DING OUT A

VIRGINIA SESQUICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR COMMISSION HB 1440 (2006)

November 9, 2006, 10:00 a.m. Pamplin Historical Park - Education Building Petersburg, Virginia http://dls.state.va.us/civilwar.htm

PROPOSED AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Opening Remarks of Chairman
- 3. Welcoming Remarks
 Will Greene, Executive Director, Pamplin Historical Park
- 4. Staff Update

 Cheryl Jackson, Division of Legislative Services
- 5. Reflections on the Civil War Centennial: Accomplishments and Lessons Learned
 - National Centennial Commission: Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr. Alumni Distinguished Professor, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
 - Virginia Centennial Commission: Cheryl Jackson
- 6. Sesquicentennial Planning to Date (Civil War 150 group)

 Dr. Charles Bryan, President and CEO, Virginia Historical Society

Russ Smith, Superintendent, Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park

- Civil War Preservation Trust: Preservation in Virginia and Plans for the Sesquicentennial Period Jim Campi
- 8. White House and Museum of the Confederacy: Peer Review Report S. Waite Rawls, III, Executive Director
- 9. Petersburg National Battlefield Park: Its History and Future *Chris Calkins, Chief of Interpretation*
- 10. Pamplin Historical Park and the National Museum of the Civil War Soldier *Will Greene, Executive Director*
- 11. Public Comment
- 12. Other Business
- 13. Directions to Staff

14. Adjournment

At the conclusion of the Business Meeting, Commission members will have a buffet lunch in the Education Building. Following lunch, Mr. Greene will guide the Commission on a tour of Pamplin Historical Park and the National Museum of the Civil War Soldier. Members of the public may join the Commission for lunch (\$10.00 per person) and the tour.

Members:

The Honorable William J. Howell, Chair The Honorable John H. Chichester, Vice Chair

The Honorable Albert C. Eisenberg The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Jr. The Honorable Johnny S. Joannou The Honorable R. Steven Landes The Honorable L. Scott Lingamfelter The Honorable Thomas C. Wright

Staff:

Division of Legislative Services: Cheryl Jackson, Manager, Information Services Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate E. M. Miller, Jr., Director Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant The Honorable R. Creigh Deeds The Honorable Janet D. Howell The Honorable Mamie E. Locke The Honorable Stephen H. Martin John P. Ackerly, III Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr. Dr. Charles F. Bryan, Jr.

House Committee Operations: Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk