Virginia Bicentennial of the American War of 1812 Commission



Source: www.uni.edu/.../standard9/dave/imageOI5.JPG

House Room C General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

Tuesday, August 17, 2010 10:00 a.m.

PROPOSED AGENDA: <u>ADVISORY COUNCIL WORK SESSION</u>

- 1. Call to order—Delegate Christopher K. Peace, Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Advisory Council members and preliminary remarks—Chairman

3. Staff Briefing

Status of Brochure and Facebook

Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney, Division of Legislative Services

Website

Ms. Jessica Ruark, *Art Director, Division of Legislative Automated Systems*Mr. Joseph Johnson, *Manager, Application Programming, Division of Legislative Automated Systems*

- Revised Commemorative Work Plan
- o Logo

Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate, Division of Legislative Services

4. Presentations and Discussion

War of 1812 Documentary, Book, and Traveling Exhibit

Dr. John V. Quarstein, Historian, City of Newport News

Virginia War Museum Foundation

o Update: OpSail 2012

Ms. Karen Scherberger

Executive Director, Norfolk Festevents, Ltd./OpSail 2012 Virginia

Historical Markers: Virginia War of 1812 Heritage Trail

Kelly Spradley-Kurowski, PhD

Supervisory Historian, Virginia Department of Historic Resources

o 2014 Symposium

Ms. Kathleen Kilpatrick

Executive Director, Virginia Department of Historic Resources

- Prelude to the Virginia Bicentennial of the War of 1812
- The English and Canadian Connections

Mr. George Thomas

Member, Advisory Council of the Virginia Commission on the War of 1812 Bicentennial

State Map Cover: Bicentennial of the War of 1812

Mr. Robert Baratta

Member, Advisory Council of the Virginia Commission on the War of 1812 Bicentennial Mr. Jeff Caldwell, Virginia Department of Transportation

o Collaborations with U. S. Army and Virginia National Guard

Mr. Robert Baratta

Member, Advisory Council of the Virginia Commission on the War of 1812 Bicentennial

- Commemorative License Plate
- Resolutions by Local Governing Bodies

Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate, Division of Legislative Services

- 5. Advisory Council Recommendations to Bicentennial Commission
- 6. Other Business
- 7. Directions to Staff
- 8. Next Meeting
- 9. Adjournment

Advisory Council Members

Delegate Christopher K. Peace, Chairman

Mr. Robert Baratta

Mr. Phillip Bigler

Mr. Stuart L. Butler

Mr. Walter W. Craigie

Mr. Patrick Farris

Mr. Steven A. Forrest

Admiral Robert Fountain

Mr. Carter B. S. Furr

Mr. Raymond W. Gill, Jr.

Ms. Mary Hackett

Mr. Thaddeus L. Hartman

Mrs. Anne Winn Hoffman

Ms. Carolyn Coggin Holmes

Mr. Myron E. Lyman, Sr.

Mr. John C. Maxwell

Mr. John Brewer Moore

Mr. James D. Parrish, Jr.

Mr. J. Ridgely Porter, III

Mr. John V. Quarstein

Dr. James H. Ryan

Dr. Taylor Sanders

Mrs. Connie Schroeder

Ms. Jacque-Lynne Schulman

Mrs. Courtenay T. Stanley

Mr. George William Thomas, Jr.

Ex Officio

Delegate M. Kirkland Cox, Commission Chairman

Staff

Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate

Mr. Jeffrey F. Sharp, Senior Attorney

Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney

Ms. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant

Ms. Barbara Teague, House Committee Clerk