

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Opening Remarks of Chairman
- 3. Staff Report Cheryl Jackson
 - Review of the Commission and Its Organizational Structure
 - Decisions to Date, Plans in Development, and Work that Lies Ahead
 - Overview of the Centennial Commemoration in Virginia
- 4. National Centennial Commemoration: Lessons Learned Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr. Alumni Distinguished Professor, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
- 5. Virginia Tourism Research Richard Lewis, National Public Relations Manager, Virginia Tourism Corporation
- 6. Introduction of Members and Roundtable Discussion
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Adjournment

Workgroup members:

The Honorable William J. Howell, Chairman The Honorable R. Creigh Deeds The Honorable Johnny S. Joannou Dr. Charles F. Bryan, Jr. Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr.

The Honorable Viola O. Baskerville, Secretary of Administration Dr. Theodore DeLaney, Associate Professor of History, Washington and Lee University Graham Dozier, Assistant Editor of Publications, Virginia Historical Society Dr. Gary Gallagher, John L. Nau III Professor in the History of the American Civil War, University of Virginia Prof. Ervin L. Jordan, Jr., Associate Professor and Research Archivist, University of Virginia Richard Lewis, National Public Relations Manager, Virginia Tourism Corporation Dr. John W. Mountcastle, Ret. Brig. Gen., Army Chief of Military History, University of Richmond Dr. Elisabeth Muhlenfeld, President, Sweet Briar College Dr. Brian Wills, Professor of History, University of Virginia at Wise

Advisory participants: Will Greene, Pamplin Historical Park Patricia Hobbs, Lee Chapel and Museum Howard Kittell, Shenandoah Valley Battlefields Foundation John Quarstein, Virginia War Museum Russ Smith, Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania County National Battlefield Park Edwin Watson, Fredericksburg Area Museum

Staff:

Division of Legislative Services: Cheryl Jackson, Project Manager/Staff Coordinator Hudaidah Bhimdi, Research Associate Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant E. M. Miller, Jr., Director House Committee Operations: Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk

House Appropriations Committee: Michael Jay, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Senate Finance Committee: Dick Hickman, Deputy Director