## Virginia Bicentennial of the American War of 1812 Commission



House Room C General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

Wednesday, December 8, 2010 11:00 A.M.

# **ADVISORY COUNCIL WORK SESSION**

## PROPOSED AGENDA

- 1. Call to order—Christopher K. Peace, Advisory Council Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Advisory Council members and preliminary remarks
- 3. Staff Briefing
  - Commemorative Brochure Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney, Division of Legislative Services
  - Revised Commemorative Work Plan
  - o Montpelier: Prelude to the Virginia Bicentennial of the War of 1812
  - Proposed Legislation
    - Commemorative License Plate
    - Virginia War of 1812 Heritage Trail

Ms. Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate, Division of Legislative Services

## 4. Presentations and Discussion

• Fort Meigs and African Americans in War of 1812

Mr. Patrick Farris Executive Director, Warren Historical Society

• Funding for War of 1812 Documentary, Book, and Traveling Exhibit Dr. John V. Quarstein, Historian, City of Newport News Virginia War Museum Foundation

## 5. Advisory Council Recommendations to Bicentennial Commission

- 6. Other Business
- 7. Directions to Staff
- 8. Next Meeting
- 9. Adjournment

Continued

### **Advisory Council Members**

Delegate Christopher K. Peace, *Chairman* Mr. Robert Baratta Mr. Phillip Bigler Mr. Stuart L. Butler Mr. Walter W. Craigie Mr. Scott Enter Mr. Patrick Farris Mr. Steven A. Forrest Admiral Robert Fountain Mr. Carter B. S. Furr Mr. Raymond W. Gill, Jr. Ms. Mary Hackett Mr. Thaddeus L. Hartman Mrs. Anne Winn Hoffman Ms. Carolyn Coggin Holmes Mr. Myron E. Lyman, Sr. Mr. John C. Maxwell Mr. John Brewer Moore Mr. James D. Parrish, Jr. Mr. J. Ridgely Porter, III Mr. John V. Quarstein Dr. James H. Ryan Dr. Taylor Sanders Mrs. Connie Schroeder Ms. Jacque-Lynne Schulman Mrs. Courtenay T. Stanley Mr. George William Thomas, Jr.

#### Ex Officio

Delegate M. Kirkland Cox, Commission Chairman

#### <u>Staff</u>

Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Mr. Jeffrey F. Sharp, Senior Attorney Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney Ms. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant Ms. Barbara Teague, House Committee Clerk