.C.

## VIII. Public Comments.

## IX. Member Discussion of Work Plan.

Chairman and Joint Subcommittee Members

## X. Other Business; Directions to Staff; Dates for Future Meetings.

Chairman and Joint Subcommittee Members

## HJR 701, SJR 390 Members

## **General Assembly Members**

The Honorable Phillip A. Hamilton The Honorable John M. O'Bannon, III The Honorable Benjamin L. Cline The Honorable Robert D. Hull The Honorable Mark D. Sickles The Honorable Stephen D. Newman The Honorable Frank M. Ruff, Jr. The Honorable Ken Cuccinelli, II

## **Citizen Members**

Dr. P.M. Colopy, M.D. Dr. Mark J. Dietz, M.D., M.B.A. Steven D. Gravely, J.D., M.H.A.

## **Ex Officio Members**

The Honorable Robert F. McDonnell or designee The Honorable Marilyn B. Tavenner or designee

#### Staff

David Cotter, Staff Attorney Greg O'Halloran, Staff Attorney Lori Maynard, House Committee Operations