VIRGINIA SESQUICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR COMMISSION HB 1440 (2006)



September 26, 2007, 10:00 a.m.
Belmont: The Gari Melchers Home and Studio
Studio Pavilion
224 Washington Street
Fredericksburg
www.virginiacivilwar.org

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order; Opening Remarks Speaker William J. Howell
- 2. Welcome

 David Berreth, Director, Gari Melchers Home and Studio at Belmont
- 3. Fredericksburg Area Museum and Cultural Center Dr. Edwin Watson, President and CEO
- 4. Central Virginia Battlefields Trust Linda Wandres, Executive Director
- 5. Civil War Preservation Trust Sesquicentennial Initiative *Jim Lighthizer, President*
- 6. Spotsylvania Local Sesquicentennial Committee

 Jerry I. Logan, Vice-Chair, Board of Supervisors, Courtland District

 Henry "Hap" Connors, Jr., Supervisor, Chancellor District
- 7. Update on National Park Service Sesquicentennial Planning
 Russ Smith, Superintendent, Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park
- 8. Staff Update
 Cheryl Jackson and Brenda Edwards
 - Workgroup Reports:
 - o Workgroup 1 (Coordination) Chair: Sen. Chichester
 - o Workgroup 2 (Signature Events and Activities) Chair: Speaker Howell
 - o Workgroup 3 (Education) Chair: Del. Algie Howell
- 9. Report of the Executive Committee *Sen. John H. Chichester*
 - Programs in Development and under Discussion:
 - o Traveling Museum Exhibition
 - o HistoryMobile
 - o DVD Blue Ridge Public Television /Va. Tech Center for Civil War Studies
 - o Signature Conference Series
 - o Signature Tours
 - o Grants to localities
 - Strategic Plan
 - Formation of 501(c)(3): Virginia Sesquicentennial of the American Civil War Foundation

- 10. Thoughts on the Civil War Sesquicentennial Commemoration *Del. Albert C. Eisenberg*
- 11. Other Business
- 12. Adjournment

At the conclusion of the Business Meeting, Commission members will be led on a bus tour of Fredericksburg-area Civil War sites by Robert K. Krick, Chief Historian Emeritus, Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park. Members of the public may join the Commission for the tour as space allows.

Members:

The Honorable William J. Howell, Chairman
The Honorable John H. Chichester, Vice Chairman
The Honorable Mamie E. Locke
The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Jr.
The Honorable Johnny S. Joannou
The Honorable Stephen H. Martin
Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr
John P. Ackerly, III
The Honorable L. Scott Lingamfelter
The Honorable Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

Liaisons to the Commission:

Ric Brown, Director, Department of Planning and Budget Jerry Edwards, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget Richard Lewis, National Public Relations Manager, Virginia Tourism Corporation Dr. Sandy Treadway, Librarian of Virginia

Staff:

Division of Legislative Services: Cheryl Jackson, Project Manager/Staff Coordinator Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant E. M. Miller, Jr., Agency Director Danielle Watkins, Development Officer House Committee Operations: Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk

House Appropriations Committee: Michael Jay, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Senate Finance Committee: Dick Hickman, Deputy Director