VIRGINIA SESQUICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR COMMISSION



June 10, 2008, 10:00 a.m.
Fort Monroe
Bay Breeze Community Center
490 Fenwick Road
Hampton, Virginia 23651
www.VirginiaCivilWar.org

PROPOSED AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order; Opening Remarks

 Speaker of the House of Delegates William J. Howell, Chairman
- 2. Fort Monroe: Past, Present and Future

Fort Monroe Federal Area Development Authority (FMFADA): Update on Planning Process and Plans for Interpretation of the Civil War *Bill Armbruster, Executive Director*Conover Hunt, Deputy Director

Historical Significance of Fort Monroe John V. Quarstein, Historian, City of Hampton

- 3. Civil War Trails Program: Sesquicentennial Partner *Mitch Bowman, Executive Director*
- 4. Staff Report

Chervl Jackson

- Update on Ongoing Activities
- Issues for Advisory Council (June 24)
- Direction for sesquicentennial kickoff event: Harper's Ferry (June 25-26, 2009)
- Discussion: Annual themes, conferences and tours

At the conclusion of the Business Meeting, a buffet lunch will be provided for Commission members. Following lunch, Commission members will be led on a walking tour of Fort Monroe by John Quarstein, noted author and historian for the City of Hampton.

Commission Members:

The Honorable William J. Howell, Chairman
The Honorable Albert C. Eisenberg
The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Jr.
The Honorable Johnny S. Joannou
The Honorable Johnny S. Joannou
The Honorable R. Steven Landes
The Honorable L. Scott Lingamfelter
The Honorable Thomas C. Wright, Jr.
The Honorable Thomas C. Wright, Jr.
The Honorable Charles J. Colgan, Sr., Vice Chairman
The Honorable R. Creigh Deeds
The Honorable John S. Edwards
The Honorable Janet D. Howell
The Honorable Mamie E. Locke
John P. Ackerly, III
The Honorable Thomas C. Wright, Jr.
Dr. Charles F. Bryan, Jr.
Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr.

Liaisons to the Commission:

Ric Brown, Director, Department of Planning and Budget Jerry Edwards, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget Richard Lewis, National Public Relations Manager, Virginia Tourism Corporation Brian Shepard, Policy Director, Office of the Governor Dr. Sandy Treadway, Librarian of Virginia

Staff:

Division of Legislative Services: Cheryl Jackson, Executive Director Tomi Dechant, Executive Assistant

Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant

E. M. Miller, Jr., Division of Legislative Services Director

Mike Shuman, VCU Intern/Research Assistant Danielle Watkins, Development Officer House Committee Operations: Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk

House Appropriations Committee: Michael Jay, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Senate Finance Committee: Dick Hickman, Deputy Director