VIRGINIA SESQUICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR COMMISSION HB 1440 (2006)



WORKGROUP 3: EDUCATION

Speaker's Conference Room, 6th Floor General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

> November 26, 2007 1:00 p.m. -- 3:00 p.m.

> www.virginiacivilwar.org

AGENDA: WORK SESSION

- 1. Call to Order—Delegate Algie T. Howell, Jr., Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Members—Chairman
- 3. Preliminary Remarks—Chairman
- 4. **Presentations:**
 - Virginia in the Civil War: A Sesquicentennial Reflection Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr. Alumni Distinguished Professor Virginia Tech
 - O Teacher-Ranger-Teacher Program

Ms. Cynthia MacLeod Superintendent Richmond National Battlefield Park and Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site

Staff Rides

Mr. John Blanton Education Coordinator Civil War Preservation Trust

5. Summary of Matrix Findings

Mrs. Brenda Edwards
Division of Legislative Services

- 6. Discussion: Construction of Work Plan
- 7. Directions to Staff
- 8. Next Meeting Date
- 9. Other Business
- 10. Adjournment

Workgroup 3 (Education) Members

The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Chairman

The Honorable Albert C. Eisenberg

The Honorable Mamie E. Locke

The Honorable Stephen H. Martin

The Honorable Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

Chief Kenneth Adams, Upper Mattaponi Tribe

Dr. Belinda C. Anderson, President, Virginia Union University

Dr. Frank E. Barham, Executive Director, VSBA

Dr. Elizabeth S. Barton, Elementary School History and Social Science, Virginia Department of Education

Dr. Glenn DuBois, Chancellor, Virginia Community College System

Mr. Robert B. Lambeth, Jr., President, Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia

Dr. Daniel J. LaVista, Executive Director, State Council of Higher Education

Dr. George McVey, President, Virginia Council for Private Education

The Honorable Floyd H. Miles, Sr., former member, Virginia House of Delegates

The Honorable Thomas R. Morris, Secretary of Education

Ms. Princess Moss, President, Virginia Education Association

Dr. Thomas M. Saville, Superintendent, Essex County Public Schools; VASS

Dr. Cora S. Salzberg, Member, Radford University Board of Visitors

Dr. Beverly Thurston, Middle and High School History and Social Science, Virginia Department of Education

Dr. Sandra G. Treadway, Librarian of Virginia

Advisory Participants

Mr. John Blanton, Education Coordinator, Civil War Preservation Trust

Mr. Kevin Levin, History Teacher, Charlottesville

Mr. Lawrence Y. Schwab. Portsmouth

Mr. Russ Smith, Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania County National Battlefield Park

Staff

Division of Legislative Services

Ms. Cheryl Jackson, Project Manager/Staff Coordinator

Ms. Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate

Ms. Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant

Mr. E. M. Miller, Jr., Director

Ms. Danielle Watkins, Development Officer

House Committee Operations

Mr. Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk for Committee Operations

House Appropriations Committee

Mr. Michael Jay, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Senate Finance Committee

Mr. Dick Hickman, Deputy Director

Liaisons to the Commission

Mr. Richard D. Brown, Director, Department of Planning and Budget

Mr. Jerry Edwards, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget

Dr. Sandra G. Treadway, Librarian of Virginia

For the Future

Liaisons to the Commission:

Ric Brown, Director, Department of Planning and Budget

Jerry Edwards, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget

Richard Lewis, National Public Relations Manager, Virginia Tourism Corporation

Brian Shepard, Policy Director, Office of the Governor

Dr. Sandy Treadway, Librarian of Virginia

Staff:

Division of Legislative Services:

Cheryl Jackson, Project Manager/Staff Coordinator

Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate

Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant

House Committee Operations: Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk

House Appropriations Committee:

E. M. Miller, Jr., Div. of Legislative Services Director Michelle Montgomery, Operations Staff Assistant Danielle Watkins, Development Officer Michael Jay, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Senate Finance Committee: Dick Hickman, Deputy Director