VIRGINIA SESQUICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR COMMISSION HB 1440 (2006)



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

April 2, 2008, 10:00 a.m. Speaker's Conference Room - 6th floor General Assembly Building www.virginiacivilwar.org

PROPOSED AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order; Opening Remarks; Appointment of Vice-Chairman Speaker of the House of Delegates William J. Howell, Chairman
- 2. Signature Conference: "The Coming of the Civil War" (April 29, 2009) Dr. Edward L. Ayers, Conference Chair
- 3. Update: Projects in Development
 - Museum Exhibition, "An American Turning Point: Virginia's Civil War" *Dr. Charles F. Bryan, Jr.*
 - Educational Film DVD Production *Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr.*
- 4. Comprehensive Marketing Plan for the Sesquicentennial *Richard Lewis, Virginia Tourism Corporation*
- 5. Status of Ongoing Activities; Session Update *Cheryl Jackson and Dick Hickman*
 - Local Sesquicentennial Committees
 - Statewide Partnerships with Colleges and Universities
 - Special License Plate Legislation
 - Website Development: Interactive Map
 - Commission Meetings and Workplan
 - Funding Plan for Commission-sponsored Activities
- 6. Development Activities

 Danielle Watkins and Pam Seay
- 7. 501(c)(3) Corporation: Virginia Sesquicentennial of the American Civil War Foundation *E. M. Miller, Jr.*
- 8. Other Business

9. Adjournment

Members of the Executive Committee:

The Honorable William J. Howell, *Chairman* The Honorable Charles J. Colgan, Sr. The Honorable Albert C. Eisenberg The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Jr. Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr. Dr. Charles F. Bryan, Jr.

Liaisons to the Commission:

Ric Brown, Director, Department of Planning and Budget Jerry Edwards, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget Richard Lewis, National Public Relations Manager, Virginia Tourism Corporation Brian Shepard, Policy Director, Office of the Governor Dr. Sandy Treadway, Librarian of Virginia

Staff:

Division of Legislative Services:
Cheryl Jackson, Project Manager/Staff Coordinator
Tomi Dechant, Executive Assistant
Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate
Gwen Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant
E. M. Miller, Jr., Div. of Legislative Services Director
Danielle Watkins, Development Officer

House Committee Operations: Scott Maddrea, Deputy Clerk

House Appropriations Committee: Michael Jay, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Senate Finance Committee: Dick Hickman, Deputy Director