State Initiatives in the Fight Against Childhood Obesity

Joint Subcommittee to Study Childhood Obesity in Virginia's Public Schools

October 22, 2007

House Room C

Federal Wellness Policy Implementation

- Action for Healthy Kids reviewed a national sample of wellness policies submitted by July 1, 2006 deadline:
 - 54% met minimum federal requirements
 - 40% did not specify who was responsible for implementation
 - 19% did not address implementation or evaluation
 - 18% did not include goals for both physical education and physical activity
 - 14% did not include goals for nutrition education

Action for Healthy Kids Wellness Policy Assessment, cont'd

- Action for Health Kids "uncovered little evidence in the policies of measurable objectives, and very few included timeframes for implementation or indicated whether funding is available to support the policy."
- Full report available at: http://www.actionforhealthykids.org/pdf/Fact% 20sheet%20on%20WP%20Analysis%208%2 021%202006.pdf

Wellness Policy Legislation

- FL SB 772 (2006): Requires copies of wellness policies to be submitted to Department of Education;
- Requires department and school districts to post links to the policies on their websites; and
- Requires the department to provide website links to certain resources (specifies what info resources should provide)

Wellness Policy Legislation, cont'd

- OK SB 1459 (2006): Directs the Department of Education to provide technical assistance and information to schools in implementing and evaluating school wellness policies
- Several states have created local or statewide advisory groups to aid in wellness policy development and implementation

Data Collection/Reporting

- Arkansas, Act 1220 (2003):
- Departments of Education and Health and the Arkansas Center for Health Improvement worked together to:
 - train nurses and school personnel to accurately measure height and weight
 - design form for recording data
 - create centralized database
 - create personal BMI report

BMI Data from Arkansas

| Category | Year 1 (03-04) | Year 2 (04-05) | Year 3 (05-06) |
|-------------------------|-------------------|-------------------|-------------------|
| Overweight | 20.9 % | 20.8% | 20.4% |
| At risk for overweight | 17.2% | 17.2% | 17.1% |
| Healthy weight | 60.1% | 60.1% | 60.6% |
| Underweight | 1.8% | 1.9% | 1.9% |
| Total students assessed | 348,710 | 372,369 | 371,082 |
| | | | |

The Arkansas Assessment of Childhood and Adolescent Obesity – Tracking Progress (Year 3 Fall 2005-Spring 2006). Little Rock, AR: ACHI; September 2006.

Other States – Data Collection/Reporting

- BMI Reporting: 10 states currently have a BMI reporting requirement, some individually, and some in aggregate
- TX, DE, and PA require certain physical health assessments to be reported to parents

Physical Activity

- Texas Physical Education Initiative SB 530 (2007):
- First state to comprehensively gauge students' physical health in grades 3-12, with an assessment
 - Measures aerobic endurance, body fat, flexibility, and muscle strength
 - Students must score in the 80th percentile to pass; but no penalty to students who fail
 - Parents who want to know their child's score call the school
 - Defines the required level of physical activity in the schools as moderate or vigorous
 - Fitness testing tool Fitnessgram \$2.5 million to equip schools with the testing tool
- Requires extensive analysis of the results

Oklahoma, HB 1601 (2007):Comprehensive Physical Education Legislation

- "the time students participate in recess shall not be counted towards the sixty-minutes-per-week physical education requirement"
- In response to the interpretation of a law passed in 2005, which required physical education programs for K-5; schools were counting recess as PE
- Requires school districts to provide parents with an annual physical activity report to include a summary on how physical activity is being incorporated into the school day
- Creates a Fit Kids Physical Education Task Force, given 6 months to formulate recommendations related to physical education and physical activity requirements for students in the public schools

Delaware - Physical Activity Legislation

- DE HB 372 (2006) requires physical assessment of students at least once in elementary, middle and high school
- Assessment results are to be provided to parents
- Department of Education to develop regulations
- DE SB 289 (2006) creates statewide Health Advisory Council to provide advice and guidance to department on physical education, includes report on childhood obesity

Nutrition

- California, SB 12 and SB 965 (2005, with 2007 effective date):
- SB 12:
 - Requires that at elementary schools, the only food that may be sold to a pupil during the school day are full meals and individual portions of nuts, nut butters, seeds, eggs, cheese, fruit, veggies (not fried), and legumes
 - Individual dairy and whole grain items may be sold if it meets certain nutrition standards

California Nutrition Standards, cont'd

SB 12, cont'd:

- Snacks sold to a pupil in a middle, junior, or high school must meet standards, including:
 - No more than 35% calories from fat
 - No more than 10% calories from saturated fat
 - No more than 35% total weight shall be sugar
 - No more than 250 calories per individual item
- Entrée items sold to a pupil in middle, junior, or high school (except federal school lunch program) shall contain more than 400 calories
- Exceptions after school, school sponsored events

California Nutrition Standards, cont'd

- SB 965 sale of beverages:
 - Elementary School: fruit based drinks (at least 50%), vegetable based drinks (at least 50%), drinking water with no sweetener, 2%, 1%, non-fat, soy, and rice milk
 - Middle school: the following may be sold from ½ hr. before, to a ½ hr. after the school day
 - Same as elementary schools, plus an electrolyte replacement beverage (no more than 42 grams of added sweetener)
 - Vending machine exception ok before/after school
 - High school: beginning July 1, 2007 no less than 50% of beverages sold shall be fruit based, vegetable based, etc.
 - July 1, 2009: all beverages sold to any pupil in any school from ½ hr. before to ½ hr. after school day shall be those enumerated above (fruit based, vegetable based, etc.)

Other States - Nutrition

- NJ SB 1218 (2007): Schools must reduce the purchase of any products containing trans fats beginning September 1, 2007
- NC HB 855 (2005): Board of Education to set nutritional standards for school foods, that promote gradual changes to increase fruits and vegetables; increase whole grain products; and decrease foods high in total fat, trans fat, saturated fat and sugar