Department of Motor Vehicles Special Interest Plate Program

Karen Grim, Assistant Commissioner Jeff Ryan, Budget Director Marc Copeland, Legislative Analyst

No cookie-cutter approach to special plate program

Majority of the plate programs follow the same guidelines—with a few exceptions

Special plate programs

- One-time fee
- Annual fee generally \$10 in addition to the registration fee
- Revenue sharing \$25 additional fee, \$15 to applicable special interest group

Over 200 special plates

41 revenue sharing plates (handout)

All special plates authorized through legislation

To qualify as revenue-sharing the organization must meet the following qualifications:

- provides Virginia citizens a broad public service that is funded in whole or in part by the proposed revenue-sharing special plate and
- is at least one of the following:
 - a 501 (c) nonprofit corporation;
 - an agency board, commission or other entity established or operated by t the Commonwealth, a political subdivision of the Commonwealth;
 - or an institution of higher education whose main campus is located in Virginia

Must sell 1,000 sets of plates before the organization receives revenue

How the typical special plate program works:

- the plate sponsor must demonstrate to the General Assembly that they meet the issuance requirements
- collection of 350 prepaid applications—unless legislation states otherwise
- 350 prepaid applications must be submitted to DMV within 30 days of the effective date (usually July 1) of the authorizing legislation

- Once the plate is approved, DMV provides the plate sponsor with a package that details the sponsor's responsibilities:
 - submit and facilitate the collection of 350 or more prepaid applications;
 - provide formal written authorization for use of the design and logo on the plate;
 - provide electronic media artwork for license plate design; and
 - approve the plate design or obtain approval

Jamestown Plate – exception to the process

This plate program is a hybrid of two plate programs--the one-time special fee and the revenue-sharing plate

- \$15 one-time fee is imposed, in addition to the annual registration fee.
- \$5 is paid to the non-reverting Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Fund on an annual basis.
- no requirement to collect 350 prepaid applications
- no requirement to sell 1,000 sets of plates prior to receiving a share of the revenue
- sale of plate will end in FY13

Chart depicting the differences between the Jamestown and the typical revenue sharing authorizations (handout)

Revenues

- projected \$800,000
- collected approximately \$550,000 through FY06

Things to consider before moving forward with a special plate:

1st – competition is fierce — over 200 special interest plates.

 2^{nd} – registration fees going up in July – may negatively impact sales

 3^{rd} – design of the plate – to be successful, it needs to be visually appealing

Visit DMV website at dmvnow.com to view all available special plates

\$1 Fee for Vehicle Registrations

- The fee currently generates approximately \$6.5 million annually
- The revenues support legislative priorities in accordance with the Appropriations Act
- Current support includes the Department of Motor Vehicles, the 400th Anniversary Fund, The Virginia Department of Tourism, and the Virginia Land Conservation Fund.

- The disbursement of revenues was set to expire December 31, 2007, at which time revenues would have reverted to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.
- The most recent session of the General Assembly extended the transfer to recognize the need for continued support for the 400th Anniversary Fund until June 30, 2008.
- Any action to change the disbursement of future revenues will have to made through the budget process.