HJR 637

Study of Childhood Obesity in Virginia's Public Schools

http://dls.state.va.us/childobesity.htm

Wednesday, August 29, 2007, 1:30 PM House Room C General Assembly Building

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order -- Delegate John M. O'Bannon, Chairman
- **II.** How Schools Can Prevent Obesity and How States Can Help Them Do It --Dr. Howell Wechsler, Director, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- **III.** Local School Division Initiatives --Ms. Lynne Fellin, Virginia Department of Education

Penny McConnell, RD, SNS Director of Food and Nutrition Services Fairfax County Public Schools

Barry Trent Coordinator of Health Education, Physical Education and Driver Education Roanoke County Public Schools

Bonnie Conner Gray Educational Specialist Health Education, Physical Education, and Driver Education K-12 Henrico County Public Schools

- IV. State Initiatives in the Fight Against Childhood Obesity --Jessica Eades, *Staff Attorney* Nicole Seeds, *Staff Attorney*
- V. Alliance for a Healthier Generation: School Beverage Guidelines--Chuck Duvall, Executive Director, Virginia Beverage Association David Thorp, Director of Government Affairs, American Beverage Association
- VI. Public Comments
- VII. Directions to Staff, Future Meeting Dates, etc.-- Chairman and Joint Subcommittee Members
- VIII. Adjourn

HJR 637 (2007) Membership

General Assembly Members:

The Honorable John M. O'Bannon, III The Honorable Samuel A. Nixon, Jr. The Honorable Jeffrey M. Frederick The Honorable Mark D. Sickles The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Jr. The Honorable Janet D. Howell The Honorable Mary Margaret Whipple The Honorable Linda T. Puller

Citizen Members:

Ms. Lynne A. Fellin Ms. Martha B. Pulley

Ex Officio Members:

The Honorable William T. Bolling The Honorable Marilyn B. Tavenner Dr. Billy K. Cannaday, Jr.

Staff:

Jessica Eades, Staff Attorney, Division of Legislative Services Nicole M. Seeds, Staff Attorney, Division of Legislative Services Barbara L. Teague, Committee Operations, Virginia House of Delegates