Joint Subcommittee to Study Mental Health Services in the Commonwealth in the 21st Century

Monday, July 21, 2014, 2:00 pm General Assembly Building, Richmond, Virginia Senate Room B

- I. Election of Chairman and Vice-Chairman
- II. Introductions and Opening Remarks
- III. Overview of the Scope and Purpose of the Joint Subcommittee
- IV. PRESENTATION: Recent Changes in Laws Governing Involuntary Commitment and the Delivery of Mental Health Services Allyson Tysinger, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General
- V. PRESENTATION: Overview of the Commonwealth's Mental Health Service Delivery System - Debra Ferguson, Commissioner, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
- VI. PRESENTATION: Overview of Other States' Mental Health Service Delivery Systems John Snook, Deputy Director for Governmental Affairs, Treatment Advocacy Center & Kathryn Cohen, Legislative and Policy Counsel, Treatment Advocacy Center
- VII. Discuss Work Plan for 2014 Interim
- VIII. Public Comment

Joint Subcommittee Members

Delegate Vivian E. Watts Delegate Robert B. Bell, III Delegate T. Scott Garrett Delegate Luke E. Torian Delegate Peter F. Farrell Delegate Joseph R. Yost

Delegate Margaret B. Ransone

Senator Janet D. Howell Senator Emmett W. Hanger, Jr. Senator Linda T. Puller Senator R. Creigh Deeds Senator George L. Barker

Staff

Sarah Stanton, Senior Attorney David Cotter, Senior Attorney D. Hobie Lehman, Senate Committee Operations