VIRGINIA SESQUICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR COMMISSION HB 1440 (2006)



WORKGROUP 2: SIGNATURE EVENTS AND ACTIVITIES

December 3, 2007, 1:00 p.m. General Assembly Building Speaker's Conference Room, 6th Floor Richmond

www.virginiacivilwar.org

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order; Opening Remarks

 Speaker of the House of Delegates William J. Howell, Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Members
- Jamestown 400 Democracy Conference Series: Overview and Advice Shared Drema L. Johnson, Director, Democracy Conference Program, Jamestown 400th Commemoration Commission
- 4. Staff Report Cheryl Jackson
 - Traveling Museum Exhibition "Virginia's Civil War: America's Great Turning Point"
 - Educational Film DVD Production
 - HistoryMobile Planning
 - Signature Tour kickoff: Harper's Ferry, West Virginia (June 25-26, 2009)
 - Signature Conferences
- 5. Signature Conferences and Signature Tours: Feedback and Roundtable Discussion Speaker William J. Howell
- 6. Culmination Event: April 2015 Cheryl Jackson
- 7. Next Meeting; Other Business
- 8. Adjournment

Workgroup members:

The Honorable William J. Howell, Chairman

The Honorable R. Creigh Deeds

The Honorable Johnny S. Joannou

Dr. Charles F. Bryan, Jr.

Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr.

The Honorable Viola O. Baskerville, Secretary of Administration

Dr. Edward D. C. "Kip" Campbell, Deputy Librarian of Virginia

Dr. Theodore DeLaney, Associate Professor of History, Washington and Lee University

Graham Dozier, Assistant Editor of Publications, Virginia Historical Society

Dr. Gary Gallagher, John L. Nau III Professor in the History of the American Civil War, University of Virginia

Prof. Ervin L. Jordan, Jr., Associate Professor and Research Archivist, University of Virginia

Richard Lewis, National Public Relations Manager, Virginia Tourism Corporation

Dr. John W. Mountcastle, Ret. Brig. Gen., Army Chief of Military History, University of Richmond Dr. Elisabeth Muhlenfeld, President, Sweet Briar College Dr. Brian Wills, Professor of History, University of Virginia at Wise

Advisory participants:

Will Greene, Pamplin Historical Park
Patricia Hobbs, Lee Chapel and Museum
Jim Kelly, Virginia Historical Society
Howard Kittell, Shenandoah Valley Battlefields Foundation
Kevin Levin, St. Anne's-Belfield School, Charlottesville
John Quarstein, Virginia War Museum
Pam Seay, Virginia Historical Society
Russ Smith, Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania County National Battlefield Park
Anne Stuart, Stuart-Fisher Meeting Management, LLC, Fredericksburg
Edwin Watson, Fredericksburg Area Museum

Liaisons to the Commission:

Ric Brown, Director, Department of Planning and Budget Jerry Edwards, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget Richard Lewis, National Public Relations Manager, Virginia Tourism Corporation Brian Shepard, Policy Director, Office of the Governor Dr. Sandy Treadway, Librarian of Virginia

Staff:

Division of Legislative Services:
Cheryl Jackson, Project Manager/Staff Coordinator
Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate
Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant
E. M. Miller, Jr., Div. of Legislative Services Director
Michelle Montgomery, Operations Staff Assistant
Danielle Watkins, Development Officer

House Committee Operations: Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk

House Appropriations Committee: Michael Jay, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Senate Finance Committee: Dick Hickman, Deputy Director