# VIRGINIA SESQUICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR COMMISSION HB 1440 (2006)



## WORKGROUP 1: COORDINATION

September 6, 2007, 10:00 a.m.
General Assembly Building
Speaker's Conference Room, 6<sup>th</sup> Floor
Richmond
www.virginiacivilwar.org

## PROPOSED AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order; Welcome from the Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Members
- 3. Staff Report *Cheryl Jackson* 
  - Review of the Commission and Its Organizational Structure
  - Decisions to Date, Plans in Development, and Work that Lies Ahead
  - Overview of the Centennial Commemoration in Virginia
- 4. Overview of Civil War Trails and Civil War Traveler Programs

  Mitch Bowman, Executive Director, Virginia Civil War Trails

  Don Pierce, Publisher, Page One History Publications
- 5. Discussion of Local Sesquicentennial Committees *Hudaidah Bhimdi*
- 6. Other Business; Next Meeting
- 7. Adjournment

#### Workgroup members:

Senator John H. Chichester (Chair) Senator Janet D. Howell Delegate R. Steven Landes Delegate L. Scott Lingamfelter John P. Ackerly, III Michael Amyx, Virginia Municipal League Alisa Bailey, Virginia Tourism Corporation L. Preston Bryant, Jr., Secretary of Natural Resources Mitch Bowman, Virginia Civil War Trails James Campbell, Virginia Association of Counties Margo Carlock, Va. Association of Museums Patrick O. Gottschalk, Secretary of Commerce and Trade Christopher Jackson, WebDreams Designs Kathleen Kilpatrick, Dept. of Historic Resources Joseph H. Maroon, Dept. of Conservation and Recreation Donna Purcell Mayes, Virginia Department of Transportation Don Pierce, Civil War Traveler

### Advisory participants:

Michael D. Beard, Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War

Col. Keith Gibson, Virginia Military Institute Museum
Wilson A. Greene, Pamplin Historical Park
Scott Harris, New Market Battlefield State Historical Park
Barbara Joyner, United Daughters of the Confederacy
Howard J. Kittel, Shenandoah Valley Battlefields Foundation
Celia Luxmoor, American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar
Cynthia MacLeod, Richmond National Battlefield Park
Nicholas P. Picerno, Bridgewater College
John V. Quarstein, Virginia War Museum
Waite S. Rawls, Museum of the Confederacy
John Sandridge, Virginia Department of Transportation
Lawrence Y. Schwab, Portsmouth
Russ Smith, Fredericksburg & Spotsylvania National Military Park
Edwin W. Watson, Fredericksburg Area Museum and Cultural Center

### **Staff:**

Division of Legislative Services:
Cheryl Jackson, Project Manager/Staff Coordinator
Hudaidah Bhimdi, Research Associate
Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate
Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant
E. M. Miller, Jr., Director

House Committee Operations: Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk

House Appropriations Committee: Michael Jay, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Senate Finance Committee: Dick Hickman, Deputy Director

## **Liaisons to the Commission:**

Ric Brown, Director, Department of Planning and Budget Jerry Edwards, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget Dr. Sandy Treadway, Librarian of Virginia