

# Maryland's Graduated Licensing System



#### What is Graduated Licensing?

Graduated licensing is a three level licensing system that gives novice drivers the opportunity to gradually move up in licensing, acquiring experience and maturity in the process. Maryland's Graduated Licensing System (GLS)

Legislation passed October 1, 1998 (implemented July 1, 1999)

Enhancements to the process were made eff. October 1, 2005

#### The Statistics are Alarming!

Novice drivers of ALL ages are three times more likely to be involved in a serious or fatal crash than experienced drivers.

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for young people 15-20 years of age, causing roughly one third of all fatalities in this age group.

- Inexperienced at the Driving Task
  - Very little knowledge or understanding of the complexities of driving a motor vehicle
  - Search/Scan abilities are less developed
  - Difficulty monitoring driving environment while maneuvering a vehicle
  - Less able to detect imminent hazards
  - Perceive hazards to be less dangerous than they really are

 Less adept at performing the driving actions necessary to cope with hazardous situations

Technical ability, good judgment and experience all are needed to properly make the many continuous decisions that add up to safe driving.

Risk-taking Behavior & Immaturity

- As drivers, youth are more impulsive
  - Drive too fast
  - Follow too closely
  - Accelerate rapidly
  - Are more likely to be inattentive
  - Do not wear seat belts
  - Drink and drive

- Greater risk exposure
  - Presence of other youth in vehicle provides distractions and promotes thrill seeking

Research shows that when the number of passengers goes up in a car driven by a teenage driver, so does the likelihood of fatal injury.

#### **Teen Crash Experience**

- Compared to other drivers, teens are responsible for their fatal crashes because of their own driving errors:
  - Most crashes involving teens are single vehicle crashes
  - A smaller percentage of teens wear seat belts compared to other drivers
  - A large number of teen fatal crashes involve speeding or driving too fast for road conditions
  - Most teen fatal crashes occur when other teens are in the car

#### Maryland's GLS

- Maryland is the second State to adopt a GLS Program affecting novice drivers of <u>ALL</u> ages
- The Program is designed to address the concern that new drivers are on the roads with less experience while facing more challenges than 20 years ago

## Expected Outcomes of Maryland's GLS

- Crash reduction
- Control high risk driving
- Reduce night-time driving
- Develop driver proficiency
- Motivate good driving through tougher penalties/sanctions

#### How Will Maryland's GLS Address the Causes of Crashes?

- Impose restrictive measures to reduce the crash and injury problem
  - Increasing the length of time a novice driver must be supervised
  - Gradually expose novice drivers to more difficult driving experiences
  - Limit nighttime driving
  - Require violation free driving
  - Mandatory parental and/or mentor involvement

### **Graduated Licensing Stages**



Learner's Permit
Provisional License
Full License

#### Learner's Permit

- 15 years & 9 months minimum age
- Parent/Guardian must co-sign for persons under 18 years of age
- NEW Truancy Legislation eff. October 1, 2007: If under 16, applicant must provide a completed Learner's Permit School Attendance Certification form to an MVA official during the Learner's Permit application process

-Applicant cannot have more than 10 unexcused absences

#### Learner's Permit

- Vision and Knowledge Test
- Must hold Permit minimum of 6 months
- Must complete at least 60 hours of driving practice (including at least 10 hours of nighttime driving) with someone who is at least 21 and who has held a Driver's License for at least 3 years

#### **Learner's Permit Limitations**

- Must be accompanied by a qualified supervising driver (21 or older, with 3 or more years driving experience) who is seated by the driver
- No other front seat occupant(s)
- Under 18, prohibited from using cell phone or any wireless communication device except when contacting 911 for an emergency

#### Learner's Permit Sanctions



 Re-start the 6 month minimum period for any conviction of a moving violation
 (may NOT take the driving test until 6 months conviction free)

#### **Provisional License**

In order to qualify for a Provisional License the applicant must:

- Be 16 years & 3 months minimum age
- Show evidence of successful completion of Driver's Education
- Present a signed practice driving skills log documenting a minimum of 60 hours of supervised practice driving

#### **Provisional License**

- Must have possessed a valid Learner's Permit for at least 6 months, conviction free, preceding the issuance of a Provisional License
- Skills Test (may be administered in traffic or on course)
- Provisional Licenses are issued to applicants who have been licensed for less than 18 months (regardless of age)

Provisional License Limitations For Licensees UNDER 18

- Restricted hours midnight until 5 a.m.
- If under 18 years of age and driving during restricted hours, licensee must be accompanied by a Qualified Licensed Driver unless driving:
  - to or from an official school activity
  - to, from or during the course of employment
  - to or from an organized volunteer program or athletic event

#### Provisional License Limitations For Licensees UNDER 18

- If under 18 years of age, prohibited from using cell phone or any other wireless communication device, except when contacting 911 during an emergency
- Prohibited from transporting any passenger under the age of 18 except family members
- Prohibition on passengers is in effect for 151 days after the Provisional License is issued
- Mandatory restraints are required for all occupants

## Provisional License Sanctions REGARDLESS of Age

The licensee must hold the Provisional License for 18 consecutive months with no moving violations. Sanctions: 1st offense - Mandatory Driver Improvement 2nd offense - 30-day suspension 3rd or subsequent offense - up to a 180-day suspension or revocation **Bump back** 

### **Full License**

- Minimum age 17 years,
   9 months
- Must have held the Provisional License for at least 18 months (conviction free) immediately preceding the issuance of a Full License



#### **Contact Information**

Catherine M. Hackman Manager, Driver Services Division 410-768-7255 chackman@mdot.state.md.us

Jennifer Hine Operations Manager, Driver Services Division 410-768-7243 jhine@mdot.state.md.us