

VIRGINIA SESQUICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR COMMISSION HB 1440 (2006)

April 19, 2007, 10:00 a.m. Holley Ballroom V - VII Renaissance Hotel and Waterfront Conference Center Portsmouth

www.virginiacivilwar.org

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Opening Remarks
- 3. Welcome and Overview of Civil War Preservation Trust Annual Conference *Jim Campi, Policy and Communications Director*
- 4. Report of the Advisory Council Dr. Sandy Treadway, Deputy Librarian of Virginia
- 5. Department of Education Coordination for the Sesquicentennial and SOL Review Process Dr. Beverly Thurston, Coordinator for History and Social Sciences
- 6. Information on Special License Plates and Redirection of Vehicle Registration Fee *Karen Grim, Assistant Commissioner, Division of Motor Vehicles*
- 7. Legislative Update: 2007 Appropriations to the Commission Dick Hickman, Deputy Director, Senate Finance Committee
- 8. Report of the Executive Committee *Speaker Howell*
- 9. Overview of Work Plan and Comprehensive Plan *Cheryl Jackson*
- 10. Other Business
- 11. Adjournment

Members:

The Honorable William J. Howell, Chairman
The Honorable John H. Chichester, Vice Chairman
The Honorable Albert C. Eisenberg
The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Jr.
The Honorable Johnny S. Joannou
The Honorable R. Steven Landes
The Honorable L. Scott Lingamfelter
The Honorable Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

The Honorable R. Creigh Deeds The Honorable Janet D. Howell The Honorable Mamie E. Locke The Honorable Stephen H. Martin Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr John P. Ackerly, III Dr. Charles F. Bryan, Jr.

Liaisons to the Commission:

Richard D. Brown, Director, Department of Planning and Budget Dr. Sandy Treadway, Deputy Librarian, Library of Virginia

Staff:

Division of Legislative Services: Cheryl Jackson, Manager, Information Services Hudaidah Bhimdi, Research Assistant Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant E. M. Miller, Jr., Director House Committee Operations: Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk

House Appropriations Committee: Michael Jay, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Senate Finance Committe: Dick Hickman, Deputy Director