# Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Commission



## Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Subcommittee

Union Station 103 River Street Petersburg, Virginia

Thursday, October 29, 2009 10:00 a.m. — 4:00 p.m.

### AGENDA: MEETING AND SITE VISIT

- 1. Call to order—The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Commission and Subcommittee Members—Chairman

#### 3. Welcome and Remarks

- o The Honorable Annie M. Mickens, Mayor, City of Petersburg
- o Mr. B. David Canada, City Manager, City of Petersburg
- Councilman Brian Moore, Petersburg City Council
- o Mr. Kevin Kirby, Director of Tourism, Museum and Visitor Services, Petersburg
- o The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman, MLK Commission

#### 4. Staff Status Report

o Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, Division of Legislative Services

#### 5. Setting the Stage

o Ms. Frances Lilly, Supervisor, Petersburg Visitor Center Supervisor

### 6. Petersburg Under Siege

- Mr. Jimmy Blankenship Petersburg National Battlefield
- Period Presentation: Miss Lizzie Hobbs to Miss Elizabeth Keckley
  Evelyn Franklin
  City of Petersburg Department of Tourism
  - City of Petersburg Department of Tourism
- 8. Preparation for the Driving Tour
  - Ms. Frances Lilly, Supervisor, Petersburg Visitor Center Supervisor
- 9. Introduction to Blandford Cemetery and Peoples Cemetery
  o Ms. Martha Atkinson, Supervisor and Curator
- 10. Other Business
- 11. Directions to Staff
- 12. Next Meeting Date
- 13. Adjournment

#### LUNCH

#### DRIVING TOUR OF PETERSBURG OLD TOWN

#### Narrators

- o Ms. Frances Lilly, Supervisor, Petersburg Visitor Center Supervisor
- o Ms. Martha Atkinson, Supervisor and Curator

#### <u>Sites</u>

1:10 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Old Towne/River Street/Wallace House

- 2:00 p.m. 2:30 p.m. Walnut Hill Elementary/Fort Mahone
- 2:35 p.m. 2:45 p.m. Blandford Church and Cemetery
- 2:45 p.m. 3:00 p.m. Peoples Cemetery
- 3:10 p.m. 3:55 p.m. Centre Hill Mansion
- 4:00 p.m. Return to Union Train Station for Departure from Petersburg

## MLK COMMISSION MEMBERS

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, *Chairman* Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan, *Vice Chairwoman* Senator Harry B. Blevins Delegate Clarke N. Hogan Delegate Salvatore R. laquinto Senator Mamie E. Locke Delegate Daniel W. Marshall, III Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. Delegate Roslyn C. Tyler Delegate Onzlee Ware Reverend Ricardo L. Brown The Honorable William C. Cleveland Lt. Col. Ret. Wesley H. Motley, Jr. Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire Dr. Robert C. Vaughan Mr. Charles Withers Mrs. Juanita Owens Wyatt Nonlegislative Citizen Vacancy

## ABRAHAM LINCOLN BICENTENNIAL SUBCOMMITTEE MEMBERS

Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, *Chairman* Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan, *Vice Chairwoman* Ms. Elizabeth S. Barton Ms. Lynne M. Bland Mr. Jeffry Burden The Honorable William C. Cleveland Dr. William C. Davis Dr. Theodore C. DeLaney The Honorable Mark Earley Dr. John J. McGlennon The Honorable Brian Moore Mr. James A. Percoco Dr. Phillip Stone Dr. Beverly Thurston Mr. Charles Withers

### Ex Officio

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III MLK Commission Chairman

### <u>STAFF</u>

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Mrs. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant Ms. Christine McCormick, Assistant Clerk, House Committee Operations