VIRGINIA SESQUICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR COMMISSION HB 1440 (2006)



WORKGROUP 3: EDUCATION

Speaker's Conference Room, 6th Floor General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

August 15, 2007, 1:00 p.m.

www.virginiacivilwar.org

AGENDA

Organizational Meeting

- 1. Call to Order—Delegate Algie T. Howell, Jr., Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Members—Chairman
- 3. Preliminary Remarks—Chairman
- 4. Staff Report

Ms. Cheryl Jackson Project Manager/Staff Coordinator

- Review of the Commission and Its Organizational Structure
- Decisions to Date, Plans in Development, and Work that Lies Ahead
- Overview of the Centennial Commemoration in Virginia
- 5. Summary of Comments of Members of Workgroup 3
 Proposed Objectives for Responsibilities of Workgroup 3

Mrs. Brenda Edwards Division of Legislative Services

- 6. Roundtable Discussion: Strategies for Imparting the Message of the American Civil War
- 7. Directions to Staff
- 8. Next Meeting Date
- 9. Other Business
- 10. Adjournment

Workgroup 3 (Education) Members

The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Chairman

The Honorable Albert C. Eisenberg

The Honorable Mamie E. Locke

The Honorable Stephen H. Martin

The Honorable Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

Dr. Frank E. Barham, Executive Director, VSBA

Dr. Elizabeth S. Barton, Elementary School History and Social Science, Virginia Department of Education

Dr. Glenn DuBois, Chancellor, Virginia Community College System

Mr. Robert B. Lambeth, Jr., President, Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia

Dr. Daniel J. LaVista, Executive Director, State Council of Higher Education

Dr. George McVey, President, Virginia Council for Private Education

The Honorable Thomas R. Morris, Secretary of Education

Ms. Princess Moss, President, Virginia Education Association

Dr. Thomas M. Saville, Superintendent, Essex County Public Schools; VASS

Dr. Beverly Thurston, Middle and High School History and Social Science, Virginia Department of Education

Dr. Sandra G. Treadway, Librarian of Virginia

Advisory Participants

Mr. John Blanton, Education Coordinator, Civil War Preservation Trust

Mr. Kevin Levin, History Teacher, Charlottesville

Mr. Lawrence Y. Schwab, Portsmouth

Mr. Russ Smith, Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania County National Battlefield Park

Staff

Division of Legislative Services

Ms. Cheryl Jackson, Project Manager/Staff Coordinator

Ms. Hudaidah Bhimdi. Research Associate

Ms. Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate

Ms. Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant

Mr. E. M. Miller, Jr., Director

House Committee Operations

Mr. Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk for Committee Operations

House Appropriations Committee

Mr. Michael Jay, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Senate Finance Committee

Mr. Dick Hickman, Deputy Director

Liaisons to the Commission

Mr. Richard D. Brown, Director, Department of Planning and Budget

Mr. Jerry Edwards, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget

Dr. Sandra G. Treadway, Librarian of Virginia