Virginia Bicentennial of the American War of 1812 Commission



House Room C General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

Tuesday, October 19, 2010 11:00 A.M.

ADVISORY COUNCIL WORK SESSION

PROPOSED AGENDA

- 1. Call to order—Stephen H. Martin, Commission Vice Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Advisory Council members and preliminary remarks
- 3. Staff Briefing
 - Ground Rules for Legislative Commissions and Subgroups
 Mr. Jeffrey F. Sharp, Senior Attorney
 - Status of Commemorative Brochure

Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney, Division of Legislative Services

- o Revised Commemorative Work Plan
- o Montpelier: Prelude to the Virginia Bicentennial of the War of 1812
- o Framework for 2013: Water Tour of the Chesapeake
- o Framework for 2014 Legacy Symposium
- Proposed Legislation
 - Commemorative License Plate
 - Virginia War of 1812 Heritage Trail
- Announcement of OpSail 2012 Work Group Meetings

Ms. Brenda Edwards, Senior Research Associate, Division of Legislative Services

- 4. Presentations and Discussion
 - Historical Markers: Virginia War of 1812 Heritage Trail

Kelly Spradley-Kurowski, PhD Supervisory Historian, Virginia Department of Historic Resources

o War of 1812 Documentary, Book, and Traveling Exhibit

Dr. John V. Quarstein, Historian, City of Newport News Virginia War Museum Foundation

- 5. Advisory Council Recommendations to Bicentennial Commission
- 6. Other Business
- 7. Directions to Staff
- 8. Next Meeting
- 9. Adjournment

Advisory Council Members

Delegate Christopher K. Peace, Chairman

Mr. Robert Baratta Mr. Phillip Bigler

Mr. Stuart L. Butler

Mr. Walter W. Craigie

Mr. Scott Enter

Mr. Patrick Farris

Mr. Steven A. Forrest

Admiral Robert Fountain

Mr. Carter B. S. Furr

Mr. Raymond W. Gill, Jr.

Ms. Mary Hackett

Mr. Thaddeus L. Hartman

Mrs. Anne Winn Hoffman

Ms. Carolyn Coggin Holmes

Mr. Myron E. Lyman, Sr.

Mr. John C. Maxwell

Mr. John Brewer Moore

Mr. James D. Parrish, Jr.

Mr. J. Ridgely Porter, III

Mr. John V. Quarstein

Dr. James H. Ryan

Dr. Taylor Sanders

Mrs. Connie Schroeder

Ms. Jacque-Lynne Schulman

Mrs. Courtenay T. Stanley

Mr. George William Thomas, Jr.

Ex Officio

Delegate M. Kirkland Cox, Commission Chairman

Staff

Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate

Mr. Jeffrey F. Sharp, Senior Attorney

Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney

Ms. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant

Ms. Barbara Teague, House Committee Clerk