COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR., MEMORIAL COMMISSION

Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Subcommittee

Objective: To develop, plan, and recommend to the Commission statewide events and activities appropriate to the commemoration of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Abraham Lincoln, consistent with the provisions of Chapter 27 (§ 30-192 et seq.) of Title 30, Code of Virginia.

Subcommittee Members

Members of the King Commission

Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, *Chairman*The Honorable Jennifer L. McClellan, *Vice Chairwoman*The Honorable William C. Cleveland
Bishop Gerald O. Glenn
Mr. Charles Withers

Nonlegislative Citizen Members

Ms. Betsy S. Barton
Elementary School History and Social Science
Virginia Department of Education

Ms. Lynne M. Bland Teacher Consultant for Social Studies Chesterfield County Public Schools

Mr. Jeffry Burden Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States

Dr. William C. Davis Professor of History Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Dr. Theodore C. DeLaney*
Associate Professor of History
Washington and Lee University
*Virginia State Liaison to the National Lincoln Bicentennial Commission

The Honorable Mark Earley President, Prison Fellowship USA

Dr. John J. McGlennon Chairman, Government Department The College of William and Mary The Honorable Brian Moore Member, Petersburg City Council

Mr. James A. Percoco History Teacher Fairfax County Public Schools

Dr. Phillip Stone President, Bridgewater College

Dr. Beverly Thurston Director, Middle School History and the Social Science Virginia Department of Education

Ex Officio

The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman