# Virginia Bicentennial of the American War of 1812 Commission

## **House Room C General Assembly Building** Richmond, Virginia

Wednesday, December 8, 2010 2:30 p.m.

### PROPOSED AGENDA: WORK SESSION

- 1. Call to order—Delegate M. Kirkland Cox, Chairman
- 2. Introduction of members and preliminary remarks—Chairman
- 3. Staff Briefing
  - Status of Commemorative Brochure

Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney, Division of Legislative Services

- Additions to Commemorative Work Plan
- Montpelier: Prelude to the Virginia Bicentennial of the War of 1812 Ms. Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate, Division of Legislative Services
- 4. Presentations
  - Update: OpSail 2012

Ms. Karen Scherberger

Executive Director, Norfolk Festevents, Ltd./OpSail 2012 Virginia

Fort Meigs and African Americans in War of 1812

Mr. Patrick Farris

Executive Director, Warren Historical Society

Commission Collaboration with Richmond Symphony

Mr. David J.L. Fisk

Executive Director, Richmond Symphony

- 5. Commission Review, Discussion, and Decision
  - Proposed Budget
  - Proposed Legislation
    - Commemorative License Plate
    - Virginia War of 1812 Heritage Trail
    - **Need for Budget Amendment**
- 6. Report and Recommendations of the Advisory Council, Delegate Christopher K. Peace
- 7. Chairman's Appointments
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Directions to Staff
- 10. Next Meeting
- 11. Adjournment

## **Committee Members**

The Honorable M. Kirkland Cox, Chairman

The Honorable Stephen H. Martin, Vice Chairman

The Honorable George L. Barker

The Honorable Rosalyn R. Dance

The Honorable Christopher K. Peace

The Honorable Kenneth R. Plum

The Honorable Frederick M. Quayle The Honorable R. Lee Ware, Jr. Mr. Peter E. Broadbent, Jr., Esquire Ms. Nancy G. Heuser

Mrs. Elizabeth S. Barton (Dr. Patricia I. Wright's designee)

Dr. Sandra G. Treadway, ex officio

Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate

Mr. Jeffrey F. Sharp, Senior Attorney

Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney

Ms. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant

Ms. Barbara Teague, House Committee Clerk

