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Purpose of Meeting 

 Review additional information received 
from Jane Venohr, Ph.D. 

 

 Consider input received from Family Bar 
Coalition 

 

 Make decisions about proposed 
guideline schedule 

 

 Plan for June 17, 2013 meeting 
 

 



Recap of November 5, 2012 Meeting 

 Jane Venohr, Ph.D. presented: 

1. Updated proposed guideline schedules  

2. Information on selected factors: 

 Shared custody:  multiplier and threshold 

 Complex families 

 Unpaid, ordered health care costs 

 Unreimbursed medical expenses 

 Regional differences in cost of living 

 Guidelines based on age of children 

3. At the Panel’s request, the Family Bar Coalition 

weighed in on the selected factors and the 

proposed guideline changes. 
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Shared Custody  

1. Should the current 1.4 multiplier for the 

“shared support need” be increased to reduce 

“cliff effect”? 

2. Should the current custody/visitation threshold 

of more than 90 days per year be changed? 
 

Family Bar Coalition: 

 Keep the 1.4 multiplier  

 Might consider changing to 1.5 but need to 

see final guidelines 

 Keep >90 days as threshold 
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Complex Cases 
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1. Some states provide calculations for cases where 

custody is split for at least two children and shared 

for at least one child. 

2. What happens now in Virginia? 

3. Drafting statutory language for innumerable 

situations and contingencies. 

 

Family Bar Coalition: 

 Not sure statute can provide guidance for variety of 

scenarios. 

 



Unpaid, Ordered Health Care Costs 

If a noncustodial parent receives credit for paying 

health insurance costs but does not actually pay 

those costs, should that amount be added back 

into his/her child support obligation? 

 

Family Bar Coalition: 

 Not an issue.   

Currently addressed effectively via contempt 

actions.  
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Unreimbursed Medical Expenses 
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1. Most states’ guidelines do not specifically address how 

parents split these expenses in shared custody cases 

2. Common practices:   

 Prorate or split 50/50 

 Parenting plans 

3. What happens now in Virginia 

 Expenses above $250 per child per year 

 Based on economic data 

 

Family Bar Coalition:  

 Suggests eliminating $250 limit and splitting pro-rata, 

particularly in shared custody cases. 



Regional Differences in Cost of Living 
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 No state adjusts for intra-state regional 

differences in cost of living 
 

 Federal law requires one guideline that 

applies across the state 
 

 Maryland and D.C. guidelines are adjusted 

for high housing costs, but the adjustment 

applies to entire state 
 

 Kansas does adjust for interstate differences 

in cost of living 



Guidelines Based on Age of Children 
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 Most states do not consider age of children. 

Guidelines apply to all children between     

0-17 years of age. 

 

 Michigan is the only state with guidelines 

based on economic data for expenditures 

on older children. 

 

 Some states provide a deviation factor for 

age. 

 



 

Updating for 2013 Economic Data 
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Dr. Venohr’s February 2013 briefing provides: 
  

 Updated schedule based on 2013 federal 

and state income tax rates and FICA and 

2013 price levels. 
 

 Comparisons with other recently updated 

states with no housing adjustment. 
 

 Additional information to consider when 

recommending an updated low-income 

adjustment. 

 
 

 



Updating for 2013 Economic Data 

 When CPR prepared updated schedules for the 

November meeting, there was uncertainty about 

what the federal tax rates would be in 2013.  

Since then, Congress has made changes to the 

federal tax code that became effective January 

2013.  Those 2013 tax rates are incorporated into 

the updated schedules (Schedules C and D). 
 

 The Panel should eliminate Schedules A and B 

from the November briefing for consideration.  

The tax assumptions underlying Schedules A and 

B are wrong; that is, they do not reflect actual 

2013 tax rates. 
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Comparison of Economic Basis of Existing  

and Updated Schedules  
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Comparison of the Economic Basis of Existing and Updated Schedules 

Existing Schedule C Schedule D 

Economist and Methodology Used to 

Measure Child-Rearing Expenditures 

Espenshade-

Engel 
Betson-Rothbarth (4th study) Betson-Rothbarth (4th study) 

Years that Expenditures Data Were 

Collected 
1972-73 2004-2009 2004-2009 

Price Levels Late 1980s 2013 2013 

Tax Rates Late 1980’s 2013 2013 

Low-Income Adjustment 

A self-support 

reserve (SSR) of 

about $480/mo is 

incorporated into 

the schedule.   

At approximate earnings from f-t 

min. wage income ($1,250 per 

gross), support is set at: 

1 child: 17% 

2 children: 21% 

3 children: 23% 

4 children: 27% 

5 children: 28% 

Below $1,250, the schedule 

amounts are interpolated from the 

minimum order amounts. 

A self-support reserve 

(SSR) equivalent to the 

current FPL  

Federal Poverty Level for 1 Person 

The SSR ($480) 

is based on the 

FPL in the late 

1980’s 

Not applicable $957.50 (2013 FPL) 

Monthly Minimum Order $65 

One child: $65 

Two children: $70 

Three or more children: $75 

One child: $65 

Two children: $70 

Three or more children: $75 

Difference in the order amount  

 When the custodial parent has 

no income  

 When the custodial parent has 

income 

Order amount 

could increase 

Order amount remains the same or 

less as long as the noncustodial 

parent is eligible for the low-income 

adjustment 

Order amount remains the 

same or less as long as the 

noncustodial parent is 

eligible for the low-income 

adjustment 

 

 



Comparisons for One Child 

 by Education and Gender 
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  Comparisons for One Child  

Median Earnings by Highest Educational Attainment and Gender 
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VA existing $305 $368 $443 $575 $668 

Schedule C $356 $432 $495 $609 $758 

Schedule D $356 $432 $495 $609 $758 

MI $384 $451 $529 $682 $863 

PA $413 $480 $533 $637 $774 

NC $364 $444 $508 $617 $764 

Case 1: (Parents did not  

complete HS) 

Case 2: (Parents are HS  

graduates) 

Case3: (Parents with some  

college) 

Case 4: (Parents are college  

graduates) 

Case 5: (Parents with Grad.  

Degrees) 

As of  August 2012, DCSE’s caseload by number of children is: 

•      1 child – 76% of cases 

•  2 children – 19% of cases 

•  3 children – 4% of cases 

•  4  or more children – 1% of cases 

 

 

 



Comparisons for Two Children  

by Education and Gender 
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  Comparisons for Two Children  

by   Median Earnings by Highest Educational Attainment and Gender 
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VA existing $474 $574 $689 $893 $1,042 

Schedule C $544 $656 $748 $914 $1,140 

Schedule D $544 $656 $748 $914 $1,140 

MI $516 $674 $798 $1,026 $1,275 

PA $595 $687 $758 $904 $1,092 

NC $560 $682 $776 $938 $1,159 

Case 1: (Parents did not  

complete HS) 

Case 2: (Parents are HS  

graduates) 

Case3: (Parents with some  

college) 

Case 4: (Parents are college  

graduates) 

Case 5: (Parents with Grad.  

Degrees) 



Comparisons for Three Children  

by Education and Gender 
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 Comparisons for Three Children 
by Median Earnings by Highest Educational Attainment and Gender
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VA existing $593 $718 $861 $1,118 $1,310

Schedule C $659 $790 $894 $1,088 $1,358

Schedule D $659 $790 $894 $1,088 $1,358

MI $555 $825 $1,023 $1,181 $1,553

PA $820 $798 $874 $1,043 $1,254

NC $682 $829 $938 $1,131 $1,392

Case 1: (Parents did not 

complete HS)

Case 2: (Parents are HS 

graduates)

Case3: (Parents with some 

college)

Case 4: (Parents are college 

graduates)

Case 5: (Parents with Grad. 

Degrees)



Comparisons for One Child  

High Incomes 
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 Comparisons for One Child 
High Incomes
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Comparisons for Two Children  

High Incomes 
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 Comparisons for Two Children
High Incomes
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Comparisons for One Child 

Low-Incomes 
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 Comparisons for One Child 
Low-Income, IV-D Cases
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Comparisons for Two Children 

Low-Incomes 
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 Comparisons for Two Children
Low-Income, IV-D Cases
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Low Income Adjustment and  

Self-Support Reserve 
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 Over 65% of respondents to our survey in Fall 2011 

indicated that the guidelines should leave 

noncustodial parents with sufficient income after 

paying their support obligation such that they can 

live at a subsistence level. 
 

Two Options: 

1. Low Income Adjustment – based on research which 

shows obligors are more likely to pay if their child 

support obligation does not exceed 20% of income 

(Schedule C).  

2. Self-Support Reserve – uses the equivalent of the 

current Federal Poverty Level (FPL) (Schedule D). 

 



Federal Poverty Levels (FPL) 
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 One person:  $957.50 per month 

 

 Family of two (parent and 1 child): 

$1,292.50 per month 

 

 Family of three (parent and 2 children):  

$1,627.50 per month 

 

Appendices B and E show alternatives to the 

self-support reserve (Schedule D) based on 

100%, 95% and 90% FPL. 



Incomes over $35,000 per month 
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Decisions for Panel 

1. Schedule  C or Schedule D? 

 

2. If Schedule D, should we use 100%, 

95% or 90% of FPL? 

 

3. Keep $65 minimum order across the 

board or use $65 for 1 child, $70 for 2 

children and $75 for 3 or more 

children? 
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