Virginia Bicentennial of the American War of 1812 Commission



House Room 1 The State Capitol Richmond, Virginia Thursday, October 22, 2009 1:00 p.m.

PROPOSED AGENDA

ADVISORY COUNCIL WORK SESSION

- 1. Call to order—Delegate Christopher K. Peace, Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Advisory Council members and preliminary remarks-Chairman

3. Staff Briefing and Advisory Council Discussion

- o War of 1812 Heritage Trail: Meeting with Staff of Department of Historic Resources
- Development of Commission's listserv
- o Time Travelers
- o The USS Chesapeake
- Rescue of the Declaration of Independence
- o Invitation from City of Norfolk
- Proposed Budget and Calendar

4. Planning and Implementation

- 5. Other Business
- 6. Directions to Staff
- 7. Next Meeting
- 8. Adjournment

Advisory Council Members

Delegate Christopher K. Peace, *Chairman* Mr. Phillip Bigler Mr. Stuart L. Butler Mr. Walter W. Craigie Mr. Michael J. Elston Mr. Phillip G. Emerson Mr. Patrick Farris Mr. Steven A. Forrest Admiral Robert Fountain Mr. Carter B. S. Furr Ms. Mary Hackett Mr. William W. Hankins Mr. Thadeus L. Hartman Mrs. Anne Winn Hoffman Ms. Carolyn Coggin Holmes

<u>Staff</u>

Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Mr. Jeffrey F. Sharp, Senior Attorney Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney Ms. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant Ms. Barbara Teague, House Committee Clerk Mr. Myron E. Lyman, Sr. Mr. John C. Maxwell Mr. John Brewer Moore Mr. James D. Parrish, Jr. Mr. J. Ridgely Porter, III Mr. John Quarstein Dr. James H. Ryan Dr. Taylor Sanders Mrs. Connie Schroeder Dr. Holly C. Shulman Mrs. Courtenay T. Stanley Mr. George William Thomas, Jr.

Ex Officio

Delegate M. Kirkland Cox, Commission Chairman